Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Modern Ford of Boone

Boone, NC

not yet
rated
21 Reviews

300 New Market Boulevard

Boone, NC

28607

Directions

21 Reviews of Modern Ford of Boone

Sort by
August 30, 2021

"My son and I went t Boone Ford to look at a 2011 Chevy..."

- jimw248

My son and I went t Boone Ford to look at a 2011 Chevy Equinox on June 19, 2021. The The dealership stated the vehicle's condition to be excellent and that it went through a 150 point inspection. The vehicle looked good so we purchased the vehicle. We didn't get 10 miles from the dealership when my son called me stating the vehicle was revving up and not going out of 1st gear as we were headed down a mountain. It got so bad that he had to pull off unto a truck runoff ramp. I got out of my truck and looked at it and tried to drive it in this area and it wouldn't shift. I called the dealership and the sales David asked me if I could get it back to the dealership. I stated it wouldn't shift but he insisted if I could try and get it there. We tried to drive it but only got 5miles and I decided I wasn't going to make matters worse. We left it in a parking lot and drove the keys to him so they could tow it. David assured me that this would be a priority and that he would call me on that Monday to give me an update. Monday came and went without any calls. So on Tuesday I called and asked for David and he was unavailable but told he would call me. He never did. I called Wednesday and again was told he was unavailable but the lady transferred me to Justin in service. I asked Justin for an update and he stated they hadn't gotten to it yet. I explained I was told this would be a priority. He said he would look into it. That Friday I had to call Justin back and he stated the transmission wouldn't come out of first gear. I stated I told David that a week ago and your telling me the same. He stated they had to send the vehicle over to Chevy and that their first appointment was the following Monday. I called Justin back that Tuesday to get an update because no one at this dealership calls anyone back and was told the transmission was bad and that it needed a new one. I was asked if I wanted to keep the vehicle or get my money back. I asked my son and he liked the vehicle and wanted them to repair it. I feel like they didn't want to invest the money in it. They stated they had to order a new transmission and that it would take a couple of days to get it in and a couple of days to install. A week later I called for an update and was told they ordered the wrong transmission and was waiting on it to get delivered. Yet another delay. A week and half goes by and I call and was told the guy installing the transmission and had kidney stones and was in the hospital and so work had stopped on the transmission. I asked if they had another mechanic who could finish the work and they said no. They stated another mechanic wouldn't know we the other mechanic left. I almost laughed because this was nonsense. To make a long story short, it took them 6 weeks to complete this job. I sat down prior to the transmission was complete with the new car sales manager Lee Brogan and explained the situation with no return calls, no one being available every time I call and how unprofessional things have been handled. He even stated it was unprofessional and something that needed to be addressed. I actually thought he was sincere but later found out he wasn't. ****UPDATE When my son finally got the vehicle back there was a noise the following day so my son took it to Meineke and was told the timing chain was bad and that it would cost $1200 to repair. We explained that the transmission went out the first day and now this. He stated this vehicle should have never been sold to us and that the transmission issued placed my son in a very dangerous situation. I called Lee Brogan and told him the timing chain issue and that you can definitely hear the noise. I would be bringing the vehicle up there that day but it would be after hours. He stated that was fine. They had the car the car for a week and again trying to touch base with someone was impossible. They finally said after a week that they couldn't reproduce the noise and that if it was a timing chain it would be covered under the warranty. We go to pick up the vehicle and immediately upon starting the vehicle the noise was heard. Lee and one of his mechanics says they don't hear anything which was a insult. Lee states the way the car sounded he would drive it to California. We took the vehicle and took it to the Chevy dealership by my home and within 30 minutes I am told the timing chain was bad and that anyone could hear the noise especially a mechanic. They told me the dealership just didn't want to fix the car. They also said for Lee to say he would drive the car to California was an insult to injury. I had to pay almost $500 in costs that weren't covered under the warranty. At this point my son has driven this vehicle a total of 3 weeks since the purchase back in June. I have made 2 payments and getting ready to make the 3rd and I am out of the $500 in repair costs. I requested that Lee reimburse me for the repairs and the 2 payments I made since my son hadn't had the use of the car and he only offered me for the repairs. He wouldn't even return my calls or respond personally and had someone named Tyler speak to me which shows how unprofessional he is. This is the worst dealership I have ever dealt with. They have absolutely no professional class whatsoever. And I see where it comes from sine Lee is the same way. If you have an issue they could care a less. They are great up to the point where the sale is finished. They could care a less about customer satisfaction. If you look back in there reviews there are several complaints like mine. At this point I have decided to seek legal counsel. BUYER BEWARE.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Modern Ford
1.0
Other Employees : Lee Brogan(general manager in car sales, Justin and Jesse in service
Sep 07, 2021 -

Modern Ford of Boone responded

We acknowledge your review and are currently looking into the events you’ve detailed.

July 31, 2018

"IMPORTANT 4 SEVICE"

- ExModernFord

U MUST be sure to schedule appointment in person OR thru your Salesman. Modern Ford of Boone has schedulers out of Winston Salem (RUDE) Not sure WHY the incompetent scheduler ( where my call was routed) is doing such a bad job representing a GOOD GROUP of people in Boone?!?

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern Ford
Other Employees : Dustin Tester ( Service Advisor)
Aug 01, 2018 -

Modern Ford of Boone responded

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We value hearing from our customers, and I apologize for the inconvenience that occurred in our service department. If you have any questions or would care to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us at your earliest convenience. Sincerely, The Modern Ford of Boone Team

March 02, 2018

"Best Cookies and Muffins (complimentary) anywhere!"

- Nancy Sharpe

If you visit this dealership, they supply a wide assortment of tasty baked goods to sweeten any services! Oh and their service department is courteous and helpful as well... I had my Edge serviced for a noise issue, Jeff test drove the car and was able to identify the problem and the technician, James Brown had the part ordered quickly. A loaner car was provided and I picked the car up the next day. One happy customer! FYI try the chocolate chip cookies...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeff, James Brown
Mar 22, 2018 -

Modern Ford of Boone responded

Nancy, thank you so much for this awesome review! I'm sure Jeff and James will be thrilled to hear of your positive experience. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to doing so again! Best, The Modern Ford of Boone Team

November 16, 2017

"Modern Ford"

- yasmany37

This was the best buying experience I have ever had. The whole staff was very friendly and courteous, I would recommend anybody to purchase from here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern Ford
5.0
Other Employees : Bryan
Nov 17, 2017 -

Modern Ford of Boone responded

Thank you for the kind words! It’s quite an accomplishment to hear that we provided you with the best car buying experience ever! If you have any further needs, do not hesitate to come back to see us. Sincerely, The Modern Ford of Boone Team

October 08, 2017

"Sales"

- Fish

This was the best buying experience I have ever had. The whole staff was very friendly and courteous, I would recommend anybody to purchase from here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern Ford
5.0
Oct 10, 2017 -

Modern Ford of Boone responded

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing Modern Ford of Boone. We will continue to offer the best car buying experience to each and every customer we come in contact with. Thank you again for your kind words and business. Warm regards, The Modern Ford of Boone Team

August 01, 2017

"Very poor"

- Lee30

Did not want to work with us could not give a straight answer and laughed at me to my face lied about a recall that was on the news for everyone to see

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Mitchell
May 16, 2017

"The worst customer service ever. "

- Mickey

We decided to purchase a car here because they talked about how important customer service was. Buyer beware! After the sale we only received customer No Service. These people cared nothing about us or our needs after they had made the sale. Regret ever purchasing a car from Modern Ford. Worst buying decision ever!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian
April 24, 2017

"Incompetence Incorporated"

- heidi koger

I used their "convenient" call and reserve number to reserve two cars to view, since I was driving and hour and 45 minutes to come see them.I also made it quite clear that I had CASH IN HAND and was READY TO BUY ON SIGHT. While on the trip there, I received a friendly confirmation call from their call center that the keys for both cars had been "pulled" and were waiting on me for my "appointment" at 5pm. I was shocked to find that on my arrival at 5pm, that one of the cars was in the process of being SHOWN TO OTHER PEOPLE. I contacted the call center, who attempted to rectify the situation. The men behind the circular desk were absolutely NO HELP, and did not seem to care that I had driven up there, nor that I had CASH IN HAND to buy the vehicle. The "manager" assured me that he "would handle it," then walked off and never said another word to me. Another salesperson told me that the keys HAD been pulled, but one of his rival salesmen had taken the keys OFF OF HIS DESK to show it to the other customer, even though that was not protocol. To make matters worse, the salesperson who showed me the second vehicle knew NOTHING about it. He could not even figure out HOW TO GET IN THE BACKSEAT, because the locks were all manual. He also could not tell me the specs on the car, and when I asked him the specs on the car, such as auxiliary wiring and the Blue Book Value, he told me that I could "probably look it up on my phone." Meanwhile, he decided to go ahead and run paperwork without asking me, and began pushing this cheap car on me while I watched the car that I had reserved be purchased by a teenage girl and her father. I was so disgusted that I was ready to leave. I had to ask multiple times for the keys back to my car, and had to be pretty blunt about my disappointment. It turns out that they under-quoted the value of my current vehicle by $1000 (we took it to another dealer just to see) and OVER-QUOTED the vehicle they tried to sell me by $2000. After finally getting the heck out of there, he actually CALLED ME ON MY CELL PHONE to argue with me about not choosing to buy the car. I WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN. Can't believe that I drove back to my hometown to see a dealership that my family has trusted for years completely ruined by such unprofessional incompetence. TOTAL WASTE OF TIME.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
God only knows. Amy was the call center person, Charlie tried to sell me car #2, and the guy behind the desk never even looked up at me.
March 25, 2017

"Ruined my credit"

- Ricky

I told them not to run my credit more than twice. When I looked at my credit, I found that I had eight hard hits from them. Can't trust nobody these days. Be careful! Wolves in sheep clothing!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
March 18, 2017

"Great Experience"

- shanman1978

All of the people were wonderful at this delearship, especially Chris Harmon. He took very good care of us and even after we found a small problem with the truck he worked quickly to get the problem fixed. A truly wonderful experience. Would gladly recommend this salesman and dealership to friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Harmon, Charles and Jordan in sales
1
1 - 10 of 21 results