Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Sands Chevrolet - Surprise

Surprise, AZ

1.8
2,771 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

13165 N. Autoshow Ave

Surprise, AZ

85388

Directions

2,771 Reviews of Sands Chevrolet - Surprise

Sort by Write a review
December 16, 2020

"Horrible service!! DO NOT GO HERE, went to trade in my..."

- mikaylastonem

Horrible service!! DO NOT GO HERE, went to trade in my car and was told the only car I could get into was a Chevy Bolt EV, I was very skeptical because I've never had or known anyone whos had a electric car, I asked lots of questions at this dealership to make sure it was something I would like but in the end I was sold a car under false pretenses!! This is the worst customer service I have ever ever had!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Remington, Oscar
November 27, 2020

"Discussed a new Chevy Tahoe over the phone on Saturday...."

- alaskabenbrooks

Discussed a new Chevy Tahoe over the phone on Saturday. I found this specific vehicle as an Internet Deal at Sands Chevrolet. Made an appointment to go in Sunday and test drive the vehicle and discuss my trade in. Sunday the vehicle was parked in the sales lot, dirty with a lot of bird poop over it. Obviously it hadn't moved (or cleaned) in awhile. After the test drive started discussing the deal. Joe couldn't answer much, just getting info for us to get it all on paper. Then Sean turns up, Sales Manager. Before I knew it the price of the vehicle increased by several thousand dollars ! While the adverstised price was on the MSRP on the vehicle and internet offer, they don't even discuss the hidden charges until well into the process. Then a low ball trade in and I was looking at about $7,000 more than expected. Sean would talk for a few minutes and then disappear for 10. Extremely unprofessional. The vehicle was dirty, including a scuffed interior and had 60 miles on it. I told them it looked used. These guys are amateurs. The next day I went to Liberty GMC and talking on the phone with their internet department, again from an online advertisement for a specific vehicle. Arrived at Liberty at 2 PM and drove home in our beautiful 2021 GMC Yukon SLT. Better equipped that the dirty Tahoe, and save about $7,000! And it was a very pleasant experience. What professionals.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Ferguson
November 24, 2020

"I came in with a 2020 Harley sportster for trade and..."

- C.D.19D

I came in with a 2020 Harley sportster for trade and spoke with salesman, Oscar, who sold me a used 2019 Chevy Colorado. He went into great detail how the truck had only one owner and was well taken care of. He failed to mention the part where it was in a major collision and it was rated as severe on the carfax report that I paid for. Also failed to mention it was a rental previously and that it certainly was not a trade in. When I came into the dealership I explained what had happened. A manager then got upset with me, as if some how this situation was my fault. I educated said manager on the LAW, as in consumer fraud (ARS 44-1522) is a real thing with real consequences. Give Mark Brnovich's office a ring and just ask for yourself. After this he, the manager, acted as if he wasn't going to make this thing right. I then dealt with a different salesman, Trace Hunt. Trace treated me with respect and understood that this was a tough spot to be in. Thank you Trace for your professionalism. I then had the pleasure of speaking with a real manager, Earnest Hickman, as the previous one obviously missed a few of his courses, maybe he needs some more PowerPoint lessons, who knows. Mr. Hickman also treated me with respect and made a bad situation a little better, thank you Earnest for having the tact and integrity as a manager to make the deal work. Although I must admit I was not excited about the fact I ended up paying more in the end for the new truck and Oscar the original salesman got half of that commission that should have fully ended up in Trace's hand. Finally, this is not how you conduct a good business. I am a disabled combat Veteran that served in both Iraq and Afghanistan. To be misled in this way has forever changed the way I view dealerships. I would NOT recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Oscar, Trace Hunt, Earnest Hickman
November 22, 2020

"Our salesman didn't know anything about the vehicle we..."

- michael ryan

Our salesman didn't know anything about the vehicle we were looking for or vehicles in general. I was looking for a Tahoe with Max Trailering package in order to get the higher tow rating. He told me that any V8 can tow and that the Tahoe in general is capable of towing 12,000lbs which is ridiculous (it maxes out at 8600 if configured properly). We left not feeling good about the deal only to get a text with some numbers that were more in line with what we were looking for. So we came back in, the original salesman was gone so we worked with another one (second guy was way better). But the sales manager kept coming up with numbers that were nowhere near what I was texted and came back for. Should have just run at this point but he did get it to where we needed to be. UNTIL....I get over to finance after waiting for them to find the elusive Caleb. This guy is a joke. He has no idea what he is having customers sign and makes it very obvious that the only important thing is making sure the dealership gets the biggest and quickest payday it can from every deal. I asked him about a specific form from the bank that we were financing through and his response was "I don't know, I just know we have to get that signed so we can get paid". After refusing to sign it until I know what it is, he calls the bank and finds out it is a completely voluntary form and isn't even needed! Now this brings me to the extended warranty that I purchased and still have no idea what coverage I have. Caleb had me sign a service contract for the warranty, it had no information about the warranty filled in so I asked what my coverage is. He then had me sign another one that he checked two boxes on; one says "Premium" and the other is for the deductible. He also handed me a pamphlet about the coverage. So I'm asking questions about the coverage in the pamphlet and he then tells me its not that plan its "this one" and hands me a different pamphlet and tells me that I will receive the warranty cards and info in the mail. But wait, there's more... Three days outside of 30 days from purchase the check engine light comes on. I take it in because I have this wonderful warranty that Caleb told me covers "everything". Except it just so happens that the check engine light is caused by the catalytic converter that just so happened to go bad right outside of my 30 days and also isn't covered by my $4000 warranty. So now I have a vehicle that I haven't even owned long enough to make a single payment on or even register in my name that needs a $2000 repair. Oh and the third row head rests that are completely broken are also my problem because I didn't inspect them before purchase. Service department was great to work with but everything on the sales side is terrible. Sands Chevrolet - Surprise, Don't even bother responding with some cut and paste "we're sorry this happened to you" I will not return and I will tell everyone I can to stay away as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Caleb
September 19, 2020

"I purchased a Chevy Impala just over a month ago the..."

- Donnahart67

I purchased a Chevy Impala just over a month ago the check engine light was on a 2 days ago my son took the car to service dept and a purge valve needed to be replaced a part that cost 27.99 and takes 2 minutes to put on they charged 281.00 they were told not to touch the car and not remove any parts from it lying sack of trash did it anyway and threw the old part away I hope it was worth it.....I need another car you wont get my business I'll be going to Carvana kiss it

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor Morales
1.0
Ken Ashby
1.0
Jake Friedberg
1.0
Bryan Gendrich
1.0
Jean Jajou
1.0
Henry Smith
1.0
Robert Wolf
1.0
September 14, 2020

"We bought a vehicle a few weeks ago. It's been back in..."

- Angry Chevy Kinda Owner

We bought a vehicle a few weeks ago. It's been back in their service garage for over two weeks. All we get is stories and lies... I'm not impressed with them at all. They pass the buck from one to another and the phone doesn't work for outgoing calls. We call and are told "I'll have him call you right back" but they never call back.. This is absolutely ridiculous that It's almost time for my first payment and I still don't have my vehicle.Their full inspection of used vehicles is a joke. Neither side mirror moved to the left and I have no brake lights. And I'm not even sure of what else might not work since I haven't had the vehicle long enough to try it out. I had it one week, they had it back for a week. I had it a few days and they've had it since.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Gonzales
2.0
Robert Wolf
1.0
Other Employees : Josh H in financing
May 12, 2020

"Thomas Hughes was absolutely amazing I traded in a 2012..."

- NICOLIO

Thomas Hughes was absolutely amazing I traded in a 2012 Malibu for a 2020 Trax. I was so scared that I was going to be upside down and was going to be stuck with a payment I couldn't afford. Thomas was very thorough on making sure I had the best company to finance with so it wouldn't hurt the bank and I wouldn't be upside down. He went above and beyond as a sales man he did not pressure me he answered all my questions and I got an amazing deal that I could afford and I'm not upside down. I would ONLY recommend seeing Thomas Hughes for your car purchases. He works for you! I also had to go back recently for the chevy sticker making rust on my trunk. I worked with Henry Smith he was so pleasant he was very communicative and didn't rush me and was making sure I was comfortable on my visit. I would recommend seeing ONLY these people to work with your needs

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Henry Smith
5.0
Thomas Hughes
5.0
March 09, 2020

"So I went with my mom to buy a car last month January..."

- Mommabrawls

So I went with my mom to buy a car last month January 2020, she had a deal in place already with Matt and literally was just coming to trade her vehicle and get the new one and drive away....so we get there and have to work with CHUCK (FOR THE LOVE OF GOD AVOID THIS MAN AT ALL COSTS) He spent 20min trying to find my mom in the system and literally accused HER of putting in the wrong info? ITS HER INFO!!! First, we test drive the car....and while we are test driving he is telling us how much he hates his wife and then spending vacation with her and her boyfriend, REALLY inappropriate stuff....we did like the car in any event...So after that was done, he gets to confirming price and jacked up the price of the car by 4000$!!!!! Nothing anything that was discussed with Matt!!! He said it was posted clearly on the website ( it actually said on the website "click here for more info") so I said to mom it's time to walk away....Chuck got so mad and slammed down a blank paper and pen and had the xxxxx to demand she sign her name promising that if he eats the cost and sells her the vehicle as discussed she will buy it and now I'm like oh no sir either you make the deal or not but she isn't signing anything....SURPRISE, SURPRISE, Chuck comes back and can make the deal, as discussed, lol ! So we head on over to finance....then we get the second worst person of the night Joon (AGAIN, RUN FAR AND FAST FROM HIM) he tries to tell us that we are not allowed to have a service record because in 20 years nobody has ever needed one and so I gently reminded him that Chuck said if there is issues with the car we have 30 days or 1000 miles to bring it back if it breaks down mechanically...Joon tells me that it's not true and that I was wrong (Verbatim) and called Chuck...so Chuck comes and indeed backs me up saying yes that's the house policy....these 2 jerks actually argued in front of us for 10min when Joon said well "you can stand behind that policy but I wont" they then pushed us so fast out the door, had to set up the OnStar by ourselves and Chuck says "I will call you tomorrow " GUESS WHAT CHUCK, STILL WAITING ON THAT CALL, BUDDY!!! Fast forward to today, March 5....its been a month...and the tags for the car are not here...it expires in 2 days...so we call the dealership, said they were busy and would call right back...so we went to the DMV and the young lady tells us....SANDS NEVER SENT OVER THE REQUEST FOR TAGS ON THE CAR UNTIL YESTERDAY 3/5/20 a whole month of lies, no follow up, disgusting behavior from CHUCK and JOON and to top it off they ran a credit check on my mom, SHE FINANCED THROUGH HER OWN BANK THEY NEVER SHOULD HAVE RAN HER CREDIT!!!! STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE AS YOU CAN, CHUCK IS LITERALLY THE ANTI-CHRIST OF SALESMEN!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chuck
February 12, 2020

"We purchased a truck that had just been traded in that I..."

- Rusklock1

We purchased a truck that had just been traded in that I had not even been looked at. But because we thought we were getting a good deal on the truck and they stated that they would look the vehicle over and inspect it. We trusted that in good faith we would be OK. Two years of owning the truck and I’ve had nothing but issues and paying thousands of dollars to fix the truck that we received that was used. We’ve done everything in our power to make sure the truck stays up-to-date and in good health of the vehicle. The last two months we put in almost 2000 dollars of work. We took the truck in Monday as this is a work truck and we lost clients throughout the entire 24 hour day as they were looking over our vehicle because we told them something was wrong. They want to tell us this is gradual and computers don’t show. The next day the car broke down and now needs almost 5,000 to fix transmission. We are so upset that the service department is not that great and they don’t do as much as they do to help with cost like they say they do. Oh we saved you $400 oh wait $700 but it’s still $4,495. We have a mechanic that just told us 3,850. So now we have to have the truck towed all because they did not do the verifying the first time correct. We could have had the mechanic before do the work. And we will from this pony on. We won’t have the dealer ever do the work. And now they lost our business for a new truck when this one is paid off.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor Morales
1.0
December 17, 2019

"Outright lie or bait and switch - I am still not sure"

- p sean

I followed up on the newspaper advertised price. First, I made sure car was on the lot, then, that I would qualify for discounts. I was assured both. When I was there ( Surprise ) , I was told that one of the vehicles was at the Glendale lot. We made arrangements to meet the following day and Oscar the salesperson said he would have the car there. On the way to appointment, was told that I would have to buy from Glendale, they would honor the same discount. Note that the website still said the car was in Surprise ( it still does). The salesman in Glendale I was referred to never called back. I was out of town for work for a week and planned to buy on return if available. Now, I am told that the discounted price offered is no longer available because they moved from the new to pre-owned lot and the GM cash is no longer available. I did some checking, there was not GM cash offered in November 2019 on the 2018 models, new or used. I am very disappointed Sands. We will buy two new vehicles in the next 12 months (at least one this month). Neither will be from Sands. My friend who went with me to dealership will also be buying a new truck within the month. Again, not from Sands. Sands will waste your time. Be warned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Oscar
1
...
1 - 10 of 2,771 results