About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Don's BMW of Utica

1.2

10 Lifetime Reviews

5712 Horatio St, Utica, New York 13502 Directions
Sales: (315) 797-1520

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

10 Reviews of Don's BMW of Utica

Sort by Write a review
December 22, 2018

"Worst car buying experience...complete nightmare!!"

- Ohreally

Before heading to the dealership make sure the car you want is really there (when you inquire about a vehicle they don't tell you that don't have the vehicle but what you to schedule an appointment. Double check the price as it seems that some advertised prices are "before" any addons (never seen a specific car by VIN advertised and that is the base price before the addons it has always been the final price before tax and tags). Some cars are advertised with the addons and others aren't. Do a search on deceptive pricing and the Attorney General website and make your own opinion. Car we went in to view was sold months ago but still appears as available on their website for the "base price" not the price with the addons. Is this just to get people in the door? Next make sure if you have a trade in you are ready to fight with them and have to call Lithia to have them actually pay it off We drove off November 10th and here it is December 22nd and our car is still not showing paid off. Keep in mind when we drove off we were told they will take care of it don't make our November payment. After fighting with them, calling Lithia and my husband having to go down and push them to get a copy of the check and tracking number, did they finally send it on the last day of the grace period (December 21st). I don't think they would have actually sent it that day if my husband didn't go down there. Although now we have to wait for the check to clear for Key bank and for them to show it has been paid. This as I pray they don't hit my credit report with a non payment as this is the second month, because of Utica BMW, I have been charged a late fee and risk it hitting my credit report as a non payment. I only found out they didn't payoff the car in November when I got a late fee charged from Key bank. The Attorney General website also talks about a "payoff scam" that they have investigated at other dealerships. Be it usually used car dealers are ones in financial trouble but it does make you wonder. We have been told so many lies as to why the car hasn't been paid between its BMW's fault, Car was in Service pool so have to wait 30 days for Title, there was a computer glitch, and the Finance manager dropped the ball and didn't do the paperwork. The GM told Lithia one story and us another. You can complain but they are rude and arrogant. Don't even bother going to the GM as that will do nothing they absolutely do not care after you walk out the door with a vehicle. Beware as this has been an on going nightmare for the past two months. I have bought a lot of cars and I can honestly say I have NEVER come across anything like this with any other dealership. I wish I went to Burdick BMW but we didn't want to have to drive to Syracuse. I suggest you make the drive and save yourself the worry and problems. Please do your research on them..they do not have a good reputation. How a business can be so shady and still be there blows my mind. Well I know how they are paying for their new building …. buy screwing you and I the consumers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adenawel Ledesma
Other Employees : General Manager John Carroll.
February 20, 2018

"Exploring doing business with them"

- edmund gerhardt storsberg

Have had 5 BMW's over the last few years. Actually drive two hours away to get them because this dealership is so inept. Do not do business with them. The repair center for BMW is sub Par and they appear to be concerned with nothing but profit. They attempted to get my business but were so bad they were able to screw it after only two emails. Basically told me to go blank myself when on pushed on specifics. Very rude, not the type of people I will support with my money. Not a professional sales force that typifies what BMW represents.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adenawel Ledesma
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 17, 2017

"BMW: Tried to get me for work I didn't need"

- Disappointed with CBMW

I don't write reviews for products/service. That said, after my experience and reading some of these reviews, I felt compelled to write one. I originally needed a recall for my passenger side airbag for my 325xi. On the ride home, I noticed two nicks/scratches on the side column. I tried to schedule an appointment to get them addressed , but mostly thru my time issues I couldn't work it out. (I live over an hour away from Carbone BMW.) I finally forgot about it and then was notified about the driver's airbag. I brought my car in for the recall. I will say the young service rep I dealt with was very pleasant. However, upon completion, she gave me a printout with a service check that detailed the need for a new valve cover gasket and also I needed lower ball joints replaced on both the front and right sides. They had the parts and could do the work (435 for gasket and 1300 for the ball joints). I declined the offer. My local used car dealership has a master mechanic factory trained in foreign cars. He is the best. He had just replaced my oil filter gasket and cleaned up underneath where some oil had seeped. He also had recently rotated my tires and completed a safety check. I knew there was nothing wrong with my car. I took the car to him today. There is no leak with my valve cover and my ball joints are fine. (My car is garaged in the winter and I baby it...) Needless to say, I am disappointed that Carbone tried to get me to go for almost 2K in work that was not necessary. This is not the way to do business, at least not the way to do honest business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I will leave this out. It was not Mike S.
August 12, 2015

"Purchased Subaru with help of salesman Tom Ciccarelli"

- Subarukr51

We purchased a vehicle with Tom's help in 48hours. He was extremely helpful without being pushy. We had a very bad experience last year with a competitor dealership. It took us year to resume our search for a car because of that experience. We have always purchased our cars through Carbone dealerships and really made a mistake going to the competitor. We have learned our lesson. Tom's manner was refreshing and we will recommend him and the Carbone dealership to our family and friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Subaru Forester was purchased - could not enter this in appropriate spot
April 14, 2015

"worst service ever"

- cargurrl

Stopped here because I had a flat tire on a trip. I unfortunately was put in the incompetent hands of Mike Stanczyk who told me that he "did not have time for this" nor did he "need this today." I was told that they did not have the keys to take the wheel locks off my brand new BMW since "our tires don't get stolen here like they do in Westchester." I called the dealership which I purchased my car from and was told that ALL BMW dealerships have them because corporate gives it to them. Mike refused to even try to help me or even drill the wheel lock off of it until I had my dealership call them. When I asked if it was possible if I could be given a ride or a loaner, considering I like 300 miles from this dealership, I was told no. In fact Mike told me to "sit in the car and press the 'SOS' button." Why should I press that if I'm at a dealership that should be willing to help? Needless to say I am thankful that I will NEVER have to go there again because if I did, I would more than willingly trade in my BMW for a bicycle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
mike stanczyk
July 19, 2012

"They are liars!!!! My husband and I went to Carbone Ford..."

- gpasqualicchio

They are liars!!!! My husband and I went to Carbone Ford in Utica, NY and after being pre-approved for an amount, we found a vehicle with in that amount. After being told with our down payment and trade in, we were "guaranteed approval" only to be told the next day the loan didn't go thru because the financial department made a mistake and now the bank wanted more money down. We had to decline because we didn't have that amount. After hours spent and time off of work, the sales rep went to his General Manger and fought on our behalf because, he was lied to as well when he was told we would be approved. The General Manager agreed to give us additional money towards the purchase, in order to get the loan approved, if we could come up with another $500. So we agreed we could do that. The sales rep then again, said he would get back to us on the loan. The next day my husband called to get told, let me check on it. After a couple hours of nothing, he showed up Carbone Ford, to be told the General Manager "changed his mind" and renigged on the deal, as they weren't making any money off the vehicle now!!! LIARS/SCAMMERS!!!!! Will NEVER buy a car through them and I will tell everyone not to go there, they don't know what they are doing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
J Meyers Sales Rep
November 03, 2009

"I took my 740il for service after a trip from Alabama. I..."

- jamesddrake1

I took my 740il for service after a trip from Alabama. I received a call that a service truck had backed into my car. I was also told not to worry because the insurance company of truck would take care of damage, which they did.I picked up my car and signed a release thinking my car was fine,after all it was done by a BMW DEALER. (WRONG) My car was never repaired correctly.I returned w/ my car at least 5 times. The front of my car, hood,grill etc. was damaged. My door was painted and left w/ ridges or bumps in it. They said they never painted door, as if I did not know how my car was. I grew tired of taking it back. Now,OCT.2009, I took my car to another bmw dealer for service,. I asked them to adjust my headlights because they gave me some kind of a shadow. I was told the radiator brace was bent, it needed body work. I call Carbone 4 days ago. I yet have to get a return call from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
BODY SHOP
June 30, 2004

"A great buying experience! No regrest, a great price,..."

- MattS

A great buying experience! No regrest, a great price, wonderful service and no sales pressure. I would recommend completely.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ted W.
March 11, 2003

"Bar None, best customer service from Ted W. BMW..."

- avionics12

Bar None, best customer service from Ted W. BMW dealerships elsewhere need to learn a lesson from him in regards to quick responses and caring about the customers needs first. Ted had no problem questioning me about an accessory I wanted. By doing this Ted saved me well over $1200. I will definately recommend him to my friends and family and I will buy my next BMW from Carbone BMW.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ted Wallawender
February 28, 2003

"Just in case any of you out there are considering a..."

- OriBMW

Just in case any of you out there are considering a purchase in NY State, I want to recommend my dealer. I just ordered a ED 2004 cic from Ted Walawender at Carbone BMW (June pickup).

Excellent customer service thus far. (Returns e-mails within minutes and answers all my questions)
Excellent price, no hassle, no games, no hidden fees.
Excellent experience overall.

6/17/03: I have been working with Ted since February. My car is due to arrive this week. He has been incredible every step of the way. I think I've asked him about 200 questions and he's answered all of them within minutes! Customer service does not get better than this.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ted Walawender
1
1 - 10 of 10 results