Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Open Road Volkswagen Manhattan

New York, NY

2.5
76 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

798 11th Avenue

New York, NY

10019

Directions

76 Reviews of Open Road Volkswagen Manhattan

Sort by Write a review
April 21, 2021

"Poor and dishonest service. Needed to fix the front..."

- nyc_g_u_y

Poor and dishonest service. Needed to fix the front distance sensor and they completely failed to do so. Was fixed promptly by VW of Bayridge

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't remember
February 26, 2021

"This is our second purchase at Open Road VW Manhattan. I..."

- Joann

This is our second purchase at Open Road VW Manhattan. I would highly recommend the efficacy of their sale staff. Ling was amazing! She was efficient, responsive and truly took care of us. We put down a deposit swiftly on a great gem of a car, and Ling closed the deal for us in the most perfect way. She has great charm, and made it a memorable experience. Our car rocks! It was a 2010 Beetle in pristine condition with only 15K miles, we are loving it! Thanks Ling and Brian for all your help!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ling, Brian
February 23, 2021

"This dealership offers the worst deals around. They're..."

- emily

This dealership offers the worst deals around. They're all profit for the dealership and loss for the customer. They employ the bait and switch technique. Jacob calls repeatedly and offers one deal, even takes credit card info using the high pressure technique of claiming the car will be sold in days so better hurry, then Anthony calls to say he won't honor Jacob's representations. However, this dealer sought to buy my coveted car, that other dealers offered to buy and in exchange waive all upfront costs for a 2021 model, while the lousy deal offered was for me to forfeit the $10k in equity I invested at the dealer's profit and to lease a year old car, charging more up front than when I leased my VW new and paying a higher monthly lease rate on top! Unbelievable. Another words I was to get nothing for offering to let this dealer buy the lease as the residual price, thousands below its sale value. All the while Jacob is pressuring the customer and promising a match with what I paid upfront before, which is still a lousy deal considering the consideration of my car to buy at the residual price, which I put added money into unnecessarily due to false claims of needed work by this own dealer's service center. Several non dealers confirmed the work was unneeded. At least I didn't do everything they wanted to make a profit on. Service at this dealer makes up work to do and offers no discounts whereas discounts on the same work are available at other area dealers. It is ignorance to buy or service here. The undiscounted price of a year old car here is more than the discounted price in the are of brand new cars. Once before I was going to buy based on an internet price. I called the next day and the manager denied the price. The price increased. The sales managers here don't stay around long. Take a drive to another dealer. Anthony should have honored Jacob's offer at least under agency law. Jacob bound his principal but what he failed to honor was a lousy deal. Anthony wanted to make it even lousier. This place is dishonest and lacks integrity. They rob you blind.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jacobs, Anthony
September 28, 2020

"I purchased a car from this dealership 2 months ago,..."

- korders

I purchased a car from this dealership 2 months ago, cash, and still have yet to receive my registration, which is over a month expired at this point. When I try to connect with Open Road, I'm sent to voicemail with a generic greeting. The sales agent won't respond to my emails or phone calls anymore, either. Really disappointing customer service and I would not recommend working with this dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff Isaac-Hodge
August 28, 2020

"My experience was 5 stars!! I had the pleasure of..."

- grmfoster

My experience was 5 stars!! I had the pleasure of working with Ling aka 'Boss Lady'...she was terrific. She explained most things in a precise and efficient manner. Her personality is 'Everything'!!!! She was very patient and kind with me in which I appreciated being that I'm not 'car tech savy'. I bought my car and drove away happy and contended. Thank you Ling!!...You're the Best. Gloria Morgan-Foster

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lingbin Ye
July 17, 2020

"Open Road VW charged more than twice what other dealers..."

- Benzie#1

Open Road VW charged more than twice what other dealers charge for a simple 10k service for a JTI. Boycott this dealer who hides behind Manhattan as a reason to charge a young man more than twice what Queensboro VW charges. Customers should know that in a pandemic you don’t pick off customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gti
July 07, 2020

"I hope the cars they offer is better than the service you..."

- BUgLover

I hope the cars they offer is better than the service you find there. Out and out crooked. Do yourself a favor and stay away.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Master charlatan and apprentice
May 20, 2020

"After dealing with many dealerships this one was the best..."

- MattA

After dealing with many dealerships this one was the best and honored their word. Best price, best service and best looking car. So very pleased.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeff and Anthony
May 15, 2020

"If 0 Star Was An Option, I would Have Picked It"

- tanyaprive

The bottom line is the owner Michael Morais and GM Anthony Riccardi gravely lack integrity. I purchased a brand new vehicle in July 2019 and at the time of purchase, was promised two things by the then GM (Darius): 1. I could bring my car into the dealership once every two months for a free car cleaning, 2. The purchase of the car came with a 10K mile or 1-year service for free. I did not have a special relationship with Darius (former GM) and this is what was promised to motivate me to make the sale. So I took the plunge and thought, wow they are going the extra mile. I love that. Within 5 months post-purchase, Darius left for another dealer and along with him, went his promise despite Darius saying that his former team would take care of us. He failed to mark our files for these promises and when I presented all the communication exchanges with him to current management (Anthony) and the owner (Michael), they refused to honor it because I did not explicitly have the promises in writing. Admittedly, that's my fault and I will take a lesson from that, but the communication exchange clearly insinuates and supports what I'm saying was promised at the time of sale. Still, they chose not to honor them and offered instead a discount off of future services. It disturbs me to be promised things upon purchase and not have them honored. It leaves me feeling conned. It's just a disgusting way to operate a business. Good luck keeping clients coming back. I would avoid at all costs. Many other dealers operate with much higher integrity. Not worth the headache.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
michael morais, anthony riccardi, darius
April 12, 2020

"This dealership was the worst car buying experience of my..."

- Tcataldi21

This dealership was the worst car buying experience of my life and continues to be . Let’s start here I drove 2 and a half hours to buy this car . That I was told over the phone was certified and I have proof it was listed as certified on there website I’m also nervous because they told me it still had power train warranty and they’ve lied about a lot of things wouldn’t put this past them . I drive all the way down at the end about to sign papers they tell me it’s not come to find out get all the way home car needs new tires bubbles in sidewalls and two cracked rims . Was told by the business manger the car was certified originally but couldn’t be now because of the price drop .Complete BS. The sold me a car on the day of March 21st and they charged me sales tax and registration fees which are over 1000$ . In the state off mass you need the title to register the vehicle . They refuse to send me the title . Mind you the day of signing there telling me there registering the car . I have been without a car and this dealership is unbelievable I spend over 30,000$ at this place . They are very dishonest and have treated me like I’m so terrible person when all I need is my sales tax and my title . They told me over the phone they were going to rip my title up and throw it in the trash . Also day of signing my sales man comes up to me right away saying it has a cracked windshield . Called in to talk to rick over a week ago and he was out selling a car but couldn’t just pop my title in the mail and finish our deal . I’ve been without a car and this dealership refuses to help me . You would think a Volkswagen dealer would get in trouble for false advertisement . I actually thought a Volkswagen dealer could never do someone like this.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick Correa .
1
...
1 - 10 of 76 results