Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Napleton's Palatine Subaru

Palatine, IL

3.2
122 Reviews
When Grandpa Ed Napleton opened his first Buick store in 1931, he had one guiding business principle: common courtesy. That is, the customer always comes first. The 'Family Secret' must count for something: like 300,000 plus satisfied customers. Underscoring that secret's importance is the fact that about 67% of Napleton customers are repeat customers. It's readily apparent that Grandpa Ed Napleton was onto something big. Ed Napleton had one son, Francis, who has worked continuously in the family business since 1940. The family then obtained a DeSoto dealership followed by a Chrysler Plymouth franchise. In 1960, Ed semi-retired from the auto business secure in the knowledge of a job well done. Fran Napleton became the driving force for the family. It was then that Fran Napleton saw major opportunities to expand on what his father had started. Thanks to Fran's foresight, hard work & sacrifice, another store was obtained in 1976. Fran's diligence and commitment have earned the respect of his six sons, five of whom have followed in his footsteps by distinguishing themselves as leaders and innovators in the retail automobile business. Today, Napleton dealerships number 24 franchises and 18 state-of-the-art sales & service facilities, providing employment for over 600 men and women. The cars sold by the Napleton's have gone from crank starters & solid tires to air bags & ABS, from rumble seats to integrated child seats. Times change but one thing hasn't: common courtesy. The Napleton's see no reason to change. After all, we'd like to stay in business another 65 years and continue the legacy of Ed Napleton. He was quite a guy. We have a skilled and knowledgeable sales staff with many years of experience satisfying our customers' needs. Located in Palatine, Illinois, the staff at Napleton's Palatine Subaru will help you find the Subaru vehicle you want. At Napleton's Palatine Subaru we offer a searchable online inventory of new Subaru cars in Palatine, along with well-maintained used cars by today's top manufacturers. Come on in and take a test drive! Our sales staff will help you find that new Subaru or quality used car that you have been searching for. For years, the financial staff at Napleton's Palatine Subaru has offered expert advice for those seeking an affordable Subaru car loan or lease. Our service doesn't just stop there. Palatine customers can come in and take advantage of our knowledgeable Subaru car repair technicians and a fully-stocked inventory of Subaru auto parts. Whether you are looking for a Subaru, or a pre-owned car or truck, Napleton's Palatine Subaru is here to help. If you don't see what you are looking for, click on CarFinder and simply fill out the form. We will let you know when vehicles arrive that match your search! If you would rather discuss your options with our friendly sales staff, click on Directions for interactive driving directions. We are conveniently located at 1911 N Rand Rd. You can also reach Napleton's Palatine Subaru any time by filling out our contact form or calling us. The entire staff at Napleton's Palatine Subaru looks forward to serving you!
Contact Dealership

1911 N Rand Rd

Palatine, IL

60074

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 122 reviews

October 19, 2021

"Daniel was awesome. It was the best buying experience..."

- jaywrx2018

Daniel was awesome. It was the best buying experience I've ever had. Keep up the good work Daniel.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 21, 2021 -

Napleton's Palatine Subaru responded

Hi, thank you so much for your feedback! Our team will be very happy to hear about your kind words and star rating! We hope you continue to choose us for all your automotive needs! Take care!

August 03, 2021

"Took my car for oil change.After I got my car back I..."

- Mimek7

Took my car for oil change.After I got my car back I noticed that the car was shaking.Checked my oil dipstick and oil looked dirty so I decided to do my own oil change .service technician did not drain my old oil only added extra to my car.After I took the car to the service department I was told that that will make it right left the car for couple days after recovering call that the car is ready took it home and opened the hood so called qualified technicians forgot to install the plastic cover on the engine.I had to go back to get the plastic installed,3 times for one oil change that was not preform and did not get money back for the oil change and the oil that I purchased on my own .Will not recommend them to anyone EVER and called Subaru of USA will file complaints.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan Rodriguez
August 02, 2021

"We walked in this past Saturday never having owned a..."

- B D Rowe

We walked in this past Saturday never having owned a Subaru and walked away with a new Forrester. This dealership was a pleasant surprise in terms of the ease in purchasing a car, from our great sales person Sheldon to the manager who came out to greet us and a second time as we left to thank us for our business. The gentleman in finance was also really great and explained everything in great detail. We had a price in mind that we had to stay within our budget and Napleton was able to meet our goal! We love our new car and would recommend your dealership to friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sheldon
Oct 10, 2021 -

Napleton's Palatine Subaru responded

Hi, thanks for your great review, and for giving our dealership such a high star rating! If you have any additional needs or questions, we will be more than happy to assist you! Safe travels!

April 23, 2021

"We were very pleased with our experience at Napleton's..."

- syverclan

We were very pleased with our experience at Napleton's Subaru! Our salesman, Peter Staszalek, was very professional, knowledgeable, and patient as we carefully chose our new Forester.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Peter Staszalek
Oct 10, 2021 -

Napleton's Palatine Subaru responded

Hi, thanks for your great review, and for giving our dealership such a high star rating! If you have any additional needs or questions, we will be more than happy to assist you! Safe travels!

March 27, 2021

"Made an appt to buy a car, called to say I was on my way..."

- clew416

Made an appt to buy a car, called to say I was on my way (an hour drive), showed up and they were selling it to another person. Their response "the other people got there first" Napleton is about sales, not about service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark Cary, Sheldon Joy
Oct 10, 2021 -

Napleton's Palatine Subaru responded

Hi, we appreciate your honest feedback about your recent visit. We take our clients' comments seriously and would appreciate the chance to discuss your experience in more detail. If you would be willing, we would like to try and turn your experience around. When you have a chance, please reach out to our General Manager, Danny Napleton at dn@napletonmail.com and we will do our best to make this better. Take care!

March 26, 2021

"Just gonna leave this here. This is the email I sent out..."

- CJ

Just gonna leave this here. This is the email I sent out after the dealership followed up with me: Thanks for reaching out. I appreciate you saying you would like to hear my opinion even though you will not like it: "No, I do not feel like I was treated with respect or had a hassle-free purchasing experience. I'm not quite sure where to start but I think we can say that it was very obvious that my concern's were not being met. Your sales staff did not take the time to understand my needs and take my perspective on purchasing a car. I looked at the 2015 Forester 2.5i Limited with Kyle. The test drive went okay although the car's shock were subpar. However, I did like the car and was fully expecting to make a purchase that day. Even though KBB has the price of the car between $14,800-$16,000, I was not too upset with the price of the car being around $16,500. THEN, I received to this day, the most hilariously ridiculous "document" (attached). Let's start at the top and work our way down. That $17,345 number includes the selling price of the car and a $770 "used car fee". A "used car fee", also sometimes known as a "recondition fee" is a not a real fee and your salesperson refused to break that number away from the "price" of the car when I asked twice. Next, we have that little paragraph in the corner. I was told twice that I needed to initial that in order to see a worksheet. Now if we really look at those numbers, we see a price of $3,000 down and $350 a month. With our little handy dandy calculator, we can see a price of nearly $24,000. That is without the warranty, GAP and NVA. It's not even worth it to go into those. At this point, I knew this was not a legitimate dealership and it was time to walk away. From this experience, I have been able to share this story and photo with: my mom, my brother (for Subaru salesman), my girlfriend, my girlfriend's parents, my girlfriend's sisters and brothers-in-law, my team at work and my roommates. At 24 hours, I have shared this photo and story with 21 people and that's before I even used social media. In a day and age where your reputation matters, Napleton's Schaumburg Subaru is doing something wrong. I hope this helps you in the future. As is obvious, it was not a pleasure doing business with you and it would take an incredible leap of faith to ever get me into your dealership ever again."

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Napleton, Kyle Crump
February 22, 2021

"Wish I could tell you how my car buying went but it never..."

- Blak

Wish I could tell you how my car buying went but it never got that far. The car was a 2010 outback was listed online for $8443. I inquired and received a text from Joe McAvoy rather quickly. We spoke on the phone the next morning. I asked about the price and he said it's basically non negotiable because it's an internet sale, and I agreed it was a good price, that may have been my mistake. Joe McAvoy went to take some pictures as they had just gotten the car in. He promptly sent me the pictures and told me it was getting new brakes and tires. Now I know about DOC fees and tag fee and registration I asked what they were and he said he has to go check if there are any addition fees. This is where things went south. He texted me said "It will b a bit have a customer that just walked in" . I understand that I am buying a rather inexpensive vehicle compared to what this customer might have been buying, but still i felt brushed aside. It was four hours later when I got a text it said "Sorry for the delay have been with a customer. The total should be about $9,300.00 Before tax" I asked for a breakdown of the charges and fee's since it's almost a grand more than advertised, the response was "I understand. It's the fees I have to collect." This was not the question nor answer I asked for so I asked again for a breakdown so I could understand.... Before I received my answer the car had been bumped up online to $9933 a bump up of $1490.00 The breakdown arrived with another apology because he was "tied up with a customer yesterday" there was a $303.60 IL. doc fee ( the highest allowed) $180.00 drive away tag fee (which cost $10.00 yes I looked into it) $25.00 registration fee and $270.00 "shop fee" (no explanation) I texted him telling him I have never negotiated a deal where the price keeps going up, Joe McAvoy responded it was his day off and look into it tomorrow. I waited til morning then asked when he would be there as I have relatives in Chicago (I am in Missouri) who might be able to look at it, he said he'd be there til 5. I asked one more question about the tires..I got "Out on a test drive with customer" @ 5:57 he responded "Bridgestone tires" that's it I needed to what tire as in which Bridgestone tire. It was quite clear that I wasn't a worthy sale to this man and not worth his time or effort. So before I called Subaru directly (this would have been my 5th Subaru and have been very satisfied) I decided to call the dealership and see if some other sales person might want my business. After a 5 minute wait and just before I hung up Daniel answered the phone. I explained my situation and even said I understand that Joe McAvoy wasn't going to make a lot off this deal, he assured me all customers are important and he will email me pics of the car after it comes out of detailing on Monday, he gets in at noon. it is 2 o'clock and not a word. I realize these people are busy but so am I. I own my own company and have my own work to do as well as being out of state having to coordinate events to make the sale work. I was told all customers matter, and well that is clearly not the case. It's a shame because I looked to them as a dealer to avoid dealings such as I had and almost had. I will be contacting Subaru to mention my displeasure with the way this dealership treated me, I only wish I could download the screen caps of the ads and texts.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe McAvoy and almost Daniel
Oct 10, 2021 -

Napleton's Palatine Subaru responded

Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We regret to learn that you did not have a more positive experience with us. If you would be willing, we would like to try and turn your experience around. When you have a chance, please reach out to our General Manager, Danny Napleton at dn@napletonmail.com and we will do our best to make this better. Take care!

October 18, 2020

"New Palatine location. First time looking at Subaru..."

- Valerie EM

New Palatine location. First time looking at Subaru impressive. Dan our Salesperson, top notch with Car details, features, & professionalism. Recommend this dealership, very diverse salesteam.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan
July 24, 2020

"New car purchase was a nightmare. Inaccurate or deceptive..."

- nbrace

New car purchase was a nightmare. Inaccurate or deceptive information about delivery date. Took 10 days to even admit that they had to build the car then kept promising delivery dates that did not happen. At pickup they titled the wrong car which I had to call them on. Do not purchase here.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dan Shusto,others
July 17, 2020

"Fantastic Experiance/Great service - New Car Purchase "

- Rose

On July 10th, my husband and I purchased a new subaru crosstreck from Napleton's Palatine Subaru. All of the staff in the dealership wore masks and everything was very clean. We both felt safe from coronovirus the entire time we were in the office and on the lot. There was constant cleaning of anything we or anyone else touched and we were offered hand sanitizer at least 6 times. Dan Shusterman helped us with the purchase and he is a fantastic salesman. My husband went to look at the car first but was not pressured when he told them I needed to drive the car too. Dan worked very hard to get us into the car at the price we wanted and could afford. He was incredable, and was on our side of the barganing the entire way. All of the salesman and the finance department were very nice and easy to talk to. This was my first purchase of a new car, and they did a wonderful job explaining the loan and all of the options with the car so that I could understand it clearly. They also did not presure us to buy extras and add-ons. They just gave us the options in an easy to understand way. One week after our purchase, we could not be happier with our new subaru crosstreck. The car itself is a great fit for us, and I like it even more each day. Looking back, I am still extremely satisfied with my entire experience. I highly recomend Napleton's Palatine Subaru if you are looking for a vehicle!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan Shusterman
1
...
1 - 10 of 122 results