Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Island Hyundai

Staten Island, NY

3.5
1,196 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Island Auto Group is a multi franchise sales and service organization that is dedicated to creating lifelong customers. We recognize that to achieve this, we must provide exceptional automotive value for our customers, and the very best workplace experience for our team members. We are committed, through support and service, to actively improve the greater community; and will continually work to earn the respect and trust of our customers, employees, and their families. Island Auto Group will always be driven by fairness, the recognition of diversity, and respect for the individual.
Contact Dealership

1590 Hylan Blvd

Staten Island, NY

10305

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 1,196 reviews

October 16, 2020

"See my previous note. I am not going to type all those..."

- mcflmjig

See my previous note. I am not going to type all those words again as it is not letting me to g Beck and copy lol EDIT FOR OCT 2020. I worked with Matt D, I believe that was his name, and he was great. Patient and worked hard to get my deal done. Was hassle free and good experience. They literally changed the way they sell used cars because of me LOL I complained online about a hidden charge at time of purchase. ANYWAY, Matt is no longer there. I got a bunch o emails stating my lease was up. I received a few sales calls to set appointments up. I even texted, I will keep her name hidden, a lady because she sent an email stating that she would help transition the end of lease. I also called them up a handful of times to see what they could do for me. The last call was with some guy who kept telling me to come in and I told him that I was not going to pay for tolls unless I was def doing a deal. I told him to come back to me with a few offers and then I would decide. I was serious, I bought from them. I was in a buying mood. He kept asking me for a monthly number and sounded frustrated that I did not want to give a specific number ( I want a good deal, tell me what the best you can do is!!! Other places did it!!!). (This is a sales tactic btw. They use this base so that they can figure out how to work a deal, regardless of what anyone says. I know, I am in sales as well.) Anyway, he eventually said he would get back to me with a few quotes. Of course NOT ONCE did anyone come back to me. Not sure what happened to Matt but they lost a good guy. No interest coming here again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt Delise
Oct 29, 2020 -

Island Hyundai responded

We are so sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't go so well. This is definitely not how any customers of ours should be treated. We do appreciate your feedback as we do try to improve our services. If there is anything we could do to make things right, let us know how we could help!

June 19, 2020

"I posted here more than a month ago about a forged lease...."

- newyorkwriter

I posted here more than a month ago about a forged lease. Anthony added numbers for the buyout of my lease that were NOT in the original lease but he refused to show me the original lease. he lied and said they were in storage. (By law, they are require to keep the originals for three years). When I posted here, the response was to "contact dealer." I wrote and called with no response. I send an overnight mail asking Hyundai Motor Finance to assign a fraud investigator. I had several conversation with them. nothing happened . these are a bunch of shysters. caveat emptor.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
May 12, 2020

"Excellent seller guy !!! Super easy transaction and great..."

- Tani

Excellent seller guy !!! Super easy transaction and great price. Igli went above and beyond to help us make the right choice and decision!! All my family will buy or rent there because of this guy !! Thank you Igli

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
April 20, 2020

"forged leased"

- newyorkwriter

Anthony the phony "nice guy" salesman and his bosses are frauds. When I went in to buy out my lease earlier this year, he added $300 that was not on the original lease- a forgery. He lied to me and said the dealer didn't have the original lease (They are required by law to keep the original lease for three years). Then they added thousands of dollars on the alleged "2020 lease" (their copy, not mine)) that they gave to me that day; None of those numbers were on the original lease which I signed in 2017. Stay away from these scammers. they should have their license revoked.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Apr 28, 2020 -

Island Hyundai responded

We apologize for an unsatisfying experience with our team here at Island Hyundai. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so that we may better understand the situation and resolve any outstanding issues.

April 14, 2020

"“Best Buying Experience.”"

- Laura A.

Mike Jenkins is very helpful, professional & easygoing. Frank Rao, mgr, extremely approachable & patient with my many questions. It's my 4th lease. Definitely coming back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Frank Rao, manager
Apr 28, 2020 -

Island Hyundai responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review! Our Service Department strives to do a great job of helping customers with their cars! We appreciate you noticing that and sharing your experience! If there is anything else we can help you with don't hesitate to let us know.

March 18, 2020

"Unprofessional "

- Jackietools

I’ll never go back again. Bought a 2020 SantaFe. Put dozen deposit with agreed upon price and financing at .9%. What was supposed to be 3 days turned into 10 days to get car. When I go to finalize I again asked sales person about agreed upon price and financing and said it was all good. When I go to sign papers I’m being charged 1.9% financing. Sales manager Iggy refused to talk to me saying I called him a liar. Manager Rich Vento was supposed to call me. Tried at least 5 times calling him plus reviews he never responded. Guess he’s afraid to admit to horrible business practices. Sales people burping out loud, playing video games on phones and singing out loud to music. Not professional at all. Sansone from now on even for service. Rather drive to NJ where they run a professional dealership. Still waiting for your call Mr. Vento.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
March 02, 2020

"Absolutely atrocious customer service experience. The..."

- ad4

Absolutely atrocious customer service experience. The worst I've ever had by far. If I could give this review 0 stars, I would. But 1 star will have to do. I brought my 2010 Hyundai Elantra to Island Hyundai to be serviced for an EPS (electronic power steering) system warning light on the dashboard.  I also brought paperwork that shows that the EPS warning light is listed under a Technical Service Bulletin.  Within an hour of dropping the car off, one of the service representatives called me back to tell me that the entire steering column would have to be replaced and that the Technical Service Bulletin does not cover the repair.  I was given the option to have the repair done (which was going to cost over $2,500), or take the car and pay the $150 diagnostic fee. The following day, I brought the car to Hyundai Freehold in New Jersey, which ended up being a completely different customer service experience.  Nick Meccia, one of the service representatives there, informed me that the repair may actually be covered under the 10 year/100,000 mile warranty (the car only has 25,000 miles on it).  Nick submitted a claim to Hyundai, and a few days later, he called me to inform me that Hyundai approved the claim and Hyundai would cover the entire repair, free of charge.  Nick provided EXCELLENT customer service, was very understanding and was willing to do whatever it took to resolve the issue.  The repair was completed about a week later. I go back to Island Hyundai of Staten Island and asked to speak to the service manager.  His name is Dante Lopez.  I explained to him the whole situation with the car.  I showed him the invoice from Hyundai Freehold that listed the repairs that were done free of charge and asked why Island Hyundai didn't bother checking to see if the car was still under warranty.  He looked up the warranty information on the car and insisted that the necessary repairs were not covered under the warranty, which is impossible because I had just gotten the car repaired a day later at Hyundai Freehold.  I simply asked why they were so quick to give me a $2,500 estimate and why they didn't bother submitting a claim to Hyundai to see if the repairs would be covered.  His reply was: "I’m not going to go out of my way for non-loyal customers." I was absolutely appalled by the response.  I couldn't believe that anyone in customer service, let alone a service manager, would say that to a customer.  “They must do business differently there”, he added. I replied “Yes they do business the right way” He responds by saying that he’s running a business and is not going to just give anything away for free.  So the assumption here is had I not taken my car to Hyundai Freehold and done the repair at Island Hyundai instead, I would have paid over $2,500 dollars for something that I could have gotten for free because the car was still under warranty?  Does this sound like good customer service to you?  He also states that Hyundai Freehold is different from Island Hyundai because Island Hyundai is privately owned and operates differently.  You both operate under Hyundai!  That makes absolutely no sense! Absolutely disgusted at this point, I asked for a refund of the diagnostic fee.  Dante said that he wasn’t going to give me a refund and that there was nothing he could do about it. I then tell him that since he was not willing to refund me the diagnostic fee, through word of mouth, he was going to lose a lot of business, and that I would never set foot into Island Hyundai ever again, whether it’s to purchase a new car or to replace my windshield wipers.  I then tell him that I will be calling the Better Business Bureau to file a formal complaint against him and Island Hyundai, and will be writing very negative reviews on Island Hyundai’s website, and on any other website explaining in detail this absolutely atrocious customer service experience.  I added that I am NEVER, EVER going to recommend that any family members, friends, co-workers, and acquaintances go to Island Hyundai for any reason. Pay the extra gas and toll to go to Hyundai Freehold of New Jersey instead; where THEY understand the values and meaning of customer service. In a very condescending tone, with a grin on his face, he replied: “You do what you need to do, it won’t bother me, and I won’t lose sleep over it”.   How can someone who is a MANAGER in customer service be so callous, dismissive and act so unprofessionally to a customer?  I am 35 years old, and a NYC Firefighter and this is the first time that I’ve ever had to write a negative review about a customer service issue in my life.  He was not willing to offer any kind of sympathy or solution to my problem. It’s obvious that the ONLY thing Hyundai of Freehold and Island Hyundai have in common is the Hyundai name.  No customer should EVER be treated this way, and because of this, I will be taking my business to Hyundai of Freehold from now on. THEY know how to treat their customers with respect, something that is completely lost on the staff at Island Hyundai.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
November 01, 2019

"Richie was great! Extremely knowledgeable about the..."

- Lisa A.

Richie was great! Extremely knowledgeable about the vehicles . Great experience and he really worked with us ! So glad we could stay on the island with our business .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nov 07, 2019 -

Island Hyundai responded

Thank you for the five star rating! We love to hear back from our customers. We prioritize our customers and we can see that with your successful experience. Let us know if there is anything more we can do for you! Island Hyundai (844) 672-6134

October 25, 2019

"Easy and fast"

- Vt95741355

Larry Farina is a pleasure to deal with. This is my 4th lease and Larry has always been honest and fair. I will continue to deal with him for all my car needs. Thanks Larry!7

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nov 07, 2019 -

Island Hyundai responded

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We are happy to hear how well our staff treated you. Please contact us if there is anything more we could do for you. Island Hyundai (844) 672-6134

September 29, 2019

"AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT!!!!!"

- Maison

Toyota was purchased and Rosa was able to work with me. Rosa did a wonderful job I would recommend Island Hyundai and ask for Rosa.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 03, 2019 -

Island Hyundai responded

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a five star rating. We are pleased to hear our staff did such a great job. Island Hyundai (844) 672-6134

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,196 results