Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Subaru Pacific

Hawthorne, CA

2.3
273 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

14700 Hindry Avenue

Hawthorne, CA

90250

Directions

273 Reviews of Subaru Pacific

Sort by Write a review
March 30, 2021

"Cannot even fully explain all the shenanigans this..."

- Norman

Cannot even fully explain all the shenanigans this dealership engages in. Went in for routine 30,000-mile service on my 2017 Subaru -- that alone, with no repairs, was nearly $1,000. While waiting in showroom, a sales guy texts me if I want to trade in my car that day for a new one. I have little interest, and tell him that besides all the previous probllems I've had with this Subaru, the $1,000 service bill isn't putting me in a good mood. He tells me we can wipe out that service bill and make a deal on a new car. We then haggle -- yeah, haggle, like it's the 1990s -- on a price. It's pretty unseemly. I finally agree to the deal, largely because I want to start with a clean slate and a new car (figuring I just had bad luck with the 2017 one). The new car I'm buying, I'm told, won't be delivered for a couple weeks. Fine. Then the salesman tells me my current car is ready and instructs me to go to front desk to pay. TO PAY? He had told me I wouldn't be paying for service if I bought a new car. He counters that, well, it looked like we weren;t gonna close the deal, so they went ahead and serviced old car. Huh? So? He had told me no service charge if I was trading car in. WHY WOULD I PAY FOR SERVICE FOR A CAR I NO LONGER WILL OWN? This was insane. He said there was nothing he could do about it. Not to mention the service they performed was something they'd be doing anyway to prep the car for sale. Besides the fact that he lied to me, again I ask -- why would someone pay for service for a car the dealer was buying? I don't have the energy at the moment to detail the other unacceptable actions of dealing with everyone that day at Subaru Pacific. Buyer beware? No -- buyer should just AVOID.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Hartzberg
1.0
March 29, 2021

"I don’t like to write bad reviews, but this was less than..."

- Daniel & Megan

I don’t like to write bad reviews, but this was less than honorable. In the afternoon of Mar 18th 2021 I contacted Subaru Pacific in Hawthorne, CA and put a car on hold. I would have purchased the car that day, but I live in Las Vegas, so I had to make flight arrangements to get to LAX early the next morning to buy the car. The car I wanted to buy is hard to find, especially with such low miles. It was a Blue 2019 Subaru Legacy 3.6R with Tan Leather Interior. It had 5,467 miles on it and they were selling the car for $24,500. An exceptional price! This email is their confirmation they put the car on hold for me. Hello Daniel, Application came through great. Thank you. Your Legacy is on hold for you. Cheers, Jin Choi | Internet Sales Manager Direct: (818)731-4936 Subaru Pacific | Inspired Every Day My wife and I were truly excited about the car. As we were discussing the car over dinner that evening I received a call from Jin, the sales guy. I expected him to confirm my arrival in the morning to see and buy the car, but to our dismay he told me it had been sold. He gave me no explanation, other than his manager sold the car with complete disregard to my hold on the car and without giving me notice. Something about the whole thing didn’t feel right and I am curious what really happened. The car had been on their lot for 46 days. I’m not easily swayed to believe in the coincidence that someone found interest in the same car literally at the exact same time we did. I found one Red and one Blue 2019 Subaru Legacy 3.6R just like it in Florida. Luckily I do travel for a living and just so happened to be in both Pensacola and Miami over the last 10 days where I was able to test drive both cars. I did purchase the Blue one in Miami on Saturday the 27th of March. Subaru Pacific, you caused us a lot of grief. Fortunately our story has a happy ending; however Managment at Subaru Pacific should be more concerned about their reputation as this experience was not becoming. Daniel

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jin Choi
September 30, 2020

"Buyer beware.... Once they have your money, you are..."

- Haylo J

Buyer beware.... Once they have your money, you are WORTHLESS to your salesman and the entire dealership. I had a vehicle shipped out of state, and they took a month to send the title to my local DMV. After making 3 appointments to go and have the title paperwork taken care of, after my saleman told me the title was being sent the day I talked to him a week after the car arrived. 3 weeks after the car arrived, I text my salesman asking where the title was. He passed the buck to another person at the dealership blaming them for not sending the title (even though he said HE is sending the title. On top of the mess of begging them to send the title to a I rightfully own, when it arrived, and major esthetic part from the convertible was completely missing. I text the salesman and showed him the missing part. He did not text back, but called me to say he’s embarrassed because no one put down the convertible top while the car was on the dealership, and if I go get the part replaced, the dealership Will compensate me for the COST. After purchasing the part from a local dealership, I reached out to see where I need to send the bill to be compensated. the salesman would no longer answer my texts and when I called the dealership, they were always “too busy” to talk to me. As a paying customer I was treated like garbage. As soon as the car was funded, they treated me completely different. I was no longer a priority, and when I finally reached a manager, he said the sale end admitted that he authorized to reimburse me for the missing part. But since he didn’t put it in writing, he claimed he “didn’t have to do anything at all”. His only offer was that he “might help me”. MIGHT. After the salesman admitted that he claimed I would be compensated for the missing part. Not a portion, not a percentage, “we will compensate you for the missing part” were his exact words. Record every call you have with salesman and managers. I am glad I did! I am already in contact with Subaru Corporate to file a complaint on this dealership. For their lies, how they treated me after I purchased a vehicle, and the overall HORRIBLE sales experience I had at Subaru Pacific. There’s a reason used car salesman have a reputation for being dishonest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jimmy and Rudy
August 20, 2020

"Bought my Certified Pre-Owned car there in March 2020...."

- Ryan

Bought my Certified Pre-Owned car there in March 2020. Clutch had to replaced shortly after that at another dealership closer to where I live. Tried calling this dealership multiple times and left messages to talk to someone about the certified pre owned inspection and never heard back from anyone. Terrible customer service and less than honest inspection in my experience. If you can, go to another dealership!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Hartzberg
1.0
August 07, 2020

"Either didn't do the work, or damaged my car in two visits"

- sumiko

I first took my car in under the tire warranty for a nail that was in the tire. I waited 90 minutes before the car was ready. Got the car home and noticed that the nail was still in the tire...with a white chalk circle around it! Took it to America's Tire Co, where they repaired it for free in 30 min. Took my car in again (deciding to give one more chance) for the recall on the airbag. I explained my apprehension and what happened at the last visit, and was told that they would take great care to do the job right. Left the car for a day. When I got home with it, I realized that they had broken my custom-made windshield sun shades and thrown them in the back of the car! Won't be going back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't know their names.
June 06, 2020

"AMAZING experience - 45 mins and out with a new car! "

- DavidLivingstoneReturns

First time buying a new vehicle. Wanted a Subaru Forester. Emailed Jim Nielsen, received a quote quickly, and contacted him again with other quotes which he consistently beat. His email communication was great - no templated nonsense, just actual human responses, no games. We finalized everything by email, and scheduled an appointment. On the day of my visit, I was in and out in a solid 45 minutes. Truly a fantastic experience for my first new vehicle. No annoying in-your-face-high-pressure sales, no "Gotchas" or "surprises" on the bill, and the vehicle is great. Highly recommended if you want a Subaru in the SoCal area! Thank you Subaru Pacific and thank you Jim!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Nielsen
November 08, 2019

"Experience ended on a positive note "

- ktnk1964

My experience started off on a sour note. Milad made me believe he knew what he was talking about when he said i would be able to trade in my lease, so we drove from the SFV down there, then he didn't want to honor the price he quoted me in an email. WTH! So I left. But then Ozzie made the effort to call me to try to make things right. And Brittanie followed through with a deal to make up for what upset me . Then we got to Sandy the Finance Manager, her demeanor and personality made us relaxed and happy as she expedited our transaction. BUT then she went above and beyond by making a personal gesture, that has touched everyone I have told about it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
milad batouli, ozzie visoso, jason kim, brittanie burner
October 23, 2018

"“We don’t sell certified cars that have been in accidents”. "

- Richard KJ

On October 12, 2018 I was sold a Certified Subaru Forester with 20,242 miles by Subaru of the Pacific. Was told several times by salesman that the vehicle had not been in any accidents. Total Contract price: 26k, approximately. Before purchase I noticed a small portion of the front bumper (side) was sticking out and the supervisor said it was just a missing or broken clip and he took the car into there body shop. When he brought the car out he said that he had them remove the bumper replaced the clip and when I saw it everything seemed to be fine. We had other conversations, Where he tried to convince me that there was nothing wrong and that I could see that there was no damage to the bumper as the paint seem to be unmarked. On Thursday the 18th (6days later) I experience a check engine light and other electrical issues including a power loss. The next morning I took the car into Kirby Subaru of Ventura, my hometown Subaru dealer. The problem was the brake light switch. It was fixed. Paul, the Master mechanic asked me if I knew that three portions of the vehicles were repainted and I alarmingly said no. He put the car in the shade in the shop and showed me a front and rear bumper in the left fender had been repainted and that Portions of them were done poorly especially the left fender. He advised me to advise Subaru of Pacific of this problem and to have them repaint it properly. He said that my vehicle is now devalued and that if I ever turned it in for a new car they would mark down the price because of this prior damage. He told me that the average person cannot detect this kind of damage (by looking at the repainted surface) but to a train eye such as a dealership would be able to spot this prior damage easily. My sales rep at Subaru of the Pacific had informed me numerous times that they do not sell certified cars which have been in prior accidents. At this point in time my salesman is not returning my calls or text messages and nor am I getting calls back from any one else at the dealership at this point in time. October 23, 2018 11:55 am., despite the fact that my salesman said that a manager would be calling me Tuesday morning today! No calls back from anyone! That’s whenI tried calling everyone back because there and no response!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Christian, Mark (finance manager), supervisor of Christian.
Nov 08, 2018 -

Subaru Pacific responded

Richard, we're so disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please reach out to our General Manager, James Hartzberg at jameshartzberg@lacarguy.com at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn your experience into a positive one.

Nov 08, 2018 -

Richard KJ responded

To Subaru Pacific in reply to your November 8, 2028 response to my rating. I’m not going to waste my time calling your company unless he returns one of my dozen or more calls. They’ve ignored me long enough, and they all have my name, address and phone number, all the paperwork and my money, so if you really want to fess up and take responsibilty try having the common curtesy to simply return my call. I’m not going to continue to waste my time calling call until your dealership starts to act in good faith. Do you treat all your customers this way when they catch you with your pants down, so to speak. When are is your dealership going to decide to act responsible instead of acting like a cheap used car lot in the mid west? You have my contract with my number on it. Use your fingers! Richard

June 06, 2018

"Wonderful service"

- Pat911

John Jacinto met me at my car when I arrived 15 min. before their scheduled time to open. Very helpful, thorough, listened to my concerns, and addressed them all respectfully. Purchased my 2017 Forester new with the terrific help of Jim Nielsen. Great staff, agency, and car! I’m a happy camper. Thanks, John for your help today.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Jacinto, Jim Nielsen
Jun 13, 2018 -

Subaru Pacific responded

Thank you for your great review about your experience with John. We hope you are enjoying your new 2017 Forester! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help!

May 05, 2018

" Buy your next Subaru at Subaru Pacific "

- CaliPali

Jeff Sollee introduced us into the Subaru family of vehicles, explained our choices and options at ease as we drove away with an excellent new Impreza. We are more than satisfied with service and follow through from Jeff and team at Subaru Pacific as they have been more than helpful to us. Highly recommend to buy your next SUV, car, or lease at Subaru Pacific. Patricia B

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James Hartzberg
5.0
Other Employees : Mike Sullivan
May 16, 2018 -

Subaru Pacific responded

We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Subaru Pacific

1
...
1 - 10 of 273 results