Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

A-1 Toyota

New Haven, CT

4.9
1,098 Reviews
We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and look forward to serving you again at our full capacity shortly. In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

50 Amity Road

New Haven, CT

06515

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 1,098 reviews

December 13, 2021

The service crew is the worst in the world So rude they The service crew is the worst in the world So rude they should be trained or better saying, educated to Stay away from frustration , they don’t lik More

by fhconst
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Left service desk
November 24, 2021

We have bought multiple cars from A1 Toyota so of course we think it is a very good dealership. We didn't need to wait long for the new car we were looking for which was a pleasant surprise. Best of a More

by marian.chertow
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nov 24, 2021 -

marian.chertow responded

Yes

November 10, 2021

From my first touch encounter I would describe the experience as attentive, responsive, professional and communicative especially with the supply chain issues being experienced nationally. The deliver More

by dave136
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Nov 11, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate it and hope you enjoy your new Toyota Highlander!

October 11, 2021

Salesman Kevin Wright was wonderful. However, unhappy with management - ordered a new car from factory, waited almost 2 months, when it arrived it took several days to finalize the loan from my bank, and More

by michael.digiovanna
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 12, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Michael - thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future.

October 08, 2021

Great service and knowledgeable staff. Quincy was outstanding and made the process straightforward and efficient More

by gabriel.acevedo
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 12, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future.

October 06, 2021

Puts profits above people,, I went into the dealership on Saturday to test ride a 2017 Toyota Corolla.. I did a walk around of the car before test riding it and I noticed that the rear driver side tire,, th More

by Car Shopper
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Oct 14, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

When Van Jovi introduced me to you for the first time, you had seemed to already be put off by the particular vehicle. At this time the only concern that was presented to me, was the vibration/shaking feeling from the front end. I was not presented any concerns with the rear tire. While I was trying to address that one probable cause could be the CVT transmission and wanted to explain you more about it, your response to me instantly was that I was giving you BS(in your words) and you seemed upset. At that stage you did not want to deal with me. It was then after, that you pointed to the tire(until this time I was not aware of any prior conversation or concern exchanged between you and Van Jovi) and left abruptly mid- conversation. Had I known of this issue, I would have taken it into consideration as part of the overall problem. With the shortage of vehicles, we have to show vehicles, sometimes, before we have had a chance to put it through a thorough inspection. I promise you, these issues have been taken care of since your visit. In no way, was I trying to make anyone uncomfortable and when I noticed how unhappy you were with the vehicle, I didn't try to push the subject. We apologize for the presentation, these are different times that we are going through right now and normally would have more options to show, and would have stayed away from presenting this particular vehicle, but that is not your fault. So, once again I apologize for the presentation of the vehicle and for your experience. If there is any way that we can be of help, please feel free to reach out and hopefully we can repair our relationship between yourself and the dealership. We pride ourselves in customer service and will take this as a learning experience that we can grow from.

Oct 15, 2021 -

Car Shopper responded

I think your answer says it all,, my concern about the tire wasn't addressed before the test ride,, after you were introduced to me I told you I was going to pass on the car because the front end was shaking you started talking about the CVT transmission. I bent down and showed you the belt coming through the tire and my concern that that was what was making the front end shake,, your response to me was that's not it and then again you started talking about the CVT transmission,, when you came out to meet me why didn't you ask your salesman if there was any concerns about the vehicle when? I showed you the belt coming through the tire why didn't you listen to what was being said ?but instead you told me that's not it and again you started going on about the transmission,, at that point yes I left because no one was listening to what my concerns were,, and as of today you have not address the concern of why I was allowed to take a car on a test ride when the tire was faulty. You put my life and the life of your salesman in jeopardy to make a sale..

September 20, 2021

I would Like to thank Danny V. for making my experience of buying my Rav4 very pleasant and very professional, he went out of his way to do extras and went out of his way to be courteous and pleasant in ev More

by omabalsamo
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Daniel Velardocchia
Sep 21, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate the recommendation and hope you enjoy your new Rav 4 From A-1 Toyota!

September 17, 2021

This is a great dealership. I traveled from out-of-state to purchase my vehicle because the prices are so competitive. My salesman, Bobby, was conscientious and attentive. The sales manager, Hatim, was ex More

by aardvark2005
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Sep 17, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future!

September 03, 2021

best dealership I've encountered. good customer service, and they will work with you. I've been with them for over 5 yrs and never had a problem. More

by diazc895
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sep 03, 2021 -

diazc895 responded

Best customer service ever

Sep 10, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future!

August 07, 2021

I would like to again thank my sales person Quincy Smith, for again guiding me through the process of leasing a new vehicle. He is thoughtful, so knowledgeable and really listens to what my particular needs More

by Helen Riviere
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 09, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review A-1 Toyota. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future! Until then we hope you enjoy your new Corolla Hybrid!

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,098 results