Back

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville

Cedarville, IL

4.9
867 Reviews
Since 1952, J.H. Barkau & Sons has served the Northern Illinois, Southern Wisconsin stateline area for their automotive needs. We can proudly boast to over 70,000 customers in those years and have had thousands of customers purchase multiple vehicles and generations of families that have allowed us to serve them. When John H. Barkau founded the business, his goal was to bring quality, affordable transportation to the local area. Jim (2nd generation), Rick (3rd generation), and Willie (3rd generation) Barkau have continued in that tradition while expanding our marketplace to be worldwide. We have had vehicles shipped to Russia, Sweden, Australia, Turkey, Mexico and many other locations. We have vehicles purchased by customers in 49 states and commonly have customers fly in to pick up their new vehicles. In all of this, it has been a pleasure for the Barkau family to help fulfill the transportation needs of a varied clientele. J.H. Barkau & Sons has accomplished this feat by continuing to offer quality, hand-picked vehicles at very competitive prices. We believe in offering our customers an incredible selection that is second to none, with over 1100 vehicles available for purchase. We believe in a no pressure sales environment and in quality reconditioning of our inventory selection. Our sales teams at our Cedarville and Freeport stores each have over a century of experience in helping fill the needs of our vast customer base. The funny part is, we remember a lot of you years later and we are genuinely happy to see you. But selling cars is not all that we do. We believe in supporting the local community through donations, Toy Drives, Food Drives and many other local charities and fundraisers. We also run the “Excellerate” program for Aquin Catholic Schools and have facilitated over 113 donated vehicles. That may be part of the reason that we have been voted the “Best In Region” Used Car Dealership for 15 straight years. Great vehicles, great people, great exp
Contact Dealership

200 North Stephenson Street

Cedarville, IL

61013

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 867 reviews

September 23, 2022

Nils was awesome he was able to find me the right truck in no time great guy to deal with. More

by Bettner440
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nils Sandstrom
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
September 16, 2022

Dealing with Nils is always a pleasure! This is the ninth vehicle that our family of nine has purchased from Barkau’s over the last twenty-five or so years. More

by revandes
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nils Sandstrom
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
September 06, 2022

This is our 3rd vehicle we have purchased from J H Barkau and experience has been great each time! More

by lbauch
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Border
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Chad Piefer
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
September 06, 2022

We absolutely love doing business with Tim! The best salesman! We have done business with Barkau for years! More

by Bell2018
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Border
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
September 01, 2022

As a family of nine, we have dealt with Barkau - and specifically Nils Sandstrom- many times over the past twenty years or so. Nils has always been very helpful and considerate. I highly recommend that More

by revandes
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nils Sandstrom
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Chad Piefer
4.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
September 01, 2022

Very friendly environment. Hills was able to handle all our automotive needs. Very happy with the result. More

by H e i n r i c h 49
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nils Sandstrom
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
August 29, 2022

Tim was great to work with, no BS and intuitive. The Barkau staff was friendly, efficient, and I got a fair deal. I'd been shopping around for this specific vehicle, I should have just gone to Bark More

by doctordirt81
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Border
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Chad Piefer
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
August 29, 2022

Excellent service and very good dealership and faciallites. Thanks for everything and am happy in my new MDX More

by beharryjames01
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Border
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
August 29, 2022

Our experience dealing with Barkau and Sons dealership occurred after an unexpected major breakdown of our 2011 Ford Edge which had high mileage after driving it for over 8 years. I had loved driving that More

by sktrnc
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Border
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Chad Piefer
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
August 27, 2022

Thank you Nils for finding the car that fit our needs! All personnel are very friendly! The car was set up before we drove off! More

by jdgroshans
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nils Sandstrom
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Chad Piefer
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
1
...
1 - 10 of 867 results