Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Start your review of Dana Poppen.
Dana Poppen
Dana Poppen at Lexus of Wayzata
4.9

Dana Poppen

Pre Owned Sales

Lexus of Wayzata

16100 Wayzata Blvd
Wayzata, MN 55391

Contact Me
Text
Call
Email
Cancel

10 Reviews of Dana Poppen

July 29, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Near perfect experience with once-in-a-lifetime purchase"

- Dan from NC

Let me first of all say that I don't write many reviews, but I actually volunteered to do one because I've been so please with my experience before, during, and after my purchase. I was in the market for a very specific used luxury vehicle that led me on a nationwide search. I contacted Lexus of Wayzata, living in North Carolina, because they had the one vehicle that checked all of my requirements in almost the entire country (a 2014 Porsche Panamera Turbo, with specific featured options and equipment). I was put in touch with Dana, who got lots of preliminary information to me that one would seek, especially with a high performance luxury vehicle like this one. He and the dealership had gone out of their way to assure that the vehicle was in proper condition to sell, including paying the local Porsche dealership for a service (not cheap on these cars) and a pre-purchase inspection. I trusted them enough to go through with the purchase remotely so that i didn't have to spend ~$1000 to go see the car I knew I wanted anyway. I bought the car (at a fantastic price), they assisted me with arrangements for shipping, and it was delivered the same week that the purchase was completed. I have had it a few weeks now (loving every second behind the wheel or staring at it), and have brought it to my local Porsche dealership to ensure that everything looks good on it (which it does). I may not every have the chance to do business with them again, but I would not hesitate to do so again if I could, and I would highly recommend. All of this sounds cliche and corny, but it's 100% true.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Jim Guettler

Aug 01, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Dan, thank you for also posting this review on Google AND DealerRater! Let us just say again, thank you so much for taking the time to compose such a wonderful review for our dealership! We love working with customers like you to help them find exactly what they are looking for, and also ensure confidence in their purchase decision. We are thrilled to hear about your experience and hope you continue to enjoy your time in the vehicle. We would be more than happy to help you with any future vehicle hunts. Take care! Sincerely, Your Lexus of Wayzata Team

February 05, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Good inventory of certified used cars"

- DEVADELEON Verified Customer

We came to test drive a vehicle that ultimately did not meet our needs. Sales person was resourceful and found a different vehicle that wasn’t listed yet. We bought it that day with the assumption they would do an excellent job detailing it. We picked it up a few days later but at night. Only the following day, in broad daylight, did we realize the dealer did a mediocre job of detailing it. Still glad we purchased the vehicle but the detail quality was nowhere near the certified used Lexus we bought at Maplewood two months ago that had more miles than this one. Lesson learned, pay only after the car is detailed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mark Pelant, Brian Itman

Feb 13, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Our team is dedicated to listening to what you need so we can find a vehicle that perfectly aligns with what you're looking for. We're truly sorry if your vehicle was not detailed before you purchased it. If you'd like to further discuss your experience, please reach out to us. Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

January 30, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great experience at Lexus Wayzata!"

- JEANJORDE Verified Customer

My husband and I were greeted by Dana Poppen in the Lexus certified area of the dealership shortly after we we arrived to check them out. His approach was courteous and non aggressive. We appreciated that, and felt comfortable proceeding with him. He was a good listener. He showed us what he thought we were interested in, but also offered other choices based on what he thought we may want to consider. We actually decided on the Lexus RX350 that he showed to us. Atomic Silver was a color we weren’t even considering, but loved it when we saw it in person. The rest of the experience was smooth and comfortable. We had fun conversation during the closing. Becky Stenson was so professional and congenial as well. Dana made it clear that we could call him any time if we had questions or needed assistance of any kind. Bottom line, we absolutely love our new vehicle, and a big thank you to Dana and Becky for really making us feel good about our purchase!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mark Pelant, Becky Stenson

Feb 05, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments about Lexus of Wayzata! Our team is dedicated to listening to your needs so we're able to quickly and accurately find a vehicle that perfectly aligns with what you're looking for. We're glad to hear you're loving your new Lexus so far! As Dana shared, please reach out with any questions or concerns! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

January 23, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"If you want a Lexus go to Maplewood"

- dissapointedlexus

Stay away and save yourself the drama, hassle and anxiety. I purchased a 2015 Lexus CT200h from Dana at the dealership in October. Test driving the car was easy and rode well. Dana was super easy going and made the experience pretty alright. I was told that the crew had left so they couldn't clean it, but I could bring it back in for the extra coating I paid for and a detailed clean. When I got it back after clean, I noticed the tint all all of the windows was bubbling. I reached out to the salesman to have it fixed. When I brought it in to have it "fixed" they took it down the road to a local shop and gave me a rental. Figured I would be getting my awesome new car back later that evening with a fresh new tint. Dana had left and asked me to meet Mark, the sales manager, to get my keys. I got down to the dealership. Parked the rental next to my car, and looked at it. I noticed the tint came off, but was not put back on. I asked the receptionist for Mark. She called, then said she would see if she could find him. I waited. A few minutes later she appeared with my keys from the sales office. I felt avoided at this point. So I asked her if Mark let her know when the tint was being replaced. She apologized and went to ask him. She came back saying he wasn't sure and advised me she would have Dana call me. I got a call on my way home. I was understandably upset. I had just spent $30,000 on a four year old car that had tint which was taken away from me. Dana explained to me that the tint was illegal in Minnesota and they should have caught this and removed it during the inspection and lexus certification process but failed to. I asked when they would be replacing it, as this was what I considered fixed but he could refer me, at my expense, to a local shop to have it retinted. Not what I wanted to hear, but whatever. I wrote the tint off, but now consider the whole car to be a mistake. Two months later, my husband wrote a fair and honest review of our experience buying the vehicle on google. Almost immediately I started getting phone calls with no answer. Being that I work for a living, I can see my cell phone ringing, but I am busy, I can't answer. Especially when caller ID shows "LEXUS OF WAYZATA". Great what do these xxx-holes want now? They'll leave a message if its important. Nope. No message, must not me important. I get back to work and forget about it until a few minutes later my phone rings again. "LEXUS OF WAYZATA". Ok weird but hey, they forgot to leave a message. Still working though. No message. Ok. well figure its a glitch. Next day. I get three calls while I am working. This time there was a message. Mark from Lexus wants to discuss my review online. At this point, I have no idea what he's talking about. Husband and I talked, agreed that it was a fair review. They won't take the car back, why waste more of my life on them. This time the calls are from Mark's personal cell phone. Heads up guys. Caller ID is still a thing. I get more messages telling me to call him back to discuss the review. I wrote the experience off, let the anger go. Until he started emailing me on top of calling me. Never once met this guy. He had one oppurtunity to be a manager and save the entire Toyota family of vehicles a customer when I was standing in his lobby talking to the receptionist. She rocked BTW. I emailed back asking him and his general managers to stop contacting me and to cancel my additional service agreement and extended warranty, I didn't want to go back to the dealership after being treated like this. General managers failed to respond. Instead Mark, unapologetically sends me the cancelation form. This was before Christmas. A MONTH LATER I just now get confirmation from Lexus financial that they canceled ONLY the service agreement. They sold it to me with an illegal tint on it after it was supposedly inspected for safety. I can't trust Lexus, shame on me.They admitted they shouldn't have sold the car, treated me like an ex-girlfriend and don't refund the money they owe me. PS They overcharged me $25 on registration.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Jan 25, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

I sincerely apologize for the ongoing negative experience you’ve had with Lexus of Wayzata. We did receive your email back in December, but at that point, we thought we had a resolution via the warranty cancellation. We chose to not respond due to the volume of previous miscommunication, which in hindsight was a miscalculation. At this point, I have confirmed that you have been reimbursed for the warranty via the cancellation, as well as the prepaid maintenance agreement. I am also going to refund the $25 you mentioned in the review for the registration, as well as a check for $200 for the tint that was removed but not reinstalled. If you would like to use this $200 for me to install the tint for you, I am happy to coordinate it personally. If you do not wish to add tint, the check is yours to keep. I do apologize for all of this and would ask that if you ever need anything to reach out to me and I will do what I can to help. Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

January 22, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Fabulous and timely service"

- kmpoppen12

I love my Lexus! Dana was super helpful to me in the process of buying my car, and he had everything set up for me when I got to the dealership so that I knew where to go, who to talk to, and what needed to be done/signed so I could drive way with my new car! He was very organized and introduced me to Becky in finance, who was also very helpful and professional during the signing process. My time at the dealership was efficient, enjoyable and I was left feeling like a valued customer, and not just a number! I would highly recommend Lexus of Wayzata and Dana Poppen to anyone looking to buy a Lexus.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Becky Stenson

Jan 25, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you for leaving us a thorough review and 5-star rating! Our team strives to provide an exceptional guests for all of our customers. We're dedicated to helping you through the entire process so you can feel confident in your new vehicle. We're glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us, and we hope you'll come see us again! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

January 22, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Service brings confidence "

- Joangoff Verified Customer

My first experience with buying a car from Lexus of Wayzata was very positive. Thank you to Dana in sales for answering my many questions, helping me with his thorough tutorial of the controls, and making everything clear while encouraging me to come with a list of new or repeat questions. He was respectful and friendly, Scott was also friendly and thorough. Michael made me feel very comfortable about service he provided that also gives me confidence for future maintenance needs. Thanks for this first experience with Lexus of Wayzata.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Bryan Grotte, Scott Houghland, Michael Peters

Jan 25, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and kind words about Dana and the rest of our team. We strive to ensure our customers are taken care of from the second you walk in our door to long after you leave. We're happy to answer any questions you may have during or after your purchase. We appreciate your business and hope you'll come see us again soon! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

January 03, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Certified Preowned purchase"

- TCTPURDURE Verified Customer

Dana was able to find the right solution for our family’s needs even though it wasn’t what I started out looking for. Great solution.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Gleason, Jim Guettler

Jan 15, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you for letting us know how we did! Our team takes pride in understand the vehicles on our lot so we can best help you find the perfect fit, even if you're not sure what you're looking for right away. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with Dana and hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

December 27, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Exceptional follow through!"

- KBOYD3 Verified Customer

The service and customer care at Lexus were exceptional. John Mac was great to deal with and kept looking until he found the perfect Match. I felt like an important long time customer even though this is a first time purchase for me from your dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 15, 2019

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you for leaving us a thorough review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed working with John and the rest of our team. We take pride in taking as much time as needed to ensure we can find you the perfect vehicle. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

December 02, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Purchase of used Lexus"

- Gomzy S Verified Customer

Excellent experience overall. Dana was amazing — walked through all options in a systematic unhurried process, was responsive to all requests, meticulous and timely. Entire process was hassle free.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mark Pelant, Becky Stenson

Dec 17, 2018

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you so much for leaving us a review! Our team is happy to take as much time as needed to walk through all options and details with you. We want to ensure you're purchasing a vehicle you absolutely love, rather than one you could regret later. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do for you! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

October 15, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Buying from Lexus"

- ROXANNE SIKKILA Verified Customer

The dealership is what every dealership should strive to be. Dana our sales associate was very good and he seemed to very knowledgeable about the vehicles. We appreciated his personal attention.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Becky Stenson

Nov 19, 2018

Lexus of Wayzata responded

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with Dana and the rest of our team. We strive to ensure all of our customers are treated with the highest amount of respect and attention as possible. If there's anything else we can help with, please reach out and let us know! Sincerely, Mike Dalton | General Sales Manager | 952-404-5103

1
1 - 10 of 10 results

Dealership Inventory (148 Vehicles)

New 2019 Lexus RX 350 car, priced at $56,813

2019 Lexus RX 350

$56,813

2019 Lexus ES 300

$49,851

2019 Lexus RX 450H

$61,663

2019 Lexus RX 350

$56,813

New 2019 Lexus GX 460 car, priced at $59,628

2019 Lexus GX 460

$59,628

2019 Lexus GX 460

$59,628

2019 Lexus LX 570

$98,509

2019 Lexus UX 250h

$39,037