Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Kurt Klima.
Kurt Klima
Kurt Klima at Elk Grove Subaru
Refer Me
not yet rated

Kurt Klima

Service Manager

Elk Grove Subaru

8581 Laguna Grove Drive
Elk Grove, CA 95757

Contact Me
Call
Email

18 Reviews of Kurt Klima

April 18, 2020

Dealership Rating

"Buy your car from Elk Grove subaru. "

- Gary

For the best price and a no hassle sale, contact Mike Carlson. The internet price from Mike was great. We made an appointment and took a test drive. Mike made us very comfortable through the entire process. We left with our new subaru crosstrek in about an hour. I have purchased several cars in the past 40 years and my experience with mike and the dealership was by far the best. Thanks again mike. We will see you when it’s time for our next vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Carlson

November 30, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great experience Mike carlsen help me with..."

- Herb Schultz

Great experience Mike carlsen help me with professionalism and provided a really super good deal. I'm extremely happy with my purchase of a 2020 Subaru ascent

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Carlson, David Deleon

March 30, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Easy ride"

- MurphWRX

This was my third car purchase from this dealership. Each time I’ve been amazed at the process. The three Mikes made this one painless! Mike Carlson is humble and down to earth. This dealership does it the right way. Great staff and customer service. You can’t go wrong buying a Subaru as they hold their value. Go see Mike Carlson on your next Subaru purchase, and he’ll rock the deal!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 02, 2019

Elk Grove Subaru responded

It fills us with such pride to know that our efforts are noted and that our customers feel so comfortable in our hands! We are so thankful for your business, and hope that you know that our readiness to please doesn't end with your purchase! Please don't hesitate to let us know of anything more you might need! Warmly, Emily Lasher Van Orden evanorden@lasherauto.com

December 23, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Easy Dealing"

- Mmanley

This was the easiest car buying experience I have ever had. Open and honest! I never felt like I was being “sold” but that I had an concerned associate ensuring I got what was needed. Great people and great business model!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Carlson, David Deleon

October 20, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Mixed bag with tons of mistakes"

- Molly G

It pains me to write this review, but it is necessary. I have purchased four Subarus since 2003, none locally until now - usually because no one in Sacramento wanted to make a deal on the cars I wanted. But I am loyal to the Service Manager, Kurt. (My very first Subaru was possessed by air conditioning demons, and he remained determined, helpful, and friendly through the whole process [which lasted seven years - yes, seven years].) When he went to Elk Grove, I followed. I did not buy my Outback last year from them because they would not make a deal - I went to the Bay Area. This year, I was in the market for the Ascent. And I get it - the market dictates price, and this is in high demand. But I won't buy at MSRP - ever. I was working with Ashley, and she asked me to be patient so she could work a deal for me. I have nothing but great things to say about Ashley.Knowledgable, friendly, and determined to get my business. We ordered my Subaru trying to time it where I could get some sort of a deal (and I did). There was a mixup on what she ordered, but I chalk that up to a misunderstanding. Ultimately, the car I wanted landed at their dealership, and even though it was Ashley's day off, she jumped to action for me. Then everything fell apart. Well, I should say I do have the car, and I'm happy with it, but the process was the worst experience I've had in buying a new car. Ever. Curtis took over for Ashley, and he was knowledgable and friendly enough, though very chatty in non-relevant conversation. I felt rushed (this was a Thursday), because they refused to hold the car I thought I actually ordered, and we were leaving town the next day for the weekend. In fact, Curtis told me he didn't know if he could even hold the car long enough for us to get there - Elk Grove in afternoon traffic. Luckily I had all of my financing in order before the mixup happened. It is also lucky that I and my husband were able to leave work on a moment’s notice that day to go buy a new car. Elk Grove is a trek for us, and sometimes I don’t think dealers quite realize how much of a commitment it is to drop everything and come down there on a moment’s notice just to not lose the car that I thought was actually ordered for me. But I did it. Without so much as a thank you. Sadly, the finance person (I worked with Michael, but I’m not sure if he’s the one who obtained my finance information) did my financing wrong. They failed to follow the instructions on the second page of my financing letter and did not get me the rate promised. I tried to reach my bank, but my person was out at a conference and I coudln’t get through to her supervisor either. So because Lasher would not hold the car for me, and they couldn’t figure out my financing, I had to sign a contract at the wrong rate for the wrong term. I was very rushed, and I just hoped that I would be able to fix it with the bank later. My husband and I were out of town that weekend, and when we returned on Monday, I talked to my bank. She informed me of the dealer’s error, and she let me print another letter to take down to the dealer to sign another contract. So back down to Elk Grove we went, another half day of work missed. We were able to sign a new contract with Jeremy, but I asked if, while we were waiting, they could wash my new car. (We had driven it to LA that weekend.) I’m actually kind of surprised I had to ask. After all, I was taking time out of my day again to fix something Lasher messed up. But they agreed. And then proceed to take an hour and a half to do it. 15 minutes to sign the contract, two hours because they agreed to wash my car. And with the exception of Kurt offering me a couple of dog toys for my pups, not one person offered any kind of concession for my inconvenience. Not a free keychain, not a discount on my LED lights that were on order, nothing. I just bought the most expensive car they sell, and I’ve spent an entire day so far off work trying to get the car I thought had been ordered for me, fix their mistakes on the financing end, and I had to go back yet again to get those lights installed when they arrived. It put a sour taste in my mouth, and frankly, I’m not sure I can recommend Elk Grove Subaru. I think Ashley is great, and I will always trust and respect Kurt, but this experience was anything but smooth. It was rushed, full of mistakes by the dealer, and not even an "I'm sorry." Curtis also tried to upsell me on a lot of things I don’t need. (And in fact I think he did actually include some odd vehicle recovery subscription we didn't want - I'll have to explore that further - he said it would lower our insurance, but of course that wasn't true.) This isn’t my first rodeo. I’ve purchased no fewer than eight new cars in perhaps the last 25 years. I understand extended warranties and everything else they try to do to upsell, which is generally why I usually have everything worked out before I even set foot on the lot (and all of the dealers I've done business with in the past have been exceptional). When we went in to re-sign a new contract, Jeremy tried to upsell the warranty to me again, and chided me for not getting one on a car that is in its first year of production. Seriously, but for Kurt coming around and chatting with me, it was down right unpleasant. And of course they want raving reviews. So much that we are hounded by the sales associates, the finance people, and the managers who email us to tell them that they went above our expectations. So before I came here to write a negative review, I reached out to Sonny, the sales manager. I explained the whole ordeal and my displeasure with being told what to say on my survey. I realize some of my experience was a fluke. Ashely honestly thought I wanted a blue Ascent, and we did talk about blue and white, so I understand where she might have misunderstood me. But beyond that, there were a dozen little things the dealership could have done to make it a better experience, and instead, they went the other direction. When I reached out to Sonny, he became the victim. But he asked me what I wanted, so I told him. I wanted an extended warranty (I'll buy one eventually). Because of his tone, I asked for it for free (of course realizing this wasn't going to happen, but it's a starting place and sends a message). I expected a counter, but again, he played the victim. I then suggested their cost. Hurts them not at all, compensates me for all of my inconvenience and their mistakes. But he quoted me the "absolute lowest" price... of retail (yes, I've shopped around and have been on the forums where this topic is heavily discussed)....with its very, very hefty profit margin, and I said forget it. They've received enough of my money and will get no more. I'll go back up the hill if and when I'm ready to get a new Subaru. Again, I trust Kurt, but this dealership has quite a huge ego and won't even say they're sorry for their own mistakes or the fact those mistakes caused a lot of inconvenience. Given the other reviews, I see my experience is somewhat of an anomaly, and while I would not recommend buying a car here, if you do, go see Ashley, and trust your service to Kurt. Other than that, typical, rushed, unpleasant overall. As an update, I realized that despite the fact that we declined this random theft protection service, somehow we were charged for it. Apparently we signed for it, but it certainly wasn't explained that that was going to happen. We were told all their cars have this installed, and it would save money on our insurance. So I called my insurance agent right there, and they said no, it makes no difference, so we said we didn't want it. But there it was, $289 written into my contract for this. Normally I would catch something like this, but as I mentioned, this was a very rushed deal and I was preoccupied with the errors on my financing. I called the dealer about this, and they said I signed for it, but they would refund the money.....to the Bank. We went a few rounds about how to interpret contracts. They've charged me for something that not only did we not want, but we specifically declined. And they won't refund the money to us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Lagandaon, Curtis Jare, Sonny Aivazian , Jeremy Remillard, Ashley Gonzalez

Nov 30, 2018

Elk Grove Subaru responded

HI Molly! I just posted to Facebook, as well, and I apologize for the delay in my follow-up response! In the light of apologizing, I also wanted it to be clear that we are very sorry for the complications you experienced during your purchase. Our staff is a group of wonderful, knowledgeable people--they have most definitely not been trained to distract from or bury details, but their job IS to sell, so they do try. Mistakes, however, are not acceptable, so as I said before, we will absolutely learn from your notes, and try only to improve each and every one of our customer's experiences! Please let me know if you have any outstanding issues, or if you need anything in the future. I speak for all of us when I say that we'd love the opportunity to demonstrate to you our very best efforts! In the meantime, we hope you're enjoying your Ascent, and that you have the very Happiest Holidays! Best wishes, Emily Lasher Van Orden evanorden@lasherauto.com

September 12, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"After eight hours, sent home in a damaged vehichle!"

- Emily

I arrived at Elk Grove Subaru on Sat. 8/18/18 at 12:00pm to TEST DRIVE a Crosstrek and an Impreza. I had contact the day prior on the internet with Ashley Gonzales and was heading in to ask for her when Bill Cooks side swiped me in the parking lot. Although he was a nice guy, Mr. Cooks KNOWINGLY sent me home EIGHT hours later in a damaged vehicle (the entire paint job was covered in spots- I couldn't see them as the car was wet and I was STARVING and EXHAUSTED of the entire process!) I called on Sun. 8/19/18 and was told by Sonny via approximately seven different phone calls, I couldn't bring the car in until Monday (which meant I had to take time off work). I asked to speak with the owner of the dealership and Sonny told me, "the owners of the dealership do not get involved with day to day dealings and would NEVER call you back." On Mon. 8/18/18 Kurt Klima took one look at the vehicle and said they would most likely have to repaint the entire car and would need to get me into another one. Mr. Klima also stated the Lasher brothers are really nice guys that are in the Dodge dealership daily and happily speak to customers? Mr. Klima called me at 2:30pm to inform me the Cook's Collision had just picked up the car and he wouldn't know anything until the following day. On Tues. 8/21/18 I did not hear anything until 3:30pm, and the car was still being looked at- they were not able to get the spots out. Mr. Klima stated Sonny would get back to me. I did not hear ANYTHING on Wed. 8/22/18. At that point I called Subaru of North America and spoke to Anthony, who stated they do not normally get involved with sales, but he would call the dealership and get back to me. Anthony left me a message stating he spoke to Sonny and he would be getting back to me. At 5:05pm that evening, Anthony called me back (after his shift ended) to ensure I was contacted, I stated I had not heard anything and he said he would try to get someone on the line. He came back with Sonny and while Anthony listened, Sonny said he was, "VERY surprised I had made this call" (to Subaru of North America). He then stated he had a car there for me and I should come now as he can't guarantee I wouldn't have to wait if I came another time. We agreed I would be there by 6:00pm. Anthony said it sounded like this was resolved. I went home, plugged in my phone, fed by dog and went upstairs to get ready, in the meantime received two separate calls saying DO NOT come down here, the vehicle is damaged, too. I next received a call at 7:00pm on Thurs. 8/23/18 from another manager stating they were trying to get a dealer transfer, etc. (voice message). I had plans to go out of town that weekend and was leaving early Friday morning, which I had communicated on Sun. 8/19/18. I next received a call from Sonny on Fri. 8/24/18 in the late afternoon stating he would just get me into a 2019 and keep the payments the same, because all the 2018's had been sitting too long and had something wrong with them. He also said he wasn't working that weekend and would to call on Mon. 8/27/18. After several additional phone calls and emails (I asked him to please have the paperwork ready, he BEGRUDGINLY said he would, but continued on with not knowing how long it would take and he couldn't promise he wouldn't be helping someone else, etc., just shockingly poor customer service. On Tues. 8/28/18 (TEN DAYS AFTER the purchase of the car and HOURS of phone calls/emails) I left work early to go sign the new paperwork. The additional piece of the story was, they ONLY gave me $7K for my 2011 BMW 328i with 83K miles - MINIMALLY a $1,500 loss I agreed to on 8/18/18 after seven plus hours of dealing with multiple men, no food, and super-hot weather. I feel 100% taken advantage of by Elk Grove Subaru, especially Sonny Aivazian. I will never go to a car dealership without a man again in my life, which is a pathetic statement in 2018! Shame on the Lashers and Vince Bloom for running a car business in such a way that a woman is prohibited from receiving a fair deal. This was bar none the most horrific car buying experience of my life.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Sonny Aivazian , Jeremy Remillard, David Deleon, Ashley Gonzalez, Bill Cooks

May 07, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Painless"

- Moodster

Last month, my wife and I purchased a new 2018 Subaru Forester XT Touring package in a crystal white pearl. Prior to that I did some exploring on the Car Pro website and looked up what dealerships supported that program. Everything on Car Pro is listed and explained to you on how it works. We live roughly 90 miles north/east of Elk Grove so we decided to reach out on the internet. I was first contacted by the manager and he introduced his Internet Sales Manager Mike Carlson who contacted us a couple of days later on the internet. I told him what we were looking for and he immediately went to work and found the exact vehicle. Mike advised us that he would have the car transferred from a sister dealer in a day or two. I set up an appointment drove down to the dealership. The car was parked out front as we entered the building Mike greeted us and in approx a hour and half the paper work was completed and processed. Mike also did some follow up emails checking on our satisfaction on the car. He also advised us if we had any questions on the equipment on the car to call him direct. I can't be more than happy with the zero percent financing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Lagandaon, Mike Carlson

April 11, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Arrogant, Lazy and Uncaring"

- rms827

My g/f Stephanie bought a 2017 Forrester from Elk Grove Subaru early fall last year, right when the 2018s were hitting the lot. Since we went with a referral from the "Car Pro" radio show, we got to work with the sales manager (Mike Carlson), and THAT was the ONLY good part of the whole experience. The problems started with the finance office. Apparently paperwork is a bit too complex a concept for them there. Odd considering that's what the office handles... Snark aside, the facts: It took 3+ weeks to get a simple windshield sun screen and rear cargo area cover to start with. If that was all, I'd say no big deal. NEXT, we take the car in for window tinting that we'd paid for when we bought it. We specifically told the finance guy that we wanted 35% tint, as we'd be traveling out of state and wanted to keep it legal. Instead we get it back with limo tint. It was a little difficult to see out the back during the day, and impossible at night, esp with the auto darkening rear view mirror. The service department's initial response was "It's legal tint level in CA, so deal with it". I had to intervene on Stephanie's behalf and threaten to drag them in front of the Bureau of Automotive Repair for their sloppy paperwork (BAR is... strict on proper documentation), hint that there would be lawyers involved as well, and threaten to stay on the phone with Subaru corporate until the issue was fixed. NEXT, we were also getting a paint protection and warranty package. They applied the extra protective coating right over a blemish in the hood, and a small chip on the edge of one of the doors. The closest we've gotten them to dealing with that so far is just admitting it could be fixed by removing the coating, buffing out the blemish and then re-applying the coating. We pretty much gave up on this issue a month or so later when it became obvious they had no intention of honoring their warranty. *cough*BreachOfContract*cough* At 6000 miles, we took the car in for a scheduled oil change and tire rotation. ALSO an extra maintenance package we'd bought. We came in with a scheduled appointment and it still took 3 hours to do a job that the industry standard labor guide says should take 1/2 hour. The joys of having a retired ASE certified automotive technician as a service department customer, LOL. Earlier today was the FINAL straw for both of us... Yesterday, we picked up a good sized wood screw in our right rear tire. We made it home safely before the tire went flat. Stephanie called Subaru Roadside Assistance to report the flat. THEY were great. Said it had to go to a dealership, but that it was covered with the roadside assist and tire warranty package she has,and we arranged to have it taken to the dealership in the morning. The tow truck company showed up early (very nice, professional driver), hooked the Forrester up and got it to Elk Grove with no problem. One female employee takes the initial info and says a service writer will be with me in a minute or two. In the mean time, the tow truck takes off. His job was done as far as we both knew. A few minutes later I'm informed by a service writer that they don't do flat repairs, only tire replacement and to take it down the road to the local tire shop. He refused to look at it, have a tech put the spare on it or EVEN ADD AIR TO THE TIRE so that it was safe to take down the road. I asked him what the xxxx we'd paid good money for the tire protection plan, and he gave me some smartass remark about replacing the tire if it was blown out, then walked off ignoring me. The lack of common sense and opening to potential legal liability had I been in an accident was amazing in itself. I took it down the street and got air in the tire at a gas station, then took it to America's Tires where we usually do business with. THEY told me that the screw had gone thru at a BAD angle (nearly sideways) and had damaged one of the steel belts in the tire. Ergo we needed a NEW TIRE! Exactly what Elk Grove Subaru said was the only thing they did AND they would have known had they bothered to take customer safety and satisfaction into account and actually LOOK AT THE FLAT! We will NEVER EVER use Elk Grove Subaru for so much as a windshield cleaning or bathroom stop again, much less service or another car purchase. My advice is to go ANYWHERE else. Subaru corporate has been great, and we've enjoyed the vehicle, but the dealership is a nightmare.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

January 30, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Relaxed, friendly atmosphere and knowledgeable sales staff."

- DC

This purchase is Subaru #5 and, down the road, Subaru #6 will most likely be from this dealership. Mike Carlson (sales) and Mike Langandaon (finance) were most helpful guiding me through the auto buying process (maze). I am confident that I got the right car for the right price from Elk Grove Subaru and, I'm happy to recommend them to friends and family. I also look forward to bringing my Outback here for its scheduled maintenance. Kurt Klima took care of the service on 2 of my previous Subarus - a 1995 Legacy Wagon and the 2004 Outback I am replacing. In fact, his move to Elk Grove Subaru was a major factor in choosing to purchase a new car here. I don't think that you could go wrong doing the same.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Lagandaon, Mike Carlson

June 27, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"2017 Subaru Sport Legacy 2.5i "

- Birdmon

I'm very pleace my car Subaru Legacy Sport 2.5i that I purchased dated 6/19/17, it's comfortable ride and I like everything that included in the car such as interior big space, all the gadgets- Navigation, eye sight, Blind spot, brake assist, backing up assist, entertainment, sound system (6 speakers), big space trank, &etc. The car had reasonable price....sale person Curtis Jare very kind and courteous... I highly recommended Subaru dealer here in Elk Grove CA...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Curtis Jare, Jeremy Remillard

1
1 - 10 of 18 results

Dealership Inventory (194 Vehicles)

new 2021 Subaru Forester car, priced at $35,275

2021 Subaru Forester

$35,275

new 2021 Subaru Crosstrek car, priced at $26,624

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

$26,624

new 2021 Subaru Crosstrek car, priced at $26,624

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

$26,624

new 2021 Subaru Crosstrek car, priced at $29,974

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

$29,974

new 2021 Subaru Impreza car, priced at $25,711

2021 Subaru Impreza

$25,711

new 2021 Subaru Crosstrek car, priced at $27,060

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

$27,060