Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville

Cedarville, IL

4.9
706 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Since 1952, J.H. Barkau & Sons has served the Northern Illinois, Southern Wisconsin stateline area for their automotive needs. We can proudly boast to over 70,000 customers in those years and have had thousands of customers purchase multiple vehicles and generations of families that have allowed us to serve them. When John H. Barkau founded the business, his goal was to bring quality, affordable transportation to the local area. Jim (2nd generation), Rick (3rd generation), and Willie (3rd generation) Barkau have continued in that tradition while expanding our marketplace to be worldwide. We have had vehicles shipped to Russia, Sweden, Australia, Turkey, Mexico and many other locations. We have vehicles purchased by customers in 49 states and commonly have customers fly in to pick up their new vehicles. In all of this, it has been a pleasure for the Barkau family to help fulfill the transportation needs of a varied clientele. J.H. Barkau & Sons has accomplished this feat by continuing to offer quality, hand-picked vehicles at very competitive prices. We believe in offering our customers an incredible selection that is second to none, with over 1100 vehicles available for purchase. We believe in a no pressure sales environment and in quality reconditioning of our inventory selection. Our sales teams at our Cedarville and Freeport stores each have over a century of experience in helping fill the needs of our vast customer base. The funny part is, we remember a lot of you years later and we are genuinely happy to see you. But selling cars is not all that we do. We believe in supporting the local community through donations, Toy Drives, Food Drives and many other local charities and fundraisers. We also run the “Excellerate” program for Aquin Catholic Schools and have facilitated over 113 donated vehicles. That may be part of the reason that we have been voted the “Best In Region” Used Car Dealership for 15 straight years. Great vehicles, great people, great exp
Contact Dealership

200 North Stephenson Street

Cedarville, IL

61013

Directions

By Type

Showing 707 reviews

April 03, 2021

"we really appreciated how helpful and professional Tim..."

- debsett

we really appreciated how helpful and professional Tim was with us when we bought our 2013 Impala two weeks ago. Thank you very much for everything.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 16, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for this review and for choosing JH Barkau & Sons. We really appreciate you being a customer. Tim and the Team are here for you anytime.

April 03, 2021

"Great vehicle. Great price. Great service. It was our..."

- jonkehoe83

Great vehicle. Great price. Great service. It was our second purchase at J. H. Barkau and we will make a third when we're ready again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 16, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank your for your excellent rating, kind words and continued support! Reviews like these are why we are so often called Best Used Car Dealership in the Midwest! We will share this with Nils and the Team to tell them to keep up with the amazing work! We look forward to serving you for many years to come!

April 02, 2021

"Thank you for your help getting my new car it was my..."

- kann8947

Thank you for your help getting my new car it was my first time buying a newer vehicle and it was a great first experience. Also mostly thank you Tim for the surprise behind the gas cap! Loved it!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 16, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for this awesome review! Tim and the Team are delighted to see that you had a 5-star new car buying experience! Thank you for choosing JH Barkau & Sons. We look forward to serving you for many years to come.

April 02, 2021

"Awesome!! tim is awesome they helped me 100 percent tim..."

- Kell

Awesome!! tim is awesome they helped me 100 percent tim has always been kind and compassionate. 10 out of 10 thanks!!!thanks so much for putting me into an affordable safe reliable buick love ittttt!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 16, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

On behalf of all of us at JH Barkau & Sons, I would like to thank you for your continued business and for sharing this outstanding review about Tim and our dealership! We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you in the future.

March 29, 2021

"Juan was very helpful and answered all of our questions..."

- Lydiastietz11

Juan was very helpful and answered all of our questions in a very good way. Everything was super easy and the whole process went quickly which was amazing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 01, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you for the 5-star rating, we are so grateful that you have chosen JH Barkau & Sons. Reviews like these are why we are so often called one of the best used dealerships in the Midwest! Juan and the Team are thrilled to receive such a great rating and we look forward to working with you in the future.

March 27, 2021

""JUAN"WAS THE BEST SALESMAN.He helped me out by going..."

- sbroge

"JUAN"WAS THE BEST SALESMAN.He helped me out by going beyond expections by giving me best deal on a Colorado truck..He is number 1.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 01, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for this great 5-star review! I will make sure to share this with Juan and the Team to let them know to keep up the amazing work and hope you stop by again soon when you're in Cedarville!

March 27, 2021

"Car was great but need brakes and self parking needs work..."

- Seagoterry

Car was great but need brakes and self parking needs work sales people were good help getting us great monthly payments with low interest rate

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 01, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

On behalf of all of us at JH Barkau & Sons, I would like to thank you for the great review about our dealership! I will share this with our Team. Seeing that you had a 5-star experience is the best thing we could hope for and we look forward to serving you for many years to come!

March 27, 2021

"Juan was wonderful. Very accommodating. I called him..."

- Britmordini

Juan was wonderful. Very accommodating. I called him quite frequently and he was always available to me. Made car buying quick and easy. Great employee! Juan and Dan ludewig are why my family has purchased 7+ cars from barkau/Sawicki!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Dan ludewig was also phenomenal at Freeport branch
Apr 01, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for for your take on how we are doing. We appreciate your kind words and continued support. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and also agree, Juan is a gem to have on the Barkau Team! We look forward to working with you in the future.

March 26, 2021

"Super nice and helpful. Willing to work with us which was..."

- pixie

Super nice and helpful. Willing to work with us which was much appreciated. 😁 Love the car and the price we got it for. Plus cute cats. 🐈🐈‍⬛

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 01, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

We are delighted to see that you had a 5-star experience at JHB Barkau & Sons! Thank you for sharing with us and the community. Come back and see us soon!

March 25, 2021

"Well where do I start .... Absolutely fantastic service..."

- jlcohare1981

Well where do I start .... Absolutely fantastic service treated me like I was buying a 40k car when in reality it was a 8k CLEAN,GREAT PRICE AND CANT SAY ENOUGH ABT CUSTOMER SERVICE. Then their willingness to work with us folks that don't have a 720 C/S..i would DEFINITELY RECOMMEND A VISIT .......THANKS J.H BARKAU & SONS , ERICK AND TIM WHERE GREAT TOO WORK WITH THX Jeff C.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 25, 2021 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

On behalf of Tim, Erick and all of us at JH Barkau & Sons, I would like to thank you for sharing this great review about our dealership! Reviews like these like these are why we are so often called one of the "Best in the Region". We are thrilled you enjoyed your sales experience and hope to see you again soon! Cheers!

11 - 20 of 707 results