Back

A-1 Toyota

New Haven, CT

4.7
1,126 Reviews
In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin
Contact Dealership

50 Amity Road

New Haven, CT

06515

Directions

By Type

Showing 1,126 reviews

January 06, 2023

Dealership was very professional & responsive…Quincy was able to get my questions answered quickly and accurately. More

by TimWendy7
Price Transparency
Purchase Time
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Frank Crisafi
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jan 09, 2023 -

A-1 Toyota responded

We are so pleased with this review. Thank you for the time you took to rate and review A-1 Toyota, we appreciate it! We are so happy that Quincy took such amazing care of you. He is professional, kind and very knowledgable. Thank you for recognizing him. We hope to see you again!

December 07, 2022

The team at A1 don't make you feel like a customer but a part of a group of likeminded passionate Toyota lovers. They prioritize your time and never make you feel like questions aren't important. The ene More

by Dmarsh34
Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Stephen Wheeler, Jr.
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Eddie Oliveras
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Yousif Balu
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Dec 07, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Amazing review - Thank you!!! We work so hard to make sure you know we are not only passionate about Toyotas, but about our customers happiness. Car buying should be a fun and easy experience. We like to be able to take the stress out. Thank you for trusting us with your car needs.

December 02, 2022

Our entire purchase experience was the best car purchase we ever had we dealt with Jerry , Ed, and Lina. Everything was simplified, well explained, and straight forward. No surprises, hidden costs or pre More

by Robert.sapiro
Price Transparency
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eddie Oliveras
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jerry Bell
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Lina
Dec 02, 2022 -

Robert.sapiro responded

Jerry, Ed, and Lina were all great representatives for A-1 Toyota. Jerry and Ed made the ordering, payment, and financing of the vehicle an extremely comfortable experience. Lina provided an outstanding vehicle pick-up experience in which everything was explained thoroughly, all questions were answered, and we never felt rushed. Lina was amazing! Everything about this experience was great. This is our third Rav-4. First time at A-1. The best purchase experience so far.

November 09, 2022

Quincy was very helpful during the whole process. I’m very happy with my new Tacoma. I’d recommend Quincy and A1 Toyota to anyone looking to get a Toyota. The whole process was smooth and fast. More

by John Fulton
Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Mustafa Alsamraie
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 10, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

John - What an amazing review. We appreciate the time you took to recommend A-1 and Quincy. Welcome to the A-1 family and enjoy your new Tacoma!

November 09, 2022

Many mechanics that I consulted with highly recommended that I only purchase a Toyota. From start to finish, my experience was exemplary. This was the first time I was purchasing a car on my own and my sal More

by DianeG
Price Transparency
Purchase Time
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 10, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Diane - We love hearing about your awesome experience at A-1 Toyota. We appreciate the time you took to write this review and are pleased that Quincy made your experience a positive one. Welcome to the A-1 family and enjoy your new Corolla Hatchback!

October 29, 2022

Quick response, good communication. My salesman was very knowledgeable and spent time in detail answering any questions I had. More

by Soheun128
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Frank Crisafi
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Frank Nieves
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Oct 31, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you for the 5-star review. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future.

October 20, 2022

Sunny was awesome. He was able to help me find the vehicle I need that I was looking for. Sunny will keep you updated. More

by Thanh21thai
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Satinder (Sunny) Dhawan
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Alex Acabeo
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Lina
Oct 21, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you for the excellent review and kind words about Sunny! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the future.

September 22, 2022

My experience with frank nieves was outstanding. He was very informative. Will contact him shortly. More

by Tom.defeo
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Frank Nieves
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 23, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Tom - thank you for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota! We appreciate it!

September 19, 2022

It was a pleasure to work with A-1 Toyota. Shut out to Quincy Smith and the sales team. More

by heiwahchan
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Dos Reis
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Eddie Oliveras
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 20, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota! We appreciate it!

September 11, 2022

They were fantastic! Helped every step of the way through the waiting process. Supply chain problems. More

by scott
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Quincy Smith
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 14, 2022 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Scott - thank you for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota! We appreciate it!

1
...