Back

A-1 Toyota

New Haven, CT

4.7
1,139 Reviews
In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin
Contact Dealership

50 Amity Road

New Haven, CT

06515

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 1,139 reviews

February 01, 2024

A great establishment and very friendly staff. My third car from them and it’s always a pleasure to be there. Abdul, Yahia, Hatim, Mostafa, Gary and Eddie are very professional and they always mak More

by Youness
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Eddie Oliveras
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Mustafa Alsamraie
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Hatim Yousef
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Abdul Fakih
Feb 01, 2024 -

A-1 Toyota responded

We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted to hear about your positive experiences with our establishment and staff. It's great to know that Abdul, Yahia, Hatim, Mostafa, Gary, and Eddie have consistently provided you with professional and hassle-free experiences. Thank you for referring friends to A1 Toyota, and we're thrilled that they've also had positive experiences. If there's anything else we can do for you or if you have any further feedback, please feel free to let us know. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

August 24, 2023

Sunny is the best! My 3rd Camry from A-1 and second with Sunny's assistance. More

by Hapbee
Sales Price Transparency
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Satinder (Sunny) Dhawan
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Aug 25, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

We appreciate your repeat business and the time you spent reviewing our dealership. We are so pleased that Sunny could provide outstanding service repeatedly. Thank you for recognizing our staff. Please come see us again.

August 23, 2023

Michael fournier went above and beyond To help with my car ignition problem yesterday Until he solved problem he is number one More

by donnachieppo52
Service Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Fournier
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Aug 24, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

We are so grateful for you choosing us for your service needs and taking the time to review our service department. Thank you for recognizing Michael's hard work. We hope to see you again.

August 21, 2023

Gary needs more experience in management. Raising his voice at customers is rude and unprofessional. More

by Lex1975
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
1.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Aug 22, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Hi Timothy, When we started our conversation, I was very cordial to you. Then when you realized, that you weren't getting the answer you wanted, you would start to ask questions and make remarks and when I would go to answer what you were asking, you would begin to talk over me instead of letting me respond, therefore you provoked the response of me raising my voice. Once I did this, then you started to give me the common decency of being able to respond to you and we continued to have a cordial conversation. As I stated in your other review from the other site. I wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors.

Aug 22, 2023 -

Lex1975 responded

Incorrect. You kept talking over me first and wouldn’t let me respond because you lost your composure. Common decency is only given when received Gary. Not knowing how to respond to my legitimate complaints, you ended up going on a rant about a completely different topic. Being a manager you should know that’s not how you treat clients. Stealing money from customers then expecting them to not react to it is ludicrous. I wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors.

June 09, 2023

Purchase 2023 RAV4 hybrid xle premium communicated with Gary over the internet. No games, no hassle, no bull. Made my purchase painless. A1 Toyota at New Haven Connecticut. 💯 I will be going back again More

by A-c
Sales Price Transparency
Purchase Time
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jerry Bell
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jun 13, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you for the outstanding review. At A-1 Toyota we strive to have the best customer service around. We appreciate you recognizing Gary's hard work and look forward to seeing you again.

May 24, 2023

This was the absolute best car buying experience we have ever had. We had an out of state purchase, involving several out of the norm factors. Everyone was courteous, informed, flexible, and easy to work More

by wcshauna
Sales Price Transparency
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Eddie Oliveras
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
May 25, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you for choosing us and allowing us to help get you into the car you needed. We are beyond grateful for the time you took to leave us this review, your kind words, and your business. Please reach out if there is anything that we can do for you.

April 26, 2023

Working with Brenton was a great experience. He answered all my questions, and helped facilitate my trade-in into a brand new lease. He was helpful, knowledgeable, and respectful. More

by JT
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brenton Fisher
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Apr 27, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Brenton is exactly how you described him. We works very hard for his customers. We will pass along these kind words to him. Thank you for the amazing review. Please reach out if you need anything. We look forward to seeing you again.

April 24, 2023

Yousifu is very helpful when it comes to walking people through the shop he is so nice and concerning! This guy definitely deserves a free car from Toyota for working there for about 30 years! This will he More

by Mohammed
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Quincy Smith
4.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Yousifu Imoro
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Apr 25, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you for the excellent review, Mohammed. We appreciate the kind words and compliments for Yousifu. Please let us know what else we can do for you.

April 22, 2023

We had a great experience at A-1 Toyota. They delivered on all their promises and were honest, professional, personable and helpful. More

by lindaacevedo
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Eddie Oliveras
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Mustafa Alsamraie
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Kelvin
Apr 24, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

A-1 Toyota thanks you for the excellent review and the time you took to let us know how we are doing. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

April 07, 2023

Knowledgeable and professional. He was always available when I had a question and responded in a timely manner. More

by Silva m
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
VanJovi Mangunay
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Apr 07, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Silva - thank you for the kinds words for VanJovi. We appreciate them and the time you took to leave them.

1
...