Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Virtual Appointments
  • Home Test Drives

Whitten Brothers Mazda

Richmond, VA

4.9
178 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
NEW SALES UPDATE We are all in this together & no one is currently having an easy go at it. We have made the decision, for now, to stay open with adjusted protocols & processes. Our team has been given the option to stay home if they choose to do so & we have heightened every level of sanitization within our business. The last thing anyone wants to do is worsen this scenario & we will reassess routinely. We’d like to encourage our customers to purchase in a manner that will provide a positive experience while simultaneously protecting you & our team. First, we’ve asked every team member to cease any physical contact with guests. The most obvious example of this is the handshake. Please help us by participating with this as we are accustomed to greeting everyone with a warm handshake & a smile. Second, we want to help you complete as much of the buying process virtually as is possible. This will allow us to minimize interpersonal contact, traffic through our business, & ultimately exposure while still providing you with the opportunity to purchase a vehicle & our team the opportunity to work. To do so, we are offering: Virtual Vehicle Tours: We can shoot videos that we will tailor to any specific requests you may have. We can also facetime or skype if you would prefer a live, interactive experience. Online Deal Structuring & Credit Approvals: Simply click on the “Build My Payment” button on any vehicle to start your deal. Here you can explore payment scenarios, value your trade in, save your deal, & apply for credit. By taking advantage of this, you help us minimize face to face time by significantly reducing the time you will need to spend in store. Virtual Deal Coaching: We are here to help. Our team is qualified & eager to help “guide” you through the sale process be it in person, on the phone, or virtually. If you have any questions, we are here to answer them. Prequalified At Home Test Drives: After prequalifying for a deal & agr

10745 Midlothian Turnpike

Richmond, VA

23235

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 178 reviews

October 15, 2020

"My wife and I were shopping for a new car, as we needed a..."

- JM

My wife and I were shopping for a new car, as we needed a bigger car due to the upcoming birth of our first child. We went in with no expectations, but fell in love with the 2020 CX-5 as soon as we saw it. Our primary salesperson was Geraldine, but we also worked closely with Ron. Both of them went above and beyond for us, and it is very much appreciated. They listened to all our needs and made sure our final payment number was exactly what we told them we needed. Ron gave us such a great deal, we couldn't pass it up! We almost walked away from the deal at the very end as there was confusion on whether the car came with navigation or not. We were previously told it did and then found out it didn't, which was a deal breaker to us. We were literally in the car about to drive off when we found this out. Ron made it right without any hesitation. Besides Ron & Geraldine, Hope in the finance department was a pleasure to work with as well. She worked hard and was able to find enough discounts to make the extended warranty affordable for us. I usually don't buy those things, but they made it such a great deal, I couldn't not go for it. Everybody that we worked with in that dealership was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this dealership to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Hope Gillespie
October 06, 2020

"I went to Whitten already knowing that I wanted a CX-5!..."

- Jminor7

I went to Whitten already knowing that I wanted a CX-5! I’m glad I encountered Darryl as a sales person. He was friendly, attentive, and his customer service was great! He was not pushy but instead very patient. Although I purchased my CX-5 from another dealership I still would greatly recommend him! He was very responsive to email and by phone. He went above and beyond throughout my time searching for a vehicle that fit me correctly. Appreciated his customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
September 08, 2020

"I will be a lifelong customer at Whitten Brothers Mazda...."

- Mark

I will be a lifelong customer at Whitten Brothers Mazda. Not only is their sales force professional, friendly, and good at listening to what I want rather than what they need to "move, but their service department is outstanding. We have worked with numerous sales people, as we have purchased 4 cars there so far. Our most recent sales professional was Darryl Lewis, who is friendly and very personable. He is attentive to our needs and acts with a sense of urgency and purpose. He has followed through with everything he has said he would and continues to touch base to ensure we are happy with our most recent purchase. As stated in my intro, I will be a Whitten Brothers customer for life.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 01, 2020

"Two Times the Charm"

- 4nyflowers

15 years ago we bought a Mazda from this dealership. The car is still running but it's days are numbered. So we went looking(after my husband did extensive research). We first went to Hyundia and looked ;after over an hour I was not sold . I definitely did not get a pushy sales job but neither did I feel they were interested in selling us a car. At the last moment we went to Whitten where a friend had just purchased a car from them and was very happy. Upon entering we were immediately greeted by Melvin. When Ron heard we were there he came over to greet us too. Ron remembered us from 15 years ago!! It felt like we were home!! Hence 72 hours later we had a new car. Everyone we talked to at Whitten was friendly, helpful, knowlegeable, and not out to just sell you any car but what we needed. Hope (in finance ) also made a sometimes painful process much easier.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Hope (Finance)
July 17, 2020

"Bill and his buddies are friendly and helpful. Not overly..."

- Nancy

Bill and his buddies are friendly and helpful. Not overly solicitous and no hard sales tactics. They made the car-buying experience easy for me. Go see them!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
June 11, 2020

"Working with dealership was great. We had gone to another..."

- Jelli

Working with dealership was great. We had gone to another Mazda dealership the previous day and had a terrible experience. However, the experience at Whitten Brothers was amazing. We were greeted when we first arrived but no one hovered over us. When we were ready to view a car they brought a salesman to use. We had Darryl Lewis and he was very professional and easy to work with. I really appreciate him hearing my concerns and he was able to answer all of my questions. Darryl is one of the first car salesmen I've had that didn't make me feel overly pressured to buy a card and gave me time to think about what I wanted. Because of his kindness and knowledge I felt very confident that I made the right decision getting my cute lil Miata. They really worked with what we wanted and our budget and I drove away with my first Mazda!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
June 09, 2020

"This is the 4th Mazda that IO have bought from Whitten Broth"

- moilib

I went in knowing I wanted a CX5. Darryl Lewis helped me. He was excellent at explaining the differences in the models so that I would get everything that I wanted. He had to make a search to find the color and interior that I wanted. When I picked up the car, he very patiently went over all the features and how they worked (sometimes twice for me to understand). I felt no pressure at anytime from Darryl or the sales manager Ron. They weren't trying to sell me more than I wanted. It was a very pleasant experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
May 09, 2020

"Wrote an awesome review but then checked my emails and..."

- cdkmom

Wrote an awesome review but then checked my emails and saw that the dealership had emailed an offer $1,000 less than they did in dealership today. So, I do not recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
May 02, 2020

"Worked with me to get the vehicle I wanted, for a price I..."

- Lastchancelife

Worked with me to get the vehicle I wanted, for a price I could afford. I appreciate that they did not try to hard sell other vehicles when I said I would have to review my finances. They were courteous and made sure everything was worked out properly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
April 20, 2020

"Purchased a Mazda 6 Grand Touring Reserve"

- Rob.Smith

Last week I went in with the hopes of buying a used car and I worked with Darryl. To say he was helpful would be an understatement. While he says he hasn't been around the dealership for a while, I couldn't tell that was the case. Darryl was not only knowledgeable about the car I wanted but he was kind and the entire place made me feel at home. Car buying can be a relatively daunting task as it is and the people at Whitten Brothers quickly removed any reservations I may have had. We came to a deal that was well within my budget and even lower than I had hoped for. I would highly recommend Ron, the sales manager, and more importantly Darryl, if you're ever looking to buy a car in the 804 area code. I could not be happier with the outcome after less than stellar experiences elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
1
...
1 - 10 of 178 results