Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Joanna McCarthy.
Joanna McCarthy
Joanna McCarthy at BMW of Silver Spring
Refer Me
4.8

Joanna McCarthy

General Sales Manager

BMW of Silver Spring

3211 Automobile Boulevard
Silver Spring, MD 20904

Contact Me

Dealership Experience

14 yrs, 2 mos

Languages Spoken

English English

Call
Email

75 Reviews of Joanna McCarthy

March 06, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Pleased with the professionalism of everyone. This is the..."

- jerrysimpson

Pleased with the professionalism of everyone. This is the fourth BMW we have owned. We are anxious to continue working with your dealership. Thanks again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 08, 2021

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. If you have any further questions, please give us a call. We're always happy to help!

March 06, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I enjoyed a favorable experience due to Aaron Cranston...."

- mbries

I enjoyed a favorable experience due to Aaron Cranston. He was not only HELPFUL but he was professional, kind, polite and warm. I left with a comfortable and exciting feeling about purchasing my new vehicle. I will highly recommend both the dealership and the sales team including Aaron!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Aaron Cranston , Steve Gluck

Mar 08, 2021

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Thank you so much for your positive comments about BMW of Silver Spring! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if there's anything more we can do!

February 18, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"To whom it may concern:You are flat out not going to..."

- mlerner

To whom it may concern: You are flat out not going to believe this. Just to review: • You found us a car and made a deal. This particular car fit most of our parameters. • We posted a deposit • You sold that car to somebody else. An honest albeit embarrassing explanation was given to me by the Manager taking 100% responsibility for your actions. Never called it an honest mistake. He made it clear that one of his employees went against their procedures and sold the car that was listed as sold. I fielded a phone call Andre our sales person trying to make it right offering what was likely a deal slightly in our favor on another more valuable car. • Paid for this new vehicle in full and arranged pick up last night at 6:00 PM. • I made it clear to Andre (he is new and not seasoned, so, he gets a pass) that I was not comfortable coming inside during the pandemic. He said his finance guys insisted I come in sign. • We arrived slightly after 6:00 PM yesterday evening. • 6:45 passed and we were still socially distanced in two chairs in the corner of the show room. Many of your employees were not properly masked. The reception desk had a gaggle of 2,3, sometimes 4 people sitting in a circle not properly masked and definitely not socially distanced. • Poor Andre was standing in a corner watching us. • I announced probably far too loudly he had 5 more minutes to "Get us the xxxx out of here". • We left never having seen anybody that could consummate the deal. • I called and sat on hold after being told the “Finance Manager” was not available. • This xxxxxxx picked up the phone and was not only unapologetic, but arrogant. • He took a verbal broadside of F-Bombs from Ilene making it clear she was disappointed. (I love my wife) • He then suggested a refund would not come till the end of next week. • I told him that was not OK. I said I would like the check written today and overnighted for AM delivery tomorrow so I could go buy another car without manipulating more money. • He made it clear that was not possible, and, basically tough xxxx. • I then suggested I was going to call Jimmy Gordon and tell this whole story. (I think Jimmy runs your Audi Store) • We hung up • Phone rang moments later with an apologetic finance manager. • We shall see. Lesson #1. Don’t xxxx off somebody on a snow day when they may have some time on their hands. Mile One Mission Statement: At MileOne we believe that being good is not good enough. Our sales, service, parts and body shop experience is best in class. In fact, we will exceed your expectations. The experience should be efficient and enjoyable. We work harder to expedite the process by putting the customer in control. Not quite….. I am drafting a note to your board of directors. Usually I can figure out their home addresses and send the letters to their homes. Usually I find all kind of good stuff to quote from your website, social media, etc. in the letter. I don’t have to be to creative. The list of CC’s is far greater than the body of the letter usually. I get personal information off linked in and company websites. I hand address the envelopes to the board of directors. At least one usually gets opened and acted upon. (yes, this is SOP when I’m treated poorly. I learned from the absolute best! A client of mine, thank goodness he was never angry at me) I then send the letters to the corporate officer, managers, janitors, etc. I will send those individual letters to the corporate offices. Takes a few days before I get a phone call usually. I will post the letter on social media, yelp, etc. Herb Gordan (of blessed memory) would be very upset. ML

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Feb 26, 2021

mlerner responded

Ilene and I were talking about our experience that evening. I contend our sales person Andre did his job. He held his ground nicely on the price because he knew he could. Asked for a deposit and got it. That car was sold to another customer. He found another car in stock and tried to sell it to us. Andre made an outgoing phone call to sell a car. Very difficult to do. He sold it to us mostly because of a price concession, and the fact that he took time to build rapport for the first sale. This there had to be a price concession or we would not have done it. Then, the finance team did not take his request seriously. I know he told them we were coming in at 6:00. Had it been a senior sales person requesting a touchless purchase at 6:00 , My guess is, the finance folks would have made that happen. Again, had a senior sales person have sold the first car, it would not have been sold out from under him. Had a senior sales person suggested a client was coming in for a touchless purchase, that too would have happened. I blame management and finance. Just my opinion. Anger is gone.... Deleting review as I know this was an not your normal order of business. Just for laughs as Jimmy might laugh. We did purchase another X4. Paid in full. This time we got it all the way home only to figure out the IDRIVE was on the fritz. It has been in service at the dealer ever since. Maybe this purchase was just cursed! I changed my mind. Probably our fault!

Feb 26, 2021

BMW of Silver Spring responded

mlerner, Thank you for taking the time to speak with Mr. Gordon about your experience at our dealership. We greatly apologize for the multitude of errors regarding vehicle selection, finance delays and client follow up. Communication, efficiency and safety are three of the core principles we operate our business by, and it seems as if all of them fell short in your recent interaction with our team members. While we understand that we may have lost you as client, we will use this as a teaching experience to further coach our teams on the importance of the MileOne mission statement and the unfortunate repercussions when not followed properly. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and hope that in the future, we will have another opportunity to provide a truly first class experience to you at one of our other dealerships.

January 25, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Joanna McCarthy is truly a pleasure to work with.I..."

- bob1952

Joanna McCarthy is truly a pleasure to work with. I recently took delivery of a new BMW at the Silver Spring dealership. It quickly became apparent that the winter wheel/tire combinations on my trade-in would not fit the new car, despite my being assured that it would. Since this was January, I needed four new winter wheel/tire combinations – a not inexpensive proposition – fairly quickly. I met Joanna McCarthy that day. From the outset, she made clear that she and the dealership would work with me to rectify the situation. Over the next few days, Joanna reached out to fellow dealerships, to BMW corporate and others to secure the needed materials and at a much better price than I expected. Joanna is a pleasure to work with. She does the Silver Spring dealership and BMW proud.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 26, 2021

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Hi, we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at BMW of Silver Spring. If you have any additional needs or questions, we will be more than happy to assist you! Safe travels!

December 31, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I was very impressed with the sales, customer service,..."

- YELENA

I was very impressed with the sales, customer service, and staff in BMW of Silver Spring. Karen Herbert, my advisor, worked with my schedule, was very professional and knowledgeable. She gave great care in seeing that I am happy with the selection and the price. Karen ensured that this was a very smooth process for me from beginning to end. Also, I would like to mention other team members - Joanna, Pedro, and Matt, who helped with providing an excellent experience. I would highly recommend this dealership to anyone who wants both to buy a quality vehicle and experience exceptional service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 06, 2021

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Hi Yelena, thank you for your feedback. We're thrilled you found our team knowledgeable and the whole experience pleasant and easy. Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

December 22, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We worked with Joanna McCarthy and David Strassman from..."

- amy.midy

We worked with Joanna McCarthy and David Strassman from BMW of Silver Spring, and we had a fantastic experience. White glove treatment throughout the entire process. The whole team was extremely responsive and went out of their way to keep us informed and satisfied. They were never overbearing or pushy, and we felt very comfortable with our buying decision. If you are in the market for a BMW, we would recommend that you work with Joanna and David and purchase from this dealership!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Dave Strassman, Iso Ebong

Dec 23, 2020

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Amy, in order to deliver the best experience possible, we try to set high expectations for ourselves. We're so glad to receive your positive review. If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

November 23, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Lonnie Overby is the best. My wife and I have purchased..."

- Kwk

Lonnie Overby is the best. My wife and I have purchased several cars from BMW of Silver Spring - every time Lonnie was our guy. Do not go anywhere else for your ultimate driving machine.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Lonnie Overby

Nov 24, 2020

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Hello, thank you so much for your feedback! Our team will be very happy to hear about your kind words and five star rating! Thanks for the recommendation! We hope you continue to choose us for all your automotive needs! Take care!

October 28, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Thank you Karen! I have been going to BMW of Silver..."

- rachaelhwkns

Thank you Karen! I have been going to BMW of Silver Spring for a few years to service my vehicle (purchased from out of state). Everyone has always been very pleasant and professional. I just switched my dealership as a result and purchased my new car from this location! KAREN HERBERT (Client Advisor) was so amazing!! She was patient with me throughout the process, personable, professional, VERY helpful, and Down to Earth!. She answered my questions. I NEVER felt pressured. She made me feel comfortable and appreciated as a customer. THANK YOU to the entire TEAM! #lovemyredBMW

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Nov 05, 2020

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Rachael, thank you for your feedback. We're thrilled you found our team knowledgeable and the whole experience pleasant and easy. We strive to deliver a great experience to all of our valued customers. Reviews like yours help us to continually improve. Safe travels!

September 05, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I would like to express my deep appreciation to Mr. Iso..."

- Christina Campbell

I would like to express my deep appreciation to Mr. Iso Ebong, Ms. Joanna McCarthy, and Ms. Karen Herbert for the experience that I had at the BMW of Silver Spring, MD. I was interested in model BMW X5. I loved my vehicle, I bought it, and will enjoy it for many years. I am very much thankful to these three professionals, who worked with me, who helped me, and made me really happy throughout the entire process of buying my X5. I felt very respected, appreciated, and sincerely taken care of. Thank you very much. I would strongly recommend to everyone who is interested in buying BMW, to visit BMW of Silver Spring. The experience that I received at this dealership was far surpassing. Christina Campbell Great Falls, VA

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Karen Herbert, Iso Ebong

Sep 09, 2020

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Christina, thanks for your great review, and for giving our dealership such a high star rating! If you have any additional needs or questions, we will be more than happy to assist you! Safe travels!

August 04, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Bought a 330i from Gen. He gave me excellent service! He..."

- demetrickw51

Bought a 330i from Gen. He gave me excellent service! He was very knowledgeable and was not pushy at all. Go see him if you want a BMW!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Gen Awanohara

Aug 05, 2020

BMW of Silver Spring responded

Hi, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at BMW of Silver Spring! We strive to deliver a great experience to all of our valued customers. Reviews like yours help us to continually improve.

1
...
1 - 10 of 75 results

Dealership Inventory (322 Vehicles)

used 2020 BMW 3-Series car, priced at $40,029

2020 BMW 3-Series

$40,029

used 2020 BMW 3-Series car, priced at $49,795

2020 BMW 3-Series

$49,795

used 2020 BMW 2-Series car, priced at $37,195

2020 BMW 2-Series

$37,195

used 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $46,728

2021 BMW X3

$46,728

used 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $41,488

2021 BMW X3

$41,488

used 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $44,395

2021 BMW X3

$44,395