Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Dokmo Ford

Northfield, MN

3.7
40 Reviews

1201 Hwy 3 S

Northfield, MN

55057

Directions

Is this your dealership?

40 Reviews of Dokmo Ford

Sort by
October 14, 2021

"Dangerous car and uncaring employees. They’ll be nice to..."

- happyday1481

Dangerous car and uncaring employees. They’ll be nice to your face and tell you what you want to hear, then the moment you’re in the car, they forget all about you. We bought a used Chrysler 300. We drove it less then a mile before I called and told them something was wrong with the car. They said it’s “sold as-is” and hung up on me! We didn’t even make it home and the wheel bearing broke on the passenger side.They put us in a very dangerous situation and I called them again and was told it’s too bad because it’s sold as-is. We took it to a shop and we had to pay out of pocket for a new wheel bearing. I asked them for help and I’ve just been blown off. And the salesman Brandon blocked me so I can’t call or text him, that’s a little childish in my opinion.I bought the car to get me back and forth to chemotherapy and surgeries for my stage 4 cancer and I explained to them when we bought the car that we needed something reliable. We were on a budget and they acted like they cared. Brandon Dahlin was our salesman so beware when dealing with these people, they will take advantage of the situation and run the moment you need help. We drove off the lot and the car broke… We didn’t even make it home with it and we had it in the shop. The mechanic we took it to was shocked that a dealership would sell a car in such a dangerous condition.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandon Dahlin
June 07, 2021

"Terrible service. Disorganized….after so many apologies..."

- rschultz

Terrible service. Disorganized….after so many apologies for their mistakes the truck is still not fixed. Not enough mechanics to do service work besides oil changes. Have been told each time I came in (for the same repair) that they would call and keep me informed. It hasn’t happened yet!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Do not wish to name names
April 18, 2021

"I was surprised at how quick I able to set up appointment..."

- Andra Andrews

I was surprised at how quick I able to set up appointment for car the was very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this company for any type of business thank you

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
I am not sure of the names they were very nice people
March 25, 2021

"Great Service. Brought my vehicle in at 8:15. Service..."

- seaplane19

Great Service. Brought my vehicle in at 8:15. Service technician drove it in the shop right away. Had them do an oil change and a couple other services. Did an outstanding job. Done right on time and every thing works great. DB

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nicole Brandon
February 18, 2021

"Everyone was courteous and helpful. He sowed me how to..."

- Mary028174

Everyone was courteous and helpful. He sowed me how to start my car with the phone,told me about programs that would remind me when to have certain filters changed

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Who ever is in service and did oil change paper work that day, don’t remember his name
February 14, 2021

"Never buy a used vehicle from here. I bought a truck for..."

- Brian.youso

Never buy a used vehicle from here. I bought a truck for over $50,0000 I found an issue the next day, sent me to a GM dealership. Northfield Dealership would not honor a $300 fix.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandon
February 13, 2021

"Our service writer was the best very much appreciate all..."

- Amberf0310

Our service writer was the best very much appreciate all her help and care during our process. Thank you so much for your great response times.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nicole
February 05, 2021

"The only reason for the 3 stars, is the salesman we..."

- smilesalot919

The only reason for the 3 stars, is the salesman we worked with. He went above and beyond, very personable and paid to fill our gas tank out of his own pocket, without telling us. The only reason we knew about it was from the owner, who laughed about it. The rest of the staff had poor communication, no follow through and had no problem having a tantrum in front of me with a horrible attitude. I/we will be taking our business BACK TO the Apple Valley Ford dealership. Our previous vehicle needed a lot of work and the loaner car they gave us, was so filthy and full of the previous customers items.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg is thee best
January 14, 2021

"We did nothing wrong.”A direct quote from the service..."

- 69fordcobrajet

We did nothing wrong.” A direct quote from the service manager Joe. What he should have said is that we did nothing right! I brought my 2011 Ram 1500 in to Northfield Automotive for an engine replacement. As an ASE certified Master Technician, I replaced my own engine with a remanufactured engine. Unfortunately, it had internal mechanical noise from the first start. Due to my circumstances, I couldn’t do the job again. I had hoped that the dealership would give me the fastest turn around. My mistake was taking my vehicle to the very same dealership that I had worked at 25 years ago and hated it. Reference the Tom Cruise movie The Firm and you will get an idea of what it was like to work for Carl Dokmo. There are a few inconsistencies between the warranty company, with whom I have had direct contact, and Northfield Automotive. First; Northfield Automotive performed 4 hours of diagnosis without my or the warranty company’s authorization. To me, and I indicated this to Nicole, no diagnosis was necessary since the engine had internal mechanical noise. After 4 hours of diagnosis, the dealership finally contacted the warranty company looking for authorization; per Nicole in service, the technician said “I’m sorry, I didn’t realize that I already had 4 hours into the diagnosis.” The warranty company is willing to cover 2 hours of diagnosis. Specifically looking for a bore scope, a cylinder balance test and an inspection of the engine heat tabs. Because the technician took it upon himself to partially disable, during the diagnosis, he was unable to do the cylinder balance test. I went to the dealership to settle my account and have the vehicle towed to another facility. Joe tells me that, per Nicole, the warranty company would not reimburse them for diagnosis unless THEY make the necessary repairs. I paid for the $350 for 2 hours of diagnosis and $180 tow bill to get my truck out of Northfield Automotive’s hands. Joe, because I cussed the dealership, threatened to charge me for the full 4 hours. Remember, no diagnosis was authorized so this is also illegal. Second inconsistency; Joe told me that the warranty company would not reimburse them for diagnosis unless they did the repairs. The warranty company WILL pay for 2 hours of diagnosis AFTER the repairs are made; regardless of who preforms the repairs. Third inconsistency; Nicole tells me that the warranty company will only fix what’s wrong. The warranty company will do a complete tear down and remanufacture. Fourth inconsistency; per Joe, “I can’t call the warranty company without a diagnosis.” AGAIN, what diagnosis? The engine is hammering away internally! AND, the warranty company had specific diagnostic tests not dictated by Northfield Automotive. Conclusion: Despite my optimism, Northfield Automotive, under new ownership, has not evolved from the poor customer service AND employee treatment that Carl Dokmo established all those years ago. Sincerely, David Benson. We did nothing wrong.” A direct quote from the service manager Joe. What he should have said is that we did nothing right! I brought my 2011 Ram 1500 in to Northfield Automotive for an engine replacement. As an ASE certified Master Technician, I replaced my own engine with a remanufactured engine. Unfortunately, it had internal mechanical noise from the first start. Due to my circumstances, I couldn’t do the job again. I had hoped that the dealership would give me the fastest turn around. My mistake was taking my vehicle to the very same dealership that I had worked at 25 years ago and hated it. Reference the Tom Cruise movie The Firm and you will get an idea of what it was like to work for Carl Dokmo. There are a few inconsistencies between the warranty company, with whom I have had direct contact, and Northfield Automotive. First; Northfield Automotive performed 4 hours of diagnosis without my or the warranty company’s authorization. To me, and I indicated this to Nicole, no diagnosis was necessary since the engine had internal mechanical noise. After 4 hours of diagnosis, the dealership finally contacted the warranty company looking for authorization; per Nicole in service, the technician said “I’m sorry, I didn’t realize that I already had 4 hours into the diagnosis.” The warranty company is willing to cover 2 hours of diagnosis. Specifically looking for a bore scope, a cylinder balance test and an inspection of the engine heat tabs. Because the technician took it upon himself to partially disable, during the diagnosis, he was unable to do the cylinder balance test. I went to the dealership to settle my account and have the vehicle towed to another facility. Joe tells me that, per Nicole, the warranty company would not reimburse them for diagnosis unless THEY make the necessary repairs. I paid for the $350 for 2 hours of diagnosis and $180 tow bill to get my truck out of Northfield Automotive’s hands. Joe, because I cussed the dealership, threatened to charge me for the full 4 hours. Remember, no diagnosis was authorized so this is also illegal. Second inconsistency; Joe told me that the warranty company would not reimburse them for diagnosis unless they did the repairs. The warranty company WILL pay for 2 hours of diagnosis AFTER the repairs are made; regardless of who preforms the repairs. Third inconsistency; Nicole tells me that the warranty company will only fix what’s wrong. The warranty company will do a complete tear down and remanufacture. Fourth inconsistency; per Joe, “I can’t call the warranty company without a diagnosis.” AGAIN, what diagnosis? The engine is hammering away internally! AND, the warranty company had specific diagnostic tests not dictated by Northfield Automotive. Conclusion: Despite my optimism, Northfield Automotive, under new ownership, has not evolved from the poor customer service AND employee treatment that Carl Dokmo established all those years ago. Sincerely, David Benson.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nicole and Joe
October 28, 2020

"I had asked and was told that a new set of tires would be..."

- rfnyvall

I had asked and was told that a new set of tires would be placed on the car. I also had work done on the rear lift door (it kept falling down). When I went to pick up the car I paid an exorbitant price to have the door repaired but the tires were not put on. I was not told of this but the excuse was the snow storm. The storm happened 3 days previously and the tires should have been delivered and put on. I also asked to repair the rear camera but when told the price, again an exorbitant figure, I said forget it. If I can help it I will not go back to this service department.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Do not want to mention names.
1
...
1 - 10 of 40 results