Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Family Trucks and Vans

Denver, CO

4.0
198 Reviews

2400 S. Broadway

Denver, CO

80210

Directions

198 Reviews of Family Trucks and Vans

Sort by
November 19, 2013

"Found a vehicle I liked on KBB.com and contacted this..."

- KimmieK77

Found a vehicle I liked on KBB.com and contacted this dealership via email. Was able to set a time to meet and test drive the SUV I was interested in. Of course staff was very polite as they are trying to make a sale. Unfortunately their location is off Broadway where the speed limit is only 35mph, so you are truly unable to get a good feel for the vehicle. But I didn't think about that when I was there, only thought about it after I bought it and the next day on the highway the transmission wouldn't shift gears past 40mph. Immediately called Family Trucks and Vans and was told someone would get back to me. So while waiting for a return call I go to pick up my kids from school and the car won't start. Instead of turning over it was making a loud screeching metal on metal sound. They tell me to bring the car back and they will fix. I had to beg for a loaner from them and they gave me a HHR milk truck, which had no back seats and I have 3 kids. I mention this to them and they say that's all they had. So I took it, had it for 5 days when they called to let me know my SUV was fixed and I could come pick up. So driving home from dealership in my car on Broadway doing the speed limit of 35mph, get on the highway and the car won't shift past 40mph. Called FT&V's again and they told me to bring back the next day, which I did. This time they gave me a mini van that smelled like 10 ashtrays and had gooey red stuff all over seats and floor. But once again kids and I make do. They have my car for an additional 5 days and call me to come pick up. Of course when I pick up it doesn't shift past 40mph. I called them back and scheduled another time for my car to be in their shop. This time they give me a Kia Sportage as a loaner. They told me they were going to have to send my car to an actual Transmission shop to have the transmission repaired. I told dealership I would need something in writing stating that the repairs were going to be made to the vehicle and that the repairs would have a warranty. So they wrote up a service agreement and had me sign. I asked for a copy of it and they said their copy machine was down and they would mail my copy to me the next day. Never received a copy, a response to my email about the copy or a return phone call. So I'm driving the Kia and on the 4th day attempting to leave my sons football practice the Kia, their loaner car won't start. I get it jumped and started and the check engine light is on. I immediately call Family Trucks and Vans again, for them to say, "Oh, your trucks repairs have been completed, we will come and swap out cars." Which was great, but why the heck did they not call me and let me know my truck was ready for pick up? Why did it take me calling them? So during the those 3 weeks the bank that financed me had been calling to finalize the loan and said they are unable to pay the dealership until I have possession of the vehicle being financed. So I was happy my car was finally fixed, was taken to actual transmission shop and had a warranty. I decide to be a nice person and call the bank to let them know the vehicle was on its way to being delivered to me and to go ahead and finalize the loan, when I am told by the bank that they already finalized because they were told by the dealership that I had possession of the vehicle all along. I was livid. I started questioning if any repairs had ever been made, were they only try to pacify me so they could get there money? So they bring me car and I ask for the warranty on the repairs, the guy driving car said he knew nothing about it and would have someone call. I end up calling every couple days and emailing them and finally receive a response via email stating no warranty was issued because no repairs were ever made to the transmission as it was just a sensor misfiring. Which could've been, but why the xxxx are they so xxxx sneaky and so late to respond to a simple question. Simple questions have simple answers unless you are being untruthful. So I decide to eat it up, not let them ruin me and just know never to go back to this lying, deceitful, poorly ran dealership until...... it was time to get my license plates from the motor vehicle department and couldn't even do that because an emissions test has not been preformed on this vehicle in 4 years. I am at my boiling point with this company. Don't take a chance with them, it will only cause unneeded stress and worry.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
A bunch
October 30, 2013

"TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE! if you want a decent, good, or great..."

- jeremyjg23

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE! if you want a decent, good, or great vehicle...don't go to Family Trucks and Vans! if you need a decent, good, or great salesmen, DO NOT see Aldo or Jose Zuniga. i had my mechanic check out a vehicle i was interested in and found out it needed extensive work. When I went to negotiate i was basically told, too bad so sad! i have never in my life been so disrespected. They told me there hands were tied and they would rather sell it to someone else with the problems than sell it to me. If you want respect and integrity, do not go there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JOSE ZUNIGA and ALDO
September 12, 2012

"Bought a '92 Toyota Land Cruiser that then failed..."

- richgama

Bought a '92 Toyota Land Cruiser that then failed emissions the next day, but they worked hard to make it right and fix the problem. Took over 2 months to get my car back from them but they gave me a loaner vehicle for some of that time so I'm not really complaining. Alex in service and Hoke were always polite and helpful in our dealings. I'd recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex and Hoke
November 02, 2011

"Every person that we have talked to that works at this..."

- seyboldlm

Every person that we have talked to that works at this scam they call a dealership has told us "Oh we've been in business since 1976 and we haven't been in business for this long workin over our customers." I can't tell you how many times I have heard this line in the past week and a half we have been dealing with this dealer. I have read other reviews now and it seems like they have their so called "mechanics" look at the vehicle and fix it up long enough for it to withstand a test drive and then the vehicle falls apart and they tell you, "Oh our mechanics are BBB certified and they know what they are doing, bring the vehicle back and we will get it fixed." We came to Family Trucks & Vans from an ad on autotrader.com. Went and saw the truck listed. Very nice looking truck, no rattles, very clean. Decided to test drive it and everything seemed fine. Ended up buying it. "Passed" the vehicle inspection report, emissions, etc. Took it home (250 miles away)and on the way home, I was following my boyfriend in his old truck and there was fuel and oil spraying up onto my windshield. Got to where we were going and there was diesel and oil all over the back of the truck and the front of the old truck. Called Bobby the next day and told him about it. He said "bring it up and we will get it fixed - no cost to you." Told him that if this was going to be a reoccurring problem, we don't want the truck. Bobby's response "I don't blame you, we will get your money back or we will put you in a different truck." So we loaded it onto a trailer to take it back to be "fixed". They had it "fixed" the following day saying it was an oil plug. Thinking everything was fine with it. Drove it and it seemed to be fine. It sat in the driveway for one night and there was an entire tank of fuel and all the oil that had been in the vehicle on the ground. Called Bobby back again and he said, we have the same thing going on that we want to bring the truck back. So he said "I don't blame you, I won't be in the office today, but bring it to Carlos and he will get your money back to you." Brought it in tonight and Carlos tells us that we are going to have to pay for the cost of the repairs and that we cannot return the truck.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bobby & Carlos
September 15, 2011

"To start off, they were so friendly and cordial and made..."

- Neesie8858

To start off, they were so friendly and cordial and made you feel at home, my friend can vouch for that because she went with me the first time I visited. I saw a 2004 Pacifica there for sale, I wanted something that had an extra seat for when I had my grandchildren with me. It had everything I wanted, leather seats, heated seats, power everything, moonroof, nice rims, etc. The only problem was that it made this noise that Bill told me was just a cracked or loose belt and they could fix it. He told me to bring it back and they would take care of it in their repair shop. When I took it back to their shop the shop employee said the transmission was going out and I had to take it to a transmission shop and it would only be covered if I bought the extended warrant, which I had. I ended up using the warranty which covered the transmission but not the seal and connection so I had to pay that out of my pocket along with a 2 week rental vehicle (over $500.00). Now, I am told that several more repairs need to be done in order to pass the Emissions Test adding up to approximately $276.00 as well as the electrical system is going haywire and the sensor on my gas tank needs to be replaced or I get to listen to it ding constantly all day long. I have one paycheck to pay my bills and barely make it on my income and cannot afford to keep repairing this lemon. They knew about all these problems because they have a shop that checks out the vehicles when they are being traded or bought and that is why they kept pushing me to buy it that day saying they were going to raise the price the next week. I will never do business with them again and will never buy another used vehicle unless I take it to a shop and pay for them to inspect it and make sure I am not being taken for because I believed in another human's kindness that was false. This vehicle is a piece of crap and I have been constantly repairing it since I bought it last November, I haven't even had it 1 year. One thing I have learned from all this is how to be a pro at reviewing repair shops and getting quotes. I should have stuck to new vehicles!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Genie, Bill
July 18, 2011

"Between the run-arounds and the lies, and the theft of my..."

- Yancy Derringer

Between the run-arounds and the lies, and the theft of my $1000 deposit I wouldn't go near this place again. They claim to be a member in good standing with the BBB, but I find this hard to believe. It is a discredit to the BBB if it is so.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Johnny Balducci
March 04, 2010

"I desperately needed a car, but my credit is far from..."

- Warren_1960

I desperately needed a car, but my credit is far from great saw a vehicle I lIked at Family trucks and vans the customer service I received from the finance department and the salesman was great, I couln't be happier in my new truck, it runs great. I'll be telling all my friends and family to go to family trucks and vans

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John
May 16, 2008

"I wanted to buy a car I found at Family Trucks. There..."

- carmacazi

I wanted to buy a car I found at Family Trucks. There were some scratches on it that Bill and I both thaught could be easily fixed by there body shop. They took the car off the lot and marked it sold and I was just waiting for the scratches to be fixed. It turns out the scratches were a little more severe than we thought and it couldn't be repaired to my satisfaction. ( It's still a very nice car ). When I said it wouldn't work for me Bill was gracious and understanding about it. No pressure and a real profesional! If they get something else in that suits my needs I would be happy to deal with them again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Guillermo "Bill" Bragin
...
20
191 - 198 of 198 results