About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Koby Import Auto Inc.

1431 East Interstate 65 Service Rd S, Mobile, Alabama 36606
Sales: (251) 478-5000

Makes: Subaru | Mitsubishi | Service Center
Average
44% Recommend
3.0

43 Lifetime Reviews

Koby Import Auto Inc.
1431 East Interstate 65 Service Rd S,
Mobile, Alabama 36606
Koby Import Auto Inc. Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Lee Volkswagen Subaru

48 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Anderson Subaru

108 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
43 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
USAF_Airman
2/12/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Service Manager Lied About Repairs"

My brand new 2015 WRX (purchased at Koby) started to make really bad rattling noises after 2 months of owning it. I thought it was a speaker crackling so I asked to have it replaced. Keith Skipper assured me the speaker was replaced. The same noise persisted and now a new noise was rattling in the door. I returned to Koby to have it fix. Keith told me everything had been fixed. Unfortunately for him, I spoke with the technician who worked on my vehicle. The technician told me the repairs weren't done and Keith had lied about the repairs. When I asked Keith about the repairs, he told me it should not matter which speaker in the car was replaced, I got a new a speaker out of the deal. But it was the wrong speaker! And Keith lied about what they did to fix the other rattling! Keith then gave me his business card to ensure I spelled his name right in the complaint and told me good luck in getting him fired. Horrible treatment and experience and very concerning for the others he has lied to about repairs. And my car still rattles. I wish I had went somewhere else.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Keith Skipper

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Subaru
10/21/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Don't waste your time at the dealership "

Daniel sold me a used car for an agreed price, then changed his mind. After much time he could not live with what he quoted . Shop else where.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Daniel

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Torrey919
10/11/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Fantastic Service and Friendly Staff"

My family and I recently purchased a new 2015 Mitsubishi Lancer at this dealership. The process was extremely easy thanks to the helpful staff. They were very kind and patient as we worked out the details on the purchase, even staying a little after hours to make sure everything was in order (and for me to debate between two different car colors.) The dealership itself was very tidy and clean with an air of professionalism. Their website was also easy to navigate to locate specific information about the cars I was interested in, and when I made an inquiry about one of the cars, one of the staff members promptly responded to me in an email with more info. Overall, I'd say this was one of the best experiences my family and I have had with a car dealership. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone else looking for a quality Subaru or Mitsubishi vehicle.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Derrick Pickens, Mary Barras

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
desi6boom
8/31/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Overall a great experience"

Adrian was very helpful, personable and quick with getting me in the car I picked out for myself. I was a little disappointed that there was no owner's manual and that it wasn't offered as something the dealership would obtain for me since I expressed that I obviously really wanted one. The only thing offered was for me to go to a link and print out 60+ pages or to buy one from eBay for like $40. Although I can go online and print it, it's nice having the actual manual in your vehicle, especially since I bought a luxury vehicle with a lot of electronics. My other disappointment was that my car wasn't clean. I mentioned this during the test drive, and upon purchasing, Adrian had me sign a paper stating they owed me a detail. He said it would come in the mail with my paperwork. The paper was not included in the documents I got in the mail.. Although someone did a quick clean while I was signing my paperwork, the car needed a lot more attention to detail and less smudge/smear marks, so I deserved that free detail since I just dropped $25k with them. Other than those 2 things, the process of getting me into the car I wanted was very quick and not overwhelming at all. I would recommend Koby to others but would tell them to ensure their vehicle is flawless upon leaving or to get the free detail before driving off.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Adrian Koby

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
unimpressed
8/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Mr. Kolby stated we should have bought a better model. "

We bought a used Mercedes from Koby ; it required $500-$1000 monthly repairs. The service staff was helpful with each visit. When we spoke with Mr. Koby about the continual expense or repair, he stated,"You should have bought a better model." We were shocked at his response and never went back.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mr. Koby

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
pkbeach
7/27/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Sold my daughter a salvage title and claimed NOT to know!"

My daughter bought a car from Derrick at Koby. Everything was great and then we received a call from Derrick claiming he didn't know the car had a salvage title when he sold it to us. They agreed to let her get a different car or to reduce the price of the car. After talking with her she decided to keep the car she had and take a 500.00 reduction on the car. Koby sent the paperwork to Florida so we could register the car. After 4 attempts and Koby's repeatedly sending the paperwork to the WRONG place in Florida we finally decided to title the car in Alabama where she attends college. Alabama registered the car and you would think that would be the end of this story BUT..Derrick now avoids our calls. He has been supposed to get us a headrest for the vehicle that is missing and it's been 5 months but NO headrest and now he won't even return our calls. Also the difference of about 300.00 in the TTL fees have never been credited to my daughter's loan balance. BUYER BEWARE!! UPDATE...I have since talked to Derrick who claimed that the headrest was on backorder and that I would need to talk to David in Accounting. Apparently Derrick thinks I'm an idiot without Google! I left a message for David to call me and to my surprise he called me within 5 minutes! I wish I had known his name from the beginning!!!! I had searched Google and found the headrest and when I talked to David I expressed my EXTREME disappointment in Derrick! He apologized told me he would take care of the tax money and then told me he would check on the headrest. He had Scott call me back. I emailed the link to Scott for the headrest I had found and he ordered it, shipped it to my daughter and sent me the confirmation of the order! IF ONLY I HAD KNOWN TO ASK FOR DAVID AND SCOTT FROM THE BEGINNING!!!!! I'm updating my customer service rating and my friendliness rating from 1 star to 4 based on David and Scott's help! DO NOT DEAL WITH DERRICK!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Derrick P, Craig, Jerrick, Scott, David

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Mountainbikeguy27
6/25/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great!"

Everything went great, all the sales representives were very nice an very patient with me. An the car is awesome it has all the needs that I need an then some. Thanks a bunch, y'all are the best.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Derrick Pickens

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
bsbeach
3/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Don't buy used car without double checking your car fax"

Koby Subaru is perhaps the best experience I could have hoped for in receiving my first car. I found the car online and contacted the dealership. I received an email shortly the next day. Derrick spoke with my grandmother and made sure to help her understand the car's condition. My grandmother lived outside of AL, so she really had to trust Derrick. I was in another state when this was all taking place. Derrick made every effort to make the car ready when I came back, and spoke with various members of my family. When I called, Derrick informed me the car was ready and I could pick up later in the day. When I was at the dealership, I met Jerrick. Jerrick was a great help and took care of me until Derrick came. I met Derrick shortly after, and he was incredibly helpful and so nice. He answered all questions and my grandmother was very much apart of our conversations. He cleaned the car, replaced the various areas of concern before I picked the car up. In the end, I am glad I purchased a car from Koby, and I would do so again if I decided to ever trade. I am so glad to have a dealership that cares about me. I wasn't some number to them, I was a college kid getting their first car. Thanks Koby Subaru!! Update: I found out my car was salvaged and the title was cleared. It was a mess and I opted to keep the car as I was told this was not really a big deal. Next time, I will definitely ask more questions but I got money off of the car however that has not been applied yet, but it is a work in progress. It's been over 3 months though. I, also, got my car serviced for an oil change and I told them I was having trouble starting my car. They tested the battery and it came back fine however I got the battery tested elsewhere and the battery was bad. I got a new battery somewhere else. I have also been waiting to receive my headrests and the book for my car for over 3 months. Luckily, we have had two men at the dealership, one named david and the other named scott help us with these final things that derrick was suppose to do but has not. They have definitely helped a lot more than anyone else there although Craig helped with the registering for my car tag. I am very disappointed in this dealership. It was a positive experience until I bought the car, and I had problem after problem, but thank you to david and the other employee. So, in the end, be aware of your cars problems. I would recommend this dealership for only ONE reason, the prices on used cars are really good, however be aware of Derrick and the staff (they may give you the run around; don't let it take you over 2 months for them to do something for you) and get your car fax and read it before you decide to take the car. Make sure they double check everything, including the title!! Derrick is a nice guy until you need something, after you have bought the car. Also, don't get your car serviced by them. I got my car serviced for an oil change and they didn't reset the computer so my engine light was on and where I got my car serviced informed me of this.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Derrick P., Craig, Jerrick, David, Scott

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Xbamapilot
12/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I have now bought 5 cars from Koby"

This is my fifth car from Koby and they finally got me into a brand new Outback and I can't understand what took me so long. As always, the buying experience was easy, painless and fun. I have never had a bad experience with the dealership or staff. No pressure, their products sell themself and the service has always been top drawer. The dealership is clean, the shop is clean and you will never find more courteous people. All my life I wanted to deal with a place like this for a car, and this is it. I bought my first car from them in 2008 and now I'm retired and I won't even consider going anywhere else. Put Koby at the top of your list and they also have a detailing business that does excellent work.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Craig V, Derrick P.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
fairhope
5/31/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great service & experience!"

We had a great experience at Koby Subaru! Mary and all of the people with whom we dealt were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. They were not pushy like a lot of car sales people. We told them what we wanted and they worked hard to find the car and price we laid forth. I even had to go back to get "training" on all of the digital items on the car. They gladly helped me. I would definitely recommend Koby to people looking to buy a new car. Look at a Subaru. They are a hidden gem! Jenny

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Mary Barras

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
1
...
1 - 10 of 43 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.