About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Mike Molstead Motors

5.0

24 Lifetime Reviews

1501 S Grand Ave, Charles City, Iowa 50616 Directions
Sales: (641) 228-7220

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

24 Reviews of Mike Molstead Motors

Sort by Write a review
July 11, 2018

"Drove 150 miles to make a good deal"

- Bob R.

I drove from Ankeny because Molstead had the exact Jeep I wanted. I worked with Kelly Molstead via email on the deal for the Jeep and my trade in. When I arrived at the dealership, the Jeep was exactly as represented and the process of purchase was a smooth experience. All the numbers were just as agreed on through email. Salesman Bruce Boerschel completed the transaction with us and was very thorough in sharing the highlights of the Jeep we purchased. The finance person (sorry, I do not remember his name) was friendly and thorough, and did not try to pressure us into add on sales. Overall this was a great experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kelley Molstead, Bruce Boerchel
November 17, 2016

"CREDIT CARD SCAMMERS!"

- AtheOrganizer

DANGER! Reported this dealership, Mike Molstead Motors, to Iowa State Credit Card Fraud Division this morning - gave our credit card number as downpayment on a truck. Received a phone call almost 20 hours later that our truck had been "accidentally" sold to someone else but not to worry, they had not run our credit card. Where did that information go if not into a credit card processing program?!? And where is our truck!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Fausnaugh, Josh Molstead
June 27, 2016

"Worst experience... EVER"

- trister08

I purchased a 2007 Yukon, 142k miles. Here is the short version... it was the worst purchase and customer service of my life. Long version....The vehicle is equipped with power running boards, however when I bought the vehicle the passenger side running board was no longer working and stuck tucked up under the door. As part of the sales agreement, that running board was suppose to be brought down. Upon delivery of the vehicle the mechanic said it couldn't be done. A few months later I brought it to a shop for a second opinion, they were able to do it, $125. I contacted Molstead Motors to get reimbursed and spoke with Jordan, we exchanged a couple emails later that day also. 2 weeks goes by and I hear nothing. I sent 2 follow up emails the 3rd week and hear nothing. On the 4th week, I called everyday twice a day and left a message every time and hear nothing back. One day I wanted to talk to whoever was available, I spoke with Joe, he said he would look into it further.. but never heard back from him. While this is going on other issues surface. There was touch up paint all over the vehicle covering up rust spots and paint chips. My first oil change after I bought the vehicle, my mechanic says there is about $2500 worth of maintenance repairs that should have been done months ago. I finally got an email back from Jordan (after I threatened to make formal complaints with the BBB and chamber of commerce) saying he would reimburse me for the running board costs but could do nothing regarding the repairs and rust. I travelled 80 miles one way to do business with a small town dealer and got royally screwed. I rarely ever leave reviews let along bad review, these guys deserve it though. If you can purchase a vehicle elsewhere, I strongly recommend you do it. Molstead Motors is the shadiest dealership I've ever dealt with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jordan, Joe
February 10, 2014

"Well I was looking for a used Truck and found one at..."

- brandonjustice9066

Well I was looking for a used Truck and found one at there site called and Talked to a guy Named Brady he was very nice we set a time and day to come check it out and I asked Brady not to start it or anything cuz i wanted to check it out all the fluids and stuff when it's cold he did as i asked and was very nice and friendly He even came out and cleaned it off from snow made us feel just like at home all the staff there was friendly no one was pushy like just trying to make a sell or anything over all i say it is one of the best dealership's i have seen I will recommend this dealership to anyone!!!!! P.S they have some Good hot coffee to did not even have to ask He asked us soon as we got there and even got it for us!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brady Henn
July 03, 2013

"Traveling to Charles City for a family emergency, my Ford..."

- craigbahe

Traveling to Charles City for a family emergency, my Ford Ranger developed engine problems. A family member recommended Molstead Motors because he and several other family members in the area have been satisfied customers for years. My truck was dropped off at the service dept and my time constraints explained to the very helpful service advisor, Bruce Delap. He assured me it would be ready for my trip back to Chicago the next morning. The problem was diagnosed within an hour and I was told repairs would cost $1,000. Given my schedule, I had no other option but to approve the repairs. One water pump later ($250 in parts and $750 in labor), I was on the road back home the next day. Having never paid anywhere near this amount for a water pump replacement in my life, back in Chicagoland where everything costs more, I consulted my dealership and also my local mechanic. Both agreed that I had been incredibly overcharged. When presented with the price, I had even asked to speak with a Molstead salesman to discuss the possibility of just trading my Ranger for a new truck. Sign the papers, hand him the money and drive off the lot. Apparently the salesman had little interest in an easy sale because we talked less than 5 minutes. I will never return to this dealership should I need future repairs while back on regular family visits nor would I recommend it to anyone. Frankly, I would pay to have my vehicle towed past this dealership to go anywhere else. Other members of my family have also started taking their business elsewhere after hearing of my experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bruce Delap
Jul 05, 2013 -

Mike Molstead Motors responded

We will be contacting this customer directly to talk to him about his issues with our store but I thought it was necessary to post a response here as well. The customer is absolutely correct that replacing a water pump would not cost the $1,000 he paid for this repair. However the water pump was not the cause of his engine problem and was only part of the repair. The diagnosis on his Ranger was for a front cover gasket that was leaking coolant. The repair was to replace the front cover, the water pump and a harmonic balancer. The main issue, and the most expensive issue was the cover gasket - not the water pump. Replacing the faulty gasket requires removing a large portion of the engine to get to it and is a 8.5 hour job, which explains his high labor cost. All of this should have been explained to the customer before the repair when he approved the work - if that was not properly communicated we are very sorry for the confusion. We will be personally calling this customer to attempt to rectify any miscommunication and if he still feels we are at fault we will find a way to make it right. - Jordan Molstead , General Manager

September 14, 2012

"Do not buy a car with an extended warranty before reading..."

- waterloo79

Do not buy a car with an extended warranty before reading this.....My family needed a larger vehicle for my wife to take the girls to school, work and to drive through the Iowa winters. Since we knew what type of vehicle we wanted all we needed to do is find a place to purchase it from which was ethical and moral. So, we asked around through family and friends which recommended us to take a trip north to Charles City to Mike Molstead Motors. We did and found a one owner GMC Yukon SLT. We purchased the vehicle for a fair price, had a good salesperson and purchased an extended warranty (Select is administered by a Protective company and backed by Lyndon Property Insurance Company) through the dealership due to being a pre-owned (1 local owner) vehicle. The warranty was to cover any major problems that would occur. Of course, not the normal wear and tear (ex. tires, brakes, light bulbs, oil changes, wipes, things of this nature). Thank goodness we purchased the warranty for 36 months. Now, we've owned the vehicle for 23 months and have had to use the warranty over a half dozen times. Of course, now we have 13 months left on the warranty an had your auto ride system go out. It will cost us over $1,200 to fix the auto ride system that we found out was not covered by the warranty company. So, I asked Molsteads for some help in looking into the issue by giving them our mechanics name that works on our vehicle and all the claim information. They never called the mechanic to check on the mechanical terminology/issues and it took me emailing them over 3 times and over a period of 3 weeks for them to respond to us. They responded in an short three sentence email and never once had the courtesy to call to explain anything. So, I WOULD NOT recommend this dealership due to lacking in professionalism, customer service and not standing behind their warranty products. I'm speaking out due to seeing the advertisements on all the satisfied customers. Trust me, my family is not satisfied with paying over $2,200 for an extended warranty and still has to pay out another $1,200 to fix the vehicle. Disappointed and Non-repeat customer Travis and Lori from Waterloo, IA

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Finance/Warranty Dept.
Apr 12, 2013 -

Mike Molstead Motors responded

Thank you for the review and the concerns. Unfortunately we cannot please every single customer. This customer has had over $4,000 in claims paid out on his warranty that he paid $2,200 for at the time of purchase. The customer was told by 3 different people in our store that the issue he was having was unfortunately not covered by the warranty he bought. The claim that we never called him back is unfounded, as Keegan Davis, Jim Molstead and myself all talked to this customer on the phone. He was also informed when he bought the vehicle that the warranty was not comprehensive bumper to bumper because the vehicle he was buying had almost 100,000 miles at time of purchase. We offer a wide array of warranty options, but unfortunately we cannot offer complete bumper to bumper coverage on a vehicle that is 5-6 years old and has 100,000 miles at time of purchase. The customer then asked us to personally cover the repair costs on his vehicle, which he had bought 2 years ago and had put 20,000 miles on since purchase. We strive to make sure every customer is completely satisfied every time. Unfortunately there are some circumstances where we simply cannot accomodate what the customer is asking us to do.

May 01, 2012

"I've never liked the car-buying process. Pushy..."

- tazshot2000

I've never liked the car-buying process. Pushy salespeople, price haggling and up-selling aren't fun. So naturally I was prepared for this when I went the Mike Molstead Motors. To my surprise, there was none of this. I was contacted by Keegan Davis after submitting my vehicle information on Autotrader.com. There was no pressure, he just wanted to know what I was looking for, and if he could help. I lived over 2 hours away, but decided it would be worth the trip if I ended up with a good deal. The first thing I noted was how friendly everyone at the dealership was. Everyone I came in contact with, or even casually walked by greeted me, and not in the superficial "we're going to be nice to you because we want to sell you a car" kind of way, it was genuine. I got the feeling that everyone who worked there liked their job and liked working there. Keegan was professional and helpful through out the process. We came to an agreement on a price for the vehicle I wanted, and they gave me a great price on my trade-in. I drove home in the new (to me) vehicle with a smile on my face, still in disbelief that the process was, dare I say, enjoyable. Even though it's quite a haul for me, when it comes time for a new vehicle, I will check out Mike Molstead Motors first. They are that good.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keegan Davis
May 11, 2012 -

Mike Molstead Motors responded

Thank you for your purchase and for taking the time to leave us a review. Keegan takes great care of his customers and we are pleased to hear you had a good experience. Thanks again, and let us know if you need anything in the future. Jordan Molstead Sales Manager Mike Molstead Motors

March 09, 2011

"I located a car on the Auto Trader internet site at..."

- 1954BOOMER

I located a car on the Auto Trader internet site at Molstead / Charles City. Phone conversation with sales rep Adam yielded excellent results. Included detailed walk-around description of vehicle, extended warranty details, prox trade-in value, and eventually pulling the vehicle from other possible sale until I arrived later that day. The car was exactly as described, my trade was acceptable and we made a deal with no high pressure, no gimmicks, no surprises. After a 260 mile one way drive, surprises are not welcome. ( Jim in finance was very helpful as well ) Friendly, helpful, innovative, and what a beautiful Cadillac ....... Rodger Rang - Sioux Falls, SD

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam Hughes + Jim Molstead
February 26, 2011

"My wife bought her truck new at this dealership. Needed..."

- gnx070

My wife bought her truck new at this dealership. Needed some parts for it did some pricing around local north Iowa dealers. Mike Molstead prices were 30% over retail. I called back and ask why there prices were so high and all they could say was that is the price the computer gives us. And that I must have been given the wholesale price at the other five dealers I had called. I ended up buying the parts from a thrid party body shop for over half price of what Mike Molstead Motors wanted.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
parts manger
November 08, 2010

"I have given the highest possible score to this..."

- auntiec

I have given the highest possible score to this dealership because they are number 1 in all aspects of the car buying experience. Every employeee is top notch in knowledge of their job, friendliness, honesty, and reliability. No dealership works harder to make their customers feel at ease. You know you are being well cared for from the moment you step onto the lot. It is a beautiful facilty, too! Spotless, well lit and comfortable. They even have a wonderful waiting area with tv, kids play room, snacks, newspapers, all just to pamper their customers! I enjoy being a bit spoiled! I have bought several vehicles here, and plan to be back! I have never felt so at home and appreciated at any other dealership, these people really do care! So hard to find these days! A dealership with a heart! I stop by just to chat once in a while! I have also used the shop for repairs and maintence. Wonderful! You take them your problems, they fix them fast, and back on the road you go! They fix things right the first time! Very smart people! Very nice people! The garage is also shiny clean!If they don't have what you want, they will find it! They did for me! I just can't say enough about Mike Molstad Motors---the best in the business---and super people, every one of them! How refreshing!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Josh Molstad, Joe Molstad
1
1 - 10 of 24 results