Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Mossy Toyota

San Diego, CA

4.3
663 Reviews
Our hearts are with all who have been impacted by COVID-19 (Coronavirus). During these challenging times, Mossy Toyota remains available to provide transportation, service, and peace of mind to our customers. Mossy is committed to staying updated and following best practices provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the World Health Organization. We have increased the frequency and intensity of our cleaning processes. Hourly sanitation is our priority. Employees who experience any symptoms are required to remain home to ensure the safety of our customers and staff. Mossy Toyota is part of a group of family-owned and -operated dealerships that have been giving back to the community since 1921. At our San Diego Toyota dealership, you'll be treated to unmatched Toyota sales, service and financing, and we'll truly help you Drive Better For Less.

4555 Mission Bay Drive

San Diego, CA

92109

Directions

By Type

Showing 663 reviews

June 28, 2021

"I love toyota not mossy Toyota of pacific beach..."

- Alec

I love toyota not mossy Toyota of pacific beach horrible. Pressure sales tactics Horrible customer service Over priced service packages by 3k I found scratches on my car after service the service tech walked outside took pics with his iPhone then reviewed the two he couldn’t see the scratches on their iPad. Service tech walked up to me while I was sitting and took a picture of me his name is Brian robitaille he is a horrible service tech. Gina Gonzales should not be in customer relations she lies for their employees

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Jun 28, 2021 -

Mossy Toyota responded

I am disappointed that you would write this review while we are still in the process of resolving your issues. Through text messages, I have provided you with a copy of the picture and text message our employee took. He was taking a picture of a plant in the area you were sitting in, to send to his mother in law. In the picture, you can clearly see that plant is the focus of the picture, not you or any other customers. we are currently investigating your claims that we somehow damaged your vehicle. Once the videos have been reviewed, I will be in touch. Regards, Gina Gonzalez Customer Relations Manager

Jun 28, 2021 -

Alec responded

You clearly like to lie for your employees if I could share the image that you sent me on here I would. I am the center of the image he took two pictures again like I told you earlier don’t you think it’s a little obvious that a employee that has been giving me issues take a picture of me those plants are all over the place in the lobby Those plants have probably been there for months and somehow on the day that I come sit there he does that. I confronted your employee about him taking the image about 10 minutes after he took it so it would not be that hard to crop the image to take my face out. Your employee Brian robitaille has been difficult to deal with every time I have been there it was such a relief when he didn’t sign me in this morning. He has wanted to charge me twice for stuff that is in our service package. I have called you 3 times now and sent you a couple emails would you mind responding to them. You said you were going to look at the video and pictures and get back to me it’s been several hours now regarding the scratches on the car.

June 20, 2021

"Thank you for taking the extra time to follow up and my..."

- Kevin L S.D

Thank you for taking the extra time to follow up and my search for the perfect replacement for my 99 Camry, I look forward to working with you and Mission Bay Toyota service department for many years.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jun 21, 2021 -

Mossy Toyota responded

Thank you Kevin for sharing your great experience. I'm happy to hear that Dennis took great care of you. Congratulations on your new Toyota, we look forward to seeing you back for your regular maintenance. Happy driving! Gina Gonzalez Customer Relations Manager.

May 17, 2021

"Rude, Amateurish, dishonest when she wants to change your..."

- nigelrstratton

Rude, Amateurish, dishonest when she wants to change your original signed contract then threatens to take your car back, should be in a horror movie.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
May 17, 2021 -

Mossy Toyota responded

5/17/2021 I am sorry to hear that you are upset. Our finance department does their best to make our customers experience as smooth as possible. Unfortunately, our banks sometimes make decisions that alter the original terms of the contract based on our customers credit history. By no means, do we ever want you to feel harassed or inconvenienced, but we are responsible for that car until all of the final paperwork is done with your credit union. If you would like to discuss further, I am happy to speak with you. I can be reached at ginag@mossy.com Gina Gonzalez Customer Relations Manager

April 10, 2021

"How can I even explain the experience that I had with Tom..."

- Damiand878

How can I even explain the experience that I had with Tom and Mark other than disgusting, dishonest and unbelievably unprofessional. I had been texting with them for days and had an appointment at 1:30 today to look at a car for my mom. However, when my mom's current car tire blew (1.5 hours away), I had to drive to get her. I immediately called and texted to reschedule for 4pm. They confirmed the new time. after getting her and my little sister, we rushed to the dealership. We hopped in the car and went for a test drive knowing we would buy it when we got back. BUT that's where the nightmare began. As soon as we got back from the test drive, we were told that the card had sold!!! How did they not know that 15 mins before? How do the sales people not communicate? why did they string be along to where I just drove 3 hours to get to our appointment for this specific car that we've been communicating about for days for my mom? And they didn't have the respect to tell me that the car wasn't available? i did get upset at the salesmen because it's their job to sell cars that are available! Tom and Mark are scammers to a "T".

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Apr 12, 2021 -

Mossy Toyota responded

I am sorry to hear that you feel that way Damian. As I have already replied to your sister, I assure you, our team is far from dishonest, cowards and unprofessional. I know you and you family had a rough day that day with a series of unfortunate events, causing you to arrive later than your originally scheduled time. It is our policy NOT to hold inventory. Another family arrived shortly before you and your family. While we were negotiating with that family, you and your family went on the test drive. While you were gone, the first family agreed to a buying price and signed the agreement to purchase. We are very transparent and do not need to be deceitful with our customers to sell cars. Your and your sister's threats of bad mouthing us on social media are unfounded and unjust. Our policy is to sell the car to the first customer that arrives and we did just that. Had your family arrived first, you would have gotten the opportunity to purchase first. I am sorry you and your family are upset, but we hope you can understand our position. Gina Gonzalez Customer Relations Manager

March 25, 2021

"SUPER SHADY- I had heard the rumors, and went anyway...."

- DanM

SUPER SHADY- I had heard the rumors, and went anyway. ALL TRUE!!! They advertised a 2021 4Runner Limited for MSRP on their webpage, AutoTrader, and on the Window of the 4Runner. Confirmed it was in stock, the price, and drove down to see it and see if we could close a deal. When we sat down, they brought paper with the price breakdown, that had a $9,000 NINE THOUSAND DOLLAR ADM "adjusted dealer markup"? Needless to say they wouldn't budge. I even offered full MSRP. So I walked. TOTALLY SHADY TO PULL THIS ONCE YOU DRIVE 30 Miles to get there and plan on buying. I've send an email to the General Manager TRAVIS MOSSY. We'' see if he even gets it. Unless you like to get bait and switched, or pay 20-30% over the list price, you have better steer clear.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : KYLE MAVERICK - INTERNET SALES
Apr 02, 2021 -

Mossy Toyota responded

Sorry you feel that way Dan. Unfortunately due to a supply chain issue we do have addendums on our hard to get inventory. I apologize to you if our team did NOT thoroughly explain that to you prior to you driving down. Travis Mossy and I have reviewed your review and we will be speaking with Kyle and our team about your experience and how we can avoid this in the future. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me at ginag@mossy.com. Gina Gonzalez Customer Relations Manager

February 14, 2021

"Naim was a very good salesman, very patient and very very..."

- fhb

Naim was a very good salesman, very patient and very very knowledgeable. He went to the fullest extent to find the perfect car for us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
February 01, 2021

"If I could give zero stars to Mr. Thacker I would. His..."

- dawndawn20

If I could give zero stars to Mr. Thacker I would. His communication style is hostile and rude. I brought my Toyota Corolla in twice for recall issues. While discussing the paint peeling off my bumper he told me it would not be covered by the recall in a rude and harsh manner. Poor customer service skills and this guy simply doesn’t know how to communicate to customers respectfully.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Feb 01, 2021 -

Mossy Toyota responded

I am so sorry to hear about the experience you had with Robert. Our goal is to always provide the best experience possible and it sounds like we fell short. For that I sincerely apologize. I will be discussing your review with Robert and discuss ways he can provide a better experience in the future. Should you wish to discuss further, please feel free to contact me at ginag@mossy.com. Gina Gonzalez Customer Relations Manager

December 23, 2020

"Bait and switch, Trying to sell on payment instead of on..."

- SMontenegro

Bait and switch, Trying to sell on payment instead of on price repeatedly when I specified I wasn’t concerned with them finding me a payment as I had cash in hand. Price was around 10k over sticker price, so dishonest it was actually amusing. Grossly undervalued my trade in. Sales rep Austin even tried to tell me I had to pay california sales tax when I am a resident in another state and would have had the new car registered there. This could have been purposeful or he’s just misinformed. Mind you, this was before asking price was even shown to me. Just poor sales tactics and dishonesty left and right. Would not recommend. Far Better deals at other SD county Toyota dealers don’t waste your time on this one. And such steep unfair markups during a pandemic? Do better, Mossy 💕

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Austin Nguyen
December 11, 2020

"Tom is professional & smart- a joy to work with. His..."

- jjacobs2

Tom is professional & smart- a joy to work with. His response time & accuracy was excellent. I would recommend him to my closest friends and know they would get the best service possible.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
October 15, 2020

"Tom larkins is an awesome salesman .he is very nice very..."

- lolitachoy

Tom larkins is an awesome salesman .he is very nice very professional.went there to see the XSE Camry Toyota and I’m looking fir blue color but he lest us drive the gray XSE .and after that I said if he could order me a blue one he said he well .he said I wanna show you other car that might get interested so he bring me the TRD Camry and that point I change my mind I said to him I want that.he know how to please the costumer .I’m glad that he bring that out .I got the TRD.he’s really nice and awesome.with Robin there team are really very good. Yeah I’m looking at accord race me .I’m really satisfied on he’s excellent service..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Tom Larkins
1
...
1 - 10 of 663 results