Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Russ Ellis.
Russ Ellis
Russ  Ellis at Mercedes-Benz of Foothill Ranch
Refer Me
4.1

Russ Ellis

Internet Sales Manager

Mercedes-Benz of Foothill Ranch

81 Auto Center Dr
Foothill Ranch, CA 92610

Contact Me

I have had the privilege of selling Mercedes-Benz for over 20 years starting with the very first car I ever sold a new 1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD. I am lucky to have two awesome sons and 4 grandchildren.

Dealership Experience

10 yrs, 10 mos

Industry Experience

40 yrs

40 Reviews of Russ Ellis

January 23, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Very much a turn off from this dealerships online sales..."

- OrangeCountyArts

Very much a turn off from this dealerships online sales department manager. While email is difficult to establish tone, this dealership made it clear that they don’t want my business. They also have insane dealership mark ups to screw local buyers. I’d think twice before shopping here or any Fletcher Jones dealership. Again this is just my opinion. You may find the service and hospitality to be acceptable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

October 29, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Just wanted to write this review in an effort to..."

- Craig

Just wanted to write this review in an effort to hopefully help someone with their leasing decision or research into working with Mercedes Benz of Foothill. My personal experience was less than optimal leasing a Mercedes from here. I went through three pairs of tires on my vehicle (36,000 miles), which cost me $1k plus dollars in additional expense, I was also later told by a salesman at the dealership that they were aware that there was an issue with unusual wear, which was never addressed by the dealership. I was also told during the leasing paperwork that I would have to return the car with the exact same tires. Prior to the return of the car, I was told to schedule a inspection prior to return and then was told by someone else at the dealer to not schedule the inspection. After returning the car, I was charged extra for damage that did not exist when I returned the vehicle at the end of the lease and received no assistance or follow up when asking..why? All during this time I received multiple emails about getting into new vehicles and deals and so on. If you plan on leasing a vehicle and are not concerned with the details of your agreement, this can be the perfect place to spend your money. If your looking for the best price and service, please do your research and explore your options before leasing here in my opinion.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Several not

July 09, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Edward Hwang , General Manager at Foothill, is a poor..."

- 0to60in4

Edward Hwang , General Manager at Foothill, is a poor example of leadership in an industry that strives on reputation. Mr. Hwang failed to simply take responsibility for a problem and make it right. My lease experience started well with internet salesman, Russ Ellis. He claimed to have the vehicle I wanted with a plan to ship cross country from Foothill to me in Miami, FL within 10-15 days. He was advised multiple times to use transfer license plates from my previous vehicle when registering new car. Foothill was disorganized with paperwork, with setting up Mercedes connect, and with communication with their transport company. After multiple delays, the vehicle finally arrived by the time first month payment was due, nearly a month after they started the lease payment obligation. Pay for one month use before ever seeing the car! Also he failed to disclose the new car had over 120 miles of use. After some fuss, the dealership agreed to reimburse my first payment. All should be good, right? Here’s where the fun begins. They failed to disclose the car was actually obtained from a different dealer that obtained it from even another different dealer. My selling dealer, Foothill, failed to obtain the “letter of origin”, which is basically the vehicle’s birth certificate required for the first DMV registration in the USA. So they delivered my car, but never registered it. They asked me to go to my DMV and do it myself. No problem, right? Wrong... DMV advised me about the missing required letter of origin. Foothill then spent the next 10 days tracking it down to get it. Something that is dealer 101 of selling a car. After waiting the month of delivery, the new car couldn’t leave my driveway for approx two additional weeks until Foothill finally became organized with paperwork to register the vehicle. They used some company to handle it for them but failed to communicate to use my transfer license plate, costing several hundred dollars additional to issue new plates. Ultimately I was put in touch with Foothill’s GM, Edward Hwang. I explained the situation and requested his dealership reimburse me for 1/2 month payment for loss of use of the additional two weeks, plus actual DMV fees reimbursement for damages equal to the overage they cost me for their error. The DMV error being failure to use transfer license plate as agreed and over refund the estimated DMV fees paid in advance. He said he would reimburse the DMV overage and will look into everything else. We spoke one more time days later when he claimed the initial month payment reimbursement (remember that - for the month of transport) should cover everything. I explained again, that reimbursement covered actual loss of use for failure to deliver car during that time. That the open issue at hand is their failure to obtain and provide letter of origin which caused additional two weeks loss of use plus reimbursement of DMV overage fees and DMV additional costs due to their error of not using transfer plates as advised to them several times in advance in writing throughout the lease purchase. Mr. Hwang never again responded. He avoided each of my phone calls thereafter and failed to ever call back. I filed a complaint with MB-USA who guaranteed me a call back from Mr Hwang within 3 days. Mr. Hwang failed any attempt to reach me. I escalated my complaint to MB-USA where I learned Mercedes has no control of its dealerships, altering my view of the Mercedes brand for the first time. Mr. Hwang again failed to make any effort of contact. I then took to the internet to research Foothill reviews and was shocked to discover a few things. One, there are serious complaints against my Foothill sales person. And Foothill’s rating at the Better Business Bureau is rated an “F” rating. Yes an “F”! Many complaints against this dealership, many naming Mr. Edward Hwang by name. The unresolved damages equal $393.75. Mr. Hwang chose not to do the right thing by choosing to ignore this loyal Mercedes customer. My goal now is to insure others learn of my poor experience with Foothill dealership, and how it has altered my view of the Mercedes brand. And for MB-USA to know that Mr. Hwang’s handling of my case will cost them loss of my next substantial vehicle purchase. MB-USA can easily verify my 2017 S550 Cabriolet was in an accident approx two weeks ago when air bags were deployed and Mercedes Connect was alerted to the accident. My intent would have been to replace it with a newer model S560 Cabriolet (a $150,000+ MSRP vehicle) without hesitation. But because of Mr. Hwang’s handling of this small $393.75 reimbursement failure, I am now considering BMW 850i Cabriolet, and my introduction to the BMW family. I am currently an owner of three Mercedes vehicles and have had several AMG models previously as well. I’ve never looked elsewhere from Mercedes until this experience introduced me to a competitive product by BMW. I am planning to purchase this luxury vehicle in the next few days and it won’t be with Mercedes unless someone from MB-USA gets involved to resolve this open issue. My issue with Mercedes Benz of Foothill Ranch and specifically with Mr. Hwang’s failure as a General Manager at a Mercedes brand dealership. The automobile industry is all about customer service for customer retention and Mr. Hwang needs some schooling in customer service. Plus I now share this experience regularly with car buddies at car shows that I attend thought the year. At this moment, MB-USA can thank Edward Hwang for opening my eyes to consider BMW for a BMW 8-series vehicle instead of a Mercedes Benz S-class purchase. Big mistake...huge Craig in Miami

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Edward Hwang

February 19, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Russ helped me with my GLB lease. He is always available..."

- SopYang

Russ helped me with my GLB lease. He is always available when I have questions or need some help. Very patient when answering my questions. Great service. Highly recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

February 19, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Very good GLC custom order experience"

- serg700

Overall, very positive experience with Russ on custom order GLC. Russ was open to help us with custom build and ordering the car how I wanted; the price given once the car arrived was also fairly competitive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

January 26, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Highly professional service by Russ Ellis and Nima Sabeti"

- vmarkov

My deep gratitude to Sales Manager Russ Ellis and Financial Manager Hima Sabeti. Choosing and buying the car is not a simple task, unless you have a professional Sales Manager who can clarify all specs and options of the car you are looking for and, eventually, help to finalize the deal. Russ Ellis made this process simple and straightforward. With no hassles and zero pressure on optional bells and whistles Russ, in a very professional manner helped to select the car that satisfied my requirements. In his turn, the financial manager Nima Sabeti provided a great care in completing this purchase, including optimal support services. Gentlemen, thank you again!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

December 19, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Russ Ellis is beyond amazing! This is our 4th lease..."

- sherirathor

Russ Ellis is beyond amazing! This is our 4th lease transaction and he is our guy as long as I am driving a Mercedes. We originally met him at MBLN and followed him over to Foothill Ranch. He is organized and professional and there to help. I offer top notch service to my clients and when I get to be a customer I want that same service, Once again Russ exceeded our expectations!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 27, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent "

- jhjkim550

From the start till the end ... at first, had no intention of buying one, just looking around ... but excellent service by Russ Ellis ... provided comparison of many different options and explained clearly .. very satisfied ...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 16, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"They earned a loyal customer from first visit!"

- Safetyfirst1

Very professional, sales consultant knows product inside out, and very pleasant staff, from minute I walked in. Focus on safety is what I appreciated most.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Finance

May 13, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent Satisfaction "

- gkyung2001

Just stop by for shopping around and next thing was purchasing E class sedan. Russ and the team are very patients & willing to us in many way, buying process are Sooooo pleasant and we felt very much in trust. We would highly recommend Russ to everyone and never known any salesperson in California is so trusty. It was a pleasure to find right dealership Thank you Russ, you are awesome !!! Dr. & Mrs. Park

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: cchaska Admin , Kashani Mossy

1
...
1 - 10 of 40 results

Dealership Inventory (206 Vehicles)

new 2021 Mercedes-Benz AMG GLA 35 car, priced at $58,150
2021 Mercedes-Benz AMG GLA 35
new
White exterior
Automatic
AWD
new 2021 Mercedes-Benz C-Class car, priced at $49,670
2021 Mercedes-Benz C-Class
new
Gray exterior
Automatic
RWD
new 2021 Mercedes-Benz GLE 350 car, priced at $61,935
2021 Mercedes-Benz GLE 350
new
Silver exterior
Automatic
RWD
new 2021 Mercedes-Benz AMG GLA 45 car, priced at $57,555
2021 Mercedes-Benz AMG GLA 45
new
White exterior
Automatic
AWD
new 2021 Mercedes-Benz GLB 250 car, priced at $44,895
2021 Mercedes-Benz GLB 250
new
White exterior
Automatic
AWD
new 2021 Mercedes-Benz C-Class car, priced at $43,575
2021 Mercedes-Benz C-Class
new
Black exterior
Automatic
RWD