Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Joseph Herman.
Joseph Herman
Joseph Herman at Tom Pappas Toyota
Refer Me
4.1

Joseph Herman

Sales & Leasing

Tom Pappas Toyota

10011 Spencer Rd
St. Peters, MO 63376

Contact Me

Joe has been in the car industry for a few years after working several years in the cell phone industry. Joe is a huge sports fan and one the main reasons he choose working in the car industry is so he can watch football on Sundays when they aren't allowed to sell cars. He is an avid Cardinals, Blues and New England Patriots fan.

Dealership Experience

3 yrs, 8 mos

Industry Experience

4 yrs, 7 mos

Specialties & Trainings

Toyota Certified

13 Reviews of Joseph Herman

February 20, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Bought my 2019 Tacoma here. Talked beforehand on pricing...."

- Chip63031

Bought my 2019 Tacoma here. Talked beforehand on pricing. Had an updated price from other dealer that they matched. No hassle, didn't try to force anything extra on the sale.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Feb 22, 2021

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Thank you so much for sharing this with us, and congrats on your purchase! Our team really enjoyed having you here, and we wish you all the best. Come back and see us!

September 15, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Joe was very helpful when it came to buying my truck. he..."

- patrick

Joe was very helpful when it came to buying my truck. he made every step easy and made the process of buying a new car easy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Brett Bales

Sep 15, 2020

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Thanks, Patrick! Glad everything went smoothly. Congrats and best wishes with the new truck.

August 01, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"pappas was just the place I needed, Joe Herman was an..."

- t_konradt

pappas was just the place I needed, Joe Herman was an excellent help and Steve from financing was so easy to work with. I got the vehicle I wanted in a fast and easy manner.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Steve Helmich

July 24, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Joe and Brett were absolutely incredible. I leased my..."

- Joseph

Joe and Brett were absolutely incredible. I leased my new Tacoma, for a amazing deal and didn’t have to spend the whole day there!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Brett Bales

Jul 26, 2020

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Thanks for the kind review! Glad to hear about your experience with Joe and Brett! Best of luck with your new Tacoma!

May 18, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Bait and Switch"

- John Meilink

I have been leasing from these people for 12 years. My most recent experience was horrible! Our sales guy Joe Herman was GREAT in the beginning. They did everything they could over email and phone to line up our sale. But once we got to the dealership to pick up our car, everything changed. When we arrived nothing was ready! The car was still sitting in the showroom. Joe was busy working another sale with a new customer and completely did not care about us. Wanted us to sign the paper work and move on. He did not show us the car, he did not go over any of the features. We even received the card with 1/4 of a tank of gas, they could not even fill it up for us!!! The entire time we were their waiting it felt like he could care less about us because he had made the sale and was working a new one. We sat there for over an hour waiting for him to even come get the car out of the showroom and give us the second key once we had signed! ANOTHER sales person had to finally help us. Then when the deal was done and a month later everything he told us was false. We were over our milage on the car and I asked about that. He stated when he was making the deal that if I came in that month Pappas would void it. Well, a month later and we received a bill for the overage. Then when I tried to address it with him over email and a call, no response. BUT I have tracking on my emails since I am in tech and I know he has read the emails but is choosing to not answer them. Horrible experience. I feel like I was pushed and customer service was great, up until I signed. Once I signed they did not care. Surprised as this is my 5 car with Pappas and this has never happened before. Blow away.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Brett Bales

May 23, 2020

John Meilink responded

I have a written email from your sales person Joe Herman that you would cover both the final payment and the overage miles if I came in that month and switched cars. Would you like to see that email? You think I would be making all this commotion without some type of proof? It was bait and switch, he did what he could to make the sale and then when it came time to actually do what he said he changed his mind. Again, I have it IN WRITING

May 22, 2020

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Due to the covid situation we were at low levels of employees and clearly it affected our service. We will strive to do better in the future as we get back to a normal situation. As far as a Lease turn in we did make your final payment for you but the mileage penalty would be between you and Toyota Financial. Thanks for your business.

April 01, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Communication! "

- Aaron

Great to work with Steve. Great response time and willingness to help. He made the process very easy and pleasant. I highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Steve Helmich

Apr 03, 2020

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Thank you for the great review, Aaron! We're happy to know that you had a pleasant experience at Pappas.

March 07, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Was it just coincidence, an honest mistake or something else"

- SiennaBuyer2020

I guess they say hindsight is 20/20, what a year for that phrase. Also, if its too good to be true, it probably is, yup that’s for sure. Trust but verify is another good one, but who needs trust when you have used car salesman that are the most upstanding honest creatures on this earth? I really don’t enjoy having to write this all out and broadcasting, but if the sales folks are asking for my review, then all I can do is be honest. I was an out of town buyer and so I asked a ton of questions and asked for additional pictures over text and email over several days because I wanted to do my due diligence because I’ve been burned on deals before. The vehicle was a few hours away, so I clearly needed to do my homework to justify the time and gas money. In the end, I trusted the information I was given because this wasn’t some fly by night dealership, I figured they knew their stuff and weren’t in the habit of misleading people, because I couldn’t imagine a Toyota dealer employing such people. Also, even though the vehicle was listed “as is no warranty” I knew I was incurring a certain level of risk, but hey if someone says they have a one owner Toyota with roughly 100k miles that’s been serviced at their dealership most of its life and is really clean with no mechanical issues, then why not? Never mind that its has some accident history from a few years ago, the airbags didn’t deploy so it wasn’t a big deal, right? Come to find out there was MAJOR structural damage, as in a significant part of the frame was replaced. Somehow that detail didn’t come up over phone, email, text, and in person, what a coincidence. Then there’s the conversation about verifying the wet matter I could see near the power steering pump on the passenger side of the engine after the test drive. Some major power steering repairs were done, could we have service check that out a minute? The ensuing response, its too late on a Friday for that, we don’t have a service guy available, besides it just got out of detail so I think there’s just some water still on there. Unfortunately I trusted them too much at that point because I had been blinded by their false assurances. That should have been a clear signal and I should have driven home right then, but I didn’t. I figured the service guys had checked things over enough times because they spend a few thousand in service so why push the issue? Speaking of service, allegedly there was a pre-sales multi-point inspection that was performed by their service department, as of this writing they haven’t produced it even though it is supposed to be available online (somehow its just missing!). I requested the documents a few times and the best I was provided was the service order for the few thousands in repair they put in, so I figured since they repaired those items, they must have hit the high points and anything else outstanding would be minor, wrong! Turns out that when I brought the then purchased vehicle to my local Toyota dealership, after paying them to perform a multipoint inspection, they found that the alleged power steering wetness was engine oil and the entire back side of the engine was covered in oil! I wonder where that came from? Side note, it only took a few days for the local dealer’s inspection to show up online. It seems at this point the pre-sale inspection report has gone missing...stay tuned I guess? I did my best to escalate my concerns with the sales manager and unfortunately I got the “as is” cold shoulder. In the past week, I’ve spoken the most with the service manager who has been really helpful and seems genuinely stumped by the situation. I can’t imagine this situation recreating itself at any major dealer, but this shows its possible, so my advice to anyone out there is to just be careful and follow those old sayings I started with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Mar 09, 2020

SiennaBuyer2020 responded

This is NOT just about an AS IS unit that is 10 years old with 100K miles. Your ignorance about your own brand is blatantly obvious, because for a Toyota of all things, 10 years and 100k miles is just getting started. If it were, this would be a different story. This is just as much about the lack of information related to prior accident damage as it is the oil leak(s) (the two together is what makes this egregious!). I didn’t need to drive 100s of miles to look at/ purchase a vehicle that was borderline salvage/ rebuilt title. Trust me, there are plenty of those slime bags to go around in my local area. I drove down there because I had a specific budget and need for an 8 passenger vehicle which is exceedingly hard to find in the whole country, much less the region and based on the information I was led to believe I went through with it. I’m disappointed as a loyal Toyota owner for over 9 years that as a major brand Toyota dealership, that your business strategy includes selling flawed/ wrecked vehicles as “just another used car” or in your own words “AS IS”. Disclosure of the extent of the accident damage/ repair would have been the honest and prudent choice, but unfortunately you guys didn’t choose that because that would have meant a lower asking price and lower commission/ profit. If the sales guys were more forthcoming over phone, email, and text about the extent of the damage I would have taken a pass immediately, but “it wasn’t a big deal because air bags didn’t deploy”. Or simply, if you didn’t make the choice to sell this car in the first place, you would have made a wise business decision. Why put your sales and service staff in this difficult position? I have been told by multiple local Toyota dealerships in recent days that if they have a vehicle in such a condition (with such a history), they don’t necessarily shy away from selling the vehicle (in some cases they just auction them and let the little guys sell them for lower margin), but it is incumbent on them to disclose (as in line by line in the CarFax or AutoCheck) what the extent of the damage is and then price the vehicle accordingly. Never mind that you covered your rear end as an organization from a paperwork standpoint. If transparency was truly important to you, you would have explicitly called out the damage history and given me the weekend to read all of that fine print through prior to signing (instead of just flying through the paperwork because its just another sale). What happened to doing the right thing and admitting you made a mistake (purposefully or not) and making it right? Your calloused attitude towards this situation is obvious enough that you’re not in the business to help anyone and that is TRULY unfortunate.

Mar 09, 2020

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Our vehicle was checked out by our service department and we did install a new steering rack. Due to the age of the unit being over 10 years old and over 100k miles we sold it as an AS IS unit. We try to be very upfront with the no warranty vehicles as we understand older units may experience mechanical difficulties more frequent than younger lower mile units. We do have customers sign in several places and make sure they are fully aware of the AS IS status. Also extended warranties are available and offered in the event a customer would like some coverage. Unfortunately we are unable to help in this situation.

January 13, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Going the extra mile...."

- T. Jones

When I stopped by the Pappas dealership late in the evening on a Friday, a salesperson approached me and offered to assist me. Joe Herman introduced himself and we walked to the vehicle I was interested in and found that it had just been sold to another dealership in the KC metro area. When I got back to the dealership after a test drive of a different vehicle, Joe had located an exact match for the one I had come to the dealership to see. Joe called me within a few days and informed me that he had the keys to the vehicle I wanted to purchase and I was able to come out to the dealership and complete the deal. Joe was very positive throughout the whole process and kept me informed as he obtained the exact vehicle I wanted to purchase. His effort to search for the car that met my specifications, friendly attitude, and low-pressure style helped make the Pappas experience a positive one. I recommend going to Pappas and asking for Joe if you are looking to purchase a new Toyota without the high pressure sales tactics I have encountered at other area dealerships.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tom Gray

Jan 15, 2020

Tom Pappas Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the positive review! At Pappas Toyota, we always put our customers first and you can always rely on our team to get you into the right vehicle. We're happy that Joe made your experience so wonderful and we look forward to seeing you again.

April 21, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Top Notch Service"

- Scott

Joe was great to work with. Most of the business was completed on line before I arrived to the dealership. Everything was just as Joe said. No surprises. Everything went very smoothly. Highly recommend Joe at Pappas Toyota.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

March 25, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Non-Stressful Experience "

- Brian Lindell

Spoke with Joe the day prior and gave him a ballpark dollar amount I would pay for a Highlander, and said I would be in the next day. After a test drive, he approached me with a number that was satisfactory. No games, no BS. We looked over the proposed SUV for color and options, met our requirements, and pulled the trigger on purchasing. The same goes for Tom Gray, our financial officer, no games, no BS. If your in the market for a Toyota product, this is the place to come! I’m sure your experience will be the same. Purchasing a veichle shouldn’t be a stressful experience, you get a good deal and the dealership makes a profit. Thanks to the Pappas team for a non stressful, positive car buying experience! Brian Lindell, Foristell MO

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tom Gray

1
1 - 10 of 13 results