Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Toyota of Des Moines

Grimes, IA

4.9
3,049 Reviews
We would like to thank you for visiting Toyota of Des Moines dealerrater.com site. When we opened the doors of Toyota of Des Moines many years ago, we developed two simple philosophies for our long-term success: #1: Treat every single person who walks through our doors the same way we would expect to be treated. #2: Once someone has become our customer, he or she is our customer for life. It's a spirit you'll see in everything we do here. One visit to Toyota of Des Moines and you will see what sets us apart from any other dealership. If you live in the state of Iowa, you deserve to let Toyota of Des Moines show you why Iowans buy their cars, trucks, and sport utility vehicles here. We are located in Grimes, Iowa, just off Interstate 35/80 at the Highway 141 exit. No other dealer in the State sells more new and used retail vehicles than Toyota of Des Moines, this includes Ford, GM, Dodge, Nissan and Honda Dealers**. In the Polk County our total new monthly sales exceed what the combined sales of new Hondas and Nissan vehicles month after month**. Winner of the President's Cabinet Award for the past 4 years, this means we are one of the Top 12 Toyota Dealers in the Nation ! This is not an easy accomplishment considering that there are over 1200 dealers in the US alone. That's ranking in the top 1% ! You would have to travel hundreds of miles before you would find another dealer of this caliber.
Contact Dealership

1650 SE 37th St.

Grimes, IA

50111

Directions

By Type

Showing 3,049 reviews

August 02, 2021

"We had an unusual situation of discussing the purchase..."

- jagdishks

We had an unusual situation of discussing the purchase remotely from California. Hugh was great to work with through this process, giving us transparency on commercials, vehicle logistics and financing -- all the way till completing the purchase on arrival in Des Moines.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 02, 2021

"I began communicating with Hugh Shepperd about 3 months..."

- JAndrews

I began communicating with Hugh Shepperd about 3 months ago regarding locating or building a new Toyota Highlander XLE Hybrid. Hugh guided us through the challenging process involving vehicle shortages and recommended we place a deposit on a build we had completed online. Later we were able to schedule a test drive which occurred after we placed our deposit. Most vehicles coming in were sold before they arrived. High also located a model close to our choices in the colors we wanted and reserved it for us. It was a challenging way to order a car because of Covid and supply issues, but Hugh confidently between, texts, emails, and a few in person discussions kept us moving methodically through the process. He always remained upbeat and was accommodating on our requests, negotiating small adjustments as requested. Paying for the vehicle was stress free as the finance department was fully prepared when we arrived. Delivery was excellent. Spencer did a great job explaining the technology and connecting my smart phone and apps to ensure a stress free experience when traveling. Thanks you all for a great experience during a challenging time for the auto industry. We have owned Toyotas for over 20 years and love our new Highlander.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 02, 2021 -

JAndrews responded

I began communicating with Hugh Shepperd about 3 months ago regarding locating or building a new Toyota Highlander XLE Hybrid. Hugh guided us through the challenging process involving vehicle shortages and recommended we place a deposit on a build we had completed online. Later we were able to schedule a test drive which occurred after we placed our deposit. Most vehicles coming in were sold before they arrived. High also located a model close to our choices in the colors we wanted and reserved it for us. It was a challenging way to order a car because of Covid and supply issues, but Hugh confidently between, texts, emails, and a few in person discussions kept us moving methodically through the process. He always remained upbeat and was accommodating on our requests, negotiating small adjustments as requested. Paying for the vehicle was stress free as the finance department was fully prepared when we arrived. Delivery was excellent. Spencer did a great job explaining the technology and connecting my smart phone and apps to ensure a stress free experience when traveling. Thanks you all for a great experience during a challenging time for the auto industry. We have owned Toyotas for over 20 years and love our new Highlander.

August 01, 2021

"Friendly,answered questions,Treated this old lady with..."

- imagene846

Friendly,answered questions,Treated this old lady with respect, spent as much time as I needed getting acquainted with my new car.I don’t think I need to say anymore.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Jennifer on line!
July 31, 2021

"We had an amazing experience at Toyota of Des Moines and..."

- jalthaus

We had an amazing experience at Toyota of Des Moines and will definitely return when we want to purchase another vehicle. Sales staff had great communication, very helpful, and found the perfect vehicle for us!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 29, 2021

"We have leased our vehicles from Steve Henigan at Toyota..."

- Courtney

We have leased our vehicles from Steve Henigan at Toyota of Des Moines for over 10 years now. He has always delivered on getting us the car we want while making it affordable. He genuinely cares about his customers and shows so much integrity. I would recommend Steve at Toyota to anyone looking for a car!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Steve Henigan
Aug 02, 2021 -

Toyota of Des Moines responded

Thanks for the feedback about your experiences working with Steve! He is a great asset to our team and is more than happy help. We appreciate the excellent rating and continued loyalty and we hope to see you again soon!

July 29, 2021

"Had great service from the sales team all the to the..."

- Kevlarson823

Had great service from the sales team all the to the financing department. Will definitely be sending family and friends for all their used and new car needs.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 02, 2021 -

Toyota of Des Moines responded

Thank you for the excellent rating! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. If there is anything we can help with in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know!

July 26, 2021

"Steve Henigan is helpful and constantly email me with my..."

- huynhdue2000

Steve Henigan is helpful and constantly email me with my references so I can find I car I like. Thank you for your help with my new car purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Henigan
Jul 27, 2021 -

Toyota of Des Moines responded

Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear Steve was so helpful during your car purchasing decision. Thank you for your business, and we look forward to taking care of you in the future!

July 24, 2021

"We didn't think we would find a car and not only that but..."

- j515carr

We didn't think we would find a car and not only that but had great service. This is the 2nd car I have bought from Toyota and this experience was not only excellent but informative. Thanks Derek Harris!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Spencer
Jul 26, 2021 -

Toyota of Des Moines responded

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We’re thrilled that we were able to provide you with such a seamless purchasing experience! That is what we always strive for at Toyota of Des Moines. Thank you for trusting us with this process!

July 21, 2021

"Ian Davis provides wonderful service. Very professional...."

- Wilges

Ian Davis provides wonderful service. Very professional. Provides me with a smile of satisfaction that shows up on both of our faces! Man of character. I am satisfied that I place my confidence in him,

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 22, 2021 -

Toyota of Des Moines responded

Thank you for the review and for your kind words about our team member, Ian! We are glad to hear that we have been able to provide you great service when you bring your vehicle in. Customers like you are why we love coming to work every day. We cannot thank you enough for your patronage, and we look forward to continuing our relationship in the future.Have a great day!

July 19, 2021

"This is the second new vehicle I’ve purchased at Toyota..."

- Wayne Taylor

This is the second new vehicle I’ve purchased at Toyota of Des Moines and I’ve always had very good customer care and service.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 20, 2021 -

Toyota of Des Moines responded

Thank you leaving your kind remarks, Wayne! It is great to hear you have consistently received 5-star customer service with us at Toyota of Des Moines. We appreciate your continued business with us and look forward to taking care of any of your automotive needs in the future. Enjoy your new car!

1
...
1 - 10 of 3,049 results