Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gengras Chevrolet

East Hartford, CT

4.1
195 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

585 Connecticut Boulevard

East Hartford, CT

06108

Directions

195 Reviews of Gengras Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
January 02, 2021

"My son saw a vehicle they posted and we drove 100 miles..."

- oriolesht

My son saw a vehicle they posted and we drove 100 miles to get there. The car was supposed to be 1 owner low mileage no accidents. They posted pics of the car online. When we got there the driver's side had damage from the front bumper to the rear as if the car was sideswiped. I pointed it out to the sales person and how the car is advertised as no accidents..He actually said, "We only go by the Carfax report.". What a bunch of scam artists.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tim Hoyt
1.0
Jan 04, 2021 -

Gengras Chevrolet responded

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your frustration and will be addressing your feedback with our team. If you'd like to speak with us in greater detail, please don't hesitate to reach out directly. Thanks, Paul Smith - General Manager - 860-727-6500

Jan 04, 2021 -

oriolesht responded

Why would you allow a team member to say something like that..."We only go by the carfax report" when you can clearly see that the car was damaged and you hid this from the photo's?

October 30, 2020

"I was offered one price then when I went onto the..."

- mrsmarie.burke

I was offered one price then when I went onto the dealership the price was different. My car was one year newer than the truck that I am purchasing and 10,000 more miles than my trade in. Overall, the young man was very pleasant and kind. Happy Holidays to all.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Brierton
5.0
Nov 02, 2020 -

Gengras Chevrolet responded

Thanks for choosing Gengras Chevrolet, Marie! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again at your first service appointment! Enjoy your new ride!

July 06, 2020

"Bad service experience"

- Rich W.

I have used Gengras to service my Buick for about 6 years. Usually OK, occasionally below average, occasionally above average. This was one of the worst experiences I've ever hard with service of any kind. I had an 8:30 AM Monday service appointment and said I needed the car by the end of the day. I was told that was fine. On Monday afternoon at 3:50 PM I called to check on when my car would be ready and was told they hadn't started looking at it, but I was 2d in line and they hoped to look at it before the end of the day. Excuses offered were "backed up from last Friday," "short-handed," etc. No apology for my inconvenience or for what would obviously be more delay. I called Tuesday at 1:20 PM and was told they had not even started looking at my car and probably wouldn't until Wednesday. Again, no apologies, but more of the same excuses. I asked to speak with the service manager and was told he was going into a meeting but would call me back in an hour or so. I told them not to bother, because I was going to come and pick up my car. Less than 15 minutes later I got a call from the service manager apologizing, acknowledging that the service I had gotten was unacceptable and that an 8:30 AM Monday appointment should mean something more than "when we get to it at some point this week" and stating that they were looking at my car right then. To his credit, the manager fell on his sword and apologized for the poor service several times and asked me to let them at least finish looking at my car. 25 minutes he called me to tell me they had diagnosed the problem and to his credit he offered me a substantial discount on the cost of repair in compensation for the poor service and the inconvenience of being without a car for two days. Less than two hours later the problem was fixed. So it took about 3 hours to diagnose and fix the problem, but if I hadn't said I was taking my car, it would not have been ready until at least Wednesday after lunch. Totally unacceptable when I had an appointment for first thing Monday AM and made clear I needed the car by the end of the day and was told "OK." Gengras was by far the closest Chevy service until I moved in March. Now there is another Chevy service that is about the same distance away from where I live and I am most likely going to use them. I don't see myself going back to Gengras Chevy and I can't recommend it to others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randy Sefton (Service Manager)
Jul 07, 2020 -

Gengras Chevrolet responded

Rich - I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience. I would really appreciate your feedback and, if you are willing, would like to discuss your visit further. I will search for your contact information but in case I can't find it, would you consider giving me a call? Thank you, Paul Smith - General Manager - 860-727-6500

October 21, 2019

"Purchase of a car"

- Debbie

I want to that both the salesman and manager who works very hard for me. Both tried with getting me an approved loan. I didn’t have a perfect credit but at the end of the day they both got it done.. I would definitely recommend this dealer to my friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Leone
October 15, 2019

"Frankly...A great experience."

- Equinox 2020

Had a very positive experience dealing with the staff at Gengras Chevy. The purchase process was made super easy, with no pressure. I will definately purchase another vehicle from this dealership. Thanks again Steve Murphy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Murphy
September 27, 2019

"Need a car? See Steven Murphy."

- Laurieann2019

Steven Murphy walked me through the buying process with ease. My need for a new car was sudden. There was no pressure, just honesty and professionalism. He was was very attentive, helpful and remains available for me to ask questions or present any new needs. Steve from finance got me the best finance rate and made the paperwork painless.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steven Murphy, Steve from finance
June 13, 2019

"Great experience "

- sarakatty

I was very pleased with how thorough the service was. My questions were answered and Joe Cole was excellent as my salesperson. Melona Martinez was extremely pleasant helping me through the financial process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Cole Melona Martinez
May 16, 2019

"Chris Palmer is awesome"

- EricLovesTrucks

I wrote a review for Chris Palmer. He is in service. He is awesome and listens to you. He cares and will take care of you. I sold my truck but when I buy another truck he will be the reason I will shop at Gengras.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Palmer
January 22, 2019

"1/22/19"

- Sean

I brought my truck in for an oil change this afternoon. Chris was very helpfull. He asked me if I wanted a power steering fluid change but was more adamant on a radiator flush. We both agreed that would be the way to go. He already assumed that I wanted my tires rotated so that was good looking out. I was happy with the service to my vehicle overall although I still have an engine light in. I like Gengris service. It is very accommodating.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher
January 03, 2019

"This place gives Chevy a bad name "

- Maine83

I do not recommend this dealership. We bought our previous Chevy from a dealer in MA, they were amazing. I also had a good experience at the Vernon Chevy Dearlership, although we ultimately didn’t end up buying another Chevy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All
1
...
1 - 10 of 195 results