About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Dave Smith Motors

3.8

48 Lifetime Reviews

210 Division Street North, Kellogg, Idaho 83837 Directions
Sales: (800) 635-8000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

48 Reviews of Dave Smith Motors

Sort by Write a review
November 25, 2018

"Big Mistake"

- Sarge 1

As an equine rescue based in southern Utah, our ongoing duties prohibited us from making the journey to north Idaho to inspect the 2009 Ram Cummins we wished to purchase from Dave Smith Motors. As a condition of purchase, we were assured through phone and internet conversations that an intricate inspection would be conducted by their "crack" inspection team, and corrections would be made to anything found prior to shipment/delivery of the vehicle. Sadly, we proceeded with the purchase, and within 24 hrs of receipt of the vehicle we discovered multiple mechanical discrepancies. It was clear that either no inspection took place, or the dealership felt no compulsion to correct any of the easily discoverable issues, which included significant oil leaks among the myriad of irregularities. As a result, we were forced to have the vehicle inspected by our mechanic, forced to correct the multiple discrepancies ourselves, and forced to pay 50% of the approximately $5,000 in repairs for our troubles. The actions, or more correctly inactions, of Dave Smith Motors suggests to me that their loyalty is to $$$, buyer be damned. Fact is, the truck is at the shop as of this writing for a whole new set of electrical issues. Purchase at your own risk!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Hall
November 17, 2018

"Factory order Corvette purchase went flawless"

- Big Mike

I live in the Seattle / Tacoma area and contacted 7 Chevrolet dealerships around my area about factory ordering a 2019 Corvette. This is my 5th Vette and I wanted it “my” way. I got serious with 3 of them. One call to Dave Smith Motors and salesman Darrell Andrews brought in a price $3,500 less on a factory order, no trade in price, than Seattle / Tacoma area Chevy dealerships. I then took the offer back to all 7 and said that I was willing to give a home town discount off that price to deal locally but the price starting point had to be in the ball park of Dave Smith’s price. Everyone said that they would meet or beat any price until I brought them a legitimate price on a factory order and then it was crickets, I then went back to all a second time and said in 24 hours I am ordering a Vette from someone at this price or an adjusted price based on two airline tickets to Spokane. Only one dealership contacted me and they invited me to come in and meet the general manager to see how friendly they were and that they wanted to earn my business. I wrote back and said that I would be there in 45 minutes, or make an appointment, but their price had to be based on Dave Smith’s price. They thanked me and wished me well. I put down a $1,000 deposit and factory ordered from Dave Smith. They kept me in order process loop, car came in, they picked me up at the airport, the deal that I paid for was EXACTLY what they originally said it would be on the EXACT car I wanted! No one tried to bump the price on the car price we agreed on. They made no pressure offerings on the usual extended warranty type stuff but they had no issues when I declined. I drove the Vette back home and overall I could not be happier!!! I would do this again in a heartbeat. I read some of the bad reviews and I truly wonder if some of them are not from other dealers upset at Dave Smith pricing or what ever. They had zero reason to treat me differently from anyone else. From the start I told them that I’m a guy who says what he going to do and then I do exactly what I said. If they are a dealership who does the same then we will get along great. We both fulfilled our ends of the bargain.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Darrell Andrews
October 04, 2018

"Worst Experience Ever (Buyer Beware)"

- JMA69

I purchased a 2015 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel truck from sales associate Torin Ishler and have experienced the following from Dave Smith Motors and brought the vehicle California on 09-22-2018. 1. Was given a vehicle without the proper DMV tags when leaving the lot and the vehicle left Idaho illegally. 2. Was verbally told that a 120 point vehicle inspection had been performed, only have/find out the following drive that the check engine light came on during the drive and at this point has indicted that a Intake Heater Relay may be bad. As of now the truck has "run on" when the key/ignition is off. The pinyon seal was leaking and according to the local Dodge dealer had been for some time. The volume knob on the radio does not work correctly and the entire radio unit has to be replaced. There is no owners manual in the glove box for the truck. I never received a copy of the 120 point inspection or who performed it. 3. I was sold what I was told was a "Bumper to Bumper" warranty which I have now found out by the warranty company that they do not sell "bumper to bumper" warranties and they (Warranty Solutions) consider this act fraudulent act and false claims by a company which they took on record. The warranty people have informed me that after the warranty sale, I was to receive a 7-page document of my warranty. I have yet to see this 7-page document. When taking the truck into to the local Dodge dealership and tried to use the warranty, nothing was recognized with the warranty with the exception of the pinyon seal which Dodge covered. The sales person assured me that the warranty would cover all the issues which it has not. 4. I am not certain that the DEF tank is working and it may be part of this overall problem and the local Dodge dealership is looking into this issue as well. The salesperson apologized for the lack of proper DMV tags and sent them overnight, but has been transparent since the sale with the other issues. I have attempted to make a call and e-mail to the Sales Manager Scott Johnson and a phone call to the Customer Service manager and have yet to hear from either of them. This purchase was the biggest ever made for me and my business and was told by many people who have purchased from Dave Smith that I would save a lot of money and that I would be happy with the service. This has been the worst decision ever made to buy from Dave Smith Motors and trust the integrity of the people who work there and it is more than apparent that when a sale is made that they do not stand by their products in which they sale.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Johnson
Other Employees : Torin Ishler
September 20, 2018

"Way above average experience. A++"

- Derek Sherman

I made the online purchase of a used vehicle through Dave Smith's. I worked with Darby on the sale and Duke in financing. Darby's online communication was excellent. I had questions of course with a vehicle I'd never seen and he answered them all. Nothing was misrepresented, and when I arrived at the dealership, I was in and out in about 45 minutes. I had made known what I was after in the sales experience and the entire team delivered. And I got a very fair deal on my vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Darby Burnes and Duke in Financing
September 14, 2018

"Alaska Satisfied Customer"

- AKChevySS

Kalynn Killed It!!! She Rocks!!! I Ordered My Dream Truck, 2019 GMC Denali One Ton Dually... Can’t Wait To Fly Down To Idaho To Take Ownership Of My New Truck & All The Extra Accessories I Had Added!! Funny How Dave Smith From Idaho Is The Number One Dealership In Alaska. LoL Good Jog Guys!!! Keep Up The Excellent Work!!! Starkey Sold Me All My New Goodies

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kalynn Wilkinson & Starkey, JC, Marty Gibson
March 14, 2018

"Pushy Extended Warranty Seller/Poor at Refunding"

- TERI

Say NO to all the warranty and special coverages (except possibly bumper to bumper). Three months later and STILL waiting for refund after cancellation. UGH!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kristin in Warranties
January 22, 2018

"Great People"

- sticsnfries

Thanks for the great buying experience. I did not feel I was getting cheated or taken advantage of. Our time there I felt welcome and comfortable. They fed us pizza and cookies and even our dog got to hang out all day with us and they treated her like one of the Family. Thanks Art and the Dave Motors team for the easy car buying experience

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Art Jenkins
January 20, 2018

"Service & sales at Dave Smith Motors"

- oldlawman

We live a couple of hundred miles away and we still take out vehicles there for service. We have purchased 4 vehicles from them in 15 years and are happy with the rigs & the deals. Several friends have also purchased trucks from them & al are happy with their truck & their deal, This time we were there for service (LOF) on our Durango.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
service writer
January 18, 2018

"Horrible customer service "

- Jpsmit

Prices are alright but it’s not worth dealing with the lies and horrible customer service. Quoted me $35,000 on a truck and wrote up a contract for a different price. Asked them to refund my $500 deposit because I never signed anything agreeing to that price. They told me they would listen to the phone calls to follow their protocol and make a decision. Two “managers” (Chad and Phillip) admitted that the salesman never told me the actual price of the truck and that I asked multiple times in the phone call if the truck was $35k out the door and the salesman said yes. Refused to give me my deposit back and proceeded to insult my intelligence and argue with me over multiple phone calls. I asked to speak with one of their superiors and they told me I couldn’t and that they would just tell me the same thing. I’m associated with two multi-million dollar companies that have worked with Dave Smith and will no longer purchase any of their vehicles from them because of the way they have handled this situation. They are now losing out on thousands of dollars in sales because of a $500 deposit. These guys are typical, money-hungry, car salesmen and like taking advantage of women that are trying to buy a vehicle alone. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. The stress they’ve caused isn’t worth the money I would have “saved” buying a vehicle from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad, Phillip, Jax
January 12, 2018

"High Quality Experience"

- Sndy

The salesman, Scotty, had sold us our Dodge Hemi and we were pleased with his work then, so we went to him to purchase a new Jeep Grand Cherokee. We took a while to make our decision (two months), but he stuck with us and did not pressure the sale, just staying available for an appointment on our own terms. As usual, when we were ready, Scotty promptly arranged for us to come in. He was efficient and thorough during the purchase and orientation process. We are happy with the purchase price and quality of the vehicle service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scotty Paul, Jeff Thomas, Steve Kohn
1
...
1 - 10 of 48 results