Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville

Cedarville, IL

4.9
679 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Since 1952, J.H. Barkau & Sons has served the Northern Illinois, Southern Wisconsin stateline area for their automotive needs. We can proudly boast to over 70,000 customers in those years and have had thousands of customers purchase multiple vehicles and generations of families that have allowed us to serve them. When John H. Barkau founded the business, his goal was to bring quality, affordable transportation to the local area. Jim (2nd generation), Rick (3rd generation), and Willie (3rd generation) Barkau have continued in that tradition while expanding our marketplace to be worldwide. We have had vehicles shipped to Russia, Sweden, Australia, Turkey, Mexico and many other locations. We have vehicles purchased by customers in 49 states and commonly have customers fly in to pick up their new vehicles. In all of this, it has been a pleasure for the Barkau family to help fulfill the transportation needs of a varied clientele. J.H. Barkau & Sons has accomplished this feat by continuing to offer quality, hand-picked vehicles at very competitive prices. We believe in offering our customers an incredible selection that is second to none, with over 1100 vehicles available for purchase. We believe in a no pressure sales environment and in quality reconditioning of our inventory selection. Our sales teams at our Cedarville and Freeport stores each have over a century of experience in helping fill the needs of our vast customer base. The funny part is, we remember a lot of you years later and we are genuinely happy to see you. But selling cars is not all that we do. We believe in supporting the local community through donations, Toy Drives, Food Drives and many other local charities and fundraisers. We also run the “Excellerate” program for Aquin Catholic Schools and have facilitated over 113 donated vehicles. That may be part of the reason that we have been voted the “Best In Region” Used Car Dealership for 15 straight years. Great vehicles, great people, great exp
Contact Dealership

200 North Stephenson Street

Cedarville, IL

61013

Directions

By Type

Showing 679 reviews

March 02, 2021

"I am a repeat buyer with Tim at J H Barkau & Sons. He..."

- Jason D.

I am a repeat buyer with Tim at J H Barkau & Sons. He makes the process and negotiating hassle free. Will buy again from him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
March 02, 2021

"Love this car! Tim did an amazing job helping us pick a..."

- fieldshi000

Love this car! Tim did an amazing job helping us pick a safe and dependable car for our new family. Making sure I clearly understood every question I had, from prices and insurance to hooking my phone up to to the cars hands free system. Very very pleased with the service we were provided with. Highly recommend going to Tim to help you with your car needs!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 02, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave JH Barkau & Sons an excellent review, your kind words and recommendation. We always aim to deliver stress free, memorable car buying experiences and we are happy to hear Tim met all of your needs. Stop back and see us. Cheers!

February 28, 2021

"The dealership has a very pleasant atmosphere and a..."

- Caleb

The dealership has a very pleasant atmosphere and a family feel to it. Tim Border my sales representative was knowledgeable and friendly and made the experience as smooth as possible. I bought a 2013 Dodge Caravan which was a government vehicle and had very low miles. A new car without the new car price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 02, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and leaving such an awesome review of our business Caleb! We always aim to deliver great experiences and hope that all of our customers walk out of JH Barkau & Sons feeling like family. We agree, Tim is an Expert and a real gem to have on The Barkau Team. Come back and see us soon! Cheers!

February 26, 2021

"Tim was really nice, engaging and made us feel at home...."

- ihike4me

Tim was really nice, engaging and made us feel at home. No pressure, and we drove it home the same day. It's nice to find such a great find so close to home.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 02, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave JH Barkau & Sons an excellent review and your kind words. We work hard to deliver stress free, memorable car buying experiences and we are ecstatic to hear Tim and the Team hit it out of the park for you! We look forward to seeing you in the future! Cheers!

February 26, 2021

"I was pleased that when we went to close the deal there..."

- Christopher

I was pleased that when we went to close the deal there were no surprises. Nils worked really hard to understand what we needed and was very easy to deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 02, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave JH Barkau & Sons an excellent review Christopher! We work hard to exceed our customer's expectations and deliver stress free, positive car buying experiences - we are thrilled to hear Nils and the Team hit that target for you. We look forward to seeing you in the future! Cheers!

February 24, 2021

"Everything about working with Tim was very smooth and..."

- h.kampas

Everything about working with Tim was very smooth and easy. We met and discussed the car and 2 days later it was in my driveway, with nothing but professionalism.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Feb 26, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave JH Barkau & Sons such an excellent review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours and we are delighted to hear Tim and the Team hit that mark with you. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again. Cheers!

February 22, 2021

"Called this morning about a car and then drove to look at..."

- Klhonlyme

Called this morning about a car and then drove to look at it, it was all warmed up and snow off. Test drove and loved it, then started the process of getting financing. We had no real credit line but these men worked hard to get us credit, and we drove home with this car the same day thanks to Tim and the rest. Very nice to work with and what a great selection. They are even coming to pick up the one we traded in! Thanks so much!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Feb 26, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and leave such an awesome detailed review of our business! We here at JH Barkau & Sons always aim to deliver stress-free, customer first-focused experiences and we are delighted to hear Tim, Erick and Chad knocked it out of the park for you. We look forward to working with you in the future! Cheers!

February 22, 2021

"Tim was great! Tim worked hard to answer my questions and..."

- Travis

Tim was great! Tim worked hard to answer my questions and take the time to find a vehicle after the one we were dealing with was sold.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Feb 26, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you Travis for taking the time to review us and leaving an excellent 5-star rating! We agree Tim is a gem to have on the JH Barkau & Sons team, we will be sure to share your kind words with him. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!

February 20, 2021

"So happy with my 2018 Ford Escape! Tim is always very..."

- gustasond17

So happy with my 2018 Ford Escape! Tim is always very helpful and kind. I enjoy doing business with him and appreciate all his help!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Feb 26, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you for taking the time to review JH Barkau & Sons and the excellent 5-star ratings! We appreciate your continued loyalty. We always aim to deliver stress-free, customer-first focused experiences and are delighted to hear Tim consistently hits that mark with you! Enjoy that Escape and we look forward to working with you in the future. Cheers!

February 16, 2021

"I loved that Tim was able to help me find the right..."

- danyelbrandt97

I loved that Tim was able to help me find the right vehicle for my daughter and I!!! It is a lot my safer to travel in now in snow!!!!! Thank you a lot

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Feb 18, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you Danyel for the the awesome 5-star review! We agree Tim is a well-seasoned and proficient Sales Expert and a gem to have on the JH Barkau & Sons Team! We appreciate you taking the time to review us and look forward to seeing you in the future! Cheers!

1
...
1 - 10 of 679 results