Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Service Pickup & Delivery
  • No Contact Transactions
  • Home Test Drives
  • Vehicle Sanitization

Land Rover Lake Bluff

Lake Bluff, IL

4.8
221 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
It was almost 80 years ago when, Karl Knauz the father of the current chairman, Bill Knauz, created the dealership that would bear his name for generations to come. Karl Knauz after years of being a chauffeur opened a gas station in Lake Forest. Did he imagine that this modest beginning would come to be one of the most recognized dealerships in the country. The franchises they have now, Mercedes-Benz, BMW, MINI, Land Rover, Hyundai, smart have put their trust in the Knauz family, (with Mercedes-Benz going all the way back to 1959). They have weathered the good times and the bad, and done so by taking care of customer's using 'The Golden Rule".

375 Skokie Valley Hwy

Lake Bluff, IL

60044

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 221 reviews

June 27, 2020

"Lee did a fantastic job tracking down a scarce part in..."

- Stephen B

Lee did a fantastic job tracking down a scarce part in Seattle we needed to install a trailer hitch at the last minute. Great effort!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 29, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi Stephen, thank you very much for leaving this review. We're so glad to hear that Lee was able to help out in a tricky situation & source the part you needed! We greatly appreciate your feedback!

June 24, 2020

"We have been long time customers of Knauz Land Rover in..."

- stephenprusso

We have been long time customers of Knauz Land Rover in sales and service. We have worked with Andreas in Sales and Lee in Service and it has always been great. Our old LR3 has had great care with maintenance and I have never been pushed unneeded work as I have in other dealerships. When we went back to buy another Land Rover Andreas was a pleasure to work with. He knows the vehicle, features, was our advocate on pricing and even came in on his day off to deliver the vehicle. Great Dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 25, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi Stephen, thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experiences with Andreas & Lee over the years. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy working with them & that they always take care of you! We strive to make every visit to our workshop or showroom enjoyable, so we're very excited to receive your feedback. Thank you for your loyalty to Knauz & thanks again for reaching out to us with your thoughts! We're looking forward to the next opportunity to work with you!

June 24, 2020

"Great Experience - Highly Recommend"

- mmatas

Rob Hill is knowledgable, professional, and goes above & beyond to make sure his clients are taken care of, would highly recommend him and this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 25, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi there, thank you for leaving this review. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience working with Rob & Salvo! Thank you very much for your business, as well as your recommendation. Congratulations on your new Land Rover; we'll be here if you need us!

June 23, 2020

"I found a Land Rover on you web site. Rob and Peter were..."

- jong

I found a Land Rover on you web site. Rob and Peter were extremely helpful to get the deal done . They both went out of there way after hours to help me deal with my email having been hacked and difficulties executing the wire for funds to purchase the vehicle. Cole has the patience of a saint which was necessary to walk me through the features and technology of the vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 24, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi Jong, thank you very much for leaving this review. We're very glad to hear that Rob, Peter, & Cole made your experience so enjoyable! It's not uncommon for us to run into challenges along the way of a deal; we're just happy that we were able to help out. We're so glad that you were able to utilize Cole's product knowledge to familiarize yourself with your new Land Rover. Thanks again for reaching out to us & congratulations to you! Safe & happy driving!

June 07, 2020

"Decided to look into buying a new Range Rover, but had a..."

- Robcorley

Decided to look into buying a new Range Rover, but had a terrible experience with my local dealer in St Louis, who has no interest in helping me find a car that matched what I was looking for. I found one on my own at LR Lake Bluff and the experience was fantastic. Best car-buying experience I have ever had. Rob was helpful and open about the process, and his communication was exceptional. He took care of everything, even calling the rental car company to arrange pickup at the dealer. Peter was great with setting up the financing and explaining all options, and Cole got me familiar with all of the details of the car before I drove back to St Louis. I can’t say enough about what a great entire experience this was! Thank you guys! I love my Range Rover and you’ve got a customer for life! Rob

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 10, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi Rob, thank you very much for reaching out to us about your experience working with Rob Hill. We're so glad to hear that he made your entire visit so seamless & enjoyable! We strive to provide excellent, turnkey service, so your comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to work with you, as well as making the trip up all the way from Missouri! We greatly appreciate your feedback. Congratulations on your new Range Rover; we're looking forward to seeing you again!

June 05, 2020

"Great dealership "

- Sean Scott

Rob Hill, Peter Gioulos and Cole Syslo were terrific. Class acts all around, bought a LR Discovery in the new post-Covid world and they made everything easy, seamless and buyer-friendly. 5 stars across the board.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 05, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi Sean, thank you very much for leaving your thoughts with us. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed working with Rob, Peter, and Cole to get your new Discovery! We strive to provide a welcoming, efficient, & helpful showroom experience, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks again for letting us know how things went during your visit. Congratulations on your new Rover & thanks for being part of the Knauz family!

May 14, 2020

"New Range Rover"

- Larry M

So happy Land Rover Lake Bluff. This is a first class dealership that takes great care of the customers. Working with Chad and Peter make the process so simple and quick. Romy and Salvatore are patient with teaching how to use and making sure all of the set ups are perfect and will also respond to any question. Lee and Tim along with service dept are always a pleasure and have a smile. Everyone attempts to go 150% out of the way to accommodate customers. I would highly recommend Land Rover Lake Bluff but all of the Knauz flagship dealerships. Keep up the good work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
May 14, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi Larry, thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoy working with every member of our team and that they're always helpful and accommodating! We strive to provide excellent service and make every customer's experience enjoyable, so comments like yours are always exciting to receive. Thank you very much for your recommendation, as well as your kind words! We're looking forward to working with you again!

April 27, 2020

"Extremely knowledgeable, patient and helpful staff!! "

- natyours

I was dreading purchasing a new car but to my surprise everyone that we spoke to on-line, on the phone and in-person was beyond professionally nice. They REALLY CARED ABOUT YOU! I will never buy a car from any other dealership!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 29, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi there, thank you so much for reaching out to us about your experience. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed working with Salvo, Peter, and Andreas! We strive to provide excellent service, so we're very glad to hear that you felt valued while shopping here. Congratulations on your new Rover and thanks so much for providing us with the opportunity to earn your business! Thank you for being part of the Land Rover Lake Bluff family; we'll see you next time!

April 13, 2020

"Dissapointed when picked up the car"

- abrosmi

When I picked up the car and got home I found several items that were supposed to be included were not in the car, There wasn't even an owners manual. I had to make a list and go back and ask for the items. No one seemed to car if I bought the car or not. In times when not a lot of people are buying cars, I would have expected a different experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 21, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi there, thank you for reaching out to us regarding your experience. We're extremely regretful to hear that your experience was disappointing. We strive to provide excellent service and the experience you're describing does not align with the standards we hold ourselves to. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will look into this matter immediately.

March 31, 2020

"Unwillingness to accept responsibility for mistakes "

- Peter

I have also experienced an unwillingness to accept responsibility for mistakes. Over the last 15 years, I have purchased and serviced 4 vehicles at Kanuz BMW and Kanuz Land Rover including a new BMW 550, a Ranger Rover Evoque, and 2 new Range Rover Sports. I am according to the sticker in my window a Knauz Preferred Customer. My last experience at Kanuz Land Rover Service was extremely disappointing. Conversely my experience at Northfield Land Rover was positive and very professional. In November of 2019 I was involved in a front end accident with my Range Rover. After a general service visit (oil change, etc.) in February of 2020, I was informed of uneven wear on my front tires. On March 5, 2020 I brought my Range Rover into the Knauz Land Rover dealership for an alignment because there was uneven wear on the front tires. I was told the car needed a four wheel alignment, tire balancing and two new front tires. Allstate my car insurance company approved and authorized all the work recommended by Knauz to be completed. The aforementioned work was completed and I picked up my car on March 9th, total cost $914.95. I started to drive home, driving North on Waukegan Rd. and my Range Rover kept pulling to the right. It was odd because, my Range Rover pre and post-accident had never had a steering issue/never pulled to the right or to the left. Thus, I turned around and took the vehicle back to the Kanuz Land Rover service center and explained that my car was pulling to the right. They printed out the alignment that was completed and showed me that there were 14 areas on the alignment spec sheet and prior to them completing the alignment 7 of them were in Red (outside of spec) and 7 of them were Green (within spec) and that post-alignment all 14 areas measured were Green (within spec). I said ok, but there is an issue with my car and it feels unsafe with the pull to the right. They said let me get the tech who performed the alignment to go on a drive with you. This time when leaving the dealership, I drove North on Hwy 41 (with the Kanuz Land Rover tech in the passenger seat) and as soon as we were up to the speed limit, I took my hands off the steering wheel and the car drove off the road onto the grooves cut into the paved highway shoulder letting us know that we were off the road. I repositioned us into the center of the lane and took my hands off the steering wheel again and the car again drove off Hwy 41. Then I did it for a third time and the tech admitted that something was wrong. We took the car back to the shop and he checked the alignment again and he made some additional adjustments and then provided me with a new alignment spec sheet, showing all 14 areas were Green (within spec). It was communicated to me that all the work they (Knauz) completed was done properly and there must be another issue. I said ok, let's do the work to diagnose the issue. Initially they refused to complete the diagnostic work, citing that my insurance company had not yet approved it. I said that is ok, I will pay for it just like I did for all the other work. Then they said that it would take a long time and they could not do the work, they needed to send my car to their body shop to see if there was frame damage or bent control arms. Then they said they could not give me a loaner vehicle. Then they said they could not give me a rental car because the rental car location was not open. Thus, I left Knauz Land Rover with what I felt was an unsafe vehicle and called my car insurance company Allstate. Allstate authorized the diagnostic work to be completed to understand the steering issue of my car pulling. Given that I am in the market to purchase 2 new vehicles and we are considering a (Discovery for my wife and a Range Rover Sport for myself), I called the Northfield Land Rover Dealership, explained my issue and asked if they would complete the diagnostic work. I also asked if I could get a Discovery as a loaner given that I have a family of five and that we are currently in the market for new vehicles. The Northfield Land Rover dealership provided me with a Discovery loaner vehicle, and they completed the diagnostic work and said the issue was the alignment and fixed the alignment issue. Northfield showed me that one of the front end alignment specs was Red when the vehicle was brought in and then showed me that they fixed it. Total cost $199.95. The good news is that my car now drives straight again on all roads including Waukegan and Hwy 41. I provided all of the documentation given to me from both the Kanuz and the Northfield Land Rover dealerships to Allstate. After reviewing the information, Allstate said that they are not willing to pay for a second alignment when from what they can see in the documentation provided the first alignment done at Knauz was not done correctly. Thus, I called Knauz and spoke to one of the service team members, and I left a text message (March 19th) for the service person who originally helped me to forward to his manager. I then called into the service manager (Joni) directly and left her an email on March 23rd. On March 24th Joni responded and said that she would like to see the alignment spec from the Northfield Land Rover, and stated that they believe that this is a tire issue. To Note: Knauz just put 2 brand new original Pirelli tires on the car and the other 2 rear tires were new original Pirelli in April 2019. After 9 back and forth emails, and me doing all the work to get Joni the alignment spec from Northfield, her email communication to me on March 30th was... "After reviewing the alignment specs from both Northfield and Lake Bluff there is very little difference. The caster and camber are not adjustable in the front end on your vehicle and both alignments are in the green. Driving on the roads in my area there is a lot of road crown and my technician states that it was a road crown issue not a pulling issue on the test drive. I have discussed this with...Chad my Center manager and we are not in a position to refund you for the alignment you authorized." In summary, the communication from Knauz has identified the pulling issue as 1) frame/control arm issue, 2) then it was a tire issue, and 3) now it is the crowns in the road issue. Really what it is, is an unwillingness to accept responsibility for mistakes. Crowns in the road are not the issue here, a bad alignment is the issue here that caused my vehicle to be unsafe. The Knauz Land Rover technician can attest to sitting in the passenger seat with me driving and hearing the vibrations from the tires going off the road (Hwy 41) three times. Now that the alignment has been fixed correctly by Northfield Land Rover, the car no longer drives off the same exact road (Hwy 41). It is not just the issue itself that is concerning here, it is how the issue has been handled that is extremely disappointing to me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mar 31, 2020 -

Land Rover Lake Bluff responded

Hi there, thank you for reaching out to us with your comments. We're terribly sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing visit. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Apr 15, 2020 -

Peter responded

What happened to the Golden Rule? The Knauz corporate mission statement, always treating customers according to the "golden rule." Treating each other the way we would want to be treated ourselves.

1
...
1 - 10 of 221 results