Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Ray Skillman Westside Auto Mall

Indianapolis, IN

4.9
1,686 Reviews
Ray Skillman Auto Mall in Indianapolis, IN, also serving Carmel, IN and Greenwood, IN is proud to be an automotive leader in our community. Since opening our doors, Ray Skillman Auto Mall has maintained our solid commitment to our customers, offering a wide selection of cars and trucks and ease of purchase. Whether you are in the market to purchase a new or pre-owned vehicle, if you need financing options, we'll help you find a car loan that works for you! Even if you have bad credit, or are a first time car buyer, you can trust that Ray Skillman Auto Mall will professionally fit you into the automobile of your choice.
Contact Dealership

5155 W Pike Plaza Rd

Indianapolis, IN

46254

Directions

By Type

Showing 1,686 reviews

May 18, 2011

"I liked working with Jared and Dave (Sales Mgr.) so much..."

- boilerdowd

I liked working with Jared and Dave (Sales Mgr.) so much that after leasing a car with them last summer, we bought my wife's new car with them in December. Good, honest people...great and easy to work with. I hope they are selling Acura (?) products in a few years...that's what I'd love to lease in '13, and I'd like to work with them again.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jared Stevenson
May 17, 2011

"First off we were reluctant to purchase a Hyundai because..."

- AnnaPeay

First off we were reluctant to purchase a Hyundai because we were fearful of the Hyundai brand quality. Tony Araujo was so enamormed of the Hyundai brand that we caught his enthusiasm for the Hyundai. Once Tony found out that we really wanted a hybrid car, he encouraged us to wait for the Sonata. Many sales persons would just want a quick sale, and not care about the customer's real desires. Hats off to Tony for his attitude, advice, patience, and willingness to sacrfice an immediate sale to please his customers. During the sales cycle which turned out to be lengthy, Tony kept up updated routinely via e-mail and phone about the status of our new vehicle. Jim Smith got involved toward the end, and was tracking its delivery progress on a regular basis. Tony would tell us we were going to love the car, and that it was worth the wait. He was right on both counts. In addition to Tony and Jim, we have to add that everyone at the dealership was very supportive and extremely friendly. The other sales reps were quick to talk about the car, page Tony if we got there early, etc. The lady who answers the phone always knew where Tony and Jim were, and always got us a live person to address any concerns we had. When Corey the finance person, found out we had been there for some time and that I have diabetes and was getting pretty hungry, he gave me a power bar from his desk drawer. The whole environment at this dealership is one of trust, caring, and teamwork. It was a true pleasure working with everyone there. I have to admit that my husband and I are cranky old senior citizens. We tend to be perfectionists, and can be quite demanding. We were treated like royalty, made to feel like we were the most important customer they had, and when we left the dealership we left feeling very good about the entire experience. Anna & David Peay

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Araujo & Jim Smith & Corey Rever
May 04, 2011

"the entire group that waited onme were the most friendly..."

- wsaskme

the entire group that waited onme were the most friendly and professional. I would be tempted to just visit with this group.i ONLY WENT IN TO COMPARE AFTER HAVING GONE TO BUTLER AND AGAIN THE STAFF WERE SO COMMITTED TO SERVICE AND CONCERNS THAT BUYING WAS SO SO EASY.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
george lewis, George Lewis
May 03, 2011

"I bought a KIA Sportage from these guys and they were..."

- Joeyidgaf

I bought a KIA Sportage from these guys and they were great. I have nothing negative to say. I was in and out in 1 hour and had a new car. I would recommend Skillman to everyone. Below is my experience with Butler KIA. It is long and drawn out but if you want to know what an awful experience I had with Butler, here it is below. Butler Kia      I have a story to tell for what it is worth about my dissatisfaction with Butler Kia in Fishers Indiana.  On April 14, 2011 I went into Butler Kia with my wife.  We drove a 2011 Kia Sportage and loved it.  The sales person was Pam Walters.  We liked Pam and it turns out we had a common friend.  She had worked for Obrian Toyota for a number of years and I am good friends with Pat Obrian the owner of that dealership.  I told Pam I would come in the next day for an evaluation on my 2008 LTZ Tahoe for a possible trade?  I did just that.  I came in on the morn of Friday the 15th and the appraiser for KIA checked out and drove my Tahoe.  he offered $23,000.  I immediately said no way.  Not even close.  I did plead my case and say that dealer trade was 27k.  I did ask if we could get a little closer?  I was ready to do a deal!!   He said the the dealership was not giving good trades for a gas guzzler and this forced me to go to other dealers.        The next day, Saturday, I went to a chevy, gmc, and ford dealer within a few miles and all 3 offered me $26000 on the spot.  This was more attractive and I decided on possibly the chevy Equinox.  I did not do a deal that Saturday the 16th, but I knew I would do something within a few days.  In the mean time, a Butler KIA representative called me and asked me what could they do to earn my business.  I told them that an offer of 23k for my Tahoe was an obvious kick in the pants.  She said, let me look into it and get back to me.  She called me back within 30 minutes and said she was sorry, but 23k was the best their dealership could do.  I said fine and moved on.      ON Sunday the 17th, I decided to give one last try on the KIA. I did like the KIA very much and it was really my first choice.  I emailed Pam Walters Sunday morning about my situation.  I told her that I would buy a car by Monday or Tuesday.  I also told her I was disappointed in the trade price that Butler offered me.  Therefore, I told her I would buy a KIA for cash.  I decided to sell my tahoe on my own and just buy a KIA outright.  I asked her to give me the dealers best price and if I liked the price, I would buy it.  She emailed me back and basically said that she would speak to her sales manager 1st thing Monday morning.  She also said SHE WOULD CALL ME FIRST THING MONDAY MORNING!!!!  I said great and that I would buy a KIA for the right price.      I expected a call at 8 or 9am Monday morn.  I did not hear from PAM.  I decided to call the dealership at 9am.  Pam had not arrived yet.  I again called at 10am.  NO PAM.  I would have thought that this would have been a priority and at the very least I would have received a cell call from PAM?  I again called at 11am and at 12pm and finally at 1pm.  Still no PAM and I was very frustrated.  I then asked to speak to a manager.  I was given to LEROY.  He said he was the manager.  I told Leroy my entire story.  The same story you have just read.  I told him I was ready to buy a $31,000 Kia sportage and since PAM was not Calling me, would he give me his absolute bottom dollar price.  I told him that if I liked the price, I would come in and write a check.  He said he would call me back in 30 minutes.  He did call and told me he would knock off $500 bucks off the retail price.  I said in shock, 500 bucks.   I said are times that good that you are telling a CASH customer that you will knock off 500 bucks?  I could see 1500 or 2000, but 500 bucks?  Are u kidding?  I said all of this out loud to Leroy.  I said, surely he could do a little better?  he said NO.  I said OK.      I proceeded to Call BRAD, the owner of all the Butler dealerships.  On his voicemail I proceeded to tell him how poorly my situation was handled.  I told him that I was a successful businessman and that I was ready to buy a car.  I left my name and number.  He never called.      No one ever followed up with me?   You would have thought a salesperson would have called.  They all know I was ready to write a check.  I guess that Butler is doing so well, that a CASH buyer is of NO INTEREST to them????      I did buy a KIA SPORTAGE and I love it.  Ray Skillman treated me like GOLD and gave me $2000 off sticker.  I felt this was a fair deal and I went with it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeremy Greer
April 30, 2011

"The salesman, Ian Robb, was excellent! We got a great..."

- rjcd57

The salesman, Ian Robb, was excellent! We got a great deal and we are very satisfied with the car. The salesman did everything he could to help us. We got a very good allowance on our trade in. We would recommend this car dealership to anyone and everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian Robb
April 30, 2011

"Andrew Hart has been extremely helpful to me this week. ..."

- iurooter

Andrew Hart has been extremely helpful to me this week. He has gone above and beyond the normal call of duty to locate exactly the right vehicle that fits my price range, mileage, options, etc. He took the time to stop and look at a van for me at a different lot than where he normally works. He did this on a Friday night on his way home from work. Whether or not I ultimately purchase a vehicle from him is still in doubt, not because of anything Andrew hasn't done, but mostly because his location is not convenient for me as I live about 70 miles away from the dealership. But even if I buy elsewhere, I want to say Andrew has been the most helpful and pleasant dealer I have dealt with in my recent shopping experience. Regards, Bob Root New Cstle, IN

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andrew Hart, Andrew Hart
April 29, 2011

"I had been contemplating either purchasing or leasing a..."

- hanesj75

I had been contemplating either purchasing or leasing a new(er) car to replace my 15-year-old Saab with 182k miles on it. I wanted something small, reliable, reasonably thrifty on gas and sporty to use as a commuter car. I ended up dropping into Ray Skillman Westside Mazda on a Saturday afternoon to look at a Mazda3 and maybe take a test drive. Anthony came out to the lot to meet me, and inquired about my interests, and after a brief pleasant discussion I went out on a test drive of a Mazda3 Sport hatchback. This was not the typical spin around the dealership test drive; we drove all the way up to Zionsville on I-65 and back down along Lafayette, so I was able to get really acquainted with the car, which I really liked. When we got back to the dealership, Anthony introduced me to Vince, the sales manager, and we talked about the Mazda a little bit. I was still doing research and thinking through my options, so I thanked Anthony and Vince, took their business cards and left. By Monday night, I had decided I wanted to pursue a lease of a 2011 Mazda3 Sport hatchback with specific options, based on some other test drives of competing models as well as some pretty heavy-duty research into prices, lease residuals, money factors, and all the other numbers that come into play for a lease. I sent Anthony an email Tuesday morning outlining what I wanted to do, the exact vehicle in their inventory that I wanted (which I found on their website and was on their other lot at Ray Skillman Mazda Northeast), what price I wanted to pay, and where I wanted to be on a lease. I went back and forth with Vince on price during the day on Tuesday via email/phone, eventually coming to an agreement on a very good price. Anthony went to the other dealership to retrieve the car, and brought it back to Ray Skillman Mazda West, where it was detailed and topped off with a full tank. Tuesday evening, I went to the dealership and met Anthony, took a quick spin in my new car, went through the paperwork with Walt (the finance manager), went through a couple of things with the car, the manual and other materials with Anthony, wrote a check for my first month's payment, thanked everyone, and drove away. It was completely painless and I got a great deal. I love my car too. I'd recommend this experience for anyone. That being said, it's important to do your homework before you buy or lease a car - let the Internet be your guide. Know what you want and what a good price to pay is. Know your credit score/history. Have financing lined up already through your bank or credit union or know what you're doing with a lease. Those folks that you see waiting around at a dealership and/or have frustrating experiences are those that walk in ill-prepared. I did my entire deal other than signing a few papers before I even went in to the dealership, so I was in-and-out. It was fantastic. Thanks, Anthony, Vince and Walt!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Anthony Bell, Vince Freeman, Walt Brady
April 28, 2011

"I recently started a car search. I had been to several..."

- davidturpin

I recently started a car search. I had been to several dealerships around town (with no luck on finding what I wanted at the price I was willing to pay) when a friend referred me to Ray Skillman (she had just purchased a car from them). When I got to the dealership I was greeted by Austin and he promptly started showing me around. I found a car that I fell in love with. Unfortunately, the finance manager was swamped - so after waiting for over an hour, Austin and Nathaniel suggested I just take the car home for the weekend and come back on Monday to "do the paperwork". When I came back in on Monday, they unfortunately weren't able to get where I wanted my payments to be. At this point I thought I'd just continue my search (at my own pace). However, just a few days later I found myself in NEED of a car (my roommate had been letting me drive his car - he changed his mind - so now I was without a car). I called Austin and told him my situation. He said "let me get you a few options and I'll get back with you". Within an hour, he had called with 3 options - he had remembered the things I was looking for in a car - I didn't even have to recap what I was looking for (that's very rare for a salesperson). I came in a couple of hours later and had picked out 3 great options - in the end, I decided on a 2010 Dodge Avenger with very low miles and pretty much loaded - and get this - FIT INTO MY BUDGET! That's right, not the back and forth dickering that you normally get at a car dealer. In a nutshell, Austin and Nathaniel were great - which is why I'm writing this review - I almost never do this. I want to thank them for helping me and getting me into a great car. I would recommend them to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Austin Burns and Nathaniel South
April 26, 2011

"Robert Katz Indianapolis, IN April 26, 2011 ..."

- rokatz

Robert Katz Indianapolis, IN April 26, 2011 Justin Bunte General Manager Ray Skillman Westside Auto Mall 5155 Pike Plaza Indianapolis, In 46254 Dear Mr. Bunte, I am writing to you to bring to your attention the outstanding service of sales consultant David Gurdian. I am a supremely satisfied owner of a 2010 Lancer that I purchased from Ray Skillman Westside Auto Mall, with the invaluable assistance of David Gurdian. I purchased the car back in November 2010 as an early birthday present to myself, and now that my birthday is here, I knew that I must seize the occasion to write a long-overdue letter of thanks to Ray Skillman for two amazing things: first, for enabling me to buy a car that I love, could afford, and at the best price in Indianapolis, and second, for enabling me to navigate the car buying process from the most gracious, informed, helpful, patient, affable -- in a word, the best -- auto sales consultant I have ever encountered or heard about. I make these claims with a high degree of confidence. I can research matters very carefully (I am an attorney and a professor) and I brought all my researching skills to bear on my search for a car. I met and spent significant amounts of time with salepersons and floor managers at virtually every dealership in Indianapolis -- including Andy Mohr, Butler, Carmax, Bob Rohrman, Tutwiler, Woody Sander, and Penske. The differences between my experience with David Gurdian as compared to those other salespersons and dealerships were vast. Dave was far more than a salesperson for me. He was a guide -- a kind of sherpa -- on my quest for the right car. David spent an enormous amount deal of time helping me figure what kind and which model of car that I wanted and needed -- three dozen or so e-mails, several visits, at least a dozen test drives of various cars, and much time on the phone. This was a radically different experience than my encounters with other salespersons, who focused mainly on this or that specific car, and displayed little curiosity as to what I was looking to accomplish in my purchase, and offered no help in refining my preferences or clarifying in my own mind what I could and wanted to accomplish. David was very knowledgeable about every aspect of cars that bore on my decisionmaking and could explain it in a way that was very accessible to this layperson -- including very fine details about the differences of continuously variable transmission, which played an important role in my decision to buy the Lancer. David also found ways to engage my twelve year old son, a budding car aficionado who accompanied me in my car hunt, and made the experience both fun and educational for him. David candidly and fairly explained the pros and cons in buying a car from Skillman versus certain other dealerships. He spot-on-accurate guidance helped me understand the opaque and misleading nature of others’ practices and offers. The contrast between David’s approach to helping car hunters and those of salesmen and male managers at other dealerships is dramatic. Some of those people made me feel that if I asked too many questions, if I probed too deeply, took up too much of their time, they would explode. It was like they were trying to bully me into buying a car from them! If I were an auto sales consultant, I would want to conduct myself just like David did. If I owned an auto dealership, I would want to hire David as my CEO and train all my sales consultant. I can’t imagine ever buying a car for myself or a family member from someone else, and I enthusiastically recommend David to everyone I encounter who is thinking about buying a car. Thank you for taking the time to read my letter, and for making my birthday this year extra special. Best, Rob

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : David Gurdian
April 26, 2011

"Our buying experience at Ray Skillman was terrific. Nate..."

- judy wilson

Our buying experience at Ray Skillman was terrific. Nate Edwards was courteous, friendly and most importantly not "pushy". He and Jeff Polley knew what we wanted and what we wanted to pay and they worked really hard to get us into our beautiful silver Sonata. Because I wanted a silver Sonata and they didn't have one on the lot (they had to find one for me) I hadn't seen my actual car before I picked it up. When we got to the dealership to pick it up, there was this beautiful car sitting in the show room with balloons tied on it and a red carpet leading up to it. In the front window they had put a sign Judy and Dave's new car. It was a really fun experience. All in all, we highly recommend Ray Skillman Hyundai if you want a fair deal and great people to work with. Judy and Dave Wilson

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeff Polley, Nate Edwards
1,671 - 1,680 of 1,686 results