Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa

Wauwatosa, WI

4.7
792 Reviews
The Russ Darrow Group feels strongly about the need to support the communities that we serve at a time when they need it most. Our business has been determined to be an “essential business” by Governor Evers, and being designated as such is supported by every significant national organization related to the auto industry. Helping to reduce the total cost of vehicle ownership, through enhanced incentives, low or zero percent interest rate financing, deferred payment options up to four months, near record high trade in values, more competitive insurance quotes or just refinancing existing loans are all things we can offer to help improve the financial condition of our customers or any consumer. In addition, many other businesses considered to be “essential” have transportation needs that need to be met in order to provide their “essential” services. Keeping them on the road and available to support the communities they serve is imperative. There are other reasons that we are “essential” to help consumers at this time related to the “need” buyer, such as replacement of total loss vehicles and lease or loan terminations just to name a few. With regard to vehicle service operations, providing essential services to help keep reliable, individual transportation on the roads through needed maintenance and repair at time when people need it most, is equally important in our opinion. At the same time, we are able to keep our employees working to earn a living and help keep the economy in our communities going. We do provide vehicle pick up and delivery services along with virtual online vehicle shopping for those customers who prefer not to or are unable to visit our dealerships in person. We also are working very hard to provide a safe and professional environment in our dealerships by adhering to the best practices to support the safety, health and well being of all customers and our employees. Working together, with our dedicated and loyal employees, our customers and in our communities, we will get through this together! In good health, The Russ Darrow Group Since 1965 Russ Darrow Group has been serving our fine Wisconsin communities. Russ Darrow has grown his business using the personal values and strong beliefs that he used while growing his family in West Bend, Wisconsin. Involvement in the community and serving our customers has been the foundation of our success. That dual commitment has allowed our company to fulfill not only the dreams and vision of Russ Darrow but also the dreams of our employees who have made their job a life long profession. The Russ Darrow Group makes a "career investment" in the development of its employees. This philosophy is unique to the auto dealer industry. We believe in "growing our own." In 2004, the Darrow University was developed to formalize this, allowing all employees to be well trained and prepared for the future. Today the company has 15 locations throughout Wisconsin. The Russ Darrow Group has a track record for success and a positive plan for the future, and we'd like you to be a part of it.

1901 North Mayfair Rd

Wauwatosa, WI

53226

Directions

By Type

Showing 792 reviews

August 01, 2021

"They were super helpful made everything really easy for..."

- Travis

They were super helpful made everything really easy for me. Everyone was extremely friendly and got a really good deal on my first brand new car.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 26, 2021

"We had a great experience - best car buying experience..."

- SR

We had a great experience - best car buying experience I’ve had yet! Friendly, thorough staff who answered my many questions! The 3 years of free oil changes and designated staff member to walk buyers through their new car features were my favorite parts.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Jordan (?) walked us through car features
July 26, 2021

"Overall the buying process went smoothly. The main..."

- camaxey

Overall the buying process went smoothly. The main problem I had was with the finance guy. He spoke way too fast and hounded me to buy the extra warranty coverage which I said over and over I did not want. He also seemed genuinely irritated because I didn’t buy it. That was the main problem.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Shannon, she was terrific!
July 26, 2021

"Sazare was very helpful and professional. We were..."

- Rjrennicke

Sazare was very helpful and professional. We were impressed by him, and all of the other helpful employees that made the process go smooth, and that we were appreciated for our business. Extremely happy with the whole process.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 29, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello RJ! Thank you for this fantastic review! Will be sure to let Sazare and the Team know of your satisfaction :) Your time and business is appreciated and we are glad that you felt that from our Darrow Difference. It is always a treat when the process can go so smoothly. It was a pleasure working with you and we are happy to have your family as a part of ours at Tosa Kia (:

July 25, 2021

"The personnel in this dealership including the salesman..."

- Puttputt.tetzlaff

The personnel in this dealership including the salesman were extremely friendly and accommodating trying to help me as best as they could. Sherman the salesman and the sales manager took additional time to make sure my license plate was transferred from my vehicle to the purchased vehicle. My only issue was the finance manager was a little pushy in purchasing a warranty outside of that everything at the dealership was great

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sherman
Jul 28, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello P.T.! Thank you for taking a moment to leave this review :) Your time and business is truly appreciated! We will be sure to let Sherman and the Sales Manager know of your satisfaction. We are sorry to hear that you felt a bit pushed... Our team is extremely passionate when it comes to helping our customers protect their investment. Although we always hope nothing ever happens, we do know that repairs on a vehicle can be an inconvenience, unexpected, and/or costly. Our duty to our customers is to provide as much information and assistance in the best way we are able - as our Darrow Difference. We are all so happy to have you as a part of the family here at Tosa Kia (:

July 22, 2021

"Great sales people. They go out of their way to make the..."

- FORTE

Great sales people. They go out of their way to make the car leasing process a good one. Service Dept is great also. On time & prompt to get the job done & get you on your way.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 23, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello! Thank you for this lovely 5-star rating. Your time and business is appreciated. It was a pleasure helping you upgrade and we will be sure to let Scott, Lamont, and the Service Dept know of your satisfaction! So glad to hear that you experienced the Darrow Difference with us. Happy to have you as a part of the family here at RD Tosa Kia :)

July 05, 2021

"Staff very friendly and works with you even if credit..."

- reggie04.sm

Staff very friendly and works with you even if credit isnt the greatest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Thomas
Jul 08, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello Reggie! Thank you for this lovely review. We are glad to hear that you experienced the Darrow Difference with us and we will be sure to let Josh know of your satisfaction! Your time and business is appreciated. Happy to have you as a part of the Tosa Kia Family :)

June 28, 2021

"They had my vehicle over 3 months and did ABSOLUTELY..."

- larissa6517

They had my vehicle over 3 months and did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randy in the Service Department
Jun 29, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello Larissa. We are sorry to see this 1-star review. Working with intermittent issues on a vehicle can be quite a difficult task, especially when the issue will not manifest itself during multiple attempts at testing. We put one of the best Kia Techs in the Nation to work on your vehicle, but if the problem does not present itself during the evaluations, we cannot proceed with any repairs. The Advisor that took over responsibility for your Repair Order personally went to bat for you and ensured that you were able to utilize a new and reliable vehicle for the duration and that it was covered at no charge to you. If the issue can be duplicated, or if the Code comes back and is Active for our Technicians to diagnose, we would be happy and more able to facilitate a repair for you in the future. At that time, we can be sure to earn a better and more applicable review from you. Take Care!

June 24, 2021

"Professionalism dealership was very clean Douglas Johnson..."

- Meche

Professionalism dealership was very clean Douglas Johnson is a awesome worker. Who needs to be on your management team because he’s a really hard worker and cares for the company

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Rio
Jun 26, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello Meche! Thank you for this review. Your time and business is appreciated. We will be sure to let Doug, Steve, Rio, and Kevin know of your satisfaction. It was a pleasure helping you (: Glad to have you as a part of the Tosa Kia family!

June 23, 2021

"When I purchased my new 2017 Kia Forte5 the primary..."

- RPalminteri

When I purchased my new 2017 Kia Forte5 the primary reason was for the 100K mile powertrain warranty. Around 90K-95K miles my vehicle started burning oil and at the next oil change I brought it in to start an oil consumption test. After three rounds of oil consumption testing (around 99,400 miles at this point) the dealership asked me to leave the vehicle for an unknown amount of time so they could perform an inspection and then open a ticket with Kia to determine next steps. At the time of service I was informed that there is a good chance Kia will deny the claim stating that up to 1 full quart of oil per 1000 miles is an acceptable amount of oil consumption. I am still waiting for a resolution from Kia - as the dealer has not been able to get an answer to the summitted claim - and I have been calling daily (after waiting over a week) with no updates. I have been without a vehicle for 12 days, as they were not able to provide me with a rental car for the period, and after the dealerships comments I cannot afford to finance a rental car if it will not be reimbursed. Customer service at the dealership has been friendly and helpful, but I am dissatisfied with the lack of response from Kia. I still do not know if my claim will be covered under warranty. The process of reviewing a claim and determining the next steps (from Kia) should not take over a week; regardless of supply chain issues at the moment. I need to know if my vehicle repair will be covered under my powertrain warranty so I can move forward with next steps with Kia.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Multiple members of the Service Team
Jun 26, 2021 -

Russ Darrow Kia of Wauwatosa responded

Hello R.P. We are sorry that you have run into an issue with your vehicle. Our staff will continue to be as helpful as possible with this situation. As this is still ongoing, we will not speculate on what Kia's findings will be. Although our shop is always willing to help a customer, we share your frustration when it comes to any delays in authorization. Not only our shop, but every shop in the Nation is sharing this irritation with the lack of rental vehicles available - we wish there was a golden solution to that problem. As your vehicle did not have a history in our shop, as you know, it is taking some time to collaborate the proper information to get that Kia approval. We won't stop going to bat for you until we get their final word. This is a fantastic opportunity to provide helpful information to other drivers who may be reaching higher mileage OR those who drive more than the average... Vehicle maintenance is important, of course :) We stand behind the benefit of service through a dealership due to trained Brand Technician knowledge, as well as, a corporate thoroughness standard. This does not mean that Chain or 'off-brand' Shops cannot do a good job, but it does leave a responsibility with the Customer to keep receipts and detailed notes. If an oil change or maintenance is not reported to your Carfax, without receipts/logs, it can be difficult to prove your consistency. Consistency is what all manufacturers look at when determining whether or not a repair is warrantable - regardless of the mileage on the vehicle. For those of us driving in the Midwest, please remember that we experience extreme weather changes/conditions (as opposed to a temperate climate) which require us to have our oil changes done closer to 5,000 miles or 6 months -- Whichever comes first! With all of that said, we at Russ Darrow will keep our fingers crossed that a resolution is reached by Kia as quickly as possible. Stay Well.

Jun 26, 2021 -

RPalminteri responded

Thank you for the response. My vehicle has now been in your shop for 15 days with no resolution. After dropping off my vehicle on 6/11 I was informed that it would be inspected on 6/16 and a ticket would then be opened with Kia to review my warranty claim. I allowed the shop ample time to perform their due diligence and on day 10, after not getting any update from Russ Darrow, I called to check on the status of my claim. I was informed at that time that your shop was waiting on a response from Kia for the claim. I called multiple times last week to check on the status of my claim and on multiple occasions was told that because someone was out of the office I would have to wait another day - I do not understand why there were no notes in my account as any customer representative should be able to check on the status of a service visit for me. On the 13th day after dropping off my vehicle I was informed that a claim has NEVER been initialed with Kia, after previously having been told that they were waiting to hear back from Kia. A ticket has now finally been opened, 9 days after I was initially expecting it had been started, and Russ Darrow has unnecessarily cost me an additional week without a vehicle. I was blatantly lied to and Russ Darrow has dropped the ball on my service. In your response above it sounds as if you are implying that I have not performed adequate maintenance on my vehicle, and may not be performing proper oil changes at the correct interval, when in fact this information has never been asked of me to confirm nor have receipts been requested. Russ Darrow's lack of communication and transparency is not living up to the expectation of outstanding customer service.

1
...
1 - 10 of 792 results