Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Ide Honda

Rochester, NY

4.9
1,189 Reviews
Ide Honda is a family owned and operated Honda Dealership in Penfield, NY. It all started in 1970, when Dick Ide opened his first dealership in Fairport, NY. In 1973 he added the Honda franchise. A few years later, in 1977, he moved both dealerships to Panorama Trail. In 1984, Dick's oldest son, Mitch Ide, opened Mitch Ide's Ideal Chevy-Olds-Geo in Geneseo, NY. Along with his wife, Anne, they ran the dealership until selling it in 2000. In 2007 Mitch took on responsibility for the Honda dealership from his father and has been involved in daily operations. When we say family owned and operated, we mean it. Mitch is the owner, Anne is the CFO, their son, Rich is the VP. We know that buying a car is a big decision. And we want to make it as easy as possible for you. The Ide Family has a simple business philosophy, "Be Fair, And Be Honest." So come visit us in Penfield, you're going to get a great deal and have a great experience. We'd love to earn your business!

875 Panorama Trail S.

Rochester, NY

14625

Directions

By Type

Showing 1,189 reviews

February 02, 2011

"I have had a nightmare of an experience with DickIde. I..."

- Tl1113

I have had a nightmare of an experience with DickIde. I leased a 2011 Honda Accord and the car has been the most unreliable car I have ever owned. The car blew a fuse the first week I had it. The second week the car would not start. The battery was than replaced with a brand new one. I went to start the car after leaving work and it was dead again. I had a 2008 Accord that I leased for three years. The new 2011 Accord has already been in the shop more times than the 2008. Not good DickIde.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service
January 13, 2011

"My experience was by far one of the best car experiences..."

- amandadevito

My experience was by far one of the best car experiences ever. I'm extremely busy and I had to get rid of my "other" lease asap. I called up and gave them 5 parameters of what I needed. I said I will be there at this time...I showed up, and a car was there waiting all warmed up! They are the consummate professionals and it was such a pleasure doing business with them. Frankly, it was during the holidays and everything was overwhelming, except dealing with DickIde. Amanda

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Adam Weil
December 02, 2010

"In the past I have worked with different agents at Dick..."

- Julie Renica

In the past I have worked with different agents at Dick Ide Service and have not always been happy with the customer service. But every time I've worked with Jim Milella I have been very pleased. Now I only ask for Jim and only wish to work with him. He is very knowledgeable, reasonable and fair. He takes time to explain my car issues with me and works with me on the price - which is extremely important to me. He also always stays in contact with me and returns my calls promptly. He keeps me informed in a very friendly manner. I appreciate the recent experience I had with Jim (between Dec 1-2) and thank him for his service. I have only had my van back for the evening but the slider door and the power steering fix seem to be working great. Julie Renica

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Jim Milella
November 23, 2010

"I would like to express my gratitude with the quality of..."

- yosef

I would like to express my gratitude with the quality of service and genuine character of your associates Ajia Cherry in conduct with customers. The environment of how you conduct business, by far attracts service-keened customers such as myself. I hope you continue to keep the bar of customer satisfaction high, drawing more and more customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ajia Cherry
November 19, 2010

"NEVER purchase a vehicle from this dealership. I was in..."

- ranimals

NEVER purchase a vehicle from this dealership. I was in the market for a new Honda Accord. Dick Ide Honda had the car (2010 Honda Accord EX) I wanted and quoted me $3000.00 over dealer's invoice during a phone call. I explained that I was aware of invoice price and would like to do business with them at a "fair and honest price" which is their motto on their television advertisements. They asked me to come in and take a look. When I came in less than 8 hours later they claimed they misquoted the price and added $1100.00 more! Now I am at $4100.00 over invoice and not much below MSRP. Because I am a woman? Because I dare knew the invoice price? Because I knew there were dealer incentives? Because Dick Ide Honda thought this was the make, model, year and color that I wanted I would willingly pay $4100.00 more? No--they claimed that it was because they installed mud guards, a moonroof and all season mats and wheel locks. Allow me to educate Dick Ide Honda--Honda Accord EX come with a moonroof. Mats, mud guards, and wheel locks DO NOT cost $1100.00 more! Shame on Dick Ide Honda for treating a potential new car buyer like this. What happened to "fair and honest" pricing? I bought the exact same make, model, year and color from Keenan Honda in Pennsylvania. I drove 5 hours to save nearly $4000.00 and dealt with a dealership that actually provided "fair and honest" pricing. I will gladly recommend Keenan Honda and inform everyone of my experience at Dick Ide Honda.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andy G, Mark Mcaffery, Roberto Gallente
November 03, 2010

"When I walked into the dealership I had no idea what my..."

- dmlover212000

When I walked into the dealership I had no idea what my credit was like and wasn't sure if I would be approved for a lease. I wanted to know if I would be accepted before I went for a test drive. I didn't want to get my hopes up and then find out I wouldn't be approved. I explained this to John and he agreed to go about the process the way I wanted to. So unlike every other pushy car salesmen I had encountered. He kept everything very professional but was also able to connect with me on a personal level by swapping stories with me about our favorite band! When it came time to sign all the papers and drive my new car off the lot we ran into a little problem. At first, it looked like I wasn't going to be able to, but John did whatever he could to make sure I got to leave with the car - on the same day I went in to see if I could get one! He commented to me that no one is able to leave the dealership with a new car the same day they walk in to buy it - but he was able to do that for me! The whole process - from when I first walked in the door to when I drove the car off the lot - was only a matter of hours. I appreciated that so much. I happened to run into John last night and he immediately recognized me and I commented to him about a problem I was having with my car and he told me to give him a call and he would try to help me out. Helping out a customer months after he completed his job is VERY commendable...and proves what a great salesmen he is! After my experience with Dick Ide, John and the Honda Corporation I have no desire to get any other brand of car from any other dealership. I'm sold on Dick Ide and Honda for life!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John F.
June 19, 2007

"HORRIBLE experience. First, I had to wait 7 weeks for my..."

- diana5879

HORRIBLE experience. First, I had to wait 7 weeks for my vehicle. In those 7 weeks, I visited other Honda dealerships who claimed they could get my vehicle in 1 week. Also, other dealerships were at least willing to negotiate price and accessories with me. Dick Ide would not even consider negotiating, and YELLED at me saying he is going to sell my vehicle to someone else. That's fine, I do not want to support a dealership with such rude and unprofessional customer service. Do NOT purchase from Dick Ide!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark, Bob
April 17, 2007

"I've never got an itemized receipt for a brand new 2007..."

- hurrgirl

I've never got an itemized receipt for a brand new 2007 Accord I purchased from them. When I called them and requested an itemized receipt I was told they will mail it to me next day. But they never did! I had to keep calling them and bugging them and 3 weeks after that it turned out that I was overcharged by $1186.92! I am currently waiting for that money to come and I didn't get an apology either! Don't buy a car from them. And if you do (or did) request an itemized receipt.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
January 27, 2005

"I had bought my Honda Prelude at another Local Dealership..."

- justins

I had bought my Honda Prelude at another Local Dealership but took my car here to have it serviced for the first time. I was sure i had a faulty Transmission after 64,000 miles. It was slippy and consequently the check engine light had come on.

They fit me in before the weekend and diagnosed it in less than 24 hours after i had dropped it off. They told me that my transmission was done and i needed a new one as the gear ratio had gone by the wayside and it was so longer catching when shifting. Also each and every shift had become harder and a longer delay.

Now this is why i will bring my car here for the rest of its life... He said that the warranty had expired which i knew, and that it was about a $4000 expense. However, i was not going to have to pay for any of it. He mentioned it being a unique circumstance with the prelude auto and that they would be able to push it through at NO COST to me.

So here i am ONLY a week later from the day i dropped it off with a new transmission for NO COST. No diagnostic and no labor costs. I bank on it that if i had taken it where i had bought the car i would be out $4000 right now and it wouldnt be done.

This was by far my best experience with any service department ever.

Thank you Dick IDE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rich Chacinski
...
119
1,181 - 1,189 of 1,189 results