Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Joe Hodgson.
Joe Hodgson
Joe Hodgson at Merchants Automotive Group
5.0

Joe Hodgson

Sales Professional

Merchants Automotive Group

1278 Hooksett Rd
Hooksett, NH 03106

Dealership Experience

6 yrs, 1 mo

146 Reviews of Joe Hodgson

December 27, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"The service department did an oil change on my vehicle it..."

- Keith

The service department did an oil change on my vehicle it was the first oil change my vehicle was only 4 months old after the oil change a custom customer of mine I said hey keep your car is leaking oil so I brought it back to Merchants and they said that there was a cracked oil filter housing and they were going to charge me $500 to fix it this was their problem the mechanic cracked it when he did the oil change he either cross-threaded the cap or he over tighten the cap which caused it to crack because of the cold weather instead of them saying this is my fault we will fix it they charged me $500 to get my car back do not go to Merchants for your service.. THERE SERVICE MECHANICS ARE.LIERS AND DON'T FESS UP TO THERE MISTAKES DON'T USE THEM

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Dec 29, 2020

Keith responded

My vehicle was 3 months old at the time.of the oil.change.and u guys are the ONLY MECHANICS to ever touch the vehicle....It is funny how the part failed when your mechanic did the oil change...you guys covered the parts in good will because u know it was.your fault amd you just did not want to confess up to it when i found it was leaking...it was leaking the same day i left your service area i just did not nptice.it untill.a customer of mine told me i was.leaking oil in there driveway which is another issue...this was a mechanic error and u guys wont fess up to it...u have lost my business and i hope others will see this and know to check there vehicles that are serviced at.your dealership...my car was not leaking oil.untill u guys touched it amd its funny how.its leaking from a part that u guys touched...if.its a seperate part great i wpuld.understand but STOP TRYING TO COVER UP YOUR MISTAKE...u guys payed out of.good will because its.your fault...ooooo and its a car that was 3 months old and u guys are the 1st ones to ever touch the vehicle..

Dec 28, 2020

Merchants Automotive Group responded

We are sorry to hear that you are still dissatisfied with the decision we made to absorb $950.00 of the bill when this repair was made. As we stated at that time the failed part was not covered by your extended warranty but we decided to only charge you the amount you would have paid (your deductible) as if it were a covered component. Given that the total of the repairs came to $1150.00 we did absorb the remaining $950.00 as goodwill and only charged you $200.00. We haven't been in business since 1962 by not being honest and up front with our customers. Regretfully there are times when parts fail due to no fault of the owner or the repair facility. This was one of those cases, but we felt it was appropriate to offer goodwill to you. I am sorry that you feel the way you do and hope you know that we do appreciate your business.

October 13, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Joe Hodgson was unbelievably kind. Though I did not end..."

- caitlynn wilkins

Joe Hodgson was unbelievably kind. Though I did not end up buying a car at Merchants I just wanted to say that he made this first time buyer feel so comfortable and was more than understanding when I did not commit to the sell.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

July 23, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Joseph Hodgson was great. This was my second car there..."

- anitashiftlead

Joseph Hodgson was great. This was my second car there and nothing could have gone better. Thank you everyone at Merchants. It was another great experience

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 22, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I am very happy with my purchase from merchants auto. I..."

- Paul70

I am very happy with my purchase from merchants auto. I have been buying car from Joe for a long time now. He really cares about the customers and their needs. Thanks for another great experience. I’m going to enjoy my Subaru. Paul

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 21, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I am extremely satisfied with the customer service I..."

- Amanda

I am extremely satisfied with the customer service I received shopping at Merchants. Joe was more than patient with us and even helped us out on his day off. He did his best to keep my kiddos occupied and get us in and out as quickly as possible. I love the benefits of buying from Merchants and would definitely purchase another vehicle from them. Once we were ready to sign paperwork we worked with Tim (I believe was his name) he was more than amazing and helped us save money and once again kept my kids occupied! I am thrilled with my experience at Merchants.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tim

April 05, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"The Absolute BEST Dealership Experience EVER!"

- christiewild

I'm not sure there are words to describe how incredibly happy I am with going to Merchants. So lets start at the beginning. I first worked with Mark in December, I had a difficult year going through a divorce and being in bad housing and was trying to make a bounce back from it all Mark listened, showed me vehicles that would work for my three daughters and I and than ran my finances. Mark was so very kind, patient and such a great listener and a calm that I had NEVER experienced at any dealership, ever. At that time I was unable to come up with a deposit because I was very ill over the summer and lost three months of income, so I had just started a new job and it wasn't going to work timing or funding wise just yet. He helped me by advising different banks that could help and different cards that could help boost my credit, and withing a couple more months I had saved the deposit he advised and was ready to purchase! The second time around I worked with Joe. I loved his happy outgoing and charismatic outlook and attitude immediately! I told him what I did for work and that I was a single parent of three girls and that I was working hard to get on my feet from the prior years chaos. I told him what I was looking for in a vehicle and not only was he very thorough and patient I could tell and feel he was looking out for me and my girls. We found the most perfect Jeep ever and it had everything I wanted! We ran finances and did the deposit and Joe and his team were able to get me into my Jeep and drive it away in the same day! Joe also gave me amazing banking, saving and credit building advice, he truly went above and beyond a typical sales person transaction! I also worked with Scott who I just can't say enough positive and good things about. I have owned two cars before (from dealerships I should say), both experiences were terrible and when trying to understand extended warranties and financing I never really understood it- I just kind of smiled and nodded and signed off. Scott broke it all down, he explained all of it, and gave me the best advice ever regarding work and warranties and also how to help myself build a better future by saving, banking, building credit and making a come back from my past years experiences. He immediately brings a calm and comfort and also sunshine to every room he walks in- this dealership hit the jackpot finding him and all the others I worked with! I have owned the Jeep for just over a month and I still love it as much as when I first saw it. The pride, happiness, independence, happiness and connection to an AMAZING dealership full of not just sales and finance people- but FAMILY is incomparable. I will forever recommend Merchants Auto to all those I know and love. Thank you for restoring my trust and happiness into car dealerships- you set the bar very high and over achieve time and time again. Thank you all for all you do! My family and I will be back buying through you for many years to come :)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

March 11, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Recently purchased my second car from Joe Hodgson. He’s..."

- Laurapv84

Recently purchased my second car from Joe Hodgson. He’s one of the best salesman I know He’s reliable, honest and quick to respond. Knew what I was looking for right away and even had it pulled up ready to go. Love my Honda CRV the best decision I’ve made. The facility is clean and customer service is fabulous I wouldn’t want to go anywhere else!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: John Manning, Brian Surprenant

March 09, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"They got me the exact vehicle I wanted at a.great price...."

- scottwaldrich

They got me the exact vehicle I wanted at a.great price. I would highly recommend Joe and Merchant Auto if you're looking to buy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

January 16, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Just wanted to look and see what was available. This is..."

- rjm357

Just wanted to look and see what was available. This is my 3rd car with Merchants. I was very pleased with Joe’s no hassle attitude. He asked me what I was looking for. I told him what I was looking for and what my budget was. I mostly enjoyed our conversation during the process. I am so glad that I met Joe and will most definitely come back and buy from him again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 28, 2020

Merchants Automotive Group responded

We appreciate you taking the time to do this fantastic review. If you know someone who could benefit from our services, please refer them to your salesperson. Remember to visit once a week for your free car wash. Make it a great day, Scott Rienert General Sales Manager 1-800-288-6999

December 16, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Amazing experience"

- tjskia

I went into the dealership not expecting to be approved. i spoke with joseph hodgson he was amazing i told him what i was looking for and what i could afford and that i didnt have to buy a car i was just looking for something bigger than my current car. He punched all the info in and found me a 2018 Nissan Rogue and i fell in love! there was no sales pressure no trying to get me into something at a higher cost it was a great experience! i never expected to leave with something as nice as this car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 28, 2019

Merchants Automotive Group responded

Thank you for taking the time to do this excellent review. We appreciate you very much. Remember to visit us once a week for your free car wash and If you know someone who could benefit from our services please refer them to your salesperson. Make it a great day, Scott Rienert General Sales Manager 1-800-288-6999

1
...
1 - 10 of 146 results

Dealership Inventory (307 Vehicles)

used 2018 Acura RDX car, priced at $23,698

2018 Acura RDX

$23,698

used 2017 Dodge Challenger car, priced at $26,898

2017 Dodge Challenger

$26,898

used 2019 Kia Optima car, priced at $13,505

2019 Kia Optima

$13,505

used 2019 Ford Transit-250 car, priced at $29,725

2019 Ford Transit-250

$29,725

used 2017 Toyota Tacoma car, priced at $26,899

2017 Toyota Tacoma

$26,899

used 2019 Nissan Altima car, priced at $14,999

2019 Nissan Altima

$14,999