Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Whitten Brothers Mazda

Richmond, VA

4.8
183 Reviews
NEW SALES UPDATE We are all in this together & no one is currently having an easy go at it. We have made the decision, for now, to stay open with adjusted protocols & processes. Our team has been given the option to stay home if they choose to do so & we have heightened every level of sanitization within our business. The last thing anyone wants to do is worsen this scenario & we will reassess routinely. We’d like to encourage our customers to purchase in a manner that will provide a positive experience while simultaneously protecting you & our team. First, we’ve asked every team member to cease any physical contact with guests. The most obvious example of this is the handshake. Please help us by participating with this as we are accustomed to greeting everyone with a warm handshake & a smile. Second, we want to help you complete as much of the buying process virtually as is possible. This will allow us to minimize interpersonal contact, traffic through our business, & ultimately exposure while still providing you with the opportunity to purchase a vehicle & our team the opportunity to work. To do so, we are offering: Virtual Vehicle Tours: We can shoot videos that we will tailor to any specific requests you may have. We can also facetime or skype if you would prefer a live, interactive experience. Online Deal Structuring & Credit Approvals: Simply click on the “Build My Payment” button on any vehicle to start your deal. Here you can explore payment scenarios, value your trade in, save your deal, & apply for credit. By taking advantage of this, you help us minimize face to face time by significantly reducing the time you will need to spend in store. Virtual Deal Coaching: We are here to help. Our team is qualified & eager to help “guide” you through the sale process be it in person, on the phone, or virtually. If you have any questions, we are here to answer them. Prequalified At Home Test Drives: After prequalifying for a deal & agr

10745 Midlothian Turnpike

Richmond, VA

23235

Directions

By Type

Showing 183 reviews

June 17, 2021

"We had a terrific experience purchasing a used Mazda from..."

- bsw-rva

We had a terrific experience purchasing a used Mazda from Whitten. Harold Toast had our car waiting for a test drive, was thoughtful in answering our questions, patient with our various requests, and never once made us feel pressured in our decision-making process. Ron was an engaged, down-to-earth, and creative sales manager who negotiated fairly and found local financing that surpassed the already low rates offered by our larger bank. And today, Hope, the finance manager called to let us know that a better rate had been offered from the same bank and we simply needed to re-sign some paperwork. Very pleased with the whole experience and level of customer care in the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Hope, Dave
May 05, 2021

"Everyone from the GM Ray, to the Sales Manager, Ron, my..."

- Danielle Sommers

Everyone from the GM Ray, to the Sales Manager, Ron, my salesman, Melvin, and my finance person, Jay, was 100% personable, professional, and helpful in assisting me in purchasing my first Mazda. The Mazda company has overtaken Toyota as the most reliable car company, and the vehicle I purchased, the Mazda CX-5, is rated number one in reliability and safety and overall best compact SUV by Consumer Reports, so they did not really need to sell me on the product. Their price was significantly lower than the other Mazda dealership in Richmond. They also offered a trade-in offer above Kelly Blue Book for my previous vehicle so I was able to get into a brand new vehicle with a low monthly payment. I am looking forward to purchasing cars with them again in the future. I was a loyal Toyota driver, but I am so impressed with the amenities that come in the basic package of the Mazda that did not come with Toyota. The gas mileage on this vehicle is also outstanding. It was hassle-free, and I was in and out, driving my new car away in less than two hours' time. Highly recommend!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
April 14, 2021

"I feel like the staff went above and beyond! Very happy..."

- tc.clements

I feel like the staff went above and beyond! Very happy with the whole experience! Finance department really looked out for me and my wife.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hope Gillespie
April 05, 2021

"The knowledgeable staff and years of experience that they..."

- Stacy R.

The knowledgeable staff and years of experience that they share made buying my CX-9 so easy. Questions were answered clearly and quickly. Smooth Transaction; no hassles.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Hope, Adam H.
March 18, 2021

"The process of buying out my lease was extremely easy...."

- nathan.ryalls

The process of buying out my lease was extremely easy. Most of the paperwork was handled ahead of time. So the visit was quick and painless.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
margaret hall
October 15, 2020

"My wife and I were shopping for a new car, as we needed a..."

- JM

My wife and I were shopping for a new car, as we needed a bigger car due to the upcoming birth of our first child. We went in with no expectations, but fell in love with the 2020 CX-5 as soon as we saw it. Our primary salesperson was Geraldine, but we also worked closely with Ron. Both of them went above and beyond for us, and it is very much appreciated. They listened to all our needs and made sure our final payment number was exactly what we told them we needed. Ron gave us such a great deal, we couldn't pass it up! We almost walked away from the deal at the very end as there was confusion on whether the car came with navigation or not. We were previously told it did and then found out it didn't, which was a deal breaker to us. We were literally in the car about to drive off when we found this out. Ron made it right without any hesitation. Besides Ron & Geraldine, Hope in the finance department was a pleasure to work with as well. She worked hard and was able to find enough discounts to make the extended warranty affordable for us. I usually don't buy those things, but they made it such a great deal, I couldn't not go for it. Everybody that we worked with in that dealership was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this dealership to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Hope Gillespie
October 06, 2020

"I went to Whitten already knowing that I wanted a CX-5!..."

- Jminor7

I went to Whitten already knowing that I wanted a CX-5! I’m glad I encountered Darryl as a sales person. He was friendly, attentive, and his customer service was great! He was not pushy but instead very patient. Although I purchased my CX-5 from another dealership I still would greatly recommend him! He was very responsive to email and by phone. He went above and beyond throughout my time searching for a vehicle that fit me correctly. Appreciated his customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
September 08, 2020

"I will be a lifelong customer at Whitten Brothers Mazda...."

- Mark

I will be a lifelong customer at Whitten Brothers Mazda. Not only is their sales force professional, friendly, and good at listening to what I want rather than what they need to "move, but their service department is outstanding. We have worked with numerous sales people, as we have purchased 4 cars there so far. Our most recent sales professional was Darryl Lewis, who is friendly and very personable. He is attentive to our needs and acts with a sense of urgency and purpose. He has followed through with everything he has said he would and continues to touch base to ensure we are happy with our most recent purchase. As stated in my intro, I will be a Whitten Brothers customer for life.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 01, 2020

"Two Times the Charm"

- 4nyflowers

15 years ago we bought a Mazda from this dealership. The car is still running but it's days are numbered. So we went looking(after my husband did extensive research). We first went to Hyundia and looked ;after over an hour I was not sold . I definitely did not get a pushy sales job but neither did I feel they were interested in selling us a car. At the last moment we went to Whitten where a friend had just purchased a car from them and was very happy. Upon entering we were immediately greeted by Melvin. When Ron heard we were there he came over to greet us too. Ron remembered us from 15 years ago!! It felt like we were home!! Hence 72 hours later we had a new car. Everyone we talked to at Whitten was friendly, helpful, knowlegeable, and not out to just sell you any car but what we needed. Hope (in finance ) also made a sometimes painful process much easier.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Hope (Finance)
July 17, 2020

"Bill and his buddies are friendly and helpful. Not overly..."

- Nancy

Bill and his buddies are friendly and helpful. Not overly solicitous and no hard sales tactics. They made the car-buying experience easy for me. Go see them!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
1
...
1 - 10 of 183 results