Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville

Cedarville, IL

4.9
709 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Since 1952, J.H. Barkau & Sons has served the Northern Illinois, Southern Wisconsin stateline area for their automotive needs. We can proudly boast to over 70,000 customers in those years and have had thousands of customers purchase multiple vehicles and generations of families that have allowed us to serve them. When John H. Barkau founded the business, his goal was to bring quality, affordable transportation to the local area. Jim (2nd generation), Rick (3rd generation), and Willie (3rd generation) Barkau have continued in that tradition while expanding our marketplace to be worldwide. We have had vehicles shipped to Russia, Sweden, Australia, Turkey, Mexico and many other locations. We have vehicles purchased by customers in 49 states and commonly have customers fly in to pick up their new vehicles. In all of this, it has been a pleasure for the Barkau family to help fulfill the transportation needs of a varied clientele. J.H. Barkau & Sons has accomplished this feat by continuing to offer quality, hand-picked vehicles at very competitive prices. We believe in offering our customers an incredible selection that is second to none, with over 1100 vehicles available for purchase. We believe in a no pressure sales environment and in quality reconditioning of our inventory selection. Our sales teams at our Cedarville and Freeport stores each have over a century of experience in helping fill the needs of our vast customer base. The funny part is, we remember a lot of you years later and we are genuinely happy to see you. But selling cars is not all that we do. We believe in supporting the local community through donations, Toy Drives, Food Drives and many other local charities and fundraisers. We also run the “Excellerate” program for Aquin Catholic Schools and have facilitated over 113 donated vehicles. That may be part of the reason that we have been voted the “Best In Region” Used Car Dealership for 15 straight years. Great vehicles, great people, great exp
Contact Dealership

200 North Stephenson Street

Cedarville, IL

61013

Directions

By Type

Showing 710 reviews

October 17, 2012

"Jim was absolutely fantastic. I purchased my very first..."

- Chris JanMac

Jim was absolutely fantastic. I purchased my very first car from him back in 2001 and have gone through Jim ever since. I live in the Peoria area and didn't think twice when I drove up to see Jim when I needed a new car. He is so patient with what I am looking for and especially this time, he has hit the nail on the head with the utmost perfect car for me. I feel like a million bucks in my Mercury Milan. He also worked with me on sale so I was comfortable with what I was paying. I have never experienced this good of customer service anywhere else. I will never purchase from anyone else again. When I got to work yesterday, everyone screeched with delight on the beauty I pulled up in. I told them they will never find a deal like I did down here in Peoria. The leaves are beautiful, let's take a drive to see Jim in Cederville and you will be the happiest you've ever benn!!!THANK YOU JIM!!!! I will be referring all of my friends and family members here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
October 11, 2012

"Everyone was really friendly and they helped me out a lot..."

- LeashaBoo

Everyone was really friendly and they helped me out a lot with getting a car loan. The only thing i am displeased with is that once i got home & have been driving my car, the check engine light is on. It was on at the dealership and they assured me that it was because the wrong gas cap was on the car, they replaced the gas cap and the check engine light turned off. But now that i have had the car for 2 weeks, the check engine light is on again, i checked the gas cap and that is not the problem this time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 17, 2012 -

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

I have tried to contact you privately about this. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at 815-563-4812. Kevin Martin

October 09, 2012

"We were very satisfied with our salesman Bob Reed. He..."

- Debra Martin-Bettcher

We were very satisfied with our salesman Bob Reed. He was very knowledgeable and friendly, but not pushy. He worked to come up with a deal for us on my trade in and get me the car I was looking at.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Reed
October 09, 2012

"Had a great experience at this dealership. Both Miles and..."

- BMarshall15

Had a great experience at this dealership. Both Miles and Jim were excellent to deal with and made my first car buying experience a breeze. Jim was especially attentive to my specific needs and guided me towards vehicles that I was interested in. Also, loved the overall selection of vehicles at Barkau's.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Miles
October 09, 2012

"Nils was very good to work with. We visited 5 or 6..."

- hoffdon

Nils was very good to work with. We visited 5 or 6 different dealerships and Nils was the only saleman to contact us after a visit plus he did it with a typed letter and not an impersonal message on the phone. He came in on his day off to allow us a final test drive and sold us our car. He was very helpful even to the point of recommending cars at the Freeport location. He touched up a paint-chip and through in the rest of the paint touch-up. A good-guy. Don H.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : N
October 08, 2012

"My husband had me do all the conversations and..."

- Gr8teacher05

My husband had me do all the conversations and negotiating. Jim treated me with respect and kindness. I just wish we could have reached a deal sooner.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Batkau
October 07, 2012

"My husband and I were very pleased with Tim's..."

- vboelk

My husband and I were very pleased with Tim's professionalism and easiness to work with. To be honest, I hate vehicle shopping and usually have my husband do it without me. This experience was the most pleasant one I have ever had with a car salesman!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
October 04, 2012

"I have had many great experiences with Barkau of..."

- Marcosisland

I have had many great experiences with Barkau of Cedarville. The employees are very friendly and seem to genuinely want my experience to be comfortable. They go out of their way to make this happen. I would have liked the price to be lowerbut settled with the deal rather than have the inconvience of shopping around more. Also the interior of the vehicle wasn't as clean as I thought it would be. But all in all it was a good experience and I would return and refer others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Miles
September 26, 2012

"I started one day just by looking at vehicles not..."

- SSilaggi75

I started one day just by looking at vehicles not intending to buy anytime soon. I was 11 payments away from paying off my current car, but I felt I needed to be in something a little more winter reliable (previous actions had proven my car was not winter safe). I had found one vehicle that I had liked at another dealership, but I felt very rushed and not 100% positive I was making the right choice by going with that dealership. A family member & a close family friend highly advised me to check out Barkau's one more time and see what Pat could find for me. I knew after testing driving the Ford Edge at another dealership it was exactly what I wanted. So I called Pat at the Freeport store and gave him the specific's of what I want and did not want in a vehicle. Pat called me back a few hours later explaining what he found for me. To my surprise after going to the store after work he found EXACTLY what I was looking for in better condition plus more then what I asked for. That made me extremely happy, almost like a kid on Christmas. Who am I kidding, I felt like a kid on Christmas when I saw my new car on the lot. Instead of giving me several choices to choose from to confuse me and make it harder to choose, he took everything I said and found the PERFECT and EXACT car I was asking for. He went out of his way to find what I wanted and had it brought to them because they did not have it on their lot. That to me, says a lot about a dealership. Instead of putting me in something I would not be satisfied with, he went above and beyond to get me what I would love. I did not feel rushed, pressured or even pestered to buy a vehicle from them. I do not rush into desicions like this very fast. I like to be sure I am doing the right thing, and Pat was very genuine in making me feel like this was going to be a very great investment for me. Where as before I felt at the other dealership I was just another $$ sign and they truly did not care, they were just trying to make a sale. Thank You so much Pat & everyone at J.H. Barkau & Son's for getting me exactly what I wanted in a vehicle and for getting me into it the same day it came on the lot! John J. really did do a wonderful job at keeping me at the payment I was comfortable with and not toying around trying to make a sale. John was up front and showed me all the numbers & got me a really great deal! Barkau's will be high on my recommendation list to everyone who says they are looking for a new/used vehicle. I have 2 family members already considering going to them after my experience! Thanks again guys!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
September 25, 2012

"Exceptional Service....This dealership is both..."

- tracile8

Exceptional Service....This dealership is both professional and quaint. Other dealerships that we had shopped were very institutional. We would recommend J.H Barkau and Sons to all! It was well worth the drive from Wisconsin. All employees explained everything very well and let us make our decision. We will be back in four years! Thank You.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Tim Border
671 - 680 of 710 results