John Chaber
John Chaber at Brewster Subaru
Refer Me

John Chaber

Service Manager

Brewster Subaru

1021 NY-22
Brewster, NY 10509

Contact Me
4.8
39 Reviews

I was born and raised in Danbury. I have been married to my lovely wife Amy for over 22 years and we currently live in Brookfield with our son. When not at work, I enjoy traveling, working out and playing basketball with my son. We also love to try new restaurants and enjoy eating various international cuisines. Shortly after graduating from Western CT State University in 2003, I began my career in the car business. Today, I am a certified Subaru Service Manager and pride myself in treating each and every customer as if they were a member of my family.

Dealership Experience

9 yrs, 5 mos

Industry Experience

22 yrs, 3 mos

Languages Spoken

English English

4.8

39 Reviews

Write a Review

39 Reviews of John Chaber

July 05, 2024

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

My suggestion: Run, do not walk to Brewster Subaru. I was a 10+ year dedicated customer with a competitive Subaru dealership. After a few disappointing experiences with THAT dealership I was on the hun More

by Just the Facts
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nelson DeMelo, Rich Johnson, Andre Reid , Angela

Jul 08, 2024

Brewster Subaru responded

Hi! Thank you for sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that our team at Brewster Subaru provided the professionalism and no-pressure environment you were looking for. Enjoy your new 2024 Subaru Legacy, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

November 21, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Ok, here's the scoop- have owned 7 Subarus, the last 6 from Brewster Subaru. GREAT dealership. From parts to service to sales to general management, everyone is knowledgeable, truthful, and reliable. C More

by Pamela P
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Nov 22, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Pamela, we're over the moon to know you've had such great experiences with us at Brewster Subaru! We appreciate your loyalty and can't wait for you to see our new location. Andre will be ready when it's time for Subaru number 8!

Nov 22, 2023

Pamela P responded

Indeed!

July 12, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

the salesperson was honest and knowledgeable and helped find the car we wanted and ordered it for us , this is our second purchase, the service people are the best . More

by xfinity
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jul 13, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

We're over the moon to hear about your positive experience! It's fantastic that our team could help find just the car you were looking for. Thank you so much for coming back to Brewster Subaru and sharing this awesome review with us! - Brewster Subaru

July 06, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Rich was a pleasure to do business with. He answered all of my questions and gave me multiple options to consider. Highly recommend. More

by cathcart27
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rich Johnson, Mitchel Pollak

Jul 07, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for the kind words! We're glad that Rich could provide you with excellent service. We appreciate you recommending Brewster Subaru! Drive safely, and we hope to see you again.

June 05, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Great dealership! The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and they care about your happiness with your purchase. The GM Nelson Demelo runs a very honest dealership & More

by Mark
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 07, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Mark, We're so happy Nelson and the team ensured a five-star experience for you at Brewster Subaru! We hope you come to visit us again soon! Thank you!

April 26, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Professional and help and everyone you run into is so friendly, so happy with them More

by marianken202
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 28, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for the kind comments about our team here at Brewster Subaru! We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you again in the future. Take care!

April 12, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Excellent staff . Rich was personable he made the whole experience painless and smooth. He has the gift for putting the customer at ease. He explained every part of th More

by Yvonnegordon4545
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 13, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate you trusting the Brewster Subaru team with your business and can't wait to pass along these kind comments to Rich, Roy & Greg. Enjoy your vehicle and please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of service again in the future!

April 11, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

All the people I had the pleasure to do business with were very nice and very friendly. They answered all my questions and worked with me to get me the car that I needed without pressuring me to buy or m More

by jesusparada83
Sales Price Transparency
Trade-in Experience
Purchase Time
Finance Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 13, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Jesus, we are thrilled to see your awesome review and appreciate the five stars! We're glad our team assisted in finding the perfect car without any pressure. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you! - Brewster Subaru

March 27, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

I have been using this dealer since 2000. It has changed owners since then but the service has gotten better over the years. We just acquired our 4th Subaru from them. No high pressure sales. More

by sjgallo
Sales Price Transparency
Purchase Time
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Mar 29, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Thank you for trusting the Brewster Subaru team with your loyal business! We appreciate your continued support over the years and hope you enjoy your newest vehicle. Please don't hesitate to reach out the next time we can be of service!

January 30, 2023

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

Deceptive up selling by the service dept. I was told my brakes were in need of immediate attention , 1mm left in the rear and 2mm in the front. Yes they sent 2 pics but after seeing my ac More

by Donna
Service Price Transparency
Service Time
Service Communication
Recommend Dealer
No
Feb 06, 2023

Donna responded

UPDATE: I believe these reviews are important (positive and negative) and I want to be fair. Nelson Demelo (General Manager) and I spoke and we both agree on what we feel happened. The conversation ended on a positive note for the dealership but the jury is out on the service dept as I’m not sure yet.

Feb 06, 2023

Brewster Subaru responded

Hello Donna, I appreciate you taking my call and having a nice conversation with me. I have a great crew here and I am thankful for that. I know we make mistakes, but we own them. We learn from them. It's important to realize when we make mistakes and it's just as important on how we handle them. I hope you give us a chance to make it up to you and restore your trust in us. Thanks again for taking my call. My best, Nelson De Melo General Manager Brewster Subaru 845-278-8300

1
...

Dealership Inventory (235 Vehicles)

used 2023 Subaru Forester car, priced at $26,376
2023 Subaru Forester
used
Crystal White Pearl exterior
Automatic
All-wheel Drive
used 2017 Hyundai Elantra car, priced at $12,946
2017 Hyundai Elantra
used
Electric Blue exterior
Automatic
Front-wheel Drive
used 2018 Jeep Compass car, priced at $17,257
2018 Jeep Compass
used
Diamond Black Crystal Pearlcoat - PXJ exterior
Automatic
Four-wheel Drive
used 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek car, priced at $8,856
2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek
used
Dark Gray Metallic - DGM exterior
Automatic
All-wheel Drive
new 2025 Subaru Outback car, priced at $40,142
2025 Subaru Outback
new
Crimson Red Pearl exterior
Automatic
All-wheel Drive
new 2025 Subaru Forester car, priced at $34,163
2025 Subaru Forester
new
Crystal Black Silica exterior
Automatic
All-wheel Drive