Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Service Pickup & Delivery
  • No Contact Transactions
  • Virtual Appointments
  • Home Test Drives
  • Vehicle Sanitization

A-1 Toyota

New Haven, CT

4.9
1,047 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and look forward to serving you again at our full capacity shortly. In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

50 Amity Road

New Haven, CT

06515

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 1,047 reviews

January 24, 2021

"I just purchase my fourth Toyota. The all new Venza boy..."

- jpittman

I just purchase my fourth Toyota. The all new Venza boy am I so happy, Hatim one of the Mangers made it happen I Thank You! Jose, Amjad and Dado thank you for being very knowledgeable and seeing me throughout the process. Sunny thank you so very much for the delivery of my vehicle on time very pleasant and professional. Frank in finance thank you too. What a smooth transaction. A1 Toyota your the BEST.. I WILL REFER EVERYONE my circle of friends is large. 🙏✅👌♥️

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 25, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate the recommendation and hope you enjoy your new Venza.

January 14, 2021

"I came to trade in my 2013 rav 4 for upgraded version..."

- Urdevinedre1

I came to trade in my 2013 rav 4 for upgraded version Quincy was friendly knowledgeable and pleasant to work with He advised best options and didn’t rush me through the process Very happy to pick up my new 2021 rav 4

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jan 14, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate it and hope you enjoy your new Rav4!

January 02, 2021

"I just leased a new Tacoma truck and everything went..."

- quis

I just leased a new Tacoma truck and everything went smooth, from price of truck, the truck they found for, keeping me updated, no complaints here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jan 04, 2021 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the kind words! We appreciate it and hope you enjoy your new Tacoma!

December 19, 2020

"Personnel was friendly and courteous from the moment my..."

- floreshernandez.sandra

Personnel was friendly and courteous from the moment my husband and I walked in. Kevin, sales rep., was prompt and walked is through the process. He showed us the car and the features of it before we went for a ride. After, he showed us both options leasing and financing and the differences. He is very thorough. We came by to buy our grey RAV4 the next day and Sunny (Kevin had an emergency and couldn’t make it) guided us through finalizing the process. Paul in financial services explained to us the payment plans and all we needed to know. I would definitely recommend! Thank you guys.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 21, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate the recommendation and hope you enjoy your new Rav4!

December 12, 2020

"We purchased our fourth Sienna LE from A-1 this month..."

- Stoddongn

We purchased our fourth Sienna LE from A-1 this month since 2000. Excellent maintenance service from the beginning in 2000, and sales service again, this time with Quincy Smith. Quincy was warmly receptive, knowledgeable and patient. We highly recommend him! Be sure you keep him on staff!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 14, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope you enjoy your new Sienna and look forward to working with you again when it's time for your next Toyota (whether it's a Sienna or anything else!)

December 05, 2020

"I am very happy to write this review for A1 Toyota..."

- Jane K.

I am very happy to write this review for A1 Toyota dealership in Woodbridge CT. I recently left another dealership that I went to for 20+ years. Sadly, things drastically changed there, and unfortunately not for the better! I am so very fortunate, and very much appreciate now being a part of A1 Toyota! They treat their customers with the utmost respect and genuinely care about them as well! I have had my car serviced there three times now and just recently purchased 4 new tires and had an alignment done. Dan Wheeler (Assistant Parts and Services Director) is wonderful to his customers and takes pride in making sure they are satisfied. During this very difficult time of dealing with COVID 19 and being extremely cautious about where I go, I feel very comfortable going to this dealership! EVERYONE wears a mask and is very cognizant about distancing and being careful when interacting with their customers! Along with being vigilant they are also very accommodating and care that their customers feel comfortable and safe. I have fortunately found a new dealership that I am happy to be a part of. I feel totally supported at A1 therefore, I will be totally supportive of them as well. I wrote this review because I am a firm believer that loyalty is a reciprocal relationship and that allegiance should work both ways! They are an honest, caring and well run family owned dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 07, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Jane - thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future!

December 04, 2020

"Hatim Yousef is a dedicated employee with excellent..."

- deehames31

Hatim Yousef is a dedicated employee with excellent customer service skills with attention to detail and making his customers feel welcome and important. The dealership is lucky to have such an employee.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 07, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future!

December 01, 2020

"They were great. Got me the exact car that I wanted with..."

- Hon

They were great. Got me the exact car that I wanted with minimal hassle. Even in the middle of a pandemic, they were incredibly helpful and customer oriented.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 02, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future!

December 01, 2020

"I had a great experience with the A-1 Toyota team in New..."

- Denise

I had a great experience with the A-1 Toyota team in New Haven. The staff were welcoming upon arrival. Amjad was an amazing help with getting me into the vehicle I wanted. He made sure I had all the information I needed. I highly recommend Amjad if you are looking for a sales consultant. Ed was friendly and efficient in aiding me with the purchase of my vehicle. I could not be happier!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 01, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Denise - thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate it and look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

November 30, 2020

"This dealership really exceeded my expectations. This was..."

- Ryan Greer

This dealership really exceeded my expectations. This was my first experience in buying a used car from a dealership and they really made me feel comfortable and there was no pressure whatsoever. I went in to test drive a 2018 Toyota Tacoma and Kevin Wright explained all of the features on the truck and helped me make sure it was a good fit. He was very knowledgeable and there was not a single question I asked that he could not answer. I feel like I got the truck for a fair price and Paul Wright helped me with the financing. I went in with a pre-approved loan, but Paul was able to shop around and find me a much better rate. Overall, I was super impressed with this dealership, I would highly recommend, and I'm sure I will be returning.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 01, 2020 -

A-1 Toyota responded

Ryan - thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you again in the future. Until then, we hope you enjoy your new Tacoma!

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,047 results