Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Stephen Wade Auto Center

2.0

51 Lifetime Reviews

150 Hilton Dr , St. George, Utah 84770 Directions
Call (435) 634-4200

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

51 Reviews of Stephen Wade Auto Center

Sort by Write a review
November 24, 2019

"Lies and deceptions"

- aliengod

Don't listen to anything they tell you on the phone. They have people working for them who tell false details. I needed to sale my car and was given information that was not correct about the sale and in turn I wasted over 700.00 fore that sole reason thinking the information i was told correct..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amanda, Charity, and Cody
September 14, 2019

"Frustration turns to satisfaction!"

- ACustomer

I received a call from the used car department, wanting to buy my Mazda, and I was given a quote based on the details I provided. I decided to sell it to them, and took my car in, but the deal changed somewhat. I was very frustrated, but Matt Kintigh went to bat for me and even when I suggested he give up, he didn't and we arrived at a good deal. I thank Matt for his tenacity!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Kintigh
August 14, 2019

"Dishonest Service department"

- Disappointed customer

7/01/19 wife brought in the Jeep for service before our 20 day trip. Service recommended we rotate the tires, wife approved. After the rotation the steering wheel started to slightly shimmy, I called service from the road to inform them, I was told when we get back, to come in to have the rotation reversed. Wife brought the Jeep back in on 8/09/19, only to be charge $59.58, all we wanted was the tires to be put back post rotation. I called Monday 8/12/19 regarding the charge, I was told that is the charge to rotate and balance, which we did not ask for. On top of that my wife was being "up sell" to purchase four NEW tires before service would put the tires back post rotation. Service did not keep to her instructions, to reverse the rotation, but up sold to rotate and balance, then charged $59.58 (6136594/1) without her permission. This was the third time service tried to up sell my wife to purchase new tires. The wear mark is well below the tread line; I am very disappointed with your service department, since I cannot trust your service department to be honest; we will be taking our business else where. (bad news travels faster than good news) Very disappointed customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kirc Wells
August 06, 2019

"Demeaning and Unprofessional "

- Teacher

I attempted to buy a car from this dealership and I told them I needed to look at a few more dealerships and I would come back. I returned And stated I was buying a car from another dealership. The salesman was very upset and he immediately started a shout and scream and demean me in front of sales people and other customers in the parking lot. He proceeded to do this for a couple minutes until I climbed into my vehicle and just drove away never to return to Stephen Wade...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian
July 20, 2019

"offer i could not pass up"

- hemi finder

Just bought another dodge from wade dealership, they have been very kind to me and my wife, always keeping up with deals and offers on new and used vehicles via phone and texts. they called and let me know they had a used truck that they thought i might be interested in. so i drove the 2 1/2 hours and it was not what i wanted in a solid work truck. but they did have a new trade in and it was what i was looking for-even sent me new floor mats in the mail. the salesman was Danial i think and he treated us very well. no lies no bs, i made a offer and they took it. 2 hours later i was in my ram 1500 headed home. still loving the truck

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Danial
June 07, 2019

"Automated Answering "

- Mindy02478

Your automated answering system states that you open at 7:00 am for service. I arrived at 6:45am for an oil change. A truck was parked in front of the driveway so I parked on the street waiting for 45 minutes. The attendant told me that service opens at 7:30am not 7:00am. Its a distinctive difference from the 7:00 am statement on the answering system. Then while sitting there a truck pulled in for an oil change, and then a Jeep. I guess you restrict entering in the front entrance, but there is a back way up on the hill to sneak in front. Very aggravating!! Just change the message to 7:30 am opening, and leave the front entrance open. First come first served.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kirc Wells
5.0
May 27, 2019

"Absolute Liars"

- Steven Wade Hater

I called about a Jeep Rubicon they had listed. Got the story it was sold and that I wouldn't want it anyway BUT, they just happened to have one they were trading for that was exactly what I wanted. I asked if I could come see it but was told it would be three days so they could do their "20 point check" and get it ready. So the next day they call and tell me it went on the web "by accident" but since I had inquired first I could have first chance at it, but I would have to come right now to look at it. So, I drop what I was doing and drove 2 hours to get there. As my wife and I were looking it over the salesman comes out and tells me its sold and that I should have put a deposit on it before driving over. I had been in the lot looking at it for 15 minutes and had called for the salesperson to come meet me. She never came out, just the jerk who scolded me for not putting a deposit on it. I would never buy a car from these people regardless of what kind of deal I got. You would think the least they would do would offer gas money for my 4.5 hours useless trip.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Crystal plus three more who I dont have their names
February 13, 2019

"Manager Laughed at me."

- tcasp2012

I live about 5 hours away from Saint George, and have been looking at a 2008 dodge 3500, the listing is at $16,000, and marked as road worthy and ready to go. So I called and set up an appointment to go look at it, and was preparing to buy it. We got there around 2 p.m. and about 10 seconds after we opened the hood we noticed that the water pump was spraying coolant, so we opened up the reserves, nothing, we opened the radiator cap, again, nothing. Both of them were bone dry with absolutely no signs of any coolant for who knows how long. So we showed the salesman who went and got the "used car manager" Tony Han who, when we told him that it was leaking told us that it had just been snowing, like we don't know what the difference between coolant and water is, basically acting like we were idiots. We had no idea how long the truck had been run without coolant, yet we still offered him $12,000 cash right now. Instead of giving us a counter offer he laughed in our face and walked off. Only to turn around and whine about how had $19,000 into the truck and was losing money on it already. I don't believe for one second that he took that truck as a trade in and gave the guy even $17,000 off of another vehicle. So I left them a message on Facebook only for him to call me and tell me I could buy the truck for $1,000 higher than it is listed, because he fixed the water pump. Do not come here to buy a vehicle ever.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony Han
January 28, 2019

"Thievin' Wade Lives up to their reputation"

- Mad in St. George

I bought a used 2015 Jeep Rubicon three days ago from Stephen Wade Toyota. That was my ultimate mistake because everyone told me that they were dishonest. My salesman Cory Wagner said that the mechanics had gone through the vehicle and everything worked fine. I believed him -- second mistake. Driving home from the dealership -- the heated seats wouldn't work and they kept shutting off. Took the car back the next day and Cory said he would take it to the service guys and see what they can do but I had to wait over the weekend. Monday, I took it in. Cory said he went through everyone in the dealership -- "even the man with his name on the building" (Stephen Wade). They said it is a used car and "I left them nothing" in the negotiations in which they could afford to fix the problem. Really? I paid their asking price! They listed my trade-in $5,000 more than they gave me. What about doing the right thing and standing behind all of your statements to me? Cost to fix the seat is about $450-$500. Do not buy anything from this dealer. They will take advantage of you! They are really nice when you walk in but once the vehicle is purchased -- watch out!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cory Wagner
May 15, 2019 -

Mad in St. George responded

Update: After posting a bad review on Facebook, the GM contacted me, fixed the heated seats and everything is fine now. Lesson learned -- sometimes the dealer doesn't know what the salesman is telling the customer to make the sale.

December 11, 2018

"This service dept. is disrespectful, slow, and overcharge! "

- Former Customer

A few weeks ago, I brought in my Jeep Wrangler JK, to the Stephen Wade service department, in St. George, Utah, for a red electrical symbol light that came on my dash. On the way there, both of my passenger side windows stopped working as well. I was on my way to a funeral, in SLC, and planned on being there for several days, with a rental car. When I arrived at the service department, there were several employees talking to each other and it took about 5 minutes before somebody even asked me what I needed. They periodically looked at me, while they were talking and laughing, but just kept walking by me, without any type of customer service, or even a, "Somebody will be right with you." When I finally got somebody to help me, I explained the problems I was having, with my Jeep, and the situation with the funeral, the rental car, and the time frame. I was assured they would get right on it and contact me ASAP. After I didn't hear from them, two days later, I had to contact them to find out what was going on with my Jeep. I was told that the radiator thermostat was the culprit, for the electrical symbol, on my dash board. I was also told that my front and rear brake pads needed to be replaced, both of my window regulators, on the passenger side needed to be replaced, and my front driver's side door power lock needed to be replaced. This person also told me the small line from my transmission cooler was leaking. This was an upgrade I had installed a short time before, which included a small radiator for cooling the transmission. It seemed odd that both of my window regulators, would fail at the same time (during a half hour drive from Mesquite, NV) and the person I talked to said the odds of that happening were about the same as winning the lottery. I had previously had problems with the window regulators and the auto door locks, on two or more of the doors, which were all replaced without fixing the problem. It turned out to be some type of computer controller issue, which also had to be replaced, before the problem was resolved. All of this work was done at the same service department, so I was a bit sceptical about this person's answer; I mentioned this to this person, but he didn't seem to care. So, I asked how much it would be to fix all of these issues: one door power lock mechanism, two window regulators, one radiator thermostat, and replacement of one small line for the above mentioned small radiator that cools my transmission. He responded that it would be a total cost of $4,200.00! I understand that dealership service departments are generally more expensive than other mechanic shops, but that price was unbelievable! You can purchase a rebuilt engine and have it installed for 4k-6k. I know this because I have been researching the costs of replacing the engine in my Jeep, since it has 90k miles on it and I've done so many upgrades to it. So, I obviously told him that I could not afford his service department to do all of that work, for such an inflated price. Since, I'm sure I was already billed at least $100.00 or more, just to have them look at my Jeep, I asked how much it would be just to have the thermostat replaced. He responded that it would be $300.00! This is only a $20.00 part and is something that even I could have done; my wife was nervous about the light on the dash board, so I agreed to have this part, even with this ridiculous price, installed. I reminded this person that we were returning from SLC, the following day, and had to turn in our rental car. He assured me the thermostat would be installed and the Jeep would be ready to be picked up. So, the following day, I'm about half way back to St. George, Utah, from SLC and have not heard anything from the service department. It was about 2:30-3:00 PM, so there was a couple of hours before they were suppossed to close. However, we were a few hours out of St. George, Utah, still, so I wanted to make sure the job was done, pay the bill with a credit card, and have the keys waiting with somebody in the sales department, so I didn't have to pay for another day on my rental car and make the drive back to St. George, from Mesquite. I called the Stephen Wade Service Department, at least 20 times! I got hung up on, before anybody even said hello, for about half of those calls, disconnected several other times, when they transferred me to speak with another person, but eventually got through to the same guy I had been speaking with throughout my adventure with Stephen Wade. At first, this person assured me that it was done, but after putting me on hold and disconnecting me again, I had to call back once more. This time, this person told me he would have to check on the status of my Jeep and he would call me back. Fast forward about 1.5 hours; no call back from this person... I went through the phone game with them once more, calling at least another 7-8 times, before finally getting this person back on the line. This time he told me the thermostat had been installed, but they were not getting any readings on the temp. gauge, so it would have to be reinstalled. LIAR! In my opinion, it was never installed in the first place and he was just making up an excuse. So, I had to rent my car for another day, drive home to Mesquite, and my wife had to drive the rental car back to Stephen Wade, in St. George, the following day. This was on a Saturday. When she arrived, they told her the Jeep was still not completed, because there were no technicians working on Saturday (even though their service department is supposedly open on Saturday)! Luckily, my wife had brought my mother-in-law with her, to help get the rental car back and pick up the Jeep. So, she was able to drop off the rental car, so we didn't have to pay for 2 or more extra days. Finally, the simple job of installing the radiator thermostat was completed on the following Monday. My bill was just short of $300.00. No apologies for the poor service, no explanations of why a thermostat installation took nearly 6 days, no discounts, nothing! Just as a note, I ordered all of the before mentioned parts, that the service department employee had mentioned, other than the gold plated thermostat that they installed. All of these parts cost me less than $350.00, with free shipping. In fact, I was so pleased with the low cost of these items, I ordered a Rugged Ridge Fender Flare set as well! I had a local mechanic, in Mesquite, complete all of this work, including the installation of the Rugged Ridge Fender Flare set, and he charged me less than $400. I've always been told, that generally your labor costs should be about the same or just a bit more than the parts' costs, so this was a great deal. The Rugged Ridge Fender Flare set cost me $399.00, the other parts cost me almost $350.00, and the labor, including the installation of the fender flare set, cost me $400. That comes to $1,150.00. Now, if I didn't buy the fender flare set, the total cost of parts and labor, in Mesquite, with a trustworthy mechanic, would have cost me about $600. Remember, the Stephen Wade Service Department wanted to charge me $4,200.00 (which didn't include the upgraded fender flare set). I'm sure that would have been another $2,000.00, or more, based off what they charge for the simple jobs. I marked one star for my rating, for the Stephen Wade Service Department, but only because there was no skull with crossbones, or a negative star option! To sum up my experience with the Stephen Wade Service Department, in St. George, Utah, BEWARE! They have horrible customer service, or actually none at all, don't seem to care about their customers, do not complete even simple jobs in a timely manner, and must have some type of competition to see which service department employee can rip off a customer the most, with their outrageous parts/service prices!!! Not only am I never going to use this service department again, I am going to tell everybody I possibly can, for the remainder of my entire life, what a rip-off the Stephen Wade Service Department is!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Every employee in the service department!
1
...
1 - 10 of 51 results