Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Stephen Carlson.
Stephen Carlson
Stephen Carlson at Colonial Chevrolet
Refer Me
4.9

Stephen Carlson | Page 7

Service Manager

Colonial Chevrolet

171 Great Road
Acton, MA 01720

Contact Me

Stephen has been a valued member of the service team since, April 9, 2001.

Dealership Experience

20 yrs, 2 mos

Industry Experience

43 yrs

Languages Spoken

English English

75 Reviews of Stephen Carlson

August 07, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Far exceeded our expectations!"

- Wlbmdb4

Picked up our new car today. All I have to is WOW! Colonial Chevy of Acton has by far exceeded our expectations. They have gone above and beyond to support us on the service and sales side of things. We had a very unique yet painful situation that they made right. Not many companies would deliver such loyalty to their customers and back their products quality like Colonial. It makes me feel so blessed that we have found such service and support. It’s so important to align yourself with companies that respect you and back their product and will only deliver the very best! Thank you Larry, John, Jim, Mike, Steve and Dan of Colonial Chevy for all you have done for this family!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Aug 08, 2018

Colonial Chevrolet responded

Thank you for reaching out and congratulations on your new car! Reviews like these mean the world to us here at Colonial Chevrolet! I will personally share your feedback with my team to assure others are able to experience situations such as yours! Best, John Woodland, GM (978) 263-1000

June 01, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Terrible Customer Service at the Body Shop"

- tinitrifle

My car was towed here after an accident. I was from out of town and was told that the repairs would take 2-3 weeks. I struggled greatly with contacting anyone at the shop who had information about my vehicle, was relayed misinformation several times, did not have my calls returned, and was never given a deadline that could be kept. Colonial Chevrolet had my car for 7 weeks and on the day that I picked it up, there were still problems with it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

December 07, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I will only get work done on my car at this dealership "

- Melyssa

I always have a great experience at this dealership. They always take the time to answer any questions I have and a very pleasan no matter how busy they are.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Dave Fillmore, Robert Reizner, Frank Gordon, Allen Boisvent

Dec 11, 2017

Colonial Chevrolet responded

Hi Melyssa, thank you so much for your feedback as well as your loyalty. Our service department works hard day in and day out to provide the best results for our customers! I will personally share your feedback with my team to ensure we continue to provide the same level of service for all of our customers. Sincerely, John Woodland, GM (978) 263-1000

December 02, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Colonial Lies to Avoid Claims"

- Brandon Elliott

Absolute nightmare of a company to deal with. I know this is a bit wordy, but if you're thinking about doing business with Colonial Chevy, I highly encourage you to read my story so that you can better prepare yourself for how they treat their customers. This April, I purchased a used 2012 Volt (electric vehicle) from Colonial Chevy in Acton, MA. By law, this vehicle came with a 30 day dealer's warranty which would repair any issues with the car. In the first 2 weeks of owning the car, I noticed that the heat did not work while the car was in electric mode. No matter what, the heater would only blow ambient temperature air. I made an appointment with Steve in the service department to bring the car in under warranty to have this looked at. A day later when I picked my car up Steve let me know that they ran diagnostics on the car and everything was performing fine, and no repair was needed. I asked why the heat didn't work in electric mode if everything was fine, and Steve ensured that the heat just doesn't work as well in electric mode as it does in gas mode, but it is working. I told him that I'd done my research online and that other Volt owners reported that the heat will work in electric mode and it will be noticeable (as opposed to the ambient temperature air it was blowing). He went on to tell me that the electric heater only works when the outside temperature is below a certain threshold. When I got home, I searched online for any proof of this bizarre sounding claim to no avail. Anyways, I decided I'd give his claim a shot and would see if it was true come winter. Surprise surprise, still didn't work in the winter time. This week, I brought the car back to the dealership citing the exact same problem that I had when I first bought the car. This time (no longer under warranty which they would have to pay for), they quickly diagnosed the problem as a faulty cabin coolant heater. According to the service rep "the sales team was not able to approve funding for the repair, and it would cost me $1200" and he also reminded me that if I had purchased their $3000 two year warranty it would have been covered!!! I spoke with John Woodland, the General Manager about this issue, and inquired as to why they could not approve funding. He came back with "if it wasn't fixed the first time, why wouldn't you have brought it back till now?" I replied that "your technicians ensured me that it simply would not work until it was cold out, as it only operates below a certain temperature threshold." and he told me that sounded ridiculous and he would go ask if any of them told me that. Guess what? When he asked if any of the tech's remembered telling me that, they all denied it. So rather than owning up to the situation, he accused me of lying. He did offer to slash the $1200 bill down to $600 though!! As I continued to argue with him about why I didn't think I was being treated fairly, he reminded me (typing in caps to reflect the literal yelling into the phone that he was doing) "LOOK DO YOU WANT ME TO HELP YOU OR NOT, I'M NOT OBLIGATED TO DO ANYTHING FOR YOUR CAR TAKE THE $600 OR LEAVE IT THIS IS A VERY GENEROUS OFFER!!!". So now he's accusing me of lying and trying to force my hand to accept his "generous" offer of $600 to repair something that should've been handled 6 months ago. Oh, he also let me know that they didn't have to do anything about the heat at all from the start, as the 30 day warranty only covers safety related issues. I argued back that this is a safety issue, since I wouldn't be able to defrost my windows in the winter if I wanted to charge my car (isn't that the point of buying an EV?). I'm not a lawyer, but the Massachusetts Used Vehicle Warranty Law sure makes it sound like this should've been handled better. http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/consumer-rights-and-resources/autos/auto-repair/used-vehicle-warranty-law.html So that being said, I hope others can save themselves from headaches by avoiding this company. If you do decide to do business with them, either make sure to record all contact you make with them, or be prepared to be called a liar when you recite the lie they spewed at you back to them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: John Woodland, Luke Ealey, Michael Sparks , Dan Dinsmore

Dec 07, 2017

Colonial Chevrolet responded

Brandon, I really did want to help you out in your situation. I spoke with both you and your Father on the phone explaining that you are so far out of the Limited used vehicle warranty that is why we can not cover the whole repair, but I would gladly pay for half to keep a satisfied customer. You purchased the volt on 4/17/2017 with 85777 miles on it, and when you initially came back for a heat issue you had 88182 miles on your volt and it was 5/18/2017. Your used car vehicle warranty covered you for 30 days from time of sale and 1,250 miles from your mileage at sale. At that point you were out of coverage by time as well as over the mileage by 1165 miles. If the part was not working properly at that time I would have offered to help you out then as I am now, even though your coverage was expired. At the time your vehicle was checked in May your heat was working as it should be. Now you have come back at the end of Nov 2017, and even though you have over 100,000 miles now and you are 14,000 miles and 7 months out of your Limited Used Warranty at this point I still offered to pay half of your repair. I believe that is more than Fair considering you were out of your warranty both times you had it looked at. I also supplied you with a loaner vehicle free of charge and did not charge you any diagnostic fee either time you brought your vehicle here while it was out of its warranty. I think if you called around and asked other dealers if they would be willing to pay far half of a repair when out of the used vehicle warranty by that much time and mileage, I think you would find that Colonial is being very fair about your situation. Please feel free to call me Brandon if you would like to discuss or if I can be of assistance. Thank you John Woodland, GM

November 21, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Sales and Service"

- woodacer

Worked with Justin, Bill and Stephen for my recent purchase of a used Silverado. Had a few special things that I wanted do to my 'new' truck. Justin worked with Bill and Stephen to make it all happen within a day. Very pleased with Justin's attention to detail not only on processing the Sale but in making sure my briefcase found its way back to me. (Too many great vehicles to try out). Stephen and Bill made sure that the extra custom work was done and done right! Great team. Thank-you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Justin Boivin , Bill in Service

Nov 23, 2017

Colonial Chevrolet responded

Thank you very much for leaving us this fantastic review! Anytime our customers let us know that they had a very pleasant purchasing experience brings us great joy. Congratulations on your new Silverado! Justin, Bill, Stephen and the rest of the team will be glad to know that they were a positive influence for you during your visit here at Colonial Chevrolet. If you have any additional needs or questions, we will be more than happy to assist you! Safe travels! Best Regards, John Woodland, GM (978) 263-1000

November 30, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I dont buy many cars"

- Happy Tam

I have been using Colonial for Service. The repairs were becoming to costly. I do not buy many cars, however, the experience here was great! No pressure, a friendly and helpful Joe was my salesperson and was thorough with all new buttons and gizmos on my new Chevy Malibu. I am a happy new 2016 Chevy Malibu owner. Thank you to the whole team!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Joe Pellegrini, Michael Sparks

November 25, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"2017 Silverado purchase great experience"

- Steve

r another new vehicle, in the past 25 years or so I have purchased several new trucks from Colonial and one used car all with very high marks from the first arrival and greeting at the dealership, finding the right vehicle for me and finally the sales and driving off the lot. The past usually was handled on day one, this time took longer for me as I was undecided on either a truck or SUV. Weeks passed after trying several different vehicles with the assistance of Frank Gordon, James Mcloughlin in sales, but decided those I viewed and driven was not a good fit, just not the right vehicle for me, the search continues. I tried other dealerships also, ford, toyota, and another chevrolet dealership and after all was said and done, I was drawn back to Colonial after much research and thought that NONE provided the positive 5 star relationship, excellent customer care and does NOT hound the customer like others sometimes do after leaving the lot. For this, I came back and new that if a purchase of a vehicle was going to occur it had to be Colonial, therefore I decided I would return and first encountered Frank Gordon who I informed him that I was back and serious about possibly buying a truck, I had just checked on one outside and he came up with some figures and pulled two trucks out front along with sales person James Mcloughlin to assist. I decided on the 2017 Silverado crew cab, I was happy (Always am) with this entire business, and made a deal within 15 minutes, signed the paperwork, traded in my car and did not question anything. Great instructions on the vehicle by James, the sales person, very easy thorough overview of the entire process. I also thank the Business Manager for an excellent experience, Shaune Conway in the paperwork, and the Customer service rep out front who made me that coffee and comfortable while waiting. It's about the experience, customer service, that is what brings me back and over and over again and the relationships that colonial builds with its customers so many thanks, I am done A+ for all I am a satisfied customer. Thank you

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Frank Gordon, Shaune Conway, Jim McLoughlin

February 18, 2016

Dealership Rating

"Chevy Colorado"

- carlton33a

I wanted a chevy colorado in Sept of 2015, this hot model was hard to get ,they did not even have one to test drive. Tanya and Miguel found a 2016 model for me to test drive,I drove it 6 miles and bought it the next day. Great truck and dealership. They mean bussiness and will always deal to give you a fair price. I mean they gave me a discount on the Colorado even though they could not keep them in stock. They really want to keep there customers, as I had bought a car from them 4 years ago.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tania Audet , Miguel

December 03, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Wonderful"

- EmmaleeD22

Happy I was able to drop my car off the night before. Appreciated the service staff listening to our concerns and issues and finding-fixing the issue in a timely manner while getting my oil changed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Dan from service

November 25, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Recommend for Service"

- Marie

The service people are very friendly at Acton Chevrolet. Getting my car serviced takes me between 30 and 45 minutes. I highly recommend going there!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: William Marucci

61 - 70 of 75 results

Dealership Inventory (134 Vehicles)

new 2018 Chevrolet Malibu car, priced at $19,995
2018 Chevrolet Malibu
new
Silver exterior
Automatic
FWD
new 2020 Chevrolet Trax car, priced at $20,004
2020 Chevrolet Trax
new
White exterior
Automatic
AWD
used 2017 GMC Sierra 1500 car, priced at $48,999
2017 GMC Sierra 1500
used
Black exterior
Automatic
4WD
used 2017 Chevrolet Traverse car, priced at $25,995
2017 Chevrolet Traverse
used
White exterior
Automatic
AWD
used 2018 Chevrolet Cruze car, priced at $14,999
2018 Chevrolet Cruze
used
Silver exterior
Automatic
FWD
used 2019 Chevrolet Traverse car, priced at $29,995
2019 Chevrolet Traverse
used
Gray exterior
Automatic
FWD