Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Derek Cogdill.
Derek Cogdill
Derek Cogdill at BMW and Mazda of Crystal Lake
Refer Me
5.0

Derek Cogdill

Service Manager

BMW and Mazda of Crystal Lake

360 S Illinois Rte 31
Crystal Lake, IL 60012

Contact Me

Born and raised in Crystal Lake, currently raising my family here. Passionate about the area and everything we have to offer!

Dealership Experience

8 yrs, 7 mos

Industry Experience

14 yrs, 3 mos

Specialties & Trainings

BMW

Mazda

Call
Email

8 Reviews of Derek Cogdill

December 10, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We were extremely pleased with our car purchasing..."

- Don Roulo

We were extremely pleased with our car purchasing experience. Bob Miller, our client advisor, was terrific to work with, as was the management and business staff. We would certainly recommend Anderson to others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Bob Miller, Rich Spears, Jim Ballard

June 18, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Best service and staff within 100 mile radius of Crystal Lak"

- Al c.

My first time visiting Crystal Lake Bmw was amazing!!!!! ---------I recommend them to anyone with a BMW even if you're 100 miles away. -------- Their customer service from walking all the way to getting my car serviced was top-notch....... I was greeted by Michelle Who is in sales and I recommend her to anyone looking for a BMW or Mazda or any other car she has a great resources for any car brand and can find you the best deals around. Then sat with Heather who is a BMW genius walk me through my car and taught me things that I didn't even know it did and she was determined to make sure that every question was handled correctly. her expertise ,knowledge and passion for Bmw's got me even more excited for my new car. For my 1200 mile check up the service department welcomed and greeted me with the feeling that I was Dwayne Johnson walking in. Thank you Derek!!!! Thank you for the amazing coffee and warm cookies great touch. All-around great experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

May 26, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"No pressure and very attentive"

- TC

James, Tyler and Derrick came together as a great team to help us with our purchase. They addressed any needs and concerns. The sales process was flawless and expedient.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rich Spears, James Orton, Tyler McMillin

May 09, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

" 2019 X5 "

- Robert

Michelle and Tyler both assisted us with the sale, the dealership from top to bottom goes above and beyond to assure you are pleased with your purchase. I absolutely am in love with my new ride and the customer service from washes, to service needs, and management was exceptional Thank you all to who aided in our new purchase and assuring our new car was perfect!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Dan Brzozowski, Michelle Canova, Rob Jacobus , Tyler

May 09, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Small Town Feel"

- Mike Kouvelis

I recently bought a 535i at Anderson and had a smooth, enjoyable experience. James Orton and Eric Pedersen took the time to show me my options and made me comfortable with what I consider to be a stressful process. Rich Spears handled the financial end of it quickly and covered every aspect; he’s a pro. I’ve serviced at Anderson for a long time so I was familiar with Derek Cogdill, very capable, always pays attention to any concerns. Overall, Anderson is like a dealership you might find a couple of hundred miles out from the big city, friendly and committed to small town ethics.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rich Spears, James Orton, TIm Conlon, Eric Pedersen

February 19, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Better customer servyce"

- Cmazz

Car never gets washed. Other dealerships do free car washes without having to ask. No one ever greets when pulling the car into the garage. Car is always out of place in terms of settings and always has smudges all over the steering wheel.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Rob Jacobus, Katie Spencer

Feb 19, 2019

BMW and Mazda of Crystal Lake responded

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment! Please reach out to Dan or Derek at 815-455-4330 and let them know when you've been in for service so we can address these issues with the correct person.

January 19, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Customer Setvice is a JOKE"

- Mazada Experience-what a joke

Well I wish I could say that the 5th time was the charm but that’s not the case!!!! I don’t understand how the Regional Manager (Dan) can acknowledge and agree that there are safety issues with my vehicle and still nothing is done. Wait, check that - there is something done - they put you right back into the vehicle! Then when they have the chance to do what’s right to make things right they are too interested in money to take care of the customer. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A JOKE!!!! STAY AWAY from this dealership and from Mazda vehicles in general!! After having my vehicle in 4 times for THE SAME ISSUE they kept it for 13 days. During this time they asked to drive it to see if they could duplicate the problem- even though we had provided pictures of the issues. We agreed to this but boy were we shocked. 347 miles put on my car!!!!!! When was it in the shop!!!! As if that wasn’t bad enough, when we picked it up it had less the a quarter tank of gas!!! When I asked about gas I was told “the service manager will have to approve that”. To top it off we were asked to purchase an additional piece of software to “hopefully fix the issue” when the car is still under warranty! The person that we spoke to in the service is rude and is of the opinion that women don’t know anything about electronics or cars. When we called to report our unhappiness with the service it was a big “oh well” from our sales person all the way up to the dealership manager. They did say “when you’re back in the area we’ll give you a tank of gas” - really??? Stay away from this dealership and from their service department.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: James Orton, Rob Jacobus

Feb 15, 2019

BMW and Mazda of Crystal Lake responded

We're sorry that you're disappointed with your vehicle. We have done everything possible, including bringing in service representatives directly from Mazda to look at your vehicle on two different occasions and they also came to the same conclusion as our technicians. You did receive a refund for your apple car play and reimbursement for your gas, we felt that was just the right thing to do. Our replacement offer still stands if you decide to upgrade to the newer model that we discussed, just let us know.

September 07, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Car Buying !"

- Ric

I just bought my second car from Bob Miller! Can't say enough good things about my experience buying from Bob, Sales manager Fabian, and everyone at this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Bob Miller, Heather Lublink, Rich Spears, Derek Gruendemann, Michelle Canova, Fabian Brooks

1
1 - 8 of 8 results

Dealership Inventory (148 Vehicles)

new 2021 BMW X1 car, priced at $39,495

2021 BMW X1

$39,495

new 2021 BMW 3-Series car, priced at $52,970

2021 BMW 3-Series

$52,970

new 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $64,320

2021 BMW X3

$64,320

new 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $54,945

2021 BMW X3

$54,945

new 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $52,820

2021 BMW X3

$52,820

new 2021 BMW X3 car, priced at $54,285

2021 BMW X3

$54,285