Dan Pyle
Dan Pyle at Summit Toyota of Akron
Refer Me

Dan Pyle

Dealer Principal

Summit Toyota of Akron

1535 Vernon Odom Blvd
Akron, OH 44320

Contact Me
not yet
rated
15 Reviews
not yet
rated

15 Reviews

Write a Review

15 Reviews of Dan Pyle

May 21, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

I walked into the dealership on 5/19/21 to test drive a 2021 Toyota Sienna Platinum. I test drive the vehicle, liked it and asked the salesperson to draw up paperwork on how much this vehicle would cost. H More

by gshatzer1
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: TJ DiSanto, JASON GRIEVE

May 22, 2021

Summit Toyota of Akron responded

Before we respond to the 'mistakes' in your review we would like to make the following clear- We did make a mistake. With the stroke of one key we changed your price by an even $10000. This did happen and we deeply regret it and have apologized profusely. Though we hold ourselves to high standards, we are still human and can and will make mistakes. We again apologize for our error. Now to correct a couple mistakes in your review in order- When you notified your salesperson that you wanted a Costco discount, he told you that your vehicle was currently being sold at MSRP. The salesperson did not in fact notify me of the $10k discount when he was given figures to pass on to you. This happened after he showed you the figures. He came back into the office and stated that you asked for additional monies off. He told me that he told you that you're already getting ten thousand off. This was such an absurd figure I assumed he was joking and went about my duties. We are taking this as a teaching moment for your salesperson and myself. Your salesman has never seen a discount like that on any Toyota vehicle in his four years with us. This was true when we were robust with inventory and even more so now when, as you saw, we are at a small fraction of what we normally carry due to manufacturer supplier issues. This misquote has happened one other time in my 24 year career. I will learn from this and do what I can to not allow it to happen again. Though you did sign preliminary paperwork you had not completed the final paperwork to complete the purchase. It is the Finance Managers responsibility to be the final safety net. This includes spelling of names, addresses, the math and host of other details. It was the Finance Manager who caught the error and brought it to my attention. You had not sat with him yet. At this point I approached you and notified you of the error. I did make the hand gesture and started to walk away, you stated, "you don't get to do that" and I agreed and stayed and endured more of your abusive words and tone. I deserved it. Once the Office Manager proceeded to refund your money, there was no reason for me to be present, so I left the room. You then proceeded to tell everyone in the dealership that would listen (customer and employee) the one keystroke error resulted in the conclusion that "Tj does not know what he is doing". I thought it best to remove myself from the situation. In closing, ten thousand off on such a vehicle is not practical. There is only a $1000 rebate and yes, that price would have lost several thousands of dollars. It was an honest mistake. These events do not reasonably define us as shady or that we conduct business poorly. There was no nefarious motive where Summit Toyota had something to gain by the error. The mistake upset a customer, lost a car deal, and continues to waste time for both of us. Again, it was a human error that was caught prior to finalizing the deal. We will do our best to limit our mistakes. We hope you find the vehicle of your choice at a price you find acceptable.

April 24, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Even during this time of stress and uncertainty, the dealership did a fabulous job to bake this as painless as possible! Thank you so much! More

by Sridgeway
Recommend Dealer
Yes

February 12, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Worth the drive from CUYAHOGA county No wonder Dan Schrier is considered a master sales consultant. He made my buying experience traveling experience from Cuyahoga to summit county ver More

by Tntk9man
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Michael Maloy, Andrew Smolen, Dan Schrier , The pretty girl in service department!

January 07, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Great selection and fantastic staff I would highly recommend this location for anyone in the market for a car, truck or suv. Left Toyota vehicles for a little while but happy I’m back. More

by Duketmax5
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: David Datsko

November 03, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Highlander Once again, Summit provided a truly great overall car buying experience (from value, to finance, to service and time spent). Will most definitely be b More

by SLS
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Stephen Robbins

July 11, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Troubles after 4 days of owning the car Although any review I have posted has been returned with backlash of untruths by the dealership I still intend to voice my horrible experience. I boug More

by bjmiller01
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Tj, Steven

Jul 18, 2018

Summit Toyota of Akron responded

, As stated to you before, the vehicle was inspected. The transmission was operating without any indication of an issue when you took delivery. The vehicle was sold as-is because we do not warranty vehicles with over 100,000 miles on them. This is because of the increased likelihood of something breaking that was not detectable during our inspection. As for the suspension repair, we take pride in the money that we put into our vehicles, there is no realistic reason to withhold this information. Afterall, it was repaired. We took the vehicle off your hands in the manor you requested. We did this to help you and paid you $291.50 more than you requested. You also stated in your agreement with us that if we did what you asked you would not only be completely satisfied, you would change any review you posted to a great rating. I guess that wasn't true. We sell quality vehicles, we give (at no charge) a lifetime powertrain on all vehicles with 90k or less miles and 9 years old or newer. THAT is standing behind your product. Unfortunately you purchased a higher mileage vehicle. We told you it was sold as-is when you purchased it and you were okay with it then.There are many things that do not show warning signs before failing on a vehicle. Very much like a lightbulb in your fridge, the light bulb works every time you open the fridge until one day you open it and it's out, without warning. I know it is very simple compared to a transmission but the the analogy works and applies. As for meeting you, there was no offer of half way. We offered to come all the way and you declined. Nothing we have stated has been untrue, we do not operate dishonestly. You purchased a vehicle with that had over 100k miles on it, with that comes risk, again that is why we sold it to you as-is.

Jul 29, 2018

bjmiller01 responded

The GM of this dealership does not tell the truth despite what he has posted. 1st he said I declined the offer to "meet me half way" now its that they offered to drive the entire 2+ hours to come and get the car. I also did not EVER agree to being completely satisfied and not posting any negative reviews. I agreed to remove my facebook post on the dealership fb page. They were also to have the check for me when I returned the car and did not, it was also omitted from the agreement they wanted me to sign making them not responsible for anything futher. I had to ask for it to be corrected and the check would be mailed that week. I had to again reach out to TJ 2 weeks later as I had not received the check and was told that there was a delay in the title and that was why I had not received a check yet. Our agreement had no stipulation as to waiting for the title. Also not sure how the car is re-listed for almost $2,000 more than it was when I purchased it, OHHHH that must be because it now has a new transmission.

March 21, 2018

Dealership Rating

Excellent experience and happy with purchase Was not planning on actually buying a car that day, but was so impressed with the Toyota Highlander and the staff at Summit Toyota, that we drove away More

by Yanar711
\
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Dan Schrier

March 03, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Easiest car buying process ever! My experience was phenomenal to say the least. My saleswoman was Shannon Swinehart. The whole process from finding the right car for me through the fi More

by Jcampbe6
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Shannon Swinhehart

April 05, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Highly recommend I would buy here again. The personal service has been excellent. I worked directly with Dan and highly recommend him. Bob was great and took the time More

by MomofTwins
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Bob Watterson

April 05, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Best Experience Ever! Everyone I encountered at this dealership was extremely helpful and went above and beyond with their assistance. It was a stress-free, no haggle exper More

by Justin_Carmody
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Bob Watterson

1
1 - 10 of 15 results

Dealership Inventory (121 Vehicles)

new 2023 Toyota Tacoma car, priced at $41,617
2023 Toyota Tacoma
new
01g3gray exterior
Automatic
4WD
new 2022 Toyota RAV4 Prime car, priced at $49,376
2022 Toyota RAV4 Prime
new
02qzgray exterior
Variable
AWD
new 2023 Toyota RAV4 car, priced at $34,194
2023 Toyota RAV4
new
0089white exterior
Automatic
FWD
new 2023 Toyota GR86 car, priced at $31,664
2023 Toyota GR86
new
Neptune exterior
Manual
RWD
new 2023 Toyota Corolla car, priced at $24,273
2023 Toyota Corolla
new
0218black exterior
Variable
FWD
used 2016 Toyota RAV4 car, priced at $15,995
2016 Toyota RAV4
used
Hot Lava exterior
Automatic
AWD