Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Nelson DeMelo.
Nelson DeMelo
Nelson DeMelo at Brewster Subaru
Refer Me
5.0

Nelson DeMelo

General Manager

Brewster Subaru

1021 NY-22
Brewster, NY 10509

Contact Me

Nelson has been in the auto industry for over 26 years. He's been with Brewster Subaru for over 17. He is an avid dog lover, owning a German Shepherd named Mac. He welcomes all canine companions to our showroom, but be prepared, as he will play with them all day. Having been a Putnam County resident, his main focus is making our customers feel like family. He wants to make your buying process as simple and easy as possible. He is all about the customer experience and building a strong working relationship for years to come.

Dealership Experience

17 yrs, 6 mos

Industry Experience

27 yrs, 3 mos

Languages Spoken

English English

Portuguese Portuguese

View more languages
Call
Email

322 Reviews of Nelson DeMelo

March 02, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We had a great experience again at Brewster Subaru while..."

- jolamudge107

We had a great experience again at Brewster Subaru while purchasing our second Legacy from them. All the staff were pleasant and extremely helpful with the new purchase and trade in.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Roy Schiller , Marci Lynn

February 20, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Seriously the best car buying experience ever thanks to..."

- lea3774

Seriously the best car buying experience ever thanks to Mitch, Rich and Nelson. We will definitely return for our next Subaru purchase. Thank you all at Brewster Subaru!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rich Johnson , Mitchel Pollak

Feb 23, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

We are so grateful for your review. It means the world to us here at Brewster Subaru!

February 15, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Rich was absolutely amazing. He made me feel like family..."

- elranson

Rich was absolutely amazing. He made me feel like family and the process was absolutely seamless! Nelson and Robyn were wonderful to work with too

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Robyn Rey, Rich Johnson

Feb 15, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for trusting the Brewster Subaru team with your business! We appreciate the positive feedback about your visit and hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future. Take care!

February 14, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"This is our 3rd Subaru purchase from Brewster Subaru with..."

- Mark

This is our 3rd Subaru purchase from Brewster Subaru with Mitch, Nelson, Pat and Rich. The Sales staff will go above and beyond to make the customer happy. I highly recommend this dealership. They are honest and operate at a high level of integrity.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Feb 15, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for being a Brewster Subaru customer, Mark! We appreciate your kind words about our team and look forward to your next visit with us. In the meantime, take care and enjoy your new Subaru!

February 14, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We have been dealing with Brewster Subaru since 1994,..."

- geneduffy371

We have been dealing with Brewster Subaru since 1994, commuting close to a million miles from Brewster to da Bronx until we retired in 2014. We started with a Basic Legacy and have had a Forester, an Outback, an Impreza, a 2015 Legacy which we upgraded to a 2020. Oh and I have a 2016 WRX which I love. The sales personnel have always been very nice and cooperative and always felt we were getting a good deal, especially being return customers. Our latest purchase of 2020 Legacy was no different, maybe better dealing with Mitchel Pollak, a very personable and knowledgeable salesperson. We enjoyed dealing with him very much and would gladly recommend him to our friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mitchel Pollak

Feb 16, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for your years of business with us at Brewster Subaru! We're so glad you could work with Mitchel to get your 2020 Legacy! We appreciate your positive feedback and recommendations to family and friends!

February 03, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I was driving my 2013 cross trek one Sunday afternoon..."

- Cdangers

I was driving my 2013 cross trek one Sunday afternoon the last week in September 2020 when the oil/engine light came on, followed soon by many of the dashboard lights- and it was making a bad noise and sputtering! I happened to be 1/4 mile from the Brewster Subaru dealership, so I called in a panic- a complete panic. A man answered the phone and told me to come right in. I drove up, and was met at the door by a man rolling up his sleeves and asking me to pop the hood. I had no idea who he was. He spent 20 minutes checking this and that; he put a quart of oil in and gave me an extra quart to have, just in case. Did I say it was a Sunday afternoon?! He told me to bring the car in the following day to be checked out- that he didn’t know what was wrong with the car, but made it clear I needed to have it worked on. When I asked what I owed for his time and the oil, thinking he must have been one of the mechanics, he said , No charge. He didn’t like the idea of someone on the road in a panic like I had been. He also said if it was his mother/sister/daughter on the road, he would hope someone would help them too. It turns out, this was Nelson, the general manager of the dealership. He was so kind, and so helpful. I traded in my 2013 cross trek at Brewster Subaru the next week for a beautiful 2018 cross trek, and will never buy a car anywhere else! From the manager to the sales team to the financial department to the service team- i was treated with kindness and respect; I felt confident (and so relieved!!!) in all my dealings and will recommend them to anyone and everyone! Thank you Brewster Subaru!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: John Chaber, Danny Gomes, Zachary Johnson, Derrick Giese , The woman in the financial department!

Feb 03, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

We appreciate you taking the time to share this experience with us! Our customers are our number one priority here at Brewster Subaru, so we're glad to hear you feel confident in all your dealings with us! We appreciate your 5-star review and recommendations! Take care and safe travels!

January 29, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Wonderful people! I had a great experience with Nelson,..."

- Victoria

Wonderful people! I had a great experience with Nelson, Anthony & Rich. From start to finish they were kind, helpful, friendly and honest. They made getting into my new Crosstrek exciting and I know I will be in good hands going forward. I will recommend them to everyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Anthony Pilla, Rich Johnson

Jan 29, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Congratulations on your new Crosstrek, Victoria! We appreciate your kind comments and recommendation, it means so much to all of us at Brewster Subaru!

January 15, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"This was the worst car-buying experience of my life...."

- mkmac51

This was the worst car-buying experience of my life. They are only concerned with grabbing a deposit and making the sale. No regard for customer or vehicle. During COVID. Absolutely disgusting.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Jan 15, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Good afternoon, My name is Patrick Larson, Sales Manager of Brewster Subaru. Thank you for writing about your experience. We do appreciate feedback, both positive and negative. A negative experience gives us an opportunity to fix a problem so it does not happen in the future. I would really like to speak with you about your experience in depth, as something like this is extremely rare at Brewster Subaru. We do pride ourselves in the experience we provide as attested to by our thousands of positive reviews. I can be reached at 845-278-8700 x102. I look forward to speaking with you. Thank you. Patrick Larson Sales Manager Brewster Subaru

January 03, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Always excellent customer service whether you’re there..."

- LNWun

Always excellent customer service whether you’re there for sales or service. I highly recommend Subaru (especially this location) to everyone I talk to. We’ve purchased two cars here so far and both experiences were very pleasant. All involved were very informative, helpful, and friendly. The service department is great also; I only ever bring my car to them. I can never say enough good words!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 22, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Our goal is to provide top-notch customer service, and I am glad to hear that our team has shown you their commitment to this! We'll see you next time!

December 26, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I don’t usually leave reviews but I am beyond inclined to..."

- jonathangrivera87

I don’t usually leave reviews but I am beyond inclined to do so as my experience was that amazing. My husband and I purchased not one but TWO cars with Subaru of Brewster. Initially we went in with the mindset to purchase one vehicle, however, because the experience was so wonderful, smooth and they worked with us so well that we decided to purchase a second Subaru! I have always been very skeptical of car dealerships, especially since I was once burned by one many years ago. However my husband needed a car and I began searching online for dealerships. We knew we wanted a Subaru but wanted to make sure we chose the best dealership for that. Call me corny but I am a review kind of person. I specifically chose Subaru of Brewster because I liked how many positive reviews/stars they had. My husband and I purchased TWO brand new 2021 Subaru’s from sales rep Anthony Pilla. From the second I walked into the dealership I was greeted by everyone, not to mention the place was spotless, such a clean dealership! As I walked further in I instantly gravitated towards sales rep Anthony Pilla. He was so welcoming and extremely friendly. I knew right away I wanted to do business with him. We told him exactly what my husband wanted, from make, year to even color of the Subaru and Anthony both accommodated every need/want and got us into the car we wanted right away. It felt like we knew Anthony for years. I couldn’t believe how well he handled us and how detailed and honest he was. I literally never once felt rushed or like he was trying to get one over on us. He treated us with such respect and such kindness. In fact, Anthony was so awesome to deal with and my husbands whole car buying experience was so great that I decided to trade in my own vehicle and purchase a SECOND 2021 Subaru with him! Anthony was truly the most amazing sales rep I have EVER dealt with. I knew I made the right choice choosing him to be our sales rep! I highly highly recommended him. Upon finalIzing everything we met the General Manager, Nelson who personal introduced himself and sat with us to ask how we were doing and if we needed anything at all to please ask. He worked with us so well and really cared about making us happy. Towards the final steps we then dealt with their finance manager Rich who was so amazing. I could not believe now detailed, thorough and patient he was. He literally took his time and explained EVERYTHING to us. I never once felt rushed or like I was being scammed. (Which is very important). I HIGHLY recommend Subaru of Brewster!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Anthony Pilla, Rich Johnson

Jan 22, 2021

Brewster Subaru responded

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review. Your kind words mean so much to all of us at Brewster Subaru! It was our pleasure to assist you and your husband with your Subaru purchases. We look forward to your next visit with us! Take care!

1
...
1 - 10 of 322 results

Dealership Inventory (213 Vehicles)

used 2017 Nissan Sentra car, priced at $10,500

2017 Nissan Sentra

$10,500

new 2021 Subaru Crosstrek car, priced at $30,300

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

$30,300

used 2020 Subaru Forester car, priced at $27,534

2020 Subaru Forester

$27,534

used 2020 Subaru Impreza car, priced at $21,950

2020 Subaru Impreza

$21,950

used 2018 Honda CR-V car, priced at $21,915

2018 Honda CR-V

$21,915

used 2018 Subaru Forester car, priced at $22,980

2018 Subaru Forester

$22,980