Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Subaru of Puyallup

Puyallup, WA

4.4
602 Reviews

720 River Rd

Puyallup, WA

98371

Directions

602 Reviews of Subaru of Puyallup

Sort by
November 29, 2021

"Moral of long story: DO NOT TAKE YOUR CAR TO GET SERVICED..."

- Jay

Moral of long story: DO NOT TAKE YOUR CAR TO GET SERVICED HERE!!! They will not take responsibility for their mistakes. Long story: I took my 2015 Subaru Forester to get serviced for the transmission. When they returned my car I noticed my radio didn’t work and it had a message saying it could not read the program. I took my car back to the dealer telling them I dropped it off with a fully functional radio and they returned it not functioning. They told me they will not look at the car until I agree to potentially pay a 150$ diagnosis fee. The service representative told me if it is related to the previous work they will cover it, if not I will have to pay. I agreed to it knowing it was obviously their fault. 3 hours passed by then they told me it was not related to their previous work and that I will have to pay the 150$ diagnostics fee. All they had to do was update the SD card, and boom my radio was fixed. I looked up on an official Subaru forum website, why would my SD card have to be updated. It said it is caused by “hardware error or accidental data loss”. Knowing this I tested the representative’s honesty and I asked him why I had to have an update on the SD card. He told me it’s because I have an old SD card (mind you that I had a 6 year old car) and that it was a coincidence that it expired right after I dropped it off with them. I asked to talk to the service tech and he confirmed with me that it indeed had to be updated because of accidental data loss or hardware error. The tech said there would’ve had to be something physically done to the radio to cause the data loss or hardware error. Not only did the service rep lie to me, the service department STILL did not take responsibility for my radio, saying “it is not related to the previous work”. Well think of this scenario… What if a car had gotten a huge dent on the bumper while it was under their care for a transmission issue. Can the service rep still stand around picking his nose and take no responsibility for the dent, saying “it’s not related to the previous work”? Of course not! This is a garbage excuse! I wouldn’t expect this type of consumer service and lack of responsibility from a mom and pop shop, let alone an authorized Subaru dealer. The service team here in my opinion is trash. Again.. DO NOT TAKE YOUR CAR HERE!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matthew Lundell
1.0
November 29, 2021

"Wow. From the service department to the sales floor to..."

- manders915

Wow. From the service department to the sales floor to financing, Subaru of Puyallup treats you with respect and dignity. We weren't expecting to purchase a new vehicle, but when our nearly 20-year-old vehicle was no longer worth the cost of repairs, they were understanding and supportive of our car shopping and buying process. They made an incredibly stressful situation nearly stress free (they took away the stress they can control!)! Thank you, Subaru of Puyallup! Proud to be an all Subaru family!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kymberly Ruff
5.0
Other Employees : Chris Williamson
Nov 30, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Thank you for the Outstanding 5 star review! We are very happy to hear about your positive experience with Subaru of Puyallup! We hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

November 25, 2021

"We have been repeat customers to the Harnish group...."

- Poorgeekfarm

We have been repeat customers to the Harnish group. During this most recent visit, we did not even plan on purchasing a car. Our current one was being completely gutted due to water damage from a manufacturer's glitch and many items were on backorder. After spying a Subaru Legacy Sport with minimal miles, we took it for a test drive and decided to just go ahead and get it. Our salesman, Chris, was great! He helped us negotiate our trade-in and facilitated the process with friendliness and ease. The financing department also made our experience pleasant. Thanks to everyone who turned our stressful situation into a positive one!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wade Finley
5.0
Other Employees : Chris
Nov 26, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Thank you for the Outstanding 5 star! We are very happy to hear about your positive experience with Chris and Subaru of Puyallup! We hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

November 23, 2021

"My beloved and I drove to Subaru of Puyallup from Monroe..."

- Von Thompson-Wynn

My beloved and I drove to Subaru of Puyallup from Monroe to look at a car and let me tell you, IT WAS WORTH THE DRIVE! From the moment we walked on the lot, the experience was truly stress-free. Everyone was nice, friendly, and relaxed, whether they were helping us directly or not. There was no pressure, no uncomfortable sales tactics, just a good, straightforward experience. We bought the car we came to look at and could not be happier. I want to especially thank Wade, the finance manager. Who knew that signing loan papers could be fun? He was knowledgeable, upfront, and got us a GREAT deal on our financing. His advice was spot-on. We recommend Subaru of Puyallup without hesitation and they will be the top of our list if we ever need to buy another car.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wade Finley
5.0
Other Employees : Mallory
Nov 23, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Thank you for the Outstanding 5 star review Von! We are very happy to hear about your positive experience with Wade and Subaru of Puyallup! We hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

November 22, 2021

"Fantastic experience with their online sales team. They..."

- rpickrel4

Fantastic experience with their online sales team. They not only provided the information that was needed but was quick to respond in a professional yet friendly manner. Their online sales staff walked us through all the details and even delivered the car a few hours away to where we were located.  This truly was a stress-free experience, especially coming off of a very stressful car accident resulting in needing a new vehicle.  I would recommend this dealership to all my friends, even with the caviot that they are located 2 hours away. 

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Peoples
5.0
Le'Shung Gage
5.0
Brittany Hoeppner
5.0
Nov 22, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Thank you for the Outstanding 5 star review Ryan! We are very happy to hear about your positive experience with Subaru of Puyallup! We hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

October 26, 2021

"What a pleasure it was working with the staff at Subaru..."

- twojhs

What a pleasure it was working with the staff at Subaru of Puyallup. An added plus was working with Austin Embody. He was very knowledgeable, professional, and thorough in answering questions regarding my choice of the Crosstrek. I would highly recommend referring Austin and Subaru of Puyallup to anyone interested in purchasing a new car. Janet

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Austin Embody
5.0
Kymberly Ruff
5.0
Oct 27, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Thank you for the Outstanding 5 star review Janet! We are very happy to hear about your positive experience with Austin and Subaru of Puyallup! We hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

October 12, 2021

"I bought my third Subaru and it was a cross trek this..."

- Gigharborjoy

I bought my third Subaru and it was a cross trek this time. I’ve had 2 outbacks which I really liked. But this one is a little smaller and I really wanted something smaller. Blaine was my rep and he was awesome and he was helpful and he was truthful and he showed me how to work the car. I highly recommend them. He let me drive what I wanted to make my own decisions. And I appreciate that. I use my car for business and put a lot of miles on it

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Blaine Perry
Oct 12, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Thank you for the Outstanding 5 star review! We are very happy to hear about your positive experience with Blaine and Subaru of Puyallup! We hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and We look forward to working with you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

October 11, 2021

"Wonderful experience. Best I've ever had actually. I..."

- captnwahoo

Wonderful experience. Best I've ever had actually. I would highly recommend going to puyallup river road subaru. Our guy Austin was the sweetest. Kami

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Austin Embody
5.0
Other Employees : Mark
Oct 11, 2021 -

captnwahoo responded

Wonderful experience, a 10 on the scale. Thank you subaru of puyallup river rd. Austin, your fabulous. Kami

September 29, 2021

"We bought our Forester new there in 2018 and have always..."

- Ex-customer

We bought our Forester new there in 2018 and have always had our service done there without any issues. But the last service has been anything but "stress free" as they advertise. The car came in for a routine 60K maintenance, plus we asked to have the car detailed (for $300) and the rear wiper blade replaced. We pick up the car and the detailing is incomplete. Later we discover that the wiper blade hasn't been replaced, even though the paperwork says it was. 30 mile one way return trip to get the wiper and detail taken care of. We returned to get the car again and the detailer still missed the center console. Service manager said he'd refund the detail work in 72 hours but after 3 weeks we haven't seen anything. Now I'm filling my front windshield washer fluid because apparently they don't bother to check that either. And who knows what else didn't get done... Like I mentioned before, we've never had a problem and that's all good and fine, but what really shows a company's true colors is how they take care of a problem when it inevitably comes up. Subaru of Puyallup's service department failed miserably in that aspect. So for the cost of your cut from the detailer, a wiper blade, and a gallon of washer fluid, you sacrificed a very loyal customer.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
The service manager, zero stars
Sep 30, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Hello there, we are sorry to hear about your less than satisfactory visit and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustrations caused. We would like hear more about your visit so we may set this situation right. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us at your earliest convenience, and we would love to discuss your frustrations. We appreciate your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Sep 30, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

Hello, I do apologize for your less than satisfactory experience with our Service Department . Our Service Manager would be more than happy to speak with you to see if we could resolve your concerns. Please reach out to him at 253-286-5901 . Sincerely, Kelly Nason Subaru of Puyallup Customer Care Representative

Oct 01, 2021 -

Ex-customer responded

We actually have called for resolution. The last call went to some woman filling in for the service manager who was apparently on maternity leave. We were assured by her that the matter would be handled. Now 3 weeks have gone by and we haven't seen the refund, nor heard from the Subaru of Puyallup service department. The original service was done in late May/early June, and the rework was done in late August, so we have been getting the runaround from you for nearly 4 months. And that is why we're here publicly discussing how the Subaru of Puyallup service department handles problems. I have basically given up on any resolution from Subaru of Puyallup. If you earnestly want to resolve this, i suggest you look at your records for a 2018 Forester with the VIN that ends with 1718 that came in at the end of May or early June for a 60K service plus a rear wiper replacement and detail. If you decide to look, you can call the contact info on your record. We bought the car there as well, so the contact info would be in the sales records. Make good on your promise and I'll revise my postimg that at least you've done that. However, the fact that i am filling my wiper fluid after the first substantial rain in at least 3 months has me questioning what exactly was done, and what got skipped over.

Oct 13, 2021 -

Ex-customer responded

Oct 12th and no response from the Puyallup Subaru service department. And no refund either. So there you go people, as long as they don't mess stuff up it's all good. But when they do mess something up, they won't lift a finger to fix it. My advice going forward is before you write the check, inspect the work supposedly done.

September 29, 2021

"If I could this would be a -star review if it were..."

- Chelbele

If I could this would be a -star review if it were possible. So our experience is very concerning ethics, safety, and overall transparency. We bought a newer used vehicle from the Subaru dealership in Puyallup about 5 years ago. We had a very pleasant experience while there. We signed up for all the warranties available for a 2-year-old used Mazda car. We were told the car had never been in a wreck or had anybody work done to it. We even paid for getting the windows tinted. All was great for about the first year and a half. Then we noticed that a spot behind the back child passenger side door paint was bubbling...my husband tried to mitigate the damage by sanding it down and primer resealing it until we could afford to get it professionally fixed. However ever since then, the ENTIRE car has now begun to bubble, crack, sag, and peel...turns out the car has been BONDO painted...which means they did a minimal sand job and painted directly on TOP of the manufacture paint job. By doing Bondo unfortunately makes it so that during extreme temperature change climates aka freezing winters and scorching summers, the paint expands and shrinks; causing the paint to bubble, crack, sag and peel. So for a car to have "never had any bodywork done" looks to have been an all-out lie. I have talked to other autobody repair&paint shops, they have told me it would cost OVER $10,000 to do a total car paint job. So my car's value has practically sunk. I can't even open my door without getting cut from the sharp shards. I am soo very pissed and DO NOT recommend EVER buying ANY USED CAR from them ever!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Fuller
4.0
Other Employees : Maybe Brian was him, I don't Remember, older gentleman who had an ankle injury
Sep 29, 2021 -

Subaru of Puyallup responded

While 5 years ago was quite some time, we have and still use both Carfax and Autocheck as a verification of accidents or damage.. Your Mazda shows clean and clear on both of those. We are happy to provide copies of those to you. If a previous owner did repairs, much like you mention your husband is sanding on it, that would not be reflected on either of these reports. We would be happy to refer you to a local body shop for a second opinion, painting the entire car does seem very excessive. Thank you Kelly Nason Customer Care Representative Subaru of Puyallup

1
...
1 - 10 of 602 results