Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Mercedes-Benz of Des Moines

Urbandale, IA

3.7
134 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

9993 Hickman Road

Urbandale, IA

50322

Directions

134 Reviews of Mercedes-Benz of Des Moines

Sort by Write a review
June 22, 2020

"Dont buy warranty or prepaid service!!!!I hope my..."

- Nana S.

Dont buy warranty or prepaid service!!!! I hope my review can serve as a warning or educate future customers. I bought a 2020 glc 300 in February from mercedes benz of des moines. The sales person Jonny Villoti was pleasant to work with. However i cannot say the same for the finance person Michaela Robinson. I believe she is no longer employed with them. No suprise there. Long story short, do not buy any add ons with them. She told me i could get an extended factory warranty for up to 8yrs or 120k miles. This was a big lie. The extended warranty was overpriced at a hefty $4689 and come to find out it was with a 3rd party called First extended service warranty and not even mercedes. This company had terrible reviews. I tried to cancel it right away but could not get a hold of her on the phone and she would not return my calls so i showed up at the dealership unannounced. She tried giving me the run around and trying to insist it was a factory warranty through mercedes.. she then told me she would take care of it and call me later which i declined and told her i needed her to fill out cancellation doc. She then proceeded to get me to sign the blank form and leave and that she would fill out the rest and submit on my behalf.. really? I refused and had her fill out everything and got a copy for myself. Well fast forward a month later and the 3rd party warranty company had not received any cancellation request.. no suprise.. luckily i had the copy of the form. Had to call mercedes customer care and get the sales manager as well as general manager involved before she finally submitted the cancelation. Now come to find out the pre paid 4yr maintenance service she had sold me for $2695 was also not what it seemed.. she stated it would include the spark plug replacements and other essential parts which was a lie cos these are done at year 5. So when i called the service department i was informed it was actually a 3yr service plan and not 4yrs! Reached out to the general manager Anthony Gladney who stated plan is non cancelable and the best they can do is add the 4th yr. Still trying to get this cancelled or add in the spark plug replacements as promised since $2695 is way more than the regular 4yr service price. My advice to other customers will be do not finance with the delearship but instead do it through your bank or credit union or buy cash and do not buy any add ons!! Don't do it.. i learnt my lesson thinking since this was a mercedes delearship everyone would b honest and put customer 1st. Man was i wrong. Such a great and beautiful car but my experience was ruined by bad customer service and a greedy finance lady.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michaela Robinson
March 03, 2020

"Johnny Villotti did an excellent job. Great interaction..."

- Lwsgalion

Johnny Villotti did an excellent job. Great interaction and follow up. Very professional. Not pushy but very in tune with what we were looking for.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Johnny villotti
February 02, 2020

"Johnny and Tanner couldn’t have made the purchase any..."

- taffaej

Johnny and Tanner couldn’t have made the purchase any easier. When I got there they had the best matched car according to my specs up front waiting for me when I got there. Drove it, liked and had a deal in probably 90 mins. Both good guys and down to earth. I will look for them again in a few years.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Johnny, Tanner
October 21, 2019

"Excellent service "

- Joe h

We had an outstanding experience working with the team at Mercedes Benz of Des Moines. Our sales representative (Johnny) was really helpful. We traded one of our vehicles which they accommodated quickly and with fair price. The whole process was quick, easy and painless. Vehicle was delivered by Carl and he was very profesional and explained all I’m detail.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Johnny
July 16, 2019

"We were up a creek "

- blackdog

Were traveling from Kansas City to Michigan and our S550 started shaking and vibrating so bad we had to exit in west Des Moines and be towed to this dealership. But it was Sunday, so we got a room and contacted them first thing the next morning. Brad took excellent care of us. Checked out our car, got it fixed and lent us a loaner so we could check out of the hotel and not pay a late charge. Very nice group of service people to work with, even helped us transfer all our “stuff “ to our car. Definitely recommend!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brad and another young man whose name I didn’t get
June 14, 2019

"WON'T FIX WHAT THEY PROMISED THEY WOULD"

- Jack t

Bought used ML350 that had oil leak. Took it in twice to get fixed but never was fixed correctly cause kept leaking. Ended up having to fix it myself! Won't buy from this dealership again!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Gladney, Ryan Winroth
June 08, 2019

"DISHONEST RUDE UNPROFESSIONAL, LIED & IGNORED FOR 5 MONTHS!"

- cf

SAVE YOURSELF TIME, STRESS & $$ & TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!! We bought a used ML350 January 7th with the promise of a new seat cover due to a large crack & a oil leak to be fixed. Both salesman Matt and general sales manager Ryan Winroth said these would be fixed and so we left the vehicle with them and a whole month later we finally are called to come get the vehicle and the seat cover was not replaced but simply a poor patch job. And after questioning Ryan he said that's what they normally do is just patch it and he said if it fails within 1 year he'd replace it. We drove vehicle home & next day noticed a puddle of oil in our garage floor. Drove it back to dealership & told them clearly the oil leak wasn't fixed so of course they had to keep it for another week before anyone got back to us. They supposedly fixed it "again" but when we got it home it continued to leak. To make matters worse the crappy seat cover patch job had already started to split open & flake off so we once again drove back to the dealership. This time asking for the general manager Anthony Gladney who looked right at us & walked away. We talked to Ryan again who said he would discuss it with Anthony & get back to us. Well, getting back to their customers is not one of their strong points, especially once they've already received their $$. After numerous calling yet again & no one responding to us we decided to yet again stop in and get this straightened out...it was only April by now!! We spoke with Anthony and told him we want the oil leak fixed RIGHT this time & our new seat cover we were promised from day 1 before we even signed the purchase agreement. He was hesitant saying he might be able to find us a used cover from a wrecked car or junk yard, but after getting beyond irritated we told him that we'd fix the oil leak if he replaced the seat cover with a NEW cover. He agreed to that & even shook our hand but then when we told him that my husband would fix it himself since he's a mechanic he acted a little irritated not to make the high price sale on us having the dealership repair it. We told him they had 2 chances of fixing it right & were not giving them a 3rd. So now my husband fixed the leak within a couple days of shaking Anthony's hand on our agreement & weeks went by & he & Ryan are both back to avoiding our calls. We stop back in for the last time & Ryan comes & tells us Anthony is busy. I tell him if Anthony does not call us soon about the status of our seat cover I'm contacting Ken Wright who I was informed was above Anthony & Ryan. Another week goes by & no word yet again, so i attempt to call Ken Wright & leave about 6 messages in 3 days time. Finally, my husband calls & spoke to a lady in customer relations & she tells him Ken cannot do anything because they leave it up to the general manager in each store to handle all issues. Well, that is ridiculous when the general manager IS the problem!! A few days later we get a call from the dealership saying our seat cover is in but we have to install it ourselves. We go in & confront Anthony telling him the deal was they replace it...that means installing it as well! He was VERY RUDE & says "No, I replaced it but you can install it yourself, or pay to have the business we use to do our upholstery work do it." At this point we were fed up & just left. A couple days later on JUNE 5th we had to pay $160 to have it installed, we purchased this vehicle on January 7th....that's 5 long stressful months dealing with RUDE, UNPROFESSIONAL, DISHONEST MANAGERS AT MERCEDES BENZ OF DES MOINES!!! NEVER AGAIN WILL WE BUY A MERCEDES NOR WILL WE EVER GO TO THIS PATHETIC DEALERSHIP!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Gladney Ryan Winroth
May 17, 2019

"Wonderful Experience "

- Realtormhayes

Just bought my Certified pre owned E 350 from Nick. He was very patient throughout the process and showed me many vehicles before I decided on the one was was right for me. Every time I walk into this dealership I am greeted with a smile and treated He even bought me a Mountain Dew while I waited for the paperwork to be completed, that’s customer service right there! He also was down to earth and a pleasure to speak with as was my finance rep Michaela Robinson was absolutely a pleasure to work with as well. She made the paperwork process easy to deal with and explained everything perfectly! I couldn’t say enough to describe what a great experience I had. I absolutely love my new car and that it came with a 2 year unlimited mileage bumper to bumper warranty!! I work in real-estate so this was a huge perk for me. Thank you Nick for making my purchase go so smoothly and making it a fun process overall. Thank you again for the wonderful experience, keep up what you do! Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick Juergens and Michaela Robinson
December 16, 2018

"Tires were swapped"

- rebeccapudik

Be very careful of your purchase of used car. I was shown a very nice Mercedes and ended up buying the car. I know the previous owner of the car that leased it before my purchase and know full well that the front tires were just replaced. I started hearing some strange noises with this car and took it to my local Illinois Mercedes dealer who saw that all tires were old and should be replaced. Guess what - these people swapped out all of my tires and put horrible ones back on for me. I have a nasty wobble in back tire, and front two have been swapped out. I wouldn't trust this dealership for any used cars. They are so untrustworthy, I will never ever come back to these crooks either. JUST BE VERY CAREFUL!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Glenn Collignon
1.0
December 10, 2018

"Recommend Johnny at Mercedes!"

- Brent B

This is a great place to do your Car / SUV buying business! I recommend asking for Johnny Villotti. He is knowledgeable and passionate about helping you have the Best customer experience. Happy buying! Brent

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Johnny Villotti
1
...
1 - 10 of 134 results