Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Dave Smith Motors

3.0

58 Lifetime Reviews

210 Division Street North, Kellogg, Idaho 83837 Directions
Call (800) 635-8000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

58 Reviews of Dave Smith Motors

Sort by Write a review
January 15, 2020

"avoid dave smith!!!!"

- Disappointing

My family and I will never have anything good to say about dave smith! Especially in Kellogg, ID. I started with a sales guy named Alan Melton who ended up sexually harassing me making me feel super uncomfortable and proceeded to yell at my fiance asking "if he was done talking because he wanted to talk to me". My fiance then jumped out of the moving truck and Alan kept driving with me in it to get me to a safe pull off and said he just wanted the best for me and the kids and get me the best vehicle. That was all bs we were there for 8 hours and saw 1 car! he was so pushy, rude, anxious and unprofessional. We ended up reporting him to Mo and then got set up with Houstan who we thought was a decent guy and basically threatened me in a text message. After purchasing the car they had a paper with I owe you's which they said would take a week to fix. Mind you I live about 2 plus hours away. They gave me a rental car and once the car was supposedly done they told me to meet him in spokane and we would switch cars. i show up with my two children both under 4 and there is no one to be found and no one has any idea why im there. So i call Houstan up and he says keys are at the front desk my car is here and leave my rental keys with someone there. i get my car and its completely empty and two out of three things they were supposed to fix in that week were not fixed. The major one being the windshield with a crack all the way down the driver side view. they ended up sending safelite to my house to fix that and my car was sent back to kellogg to fix the other issue not fixed. Again when the car was sent back after now dealing with Rick in GMC Service department they bring my car back and i mention why is the touch screen still not working and his reply was it was working when it left here! He told me when i asked can i bring it to dave smith here in spokane or do i have to go to idaho to get it fixed and he says to me don't go to spokane they don't know what they are doing they are nissan not gmc go to coure d lene. he also mentioned i have a great warranty and i can go to any GMC dealership in spokane as well. i mentioned i want it fixed and ill call cda dealership since they all are aware of whats going on. he told me to call him and let me know what i find out because hes curious on why it stopped working. this is absolute crap horrible customer service tells my fiance its out of his hands at this point and they are not putting anymore money into this car! Do not go to dave smith i warn you now. my brother has had nothing but problems and my cousin ever since we got our vehicles and they only care about a paycheck nothing else. i went to a restaurant down the street after i left the dealership in Kellogg and the girl also said she hears nothing but xxxx and they are awful not to deal with them. i have never written a bad review in my entire life! I feel so passionate on making sure everyone knows how inconsiderate, rude, scandalous and for such a big company and all they did was talk xxxx about all the other dave smiths they are affiliated with shows their character. DO NOT BUY FROM DAVE SMITH!!!! I will continue to say this and not one person out of 6-8 people i have dealt with have been pleasant at all.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mo Mowbray
Other Employees : Alan , Houstan, Rick , Jenny,
January 11, 2020

"We bought our beautiful2020 Chevrolet Tahoe with help..."

- Purpledennis

We bought our beautiful 2020 Chevrolet Tahoe with help from Dallas hoilman ... The journey started when I called DS to at first ask about Tahoe’s.. We ordered our beautiful ‘pearl ‘ with only a few specific requirements light color interior and the exterior color. No low profile tires or wheels bench seat second row One week after placing our custom order GM auto workers went out on strike. That 6 weeks of the strike was very frustrating for me hard to wait ... Dallas was so on it keeping us informed as to what and when. Finally in January we made the trip from our home in Astoria Oregon by train to pickup Tahoe. Happy day!! Dallas is a very personable young man very patient with us (me) and buying the vehicle from him was a great experience. He is a definite asset to Dave Smith motors Mrs c lindstrom

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dallas Hoilman
January 02, 2020

"Made a deal over the phone with a out the door price,..."

- BK

Made a deal over the phone with a out the door price, committed to buying the 55k truck. They took deposit and checked both me and my wife’s credit. Then at time to sign financing they upped the price 3500. Wouldn’t carry the first price we negotiated. Never again will I look at DSM as a reputable dealer. DONT DO IT!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dylan Patterson!!!!!!
December 31, 2019

"Snakes!!!"

- MadHuntress509

Avoid this dealership 100% on October 7, 2019 I purchased a 2011 chevrolet duramax and after several conversations including a phone call from a finance manager by the name of Tyler about how well put together this truck was and how it had 660 hp to rear and had a def delete which it doesnt only partial... Anyways I test drive truck runs good was told it was solid and went through a 125 point inspection LMA0 as the rear seat belts dont even match found put after got truck home... Got teuck home husband said he could smell coolant. So next nite Oct 8, 2019 checked under hood found coolant on resivore tank so with thinking it had a crack spent 80.00 for a new tank and replaced. DIDNT resolve issue. On Oct 28, 2019 I had lost 2 gallons of coolant on way to a clients house as I work in home health field. I took to local shop where he fixed a clamp hoping that was the issue but explained he thought it had lifted heads!!! GREAT!! We filled with coolant and by the 4 mike drive to my house lost all coolant. I took my truck to a disel shop to have it diagnosed in clayton at deer park diseal. Well the did the diagnosis test and true to the sign it had lifted heads... un-drivable, unoperational. I called and called left messages for DSM showed up in person still no resolve. I finally was given the name of Brian Hall to talk to what a disaster that was. Didnt get anywhere except over and over being told I was getting no help..Gets better they found that 6 out of 8 pistons are cracked and testing injectors found 4 out of 8 injectors bad I have pictures of pistons and injector test to proove my reasoning on saying yes fix it to DPD... To date I have turned to both WA and ID attorney gwnerals office and BBb as teyi g to get a civil and proper agreement from DSM to fix the truck I drove 3 times in 3 weeks of owning the Duramax. I traded in a very nice Laramie Long Horn edition for this truck which had been sold already when I found put this truck was junk.. Todays date writing this is Dec 31 2019 and truck bill is 17,465 and still tore apart as the cab has to come off these new trucks...my shop repair bill is getting close to what I owe on the truck.. They have given $5,000 tooth and nail to get that from them.. Myti million dollar company can write this off on their taxes as a loss yet they want a mother and home health worker swallow this bill and walk away with their hands clean. NOT HAPPENING... dont let them do this to you to...dont trust their 125 point inspection bull shi!... they say what needed to make a sale....I live in chewelah, wa and drive around in rural winter m ok tha to clients homea to provide a paycheck for my family i have lost time at work cause no 4x4 to drive in snow! I have endured their dishonest unethical sales department and staff... I have saved everything from the start and so should u and know u dont have to except this as they are just a business sue them!!! Every attorney or state agency I have talked to agrees they fraudulently sold a broken down truck and had to have had knowledge!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
BRIAN HALL, TYLER, SEBASTIAN, MARCUS, MO
October 14, 2019

"Bait and Switch Engage"

- firefighter2296

If you are considering a deal with Dave Smith Motors, I would caution you to avoid them at all costs. In 2006 I purchased a 3/4 ton Chevy Duramax from DSM and traded my relatively new 1/2 ton as part of the deal. Two weeks later they call and say they need the truck back because the financing wasn't approved. I told them to bring my truck back and get the new one. They told me my truck had been sold. Long story short, I visited first community credit union and had it financed at a better rate in an hour. September 2019- I am shopping for a new GMC Sierra 3500 HD long box crew cab diesel. DSM appeared to have the truck I was looking for (or so they said). I am contacted by a sales representative after an internet inquiry and told they have the exact truck I want. I ask for a window sticker and they send it. Fast forward to near the last day of September (about one week) and the sales rep tells me in order to lock down the price and get pictures I need to make a $500 refundable deposit. Honestly folks, this is where you should just walk away! I didn't walk away and gave them my card number because the price was right but still no pictures. I agree to let them see if they can beat the rate from my credit union (12-15 credit inquires) and they can't. Guess what, they ran so many credit checks it knocked us out of the tier 1 interest rate structure with our credit union so I agreed to let them finance at their best tier 1 rate (yea right). We make the deal and I arrange travel on October 3 for October 4. I have verified by email and text the truck is a crew cab long box 4x4 with a few other things. I am repeatedly assured it is. I finally get the long requested pictures of the truck the evening of October 3. The angles of the pictures did not clearly show the distance between the back of the cab and rear wheel so I asked again, "Is this a long box? I am once again assured it is. October 4 2019 arrives and I am all checked in for the evening flight, hotel room all confirmed, things are good until 8:16 AM when the sales rep calls and says "I have to tell you the truck is actually a short box." Imagine what I am thinking at this point! I tell the rather nice young lady "this is a problem and I need your manager to call me." Keep in mind this is the same manager who promised me two different times I would not get screwed by DSM again (2006) and this would be "No hassles and red carpet treatment! My flight is in 10 hours and they tell me they are gonna make it right. They immediately begin offering me 3/4 ton trucks that they will put air bags on and give me $400 for travel. All the trucks they offered up except one were $3000-$5000 more expensive and not within the approved loan limits. It's close to 1100 AM now (8 hours from flight) when I spend an hour on the phone trying to get refunded for the flight and hotel because this obviously isn't happening. I was successful after some effort to get fully refunded for the airfare and hotel. The back and forth with more expensive trucks and talk of them losing money (whatever) goes on into the night, when I finally say I want a refund. I get a one sentence email the next day which reads, "So it looks like you are no longer interested in buying here and are requesting a refund?" I reply, "Yes, I am requesting a full refund." Oh, did I forget to mention they told me I had to prepay the Oregon tax on the vehicle which I did. I quote their own deposit refund criteria which is not the truck promised, at the price promised, with the financing promised. The sales rep says she will process the refund request for the deposit but you have to deal with the State of Oregon to get your tax back. This is on October 5, 2019 and their communication with me went completely dark. October 14, 2019 and I still do not have my $500 deposit back and had to file paperwork with Oregon to get the tax back. I have been in the Oregon Fire Service for over 28 years and was using the GM First Responder Discount Program as part of the deal. They told me how much they honor first responders and respect what we do. I am here to warn all my fellow fire/ems and law enforcement brothers and sisters to stay away from Dave Smith Motors until they quit scamming people. Read reviews on their sales and financing tactics. I have actually found other dealers with better prices. I have written a letter to General Motors letting them know about my "No Hassle Dave Smith Experience #2" as well as copied RFJ Auto Partners (owns Dave Smith) and Dave Smith Motors. To date, I have yet to be contacted by the general manager.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Leeanne Schmidt (internet) Colleen Vinson (Manager)
October 09, 2019

"Bait and switch"

- Tomtana

Scam scam scam,I called on two Chevy trucks they had on special both sold of coarse one over a week ago! But of course they can get you a great deal on another vehicle. Not even close, specials were 16 k off other prices I was given for similar vehicles where only 9 k off. I've bought a couple vehicles there years ago had good experiences then but they've gotten to big and impersonal. Salesmanship attitude was well sucks to be you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jerome eaton
June 26, 2019

"Number 1 in customer service"

- Mike Davis & Richard Gagan (Buyer)

Best deal any where. Customer service couldn't be better. We stayed overnight and ate dinner on Dave Smith. The next day our veichle GMC 2500 Z 71 (FWD) was ready fueled and detailed. We also got $1,000 more than quoted for our trade in, bugs and all. Lol

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Not sure
June 08, 2019

"Chevy service"

- Bradkim

May 18 on vacation my 2016 Chevy Silverado broke down got it to Dave smith Chevy had to rent car to finish vacation got truck back june7 they had to wait fo r parts service department great people thank you Eva and Scott and every buddy else that works there D ave Smith you be proud of your people Brad Mildon Tacoma Washington

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eva scott
February 22, 2019

"GMC Canyon purchase in December of 2019"

- GMC Canyon buyer

The dealers sales person constantly lied to me about the vehicles location and the sales manager lied to me online and to my face. The vehicle I was told was on site and ready to process for pickup. In fact the vehicle was in the midwest. I had a 400+ mile drive to pick the vehicle up. I expected to pick it up in November when the roads were good. I ended up in mid December driving in less than good conditions. The original sales person in no longer working at Dave Smiths. Car dealers have a bad reputation and Dave Smith Motors makes it worse. I don't believe I will ever purchase another vehicle from Dave Smith Motors. Look around I could have made a slightly better deal in Boise Idaho and not had to deal with the folks at Dave Smiths. The only good thing was the person who is in charge of the add ons was great.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
neither the sales person or the sales manager is not listed.
January 07, 2019

"Purchase new Colorado zr2"

- Zrtwocrewcab

The salesman "sully" was very lost when it came to knowing about automobiles and made up alot of answers to my questions, he got me a good price about 1000 lower than anywhere else could touch, drove 800 miles to pick it up so of I had a chance to do this again I would ask for a different salesman

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sully
1
...
1 - 10 of 58 results