Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Land Rover Southpointe

Sarasota, FL

N/A
9 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

5141 Clark Road

Sarasota, FL

34231

Directions

9 Reviews of Land Rover Southpointe

Sort by Write a review
December 21, 2015

"Don't buy from them"

- LM Bernard MD

I ordered a Range Rover sport. After waiting three months the car finally arrived. Although I was being charge for the option of a panoramic roof, the car arrived with a fixed roof. Initially the dealership blamed me. They checked her records and realized I was right. I was able to my deposit back but that was all. Andy Wise the manager did not even have the courtesy to talk to me. Totally unprofessional deceitful and lying. Avoid this dealership like the plague

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Seth Smith
August 25, 2015

"A raw deal.Always trolling for some way to charge you extra."

- LR Marti

This is the third and last bad experience with this dealership. I will drive to Clearwater in the future rather than use this dealership which is just a few minutes from my home. First an oil change that cost almost $300. Secondly, a major repair under warranty that I had to wait 6 weeks for "approval" to have completed. I recently heard from another LR dealership that when you need "approval" for warranty items to be repaired this indicates that the dealership has been flagged for questionable warranty handling. Thirdly, I bought a battery from this dealership 9 months ago and it went bad so I could not start my car. I had AAA jump it for me and I drove directly to the dealership. Despite the fact that the warranty was still in effect, it cost me $117 for labor even though the battery had a bad cell. Then without my permission removed my tires, inspected my brakes and of course recommended an expensive repair. My previous dealership was fabulous but this one in Sarasota is poorly run, always trolling for something to repair at the owners expense and charges fees that are way out of line. The service people are less than service oriented and not very friendly. Go elsewhere. Drive a greater distance for good service not a short distance for this poor service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin Gray, and the service manager
February 05, 2015

"Great Salesperson"

- Glenn Grosso

Pete Sweetser is a true professional. I traveled from Palm Beach because he is a stand up guy. When I arrived the vehicle was ready, fueled and he worked hard to make the deal I wanted. He's also very well versed on the product. Great team, the finance manager with a similar name, Peter was also a class act. Just a great place to do business.........just nice people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
salesperson - finance manager
April 22, 2014

"Service nightmare"

- Meats

I visited Southpoint landrover to get some parts for my early model rover. While there I was sold on an unnecessary service. When the parts came, they didn't call me to tell me, and when I showed up I was told "oh yea, we said they'd be here in a week." Upon pick up the part they'd installed was faulty and when I returned, the bad attitude from Kevin Gray began. He refused to admit fault and began blaming the part (which theyd ordered from their warehouse) and so on and so fourth. I took my car 1.5 hours north to Dimmit Landrover in Clearwater and they eagerly took my car in for the day, set me up with a loaner, and gave me a full report on what they installed and what they put on paper which was 2 different parts at no cost to me. The service manager's Jon and Jeff helped me with my ignorance, to settle this issue and showed me what to look for when I returned to southpoint. When I returned this morning to get the correct part installed, I was greeted with hostility and a sour attitude from Kevin Gray. When I asked for a loaner because I needed to get to work, he called a rental car company and told them I was paying for it. I spoke with the technician who worked on my vehicle (William) who was knowledgeable, seemed eager to get me back on the road and was willing to explain how this happened. Its truly a shame that I have to go all the way to Clearwater for great service when my local dealer is 3 minutes from my home and work and I would heavily advise seeking service elsewhere, as a shop willing to create fraudulent service records should be seriously inspected and I would expect the owner (Don) to look into some new customer service representatives for his company.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin, Ron
February 06, 2013

"Really great service! Even though I have an older Land..."

- 1997Discovery

Really great service! Even though I have an older Land Rover, these guys treated me great! The diagnosis was accurate and the recommended repairs fixed the problem!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin, Billie, Ron
November 02, 2012

"This dealership does not honor the free warranty provided..."

- reinifelder

This dealership does not honor the free warranty provided by land rover for the first oil change. They want to charge you $400.00. Avoid this dealership at all costs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
August 26, 2012

"Found a used 2001 Bentley Arnage online at..."

- pshiakallis

Found a used 2001 Bentley Arnage online at www.autotrader.com and called the dealer and spoke with Matt Lofthouse, a sales associate, from my home state here in VA for fully disclosing the condition of the vehicle. I was told that the vehicle was fully serviced and that the previous owner did the required 48,000 mile maintenance. After providing them with a credit card deposit I flew there to complete the transaction after I personally inspect and drive the vehicle. After a brief demo ride I purchased the vehicle AS-IS without any Warranty. Within 70 miles of my 800-mile trip back home, the ABS, CHECK ENGINE and LOW COOLANT Lights came on. The odometer was broken as well and after many delays ans stops to several auto-parts and service centers, I made it home. After taking it to my local Sports and Imports service center, I discovered that even the engine oil was way overdue replacing and that the $8,000 48,000-mile service wasn't performed! After several thousand dollars and delays, I was able to drive the car back to my house and I am selling it since I cannot trust to continue driving it. This dealer said that their service dept. performed a 156-point check and that the vehicle was in tip-top condition. There was no way they checked anything since, the engine oil was black and two quarts low, the hydraulic fluid was almost gone, the coolant was leaking from the aluminum reservoir and the Check Engine light came on... Liars, Liars. Never buy anything from them unless it has a Warranty and Checked with an independent mechanic.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt Lofthouse
March 06, 2012

"After agreeing on a price for a Range Rover Sport I told..."

- rsb826

After agreeing on a price for a Range Rover Sport I told Matt that I would get in my car and make my way to the dealership from Tampa (45 minute drive). Upon my arrival Matt told me that someone else was test driving the car and awaiting financing approval. He told me that the sale was "first come, first serve". Naturally since we had agreed on a price and I told him I was on my way, I assumed I was first. After Matt spoke with Chip Bennett, Chip said I was out of luck. When I asked for an explanation why no one called to let me know the car was sold, Chip said "I did nothing wrong". When I asked for an apology he said there is nothing for me to apologize. Matt cowardly refused to make any attempt to save the sale. Chip and Matt are the stereotypical "Used Car Salesmen". Clearly a Land Rover name tag can't change someone's lack of integrity.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt and Chip Bennett
May 22, 2012 -

Land Rover Southpointe responded

The customer was given a chance to leave a deposit for the vehicle and declined. Also, the customer had a trade-in, a number had not been agreed upon for the trade-in so we have no way of knowing if a deal would have happened anyways. The customer and the dealership may not have been able to come to agreement on the value of the trade. Lastly, and I know this is not the customers fault, we have customers EVERY DAY tell us they are coming down to buy cars and they never show. As a dealership we have to make the best choices we can with the information in front of us. What we had was a customer who might show up with a trade we had not seen and a customer in the store, referred by a previous customer, who was ready to purchase the vehicle right then. I know it sound like the typical car sales cliche but sometimes if you wait the car gets sold. Southpointe, in our opinion, did nothing wrong it was simply an unfortunate set of circumstances.

September 16, 2011

"I purchased a new 2012 Range Rover Super Charged for Land..."

- tonyamquick

I purchased a new 2012 Range Rover Super Charged for Land Rover Southpointe on 9/9/2011. They received payment in full via a wire transfer for $101,000. I gave them a $500 deposit with my Visa on 9/6/11. On 9/13/11 my carrier came to pick up my vehicle as agreed. My salesperson Matt Lofthouse called me and said the dealership would not be releasing my vehicle to the carrier because the bill of lading was wrong and handed the phone to the General Manager Chip Bennett. He reiterated the same sentiment that the dealership would not be releasing the vehicle and were choosing to rescend the deal. I expressed that that was fine as long as I was issued a prompt refund on all monies that had been paid to the dealership. He stated that the dealership had no problem with refunding the money. When the money had not been refunded to my account on Wednesday, I began calling the dealership and was immediately stonewalled. After leaving several voice mails and having several conversations with the powers that be at the dealership I was told they would issue me a refund check no wire transfer reversal would be done. I have asked that someone please tell me when I would be receiving my check. $101,500 is not pocket change for anyone. I think it only reasonable and fair that someone at the dealership be able to tell me when I will be receiving my FULL refund.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt Lofthouse
May 22, 2012 -

Land Rover Southpointe responded

It is a fact that as a Land Rover Franchise Store we are obligated to make every attempt to make sure new vehicles sold by our dealership are not being purchased for the purpose of being exported. We take this responsibility VERY seriously because we run the risk of losing our Franchise with Land Rover if we do not and that would effectively shut down our dealership. That said, everything was proceeding fine with this deal until a transportation company showed up to pick up the vehicle and the bill of lading, a required document that shows where a vehicles is being shipped to, that showed a New Jersey address. As the customer purchasing the vehicle lived in another state and because NJ is a known port of exit for exported vehicles it raised some red flags. In doing a little research we uncovered that the wire transfer had not come from the customer but from a Wendella Gonzalez. This name appeared on the list of known exporters from Land Rover. At that point we notified the customer that the deal would not be executed. At that time we also notified Land Rover North America. At that point, feeling as though we were lied to and manipulated and as per our policy we began the process of refunding the purchase price in the form of a check. As the customer states $101k+ is not pocket change and the owners of the store needed to be notified and be available to sign a check for that amount. All of these things take time and were completed in what we feel is a reasonable time frame. Basically what you have here is a person intentionally trying to deceive our dealership, who continually lied to us throughout the process and put our dealership at risk by doing so. When caught she was unhappy with the time it took to get her money refunded(it was in fact refunded 100%), which was not even her money to begin with. My only regret in this deal was that we did not sniff out the deception sooner.

1
1 - 9 of 9 results