Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights

San Antonio, TX

3.5
162 Reviews

1402 Northeast Loop 410

San Antonio, TX

78209

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 162 reviews

November 13, 2021

"I'm from Houston and drove 3 hrs. to San Antonio to pick..."

- kaybel815

I'm from Houston and drove 3 hrs. to San Antonio to pick up my daughter's 1st car purchase which is a 2021 VW Jetta. I have to say I called 4 dealers and running into Ralph he went above and beyond to make this deal happen specially everything remote over the phone. We signed and process all paperwork and when I got there tonight everything was ready and very smooth transaction. My daughter was in cloud 9 having her 1st vehicle. Thank you again Ralph and Team for making this happen for my daughter on her 1st purchase of VW.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ralph Martinez
Nov 13, 2021 -

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights responded

Thank you, Kaybel, for your kind words for Ralph! We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit!

October 26, 2021

"Mixed experience, both good and bad, but ended on a..."

- loco685

Mixed experience, both good and bad, but ended on a positive note. Let’s start with the good. Traded in my wife’s 2013 VW Tiguan and Kara, Zach, and Joel in sales all took really good care of me. Especially Zach Fernandez - for such a young salesman, he was personable, took his time to explain things, and worked with me on the pricing. My wife and I are very pleased with the new vehicle and look forward to enjoying it for years to come. Onto the bad. Last week my wife’s 2013 Tiguan was having some issues, mainly a rough idle and grinding sound in the engine. The car needed to be caught up on some maintenance items as well. The service rep I spoke with was Douglas and he said they would check the rough idle and also get me caught up on maintenance. I typically work Saturdays, but I really wanted the car to be sound and safe for my wife. Doug let me know ahead of time there was a long wait list for loaner cars, so he got me set up with the shuttle service, which I assumed was complimentary as he did not mention a price for that. When I arrived to pick up the car, he said everything had been taken care of, the car sounds great, and then he proceeded to go over the pricing with me. There was a “shop charge” of $39 that was never explained to me… looks like this was for the shuttle?? So I paid a total of $625, which I felt was a lot of money for these services. Tuesday I get into the car, start it up… the rough idle and grinding sound again. And after spending $625 on maintenance I was very unhappy with how things were going. I called Doug again and explained to him that the grinding sound was back and said that I would need a loaner this time. Again the 2-3 week wait list. We needed the car fixed ASAP so I said fine, please set me up with the shuttle again and this meant another entire day off from work for me. This time Christian is my service advisor. He comes out with me to listen to the car, but what came as a huge surprise to me though was that he said they’d have to hold onto the car for 3-5 days. My jaw hits the floor. He asks “didn’t the service advisor on the phone tell you this?”. Absolutely not. They said that the car would be with them the entire day, but they should be able to fix it. I told Christian that I absolutely could not leave my wife’s one and only car with them for 3-5 days. He went back to speak to the service manager and they said they’d be able to get it looked at today. Later I again take the shuttle back to pick up the car. I arrive to the dealership and Kara made me an offer on my 2013 Tiguan that was in for service. At this point I had absolutely had it with the car, it’s grinding noise, and especially dealing with your disorganized service department and shuttle service. I said fine Kara, I’ll trade the car in… and she turned me over to Zach and he helped me to purchase a new car. The general manager also refunded the $625 that I spent in maintenance on the Tiguan that I traded in, so win-win for everyone. At the end of the day, even though there were some issues along the way, I WOULD recommend this dealership to friends/colleagues. I do believe that these people care for their customers, and they do want to do right by them. My wife and I are satisfied and are loving our new vehicle. Thank you VW of Alamo Heights.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kara, Zach, Doug, Christian, Joel
Nov 01, 2021 -

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for the error in communication regarding the shuttle services and the time it would take to repair your wife's vehicle. I would like an opportunity to address your concerns and to earn your business, please contact me. I look forward to speaking with you. Jesus Rodriguez General Manager jrodriguez@vwofalamoheights.com

Nov 01, 2021 -

loco685 responded

You guys did right by us, thank you, we are now satisfied with our experience and have already recommended friends to your dealership, take care!

September 23, 2021

"I was welcomed by Fabiola who was very knowledgeable and..."

- Greg and Rachel

I was welcomed by Fabiola who was very knowledgeable and professional and very kind. She made my buying experience very smooth & prompt. Highly recommend her.

Read More
Quality of Work
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fabiola Cruz
Sep 24, 2021 -

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights responded

Thank you Greg and Rachel for your kind words for Fabiola! We are thrilled that she provided you with a smooth car buying experience. Congratulations on your new car!

August 16, 2021

"I bought a car on 8/9. I noticed corrosion on the so..."

- sooner

I bought a car on 8/9. I noticed corrosion on the so called new battery. I called they told me to bring it in. I took the car Saturday and they only cleaned the terminals and battery. They used an anticorrosion spray and they send me on my merry way. I could’ve done that at home. Then the car fax report stated new battery in July the service advisor told me new battery in August 7th. They don’t have their facts straight. Poor service

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Licea
Aug 25, 2021 -

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for what you have experienced with the service department. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn your business, please contact me. I look forward to speaking with you. Jesus Rodriguez General Manager jrodriguez@vwofalamoheights.com

July 07, 2021

"Went in two weeks ago for an oil change and was told to..."

- segoetz01

Went in two weeks ago for an oil change and was told to come back in the middle of the week when it wouldn't be busy, and an appointment was not needed. Went in today mid morning and was told I'd have to wait till 1:00p for the car to be finished. Waited there patiently till almost 2:00p seeing many people coming and going before me. Asked a couple of times after 1:00p what the status was without satisfactory response. Seeing an elderly woman willing to wait I'm sure put many others ahead of me in line. I Do not recommend this company to get fair service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Travis Cotton, according to pictures I found online
Jul 21, 2021 -

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for your service experience. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn your business, please contact me at jrodriguez@vwofalamoheights.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Jesus Rodriguez General Manager

April 09, 2021

"I purchased a Passat with an outdated Navigation program...."

- konakid54

I purchased a Passat with an outdated Navigation program. Volkswagen of Alamo Heights promised that they would update when I purchased the car, but would need to order it. I called a few times after a few months, only to be told it was never ordered. They told me they would reorder. After a few months I called and they told me it wasn't in yet. A few months later, they said they had no record of the order. I don't trust Volkswagen of Alamo Heights and would not recommend them as their word doesn't seem to mean anything.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ralph
Apr 12, 2021 -

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for the unordered part. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn your business, please contact me at jrodriguez@vwofalamoheights.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Jesus Rodriguez General Manager

June 10, 2020

"I was very disappointed in the way your dealership did..."

- Luisdavila

I was very disappointed in the way your dealership did business this past weekend.  I drove from Laredo, Texas to buy a used Ford mustang posted online. I made an appointment and drove 2 hours and 45 minutes from Laredo to buy the vehicle. I also took the day off of work. The internet manager called me when I was on the road to make sure I was going to make the appointment. Upon arrival I was notified that the vehicle was going to be sold wholesale. I was upset considering I lost a day off of work,fuel and time. I then requested to speak with manager. I approached the manager Chris to address my concern, his response was I'm on a phone call and I dont want to lose my spot. I proceeded to voice my concern and he apologized while waiting on the phone. I was not his concern obviously since his phone call was more important than a would be customer. I am very disappointed with vw of alamo heights if I could give a negative star rating I definitely would. 

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, tommy
September 19, 2019

"Did a great job of turning a bad experience into a great one"

- car buyer_intx

We just bought our 2nd new vehicle from them. Not going to lie.It started off on a bad foot, however the team rallied together and made us beyond happy. Unpleasant experiences will happen from time to time. What is most important is how they are handled. Oscar, Charles, the managers Chris and Ron, and the GM Tim went well out of their way to make sure were taken care of and excited about the buying experience. They all put in countless hours to make the deal happen.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oscar, Charles, Chris, Ron, and Tim
July 06, 2019

"Great July 4th Special"

- normg

I was welcomed by Maricela and treated like a VIP. She explained what service would be preformed and kept me advised as the work was in process. Excellent employee.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Maricela Martin
May 22, 2019

"Avoid This Dealership - Very Underhanded Practices"

- MVenegas

If you consider buying a vehicle from this dealership be very, very careful and review everything in detail. My husband and I attempted to purchase a used vehicle paying cash. We were told at the very beginning of the transaction, and prior to a test drive, the vehicle was a certified pre-owned and came with a 2yr/24K warranty. We were told this again later in the transaction while negotiating price, and also when we came to pick up the vehicle. As we were signing paperwork and right before writing the check I asked to see the warranty in writing. At that time everyone acted like they didn't know what we were talking about and after we became upset and demanded the paperwork be shredded in front of us they admitted they took the warranty off because of the price they agreed to sell the vehicle to us. Very underhanded practices at this dealership. BTW we waited 2 1/2 hours for something that was supposed to take 30 minutes while they hatched this little plan. Be very cautious. Dealerships can be very scary with their practices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Cameron, Diego Morales
1
...
1 - 10 of 162 results