Back

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen

Colorado Springs, CO

4.7
2,790 Reviews
The Penkhus Motor Company that you see today had its humble beginning back in 1951 when Robert N. Penkhus moved his young family from Ames, Iowa, and opened a small used car operation in Colorado Springs. New cars were added to the operation on Pikes Peak Avenue in 1957 when the Company became one of the ten dealers in the United States to obtain a Volvo Franchise. In 1972 the Volvo Franchise was moved to a fledgling area of Colorado Springs called Motor City. The combination of a quality product and a reputation for excellent customer service assured continued growth, including the addition of a Mazda franchise, in October 1972, at the Pikes Peak Avenue location. In 1975, Mazda joined Volvo in Motor City to increase productivity and to better serve our customers. Mr. Penkhus' son, Robert A. Penkhus ("Bob"), was a "permanent fixture" around the dealership from an early age, so it was natural that he would join his father in the business upon his graduation from the University of Denver. Bob Penkhus gradually assumed responsibility for all aspects of dealership operations and in 1977, became President of Penkhus Motor Company. Mr. Penkhus' concerns for his customers and employees, coupled with his enthusiasm for our products, have resulted in continued success and growth. Development of a new car display area along Interstate 25 in 1987 was followed one year later by a major service and parts expansion project in which we added fourteen mechanical and detail service stalls, doubled the parts area, and built an enclosed customer service area. In the spring of 1999 our growth continued with the opening of our second Select Certified location and a Domestic and Import Service Center on Austin Bluffs Parkway. With the growth of Colorado Springs, Penkhus Motor Company wanted to ensure that it was meeting customer needs. In 2004 Penkhus Motor Company remodeled its Motor City location including constructing a new showroom and making other improvements at the Motor City location. In 2006 Penkhus Motor Company constructed a new facility at Woodman and Powers, which is the Bob Penkhus Mazda at Powers store. In 2009 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Volkswagen franchise and opened the Volkswagen franchise at the Motor City Drive location. In 2012 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Mitsubishi franchise which is located at the Austin Bluffs Parkway Select Certified location. That facility is now known as Bob Penkhus Mitsubishi. As a result of our commitment to excellence, Bob Penkhus Mazda is the Number 1 volume dealer in the Gulf region. Based on customer satisfaction levels, Bob Penkhus Motor Company has been recognized as a Volvo Dealer of Excellence and has been inducted into the Mazda Presidents Club. Our continued success and growth requires each of our employees to possess a commitment to excellence toward each of our customers. Each member of the Penkhus Motor Company team should strive daily to meet all Penkhus Motor Company standards and goals in order to ensure future growth and success.
Contact Dealership

1101 Motor City Dr

Colorado Springs, CO

80905

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 2,790 reviews

November 16, 2022

Justin was in top every and I was well served. I’m pleased with the service and my car is running well at this time More

by JVLEVIVANT44
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Brant
4.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 18, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you so much for the feedback!

November 15, 2022

Scheduling was quick and they kept us up to date on what was happening. Service was also completed promptly. More

by RUSSROB
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jalyn Walker
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 16, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thanks for visiting us with your car service needs! We're happy to help!

November 15, 2022

Brain was friendly & welcoming! My service was excellent & my wait wasn’t long at all! More

by JONNYDEST
Price Transparency
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Time
Service Communication
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 16, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

We're so glad your visit was an enjoyable one! Thank you for the review!

November 15, 2022

Everyone was so helpful and kind , I thank you all! !! Justin seen me from start to finish and even updated me on everything. Justin know I couldn’t get my car on a delay day do to a drive in so he even More

by KRQUINCIE
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Brant
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Not sure on all the names but they know 🌹
Nov 16, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Judith, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so glad Justin was able to help you. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well!

November 14, 2022

Other than the standard pressure from the finance guys to buy more “insurance/warranties “ this was a pleasant purchasing experience More

by FastEddy
Purchase Time
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bryn Reynolds
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Hugh Yousif
3.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 16, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for shopping with us!

November 14, 2022

Mike is one of the best salesman I've ever worked with. If I can help it I won't buy a car from anyone else but him moving forward. Thank you Mike. More

by Tyler Willett
Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bruce Leiva
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Bryn Reynolds
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Mike Hepperle
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Robert Gentry
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Emily Porter
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Torrey Tompkin
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
JR Snyder
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Marvin Banks
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Torrell Crowell
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Ken Hastings
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 14, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

We're so glad to hear about your experience with Mike! Enjoy your new vehicle!

November 14, 2022

We’re happy with the service and cost. We’re also happy with our VW More

by C
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Brant
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 14, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for trusting us with your vehicle service needs!

November 12, 2022

Danielle was very helpful and great to work with. I appreciated her knowledge and helpfulness. Highly recommend. More

by RKS
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Danielle in service
Nov 14, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for your feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with Danielle.

November 12, 2022

We had a very good experience. Our salesman, Bryn, was great to work with and the car is wonderful!! More

by CEFUQUA
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bryn Reynolds
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Jordan McManus
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Nov 14, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

We're so glad you had a great experience with Bryn! Thank you for visiting us!

November 12, 2022

Great dealership in every aspect, truly exceptional. All (!) My cars came from Bob Penkhus ever since 1981. More

by ASOIFER
Price Transparency
Workmanship
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bud Hall
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Andrew Cossman
1.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Danielle, service advisor *****, Chris Sherban
Nov 14, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for being such a loyal customer over all these years! We're honored to serve you!

21 - 30 of 2,790 results