Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Matt Slap Subaru

Newark, DE

4.9
458 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Matt Slap Subaru is where drivers from Delaware, Northern Maryland, Southern Pennsylvania and Southern New Jersey go for their next New or Used Subaru vehicle. Our selection of New Subaru Forester, Legacy, Outback, Impreza, XV Crosstrek and WRX models is outstanding. Whether you're starting your search for a vehicle or looking to take a test drive, our automotive experts are available to answer any questions you may have and assist in your search for the vehicle that best fits your needs and budget.
Contact Dealership

255 E Cleveland Ave

Newark, DE

19711

Directions

By Type

Showing 460 reviews

April 18, 2016

"Exceptional Experience"

- Maverick1963

My wife and I recently went to Matt Slap Subaru to take delivery of a 2016 Crosstrek and could not have been happier with our visit. Tom Hildebrandt, the Salesperson who met with us, was a consummate professional and made us feel very comfortable throughout the entire process as did Michael Zuckerman who coordinated our financing. Tom took us on a tour of the dealership, introducing us to the team, and very patiently walked us through the myriad of options within the car ensuring we felt very satisfied with the overall experience. We would strongly recommend Matt Slap Subaru to anyone who would like a great car and an exceptional dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom H, Michael Zuckerman
Apr 19, 2016 -

Matt Slap Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Matt Slap Subaru. We value your business and your recommendation. Enjoy your new Crosstrek!

April 09, 2016

"Beyond Blessed"

- Dawn

I want to personally thank Rachel, the service writer, and the technicians who checked out my car, Cody and Eldred. If it weren't for them, their kindness and the fact they stayed late for me - I would not have made it back to VA when I needed to be there. I was heading to VA from NJ to work and visit family when out of nowhere, my car stopped accelerating. I had no idea what was wrong and thought "Oh hell, my car is gonna die and I need to get home tonight!" Thank goodness I had AAA and they gave me the info to contact Matt Slap Subaru - the closest AAA authorized repair facility. I informed them of what was going on with my car and told them I was waiting for the AAA tow truck. It was 5:00pm and the height of rush hour traffic. They informed me the service department closed at 6:00pm, but they would do whatever they could when I got there. The six mile drive to the dealership seemed to be the longest of my life - as it took 40 minutes and I was so distressed because the service department was going to close in 20 minutes. Were they going to be able to find out what was wrong with it and fix it in that time? After they got my car in the bay, Rachel informed me the technicians agreed to stay until they figured out what was wrong and it was fixed. I was so grateful and couldn't believe they would go out of their way to help me the way they did. They quickly assessed what was wrong and fixed the issue. They also topped off all my fluids. They had me back on the road an hour after I came in. They took care of me as though I had purchased my vehicle from them and I couldn't have been happier. I made it back to VA that night. I may never cross paths with any of these people again, but I promise this, I will never forget the kindness extended to me that day. I will be forever grateful!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rachel Price, Cody (technician), Eldred (technician)
Apr 10, 2016 -

Matt Slap Subaru responded

Thanks Dawn, we really mean it when we say " We Go The Extra Mile" ! Glad we could be of help. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

April 08, 2016

"It was well worth the trip from Long Island"

- norjs1

Was looking for over 6 months for a new Subaru in my home town and was nowhere quickly. Could not find the configuation, prices way too high, etc. II expand my search to out of state dealers and came across Matt Slap Subaru. Tucker worked with me to find the car that I wanted. He put me into an Outback. At first I didn't believe the price they gave me , but when he took a deposit and more over emailed me a confirmation of the vehicle price and the usual fees with the Vin number, I was impresed. No dealer up here could or really would come that close. Mark L then called me to say he would be handling the rest of the deal when I came in. He was great, gave me his personal cell number, if I needed anything or for any questions, he even offered to pick me up from the station if I needed a ride . He went over the vehicle with me in detail, it was not one of those, now you paid and have a great day experiences. He even followed up 2 days later to see how everything goes was going on with me and the car. MIke Z was my closer, he explained to me my extended options with no pressure to purchase any of them. Great attitude and makes you feel comfortable. It was well worth the $19.00 bus ride !

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tucker Ranck, Mark L., Michael Zuckerman
Apr 08, 2016 -

Matt Slap Subaru responded

Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your positive experience. We certainly appreciate your business! Enjoy your Outback!

April 01, 2016

"VERY UNHAPPY with Service"

- falmik101

I took my car to Matt Slap Service for an oil change and rotation of the tires. Less than 12 hours later I noticed the low pressure tire light was on. All 4 tires were low and the lowest to highest pressure difference was 20 PSI. 3700 miles after that same service I went to check the oil level and the oil cap was sitting on the battery and oil was all over the engine compartment. Needless to say I will not be bringing my car back to Matt Slap for service nor will I go back to purchase a Subaru. How hard is it to check the air pressure and put the oil cap back on. They can't even get the simple things right

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
AL
March 28, 2016

"Fantastic Car Buying Experience"

- Old Harry

From the first exploratory visit, the buying experience has been totally satisfactory. I went in looking for brochures and Mitch greeted me, found the brochures I wanted, and was very courteous and informative. Subsequent visits served to reinforce my first impressions. This was the best car purchasing experience I have ever had. Over the years, I have purchased 11 new cars and one used car. My wife is ready to adopt Mitch as another son. I can't praise Mitch and the Matt Slap organization too much. Mike in finance was very nice to deal with and we were very pleased.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mitch Denham, Michael Zuckerman
March 28, 2016

"Excellent dealer!"

- Majiyck

I had a great experience here. The showroom was beautiful and the salespeople were so friendly and helpful. Everyone was very professional. The lot looked great, the cars looked great as well! I had a wonderful time working with Mitch, who was very helpful, and not pushy at all. He listened to my needs, and was able to give me solutions. He was an absolute pleasure to deal with, and I'd definitely work with him again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mitch Denham
January 27, 2016

"unnecessary work? follow up"

- Jazzchip

I heard from the service manager after I contacted Subaru. He apologized but couldn't understand why it happened. He gave me a discounted service visit to compensate for the misunderstanding.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
service manager
October 18, 2015

"Service highly dependent on who you work with"

- twinsuns17

Simply put. What you get is highly dependent on who you work with. My initial experience with this dealer was an individual named Harry. Now Harry compiled a list of vehicles for me, and told me some numbers over the phone when I first reached out to Matt Slap Subaru. After hearing the amazing numbers, I asked if he could e-mail what he had compiled over to me so I could look them over. He of course, agreed to do so. Over the course of the next two days, I called Harry 3 times asking again for the e-mail with the numbers and each time, he told me that he'd e-mail them right over. He never did. When I finally went into the dealer, I learned why he didn't. Simply put, he was lying to me. The numbers that he mentioned over the phone, the dealer could not do. So it became pretty obvious as to why he didn't want me to have a written record of the lies he told me over the phone. When I was there, I briefly met Harry who mentioned that he was just giving me possible ranges and misremembered. That is so difficult to believe since, when he gave me the initial numbers, he was supposedly reading them from a screen/document which he was supposed to e-mail me. Either he can't read or he was xxxxxxxxxxxx. Luckily, I was able to work with a different salesman who was great. Unfortunately, his name slips my mind at the moment. So simply put, what you get is highly dependent on the salesperson you get. And when they give you information over the phone, but then never send you the written record of that information despite requesting numerous times, means that the salesperson is xxxxxxxxxxxx you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Harry and one more that I forgot name of
Oct 20, 2015 -

Matt Slap Subaru responded

Mr. Yang, we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused to you during your vehicle purchase experience with our dealership. We always strive to provide the best possible experience for our customers, and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our General Sales Manager has been in touch with you and has offered a resolution that we hope will help to remedy the situation. Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions you may have regarding your new vehicle or anything else. We appreciate you being a customer of Matt Slap Subaru and hope you are enjoying your new vehicle.

October 01, 2015

"Positive Experience"

- Rod from Wilmington

I recently purchased a 2016 Forester from Matt Slap and dealt with Harry Marker. My experience was far from what I anticipated. Harry was great to work with and made the experience a very positive one. He was patient with all my questions and concerns and worked with me through the decision making process. There was no pressure to add this or buy that; it was a discussion of what I wanted and needed. He was very professional and it was a pleasure dealing with him. From my experience, I would recommend both Matt Slap and Harry for the purchase of a new vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harry Marker
Oct 08, 2015 -

Matt Slap Subaru responded

Rod, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience with your sales associate Harry. It is always our goal to "go the extra mile" for our customers and provide you with the best possible car buying experience. We hope you are enjoying your 2016 Forester, and wish you all the best and many miles and memories with your new Subaru! Be sure to follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/mattslapsubaru for updates on events, contests and Subaru news.

September 14, 2015

"Purchased a used Honda accord"

- Rob

We recently purchased a used Honda Accord from Jason Marker. We had a great experience with no pressure what so ever. After we settled on a price we had a few concerns which were addressed and our minds put at ease. We would also like to thank Rob Wolfe who was very helpful when we were first coming to try and see the car. Thanks to both of you and Matt Slap we left feeling very good about our purchase! Thanks again. Rob

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason Marker and Rob Wolfe
Sep 16, 2015 -

Matt Slap Subaru responded

Rob, thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent sales experience with Jason and Rob. We are happy to hear that both of them were able to help you find a vehicle that fit your needs and budget. It is always our goal to "go the extra mile" for our customers and ensure your total satisfaction. Congratulations on the purchase of your Honda, we wish you all the best! Please give us a call at 302-453-9900 if you ever have any questions and we look forward to seeing you when you come in for service.

431 - 440 of 460 results